Parks Canada joins a partnership to heal Canada's temperate rainforest

The clear-cut forests and damaged creeks of the Clayoquot Sound ecosystem are being restored

On the West Coast of Canada, a massive rainforest drips with water and abounds with life. In Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada, Parks Canada staff work to protect the ecological integrity of this special place, while still offering great adventures for visitors. Striking this balance is challenging, however, and cannot be accomplished alone. To safeguard the greater ecosystem surrounding Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, Parks Canada joined with the Central Westcoast Forest Society, International Forest Products (Interfor), and representatives from the public, First Nations and government on an ecosystem-based restoration project for the Kennedy Flats watershed in South Clayoquot Sound.

About mid-way between Ucluelet and Tofino on Vancouver Island, Kootowis Creek, Staghorn Creek and Lost Shoe Creek drain the low-lying area known as Kennedy Flats. Adjacent to the park, the Kennedy Flats watershed covers 129.4 square kilometres and drains through the park to the Pacific Ocean. Logging carried out before today's more rigorous controls were established had left Kennedy Flats and its creeks in a compromised position. Logging waste clogged the streams, blocking the passage of fish. Collapsed culverts and bridges had further degraded fish habitat and diverted segments of the creeks. Salmon production, which had once measured in the thousands in this area, had dropped significantly by the early 1990s.

The Kennedy Flats Restoration Project began with the hand-clearing of wood debris. To minimize the impact on the site, helicopters were used to remove wooden waste. However, cleaning up was only the first step; natural stream conditions had to be restored. Large logs or root balls were anchored into the stream to re-create natural pools and eddies. Gravel was added for spawning salmon, and plant cover for small fish.

Creek before cleanup
Creek before cleanup
© Central Westcoast Forest Society

Each year since 1995 (when the Central Westcoast Forest Society began restoration work in the area), a few more kilometres of streams and creeks were cleared, clear-cut slopes were stabilized, and more old roads were closed down. The restoration plan for the Kennedy Flats takes a comprehensive and coordinated approach to restoring both the aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. The Society describes its activities as "giving Mother Nature a boost; accelerating the natural healing process". In 2005, positive results are being seen.

The work has already improved fish access through the removal of logjams that had been obstructing their passage. Creeks, streams and surrounding forests have been made healthier due to better-defined creek channels, more overhead cover and reduced flooding of the riparian zone (the 30 to 50 metres of land along each side of a stream). Work on the project has also had positive impacts on humans, providing unique training and stewardship opportunities for displaced fishers, forestry workers and local First Nations.

Plans call for further work inside as well as outside of the Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. Parks Canada is supporting the restoration of riparian slope stability to keep sediment from collecting in fish creeks for portions of Lost Shoe Creek within the park. Fisheries Renewal BC is funding the work planning through the Regional Aquatic Management Society. With funding help from Fisheries Renewal BC and Environment Canada's EcoAction Community Program, work began in 2001 to restore segments of Sandhill Creek within the park.

Creek after cleanup
Creek after cleanup
© Central Westcoast Forest Society

The ecosystem is not bound by park borders. Increased ecological integrity on one side of the park border means increased ecological integrity on the other. Just as creeks flow heedless of borders, effective restoration efforts cannot be confined by human boundaries. Collaborative restoration efforts, such as the Kennedy Flats Restoration Project, benefit us all.

Results


  • Over 16 kilometres of streams have been restored, permitting salmon to return to former spawning beds and restoring flooded land to its natural state.
     
  • In 1994, salmon returns for Kennedy Flats were less than 10,000 adult salmon. In 2004, the Tofino Stream Enhancement Society reported the best year ever with between 40,000 and 50,000 returned adult salmon.
     
  • The habitat improved in 2000 alone could produce 122,000 Coho fry based on Department of Fisheries and Oceans standards.
     
  • A five-kilometre walking trail and a longer 16-kilometre driving loop allow visitors to view portions of the restored streams.
     
  • The success of the Kennedy Flats Restoration Project sets a standard for future ecosystem-based management efforts.

Parcs Canada se joint à un partenariat visant à soigner la forêt pluviale tempérée du Canada

Remise en état des forêts coupées à blanc et des ruisseaux endommagés dans l'écosystème de la baie Clayoquot

Sur la côte Ouest du Canada, une immense forêt pluviale toute détrempée regorge de vie. Dans la réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim, le personnel de Parcs Canada s'efforce de protéger l'intégrité écologique, tout en offrant aux visiteurs la possibilité de vivre de merveilleuses aventures. Afin de sauvegarder le grand écosystème entourant la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, elle s'est donc jointe à la Central Westcoast Forest Society, à l'International Forest Products (Interfor) et aux représentants du public, des Premières nations et du gouvernement dans le cadre d'un projet de rétablissement écosystémique du bassin hydrographique Kennedy Flats, dans le sud de la baie Clayoquot.

