Common menu bar links

Pingo Canadian Landmark

What's New

Pingo Pride

We did it! We did it! We climbed (and rolled down) Split Pingo!
© Parks Canada

So, what exactly is a pingo anyway? Ask any grade-six student from Inuvik’s East Three Elementary or Tuktoyaktuk’s Mangilaluk School – they’ll burst with enthusiasm at the chance to show off some Pingo Pride. Every year, Parks Canada staff from Inuvik and the grade-six students travel to the Pingo Canadian National Landmark as part of Pingo Pride. Students experience the pingos first hand to learn why the pingos are special and how they can protect them, even re-enacting the making of a pingo.

“Pingos are big hills with a centre made of ice!” blurts out one student, “all pingos were once lakes”, states another. Many students shout out the word “PERMAFROST”. Ah, there is the 10 million dollar buzz word we’re looking for!

Pingos are only found in areas with permafrost where freezing and thawing change the landscape dramatically. Essentially, pingos are formed when lakes drain. In the summer months, the residual water seeps below the lake bed or the soil. When the winter returns, the ground starts to freeze and pushes inwards against the permafrost while the water below the soil starts to push up. Like muffins baking in a tin, they have nowhere else to go but up.

One of the ways students suggested protecting these unique landmarks is to make sure they don’t ride snowmobiles on the pingos because it can harm the plants that protect the ice filled centre.

“I didn’t know that pingos are important for nesting arctic foxes and snow geese – but now I do!”

Pingos have cultural significance too. Hunters and travellers use them as landmarks to know where they are on the water or the snow covered landscape – much like highway signs today.

The best part of the day? Meeting new friends and sliding down the pingos of course!

Test your knowledge! See how much pingo pride you have!

Pingo 101

Where are they found?

Pingos are formed in areas with permafrost where freezing and thawing change the landscape. The Pingo Canadian Landmark protects 8 of the estimated 1,350 pingos found around Tuktoyaktuk, Northwest Territories, but pingos are also found in the Yukon, Nunavut, Alaska, Siberia, and Greenland.

How old are they?

An average life-span of a pingo is about 1,000 years.

Why are they protected?

The Inuvialuit Final Agreement in 1984 established the Pingo Canadian Landmark as well as the three national parks found in the western arctic today. The Inuvialuit work with Parks Canada to ensure these special places are protected and presented.

Le site canadien des pingos

Quoi de neuf

Pingo Pride

Nous avons réussi! Nous avons réussi! Nous avons grimpé (et glissé) sur Split Pingo!
© Parcs Canada

Alors, qu’est-ce qu’un pingo exactement? Demandez aux élèves de sixième année de l’école élémentaire East Three à Inuvik ou de l’école Mangilaluk à Tuktoyaktuk, et ils seront ravis de vous montrer leur « Pingo Pride ». Chaque année, les employés de Parcs Canada à Inuvik et les élèves de sixième année se rendent au site canadien des pingos dans le cadre du programme Pingo Pride. Les élèves voient les pingos de très près et apprennent pourquoi ils sont précieux et comment ils peuvent les protéger. Ils font eux-mêmes un pingo.

« Les pingos sont de grandes collines avec un centre de glace », lance un élève. « Tous les pingos étaient avant des lacs », explique un autre. Tout un nombre d’élèves crient le mot PERGÉLISOL. Ah, voici le mot clé que nous cherchions!

Les pingos se retrouvent uniquement dans des régions possédant un pergélisol et où le gel et le dégel changent le paysage de manière remarquable. Les pingos se forment essentiellement lorsque des lacs se vident. L’été, l’eau qui reste suinte sous le lit du lac ou le sol. Lorsque l’hiver revient, le sol commence à geler et pousser vers l’intérieur contre le pergélisol, tandis que l’eau sous le sol commence à pousser vers le haut. Comme des muffins qui cuisent, ils n’ont pas d’autre choix que de monter.

Une des façons de protéger ces formations uniques proposées par les élèves est de ne pas conduire de motoneige sur les pingos car cela peut nuire aux plantes qui protègent le noyau de glace.

« Je ne savais pas que les pingos sont importants pour les renards arctiques et les oies des neiges qui font leur nid, mais maintenant je le sais! »

Les pingos ont aussi une signification culturelle. Les chasseurs et les voyageurs s’en servent pour s’orienter et savoir où ils se trouvent sur l’eau ou le paysage enneigé – tout comme les pancartes sur les routes d’aujourd’hui.

Le plus bel aspect de la journée? Se faire de nouveaux amis et glisser sur les pingos bien sûr!

Éprouvez vos connaissances! Découvrez votre « pingo pride »!

Pingo 101

Où se trouvent-ils?

Les pingos se forment dans des régions possédant un pergélisol et où le gel et le dégel changent le paysage. Le site canadien des pingos protège huit des quelque 1 350 pingos aux alentours de Tuktoyaktuk, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, mais on retrouve aussi des pingos au Yukon, au Nunavut, en Alaska, en Sibérie et au Groenland.

Quel âge ont-ils?

Un pingo vit en moyenne 1 000 ans.

Pourquoi sont-ils protégés?

La Convention définitive des Inuvialuit de 1984 a établi le site canadien des pingos et trois parcs nationaux dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest. Les Inuvialuit collaborent avec Parcs Canada pour protéger et mettre en valeur ces endroits bien particuliers.