Common menu bar links

Impacts on Arctic Parks

Image of a muskox skull lying in grass
Predicted changes in the vegetation of Tuktut Nogait National Park could cause muskoxen to disappear from the park.
© Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / 12.123.10.04(08), 3/30/1994

Our Arctic parks are experiencing the greatest degree of change because of the substantial rise in temperature and an increase in summer precipitation. Arctic wildlife species often occur at the limits of their geographic ranges. Therefore, they are especially vulnerable to ecological changes. For example, predicted changes in the vegetation of Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada could cause muskoxen to disappear from the park.

Auyuittuq National Park of Canada will be warmer year-round. Its glaciers will shrink, runoff will increase and the character of its shoreline may change. Park wildlife will be affected in unpredictable ways. Auyuittuq's summer weather may become wetter and foggier. This will affect the plants and animals as well as the travel plans of park visitors.

Dark picture of glaciers and clouds
The Auyuittuq National Park glaciers will shrink, summer weather may become wetter and foggier.
© Parks Canada / Beedle, M. / 13.03.03.10(72), 3/30/1981

Most of Vuntut National Park of Canada was unglaciated during the last ice age. The area is, therefore, very interesting for archaeologists and paleoecologists (scientists who study ancient ecosystems). Unfortunately, the fossils and artefacts could be damaged by the increase in erosion and biological activity.

Changes in wildlife populations will also affect the traditional cultures of Canada's northern residents.

Répercussions sur les parcs de l'Arctique

Image d’un crâne de bœuf musqué dans l’herbe
Les changements prévus à la végétation du parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait pourraient provoquer la disparition du bœuf musqué du parc.
© Parcs Canada / Lynch, W. / 12.123.10.04(08), 3/30/1994

Nos parcs de l'Arctique connaissent les plus grands changements climatiques en raison de la hausse importante des températures et de l'augmentation des précipitations au cours de l'été. Les espèces sauvages de l'Arctique se trouvent souvent aux limites de leurs habitats géographiques. Par conséquent, elles sont particulièrement vulnérables aux changements écologiques. Ainsi, les changements prévus à la végétation du parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait pourraient provoquer la disparition du boeuf musqué du parc.

Le parc national du Canada Auyuittuq sera plus chaud à longueur d'année. Ses glaciers rétréciront, le ruissellement sera plus abondant et le tracé de son rivage pourrait changer. Les espèces sauvages du parc seront touchées de façons imprévisibles. La température estivale du parc Auyuittuq pourrait devenir plus humide et plus brumeuse. Cela aura des répercussions sur les plantes et les animaux ainsi que sur les projets de voyage des visiteurs du parc.

Photo sombre de glaciers et de nuages
Les glaciers du parc national du Canada Auyuittuq rétréciront, la température estivale pourrait devenir plus humide et plus brumeuse.
© Parcs Canada / Beedle, M. / 13.03.03.10(72), 3/30/1981

La majeure partie du parc national du Canada Vuntut n'était pas touchée par la glaciation lors de la dernière période glaciaire. Par conséquent, la région est très intéressante pour les archéologues et les paléoécologistes (scientifiques qui étudient les anciens écosystèmes). Malheureusement, les fossiles et les artéfacts pourraient être endommagés par la croissance de l'érosion et de l'activité biologique.

Des changements dans la population des espèces sauvages toucheront également les cultures traditionnelles des résidants du Nord canadien.