Common menu bar links

Achieving bovine Tuberculosis-free status in domestic cattle and park wildlife

Manitoba Bovine Tuberculosis Management Program recognized as excellent model for other animal disease control efforts

The rolling hills and valleys of Riding Mountain National Park of Canada appear above the surrounding plain as a bluish other-world dominating the horizon. Forming part of the Manitoba Escarpment, this "island" reserve protects a wide variety of wildlife and vegetation areas. It is also home to a population of free-roaming elk (Cervus elaphus manitobensis) that is infected with Mycobacterium bovis, the agent of bovine tuberculosis (Tuberculosis). The disease has also appeared in a number of cattle herds and in deer near the park.

Bovine tuberculosis is a serious infectious disease affecting cattle, sheep, goats, bison, members of the deer family and many other species. It is suspected that the disease has been transmitted between elk, deer and cattle when wildlife feeds from the hay bales put out for cattle to eat in the winter. TB can have a devastating impact on the cattle industry. Following three separate outbreaks of Tuberculosis in eight cattle herds surrounding the park, Parks Canada joined other government agencies, community leaders and wildlife and agricultural representatives to reduce the spread of Tuberculosis in wild and domestic animals.

Beginning in 2000, the Task Group for Bovine Tuberculosis quickly mounted a concerted, collaborative and multi-faceted management program that is already proving effective in disease control and prevention. The Task Group includes the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Manitoba Agriculture and Food, Parks Canada and Manitoba Conservation, along with the Manitoba Cattle Producers Association and Manitoba Wildlife Federation.

Hay in an enclosure
Hay in an enclosure
© Parks Canada / K. Kingdon

Park staff and their partners are working to ensure that, while the disease is being fought, it does not have a negative impact on the park's ecological integrity. Experience gained from the Manitoba Bovine Tuberculosis Management Program regarding multi-agency cooperation, wide public consultation and an integrated response to disease management can be directly applied to other disease-control efforts. It has also strengthened partnerships among park staff, local landowners, rural municipalities, First Nations and other stakeholders who will benefit from Riding Mountain National Park in the future.

Results


  • To date, 313 elk have been live-captured and tested. Of these, 122 animals have been removed as suspect bovine TB cases. A total of 2,550 elk and 3,200 deer from hunter-killed animals have also been tested for TB. It is estimated that 9% of the elk population is infected with TB. The numbers are lower in deer and the disease has also been found in wolves and coyotes.
     
  • The Canadian Food Inspection Agency provides enhanced testing of cattle and other domestic livestock surrounding the park. Roughly 55,000 breeding cattle on 650 premises make up the designated Riding Mountain TB Eradication Area, representing 10% of Manitoba's cattle herds and 1% of all Canadian cattle herds.
     
  • To prevent contact between cattle and elk, over 100 eight-foot-high wire barrier fences have been erected around 95% of the hay storage yards within three kilometres of the park. This effort, which was supported by the Province of Manitoba and Parks Canada, with the help of local First Nations contractors, has shut down a primary disease transmission route.
     
  • Hunting seasons in the two game hunting areas surrounding the park have been extended. As well, more hunting permits have been made available by Manitoba Conservation. The Manitoba Wildlife Act was also changed to make the baiting of elk outside the park illegal.
     
  • Provisions to protect wolves were enacted, given that they are the main predators of elk in the park.
     
  • A total of 202 elk have been captured and radio-collared, resulting in 33,000 geo-referenced locations of elk movements that will provide a model for the potential spread of disease.
     
  • Prescribed forest burns have improved elk forage habitat within the park and encourage elk to remain within park boundaries during the winter when food is limited.
     
  • Local First Nations technicians have been hired and trained to collect and examine tissues to sample from hunter-harvested animals at the new regional wildlife health laboratory and provincial centre established for diagnosing chronic wasting disease and bovine TB in Manitoba.
     
  • The Task Group for Bovine Tuberculosis received the 2004 Manitoba Federal Council's Exceptional Contribution Award for cooperative management of bovine TB in Riding Mountain National Park.
Elk running away in the snow
Elk running away in the snow
© Parks Canada / D. Macarthur

Éliminer la tuberculose bovine chez le bétail domestique et la faune des parcs

Le Programme de gestion de la tuberculose bovine du Manitoba est reconnu comme un excellent modèle de lutte contre les maladies animales

Les collines et les vallées ondulées du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding semblent flotter, comme un autre monde bleuté, au-dessus de la plaine environnante et de l'horizon. Cette île-réserve fait partie de l'Escarpement du Manitoba et protège toute une gamme d'espèces sauvages et végétales. Elle abrite aussi une population de wapitis (Cervus elaphus manitobensis) qui circulent librement et qui ont été infectés par le Mycobacterium bovis, agent de la tuberculose bovine (TBB). La maladie s'est aussi manifestée dans certains troupeaux de bovins et chez les chevreuils près du parc.