Environ à mi-chemin entre Ucluelet et Tofino dans l'île de Vancouver, trois ruisseaux (Kootowis Creek, Staghorn Creek et Lost Shoe Creek) irriguent les terres basses connues sous le nom de Kennedy Flats. Près du parc, le bassin hydrographique Kennedy Flats a une superficie de 129,4 kilomètres carrés; l'eau coule à travers le parc jusqu'à l'océan Pacifique. Avant l'adoption des mesures de contrôle plus rigoureuses qui sont en place actuellement, l'exploitation forestière a laissé les Kennedy Flats et ses ruisseaux dans une situation précaire. Les résidus de coupe bloquaient les cours d'eau et le passage des poissons. L'effondrement des ponceaux et des ponts a dégradé encore plus l'habitat des poissons et détourné certains segments des ruisseaux. La région produisait autrefois des milliers de saumons, mais ce nombre avait considérablement diminué au début des années 1990.

Le Projet de remise en état des Kennedy Flats a commencé par l'enlèvement manuel des débris de bois. On a retiré les résidus de bois à l'aide d'hélicoptères pour endommager le moins possible l'endroit. Le nettoyage n'était toutefois que la première étape. Il fallait aussi rétablir l'état naturel des cours d'eau. On y a donc ancré de grosses billes de bois ou d'énormes boules de racines pour recréer les fosses et les tourbillons naturels. On a aussi ajouté du gravier pour les saumons reproducteurs et une couverture végétale pour les petits poissons.

Fond de ruisseau encombré de  débris de bois, avant sa remise en état
Fond de ruisseau encombré de débris de bois, avant sa remise en état
© Central Westcoast Forest Society

Chaque année depuis 1995, quand la Central Westcoast Forest Society a amorcé la remise en état de l'endroit, on a dégagé les cours d'eau sur quelques kilomètres de plus, stabilisé les pentes rasées et fermé d'autres vieux chemins. Les responsables du plan de remise en état des Kennedy Flats adoptent une démarche globale et coordonnée pour rétablir les écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres. La Société décrit ainsi ses activités : « Donner un coup d'épaule à Mère Nature et accélérer le processus naturel de guérison. » En 2005, on observe des résultats positifs.

Les travaux ont déjà permis d'améliorer l'accès des poissons car on a supprimé les embâcles. Les cours d'eau et les forêts avoisinantes sont désormais plus sains, grâce à une meilleure définition du tracé des chenaux, à un accroissement du couvert forestier et à une réduction de l'inondation des rives. Les travaux ont aussi eu d'heureuses conséquences pour les humains, car ils ont procuré à des pêcheurs et à des travailleurs forestiers déplacés, ainsi qu'aux membres des Premières nations locales, d'uniques possibilités en matière de formation et d'intendance.

Les plans prévoient d'autres travaux à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Parcs Canada finance la restabilisation des pentes riveraines afin d'empêcher les sédiments de s'accumuler dans des segments du ruisseau Lost Shoe à l'intérieur du parc. Fisheries Renewal BC finance la planification des travaux par le biais de la Regional Aquatic Management Society. Avec l'aide financière de Fisheries Renewal BC et du programme communautaire ÉcoAction d'Environnement Canada, la remise en état de segments du ruisseau Sandhill a commencé dans le parc en 2001.

Ruisseau après sa remise en état
Ruisseau après sa remise en état
© Central Westcoast Forest Society

L'écosystème ne s'arrête pas aux frontières du parc. Si l'on accroît l'intégrité écologique d'un côté de la frontière du parc, il faut aussi le faire de l'autre côté. Comme les ruisseaux qui coulent en faisant fi des frontières, les efforts de remise en état ne peuvent, pour être efficaces, cesser là où l'être humain a tracé des frontières. Les efforts de collaboration tels que ceux concrétisés dans le Projet de remise en état des Kennedy Flats profitent à tout le monde.

Résultats


  • On a remis en état les cours d'eau sur plus de 16 kilomètres; ainsi, le saumon a pu revenir dans ses anciennes frayères et l'on a rendu leur état naturel aux terres inondées.
     
  • En 1994, moins de 10 000 saumons adultes retournaient frayer dans les Kennedy Flats. En 2004, la Tofino Stream Enhancement Society a enregistré des résultats records à cet égard, car de 40 000 à 50 000 saumons adultes y étaient revenus.
     
  • L'habitat amélioré en 2000 a contribué à la reproduction de 122 000 alevins de saumon coho, d'après les normes du ministère des Pêches et des Océans.
     
  • Un sentier de randonnée de cinq kilomètres et une route de 16 kilomètres permettent aux visiteurs d'admirer des segments des cours d'eau restaurés.
     
  • La réussite du Projet de remise en état des Kennedy Flats établit une norme qui guidera les efforts de gestion écosystémique de l'avenir.