Introduction


Introduction

Fundy National Park
Fundy National Park
© Parks Canada

To protect for all time representative natural areas of Canadian significance in a system of national parks, to encourage public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of this natural heritage so as to leave it unimpaired for future generations.

Parks Canada Objective for National Parks

CANADA'S NATIONAL HERITAGE

As Canadians, we are increasingly concerned about the environment that will be inherited by our children. In a world of rapid change, our parks, historic sites and marine conservation areas are seen as models of environmental stewardship and as an important legacy to be preserved for future generations. They represent one of the most positive, tangible and enduring demonstrations of the federal government's commitment to the environment.

The federal government is committed to implement the concept of sustainable development. This concept holds that human economic development must be compatible with the long-term maintenance of natural ecosystems and life support processes. A strategy to implement sustainable development requires not only the careful management of those lands, waters and resources that are exploited to support our economy, but also the protection and presentation of our most important natural and cultural areas. Protected areas contribute directly to the conservation of biological diversity and, therefore, to Canada's national strategy for the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity.

Our system of national parks and national historic sites is one of the nation's - indeed the world's - greatest treasures. It also represents a key resource for the tourism industry in Canada, attracting both domestic and foreign visitors.

Grasslands National Park
Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

The federal government is committed to passing on this priceless legacy not only intact, but expanded and improved. Parks Canada is the federal agency, within the Department of Canadian Heritage, with responsibility for national parks, as well as national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.


National Parks System Plan, 3rd Edition

PreviousTable of contentsNext

Introduction


Introducton

   
Parc national Fundy
Parc national Fundy
© Parcs Canada

Sauvegarder à jamais des aires naturelles représentatives d'intérêt canadien dans le cadre d'un réseau de parcs nationaux et favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine naturel de telle manière qu'il soit légué intact aux générations à venir.

Objectifs de Parcs Canada
à l'égard des parcs nationaux

LE PATRIMOINE NATIONAL DU CANADA

Les Canadiens sont de plus en plus préoccupés de l'environnement qu'ils lègueront à leurs enfants. Dans ce monde de rapides changements, nos parcs et nos lieux historiques sont perçus comme des modèles de gérance environnementale et comme un héritage important devant être préservé pour les générations futures. Ils représentent l'une des manifestations les plus positives, tangibles et durables de l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral à l'égard de l'environnement.

Le gouvernement fédéral a pris l'engagement de mettre en oeuvre le concept du développement durable, selon lequel le développement économique doit être compatible avec la conservation à long terme des écosystèmes naturels et des processus de survie. Une stratégie de mise en oeuvre du développement durable exige non seulement la gestion prudente des terres et des ressources que nous utilisons dans le cadre de nos activités économiques, mais aussi la protection et la mise en valeur de nos principales régions naturelles et culturelles. Les aires protégées contribuent directement à la conservation de la biodiversité et donc, à la stratégie nationale du Canada pour la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la biodiversité.

Notre réseau de parcs nationaux et de lieux historiques nationaux est l'un des plus grands trésors de notre nation et même, en vérité, du monde entier. Il représente aussi une ressource clé pour l'industrie du tourisme au Canada, car il attire aussi bien des visiteurs canadiens qu'étrangers.

Parc national des Prairies
Parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

Le gouvernement fédéral s'est engagé, non seulement à transmettre intact aux générations futures cet héritage inestimable, mais aussi à l'accroître et à l'améliorer. Parcs Canada est l'organisme fédéral, au sein du Ministère du Patrimoine canadien, responsable des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines de conservation.


Plan de réseau des parcs nationaux

Page précédenteTable des matièresPage suivante