La tuberculose bovine est une maladie infectieuse grave qui touche les bovins, les ovins, les chèvres, le bison, les membres de la famille des chevreuils et de nombreuses autres espèces. On soupçonne que la maladie est transmise par les wapitis et les chevreuils aux bovins quand les animaux sauvages viennent manger du foin en balle laissé dehors l'hiver pour nourrir le bétail. La TBB risque d'avoir des effets dévastateurs sur le secteur de l'élevage bovin. Après trois manifestations distinctes de TBB dans huit troupeaux de bovins autour du parc, Parcs Canada s'est jointe à d'autres organismes du gouvernement, à des dirigeants communautaires et à des représentants du secteur de la faune et des milieux agricoles pour réduire la propagation de la maladie chez les animaux sauvages et domestiques.

Dès 2000, le Groupe de travail sur la tuberculose bovine a rapidement mis sur pied un programme de gestion concerté à plusieurs volets, axé sur la collaboration; le programme a déjà permis de lutter efficacement contre la maladie et de la prévenir. Le Groupe de travail comprend l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Agriculture et Alimentation Manitoba, Parcs Canada et Conservation Manitoba, ainsi que la Manitoba Cattle Producers Association et la Manitoba Wildlife Federation.

Foin derrière une clôture
Foin derrière une clôture
© Parcs Canada / K. Kingdon

Le personnel des parcs et ses partenaires s'assurent que, pendant qu'on lutte contre la maladie, les mesures prises ne nuisent en rien à l'intégrité écologique du parc. L'expérience acquise grâce au Programme de gestion de la tuberculose bovine du Manitoba peut être appliquée directement à d'autres efforts de lutte contre les maladies. Cette expérience a aussi renforcé les partenariats entre le personnel des parcs, les propriétaires fonciers locaux, les municipalités rurales, les Premières nations et d'autres intervenants, et ces partenariats profiteront au parc national du Mont-Riding dans l'avenir.

Résultats


  • Jusqu'ici, 313 wapitis ont été capturés vivants et testés; 122 d'entre eux ont été retenus, car on les soupçonnait d'avoir contracté la tuberculose bovine. Au total, 2550 wapitis et 3200 chevreuils tués par des chasseurs ont été soumis à des tests de détection de la TBB. On évalue que 9 p. 100 de la population des wapitis sont infectés par la TBB. Le pourcentage est moindre au sein de la population des chevreuils et on a aussi détecté la maladie chez les loups et les coyotes.
     
  • L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments effectue des tests poussés sur les bovins et sur d'autres animaux d'élevage aux environs du parc. La zone d'éradication de la tuberculose du Mont-Riding compte environ 55 000 bovins de reproduction répartis dans 650 fermes, ce qui représente 10 p. 100 des troupeaux de bovins du Manitoba et 1 p. 100 de tous les troupeaux du Canada.
     
  • Afin de prévenir les contacts entre les bovins et les wapitis, plus d'une centaine de clôtures grillagées ont été érigées autour de 95 p. 100 des aires de stockage du foin, sur trois kilomètres dans le parc. Avec le soutien de la province du Manitoba, de Parcs Canada et d'entrepreneurs autochtones locaux, cet effort a permis d'éliminer une des principales voies de transmission de la maladie.
     
  • La province a prolongé les saisons de chasse dans les deux zones de chasse au gibier entourant le parc, et Conservation Manitoba a offert plus de permis de chasse. Par ailleurs, les dispositions du Manitoba Wildlife Act ont été modifiées en vue d'interdire l'appâtage des wapitis à l'extérieur du parc.
     
  • La province a adopté des dispositions pour protéger les loups, car ce sont les principaux prédateurs qui s'attaquent aux wapitis dans le parc.
     
  • En tout, on a capturé et muni d'un collier émetteur 202 wapitis; on a ainsi purelever 33 000 positions de wapitis en mouvement pour modéliser la propagation éventuelle de la maladie.
     
  • Des brûlages dirigés ont accru les quantités de fourrage dans l'habitat des wapitis à l'intérieur du parc, ce qui a encouragé ces animaux à demeurer dans le parc pendant l'hiver.
     
  • Des techniciens autochtones locaux ont été embauchés et formés pour prélever des échantillons de tissus sur les animaux abattus par les chasseurs, ainsi que pour examiner ces échantillons au nouveau laboratoire régional de la santé de la faune et au centre provincial établi pour diagnostiquer les maladies dégénératives chroniques et la TBB au Manitoba.
     
  • En 2004, le Groupe de travail sur la tuberculose bovine a reçu du Conseil fédéral du Manitoba le prix de la contribution exceptionnelle, pour la gestion concertée dont il a fait preuve dans le dossier de la TBB au parc national du Mont-Riding.
Wapiti s'enfuyant dans la neige
Wapiti s'enfuyant dans la neige
© Parcs Canada / D. Macarthur