A Delicate Balance Is Threatened

Image of a glacier between rocky hills
Many glaciers in mountain parks are retreating or disappearing, while only a few are advancing.
© Parks Canada / Muir, R.D. / 09.93.03.07(293), 3/30/1984

Park ecosystems, as is the rest of Canada's natural environment, continue to adjust to life after glaciation. Climate has been changing naturally over the centuries. Populations of plants and animals evolve new communities in which the health and size of the populations of predators and prey are in constant tension. However, human-made climate change is occurring much faster than natural change, which threatens this dynamic, ecological tug-of-war. Some species will adjust to rapid climate change and will thrive. Others will decline in number and may disappear.

Climate change is also affecting the physical environment of our parks. Snow and ice conditions are changing. Many glaciers in mountain parks are retreating or disappearing, while only a few are advancing. The rise of sea level and the erosion of shorelines are affecting many of our coastal parks.

Climate change is an added stress for sensitive sites

Picture of a red-necked grebe on the water
Many species, such as migratory birds and large mammals, move across park boundaries.
© Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / 08.80.10.02(07), 3/30/1985

Parks Canada's State of Protected Heritage Areas 2001 Report recognizes climate change as an additional stress on Canadian parks that are already under pressure from loss and fragmentation of species' habitat, isolation from other natural areas, pollution, invasive species and increasing numbers of visitors. An altered climate will aggravate the stress on these vulnerable ecosystems.

Our national parks do not stand alone

Our national parks are integral parts of larger ecosystems. In fact, the park systems were established to recognize this. They were intended to represent and preserve the range of natural features typical of Canada.

Picture of a Dall sheep and his lamb on a mountain
As a result, high-altitude communities may disappear from some mountaintops where favourable conditions no longer exist - they have nowhere left to climb!
© Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / 11.110.10.01(26), 3/30/1989

Many species, such as migratory birds and large mammals, move across park boundaries. Parks Canada, therefore, works with other agencies and landowners to maintain species' populations and to protect the larger environment.

A serious concern for the park system in a changing climate is the phenomenon of "biome shift". Biomes are communities or assemblages of plants and animals such as grasslands, forests or tundra. As the climate warms, many Canadian biomes are expected to shift northward, up to hundreds of kilometres. In mountainous areas, the shift will be to higher altitudes. As a result, high-altitude communities may disappear from some mountaintops where favourable conditions no longer exist - they have nowhere left to climb!

Un Équilibre fragile menacé

Image d’un glacier entre collines rocheuses
De nombreux glaciers dans les parcs des Rocheuses sont en retrait ou disparaissent, alors que très peu progressent.
© Parcs Canada / Muir, R.D. / 09.93.03.07(293), 3/30/1984

L'écosystème des parcs, comme le reste de l'environnement naturel du Canada, continue de s'ajuster à la vie après la glaciation. Le climat a changé naturellement au cours des siècles. Les populations de plantes et d'animaux ont développé de nouvelles communautés dans lesquelles la santé et la taille des populations de prédateurs et de proies subissent une tension constante. Cependant, les changements climatiques provoqués par l'humain se produisent beaucoup plus rapidement que les changements naturels, ce qui menace cette lutte écologique et dynamique. Certaines espèces s'ajusteront aux changements climatiques rapides et continueront à se développer tandis que d'autres deviendront moins nombreuses et pourraient disparaÎtre.

Les changements climatiques touchent également l'environnement physique de nos parcs. Les conditions d'enneigement et des glaces changent. De nombreux glaciers dans les parcs des Rocheuses sont en retrait ou disparaissent, alors que très peu progressent. L'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'érosion des berges touchent plusieurs de nos parcs côtiers.

Les changements climatiques sont un autre stress sur nos sites fragiles

Photo d’un grèbe jougris sur l’eau
De nombreuses espèces, comme les oiseaux migrateurs et les gros mammifères traversent les frontières des parcs.
© Parcs Canada / Lynch, W. / 08.80.10.02(07), 3/30/1985

Le Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées 2001 de Parcs Canada reconnaît que les changements climatiques sont un stress supplémentaire sur les parcs canadiens qui subissent déjà la pression exercée par la perte ou la fragmentation de l'habitat des espèces, l'isolation d'autres espaces naturels, la pollution, les espèces envahissantes et le nombre croissant de visiteurs. Un climat perturbé accentuera le stress sur ces écosystèmes.

Nos parcs nationaux font partie d'un tout

Nos parcs nationaux font partie intégrante de plus vastes écosystèmes. En réalité, le réseau des parcs a été établi pour reconnaître ce fait. L'objectif des parcs est de représenter et de préserver la gamme des caractéristiques naturelles typiques du Canada.

Image d’un mouflon et son petit sur une montagne
Les communautés des hautes altitudes pourraient donc disparaître de certains sommets où les conditions favorables n'existeraient plus - elles n'auraient plus d'endroits où grimper!
© Parcs Canada / Lynch, W. / 11.110.10.01(26), 3/30/1989

De nombreuses espèces, comme les oiseaux migrateurs et les gros mammifères traversent les frontières des parcs. Par conséquent, Parcs Canada collabore avec d'autres agences et des propriétaires fonciers au maintien des populations d'espèces et à la protection du plus vaste environnement.

Le phénomène du " déplacement des biomes " est une sérieuse préoccupation du réseau des parcs alors qu'il est confronté aux changements climatiques. Les biomes sont des communautés ou des groupements de plantes et d'animaux comme les prairies, les forêts ou la toundra. Au fur et à mesure que le climat se réchauffe, plusieurs biomes canadiens devraient se déplacer jusqu'à une centaine de kilomètres vers le Nord. Dans les régions montagneuses, le déplacement se produira vers de plus hautes altitudes. Les communautés des hautes altitudes pourraient donc disparaître de certains sommets où les conditions favorables n'existeraient plus - elles n'auraient plus d'endroits où grimper!