Common menu bar links

National Parks hold the line between Mountain pine beetle epidemic in British Columbia and Alberta's commercial forests

Governments and other land management partners work collaboratively to protect the economic value of forests and achieve ecological integrity objectives

About the size of a grain of rice, the Mountain pine beetle [Dendroctonus ponderosae (Scolytidae)] is a native insect of the southern Rocky Mountains. As do other bark beetles, Mountain pine beetles live throughout Lodgepole pine forests. While insect outbreaks are natural ecological processes that contribute to forest diversity, a 10-year beetle infestation—the largest insect epidemic in the province's history—is having a huge economic impact on the forest industry of British Columbia, especially in the west-central interior.

With the epidemic devastating the commercial forests of its neighbours, Alberta and its forest industry want to stop the beetles at the Continental Divide, which is also the provincial boundary and the location of the Mountain National Parks. Due to the long history of frequent fires in the montane eco-region and foothills, there have been few stands on the northeastern slopes of the Rockies susceptible to Mountain pine beetles. Several outbreaks have occurred in the Mountain National Parks. However, until 1999, there had been none in Jasper National Park of Canada.

Bringing stakeholders together was the first step in efforts to protect both the economic value of the provincial forests and the ecological integrity of the affected national and provincial parks. A senior management-level Strategic Direction Council was established to manage efforts to prevent, detect and control the beetle, and to ensure effective public communications concerning forest health issues in Alberta. The Council represents the Canadian Forest Service, Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, Alberta Community Development, and Parks Canada. Its goal is to use aggressive, short-term approaches to control the beetles in high-risk areas, together with long-term strategies to increase biodiversity. The Council also works with industry, interest groups, affected local communities and the public to ensure their interests are represented.

Mountain pine beetle
Mountain pine beetle
© Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Forest Service / P. S. Debman

In addition to the large-scale scope of the Council, Banff National Park of Canada is involved with the Bow Valley Mountain Pine Beetle Control Team. This regional working group consists of representatives from Banff National Park of Canada, Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, Alberta Community Development, the Town of Canmore, the Municipal District of Bighorn, industry partners and non-profit organizations such as the Biosphere Institute.

Annual monitoring has been replaced with aggressive monitoring for Mountain pine beetles on a coordinated, regional or ecosystem basis, in partnership with all land managers. Beetle population growth in the lower Bow Valley since 2003 has remained static and is even declining in some areas. Although it appears that the threat is decreasing, park managers must continue to be vigilant.

A management goal for all Mountain National Parks is to restore 50% of the historic fire cycle. The careful implementation of prescribed fire and the management of wildfire are gradually building public support for using fire as a management tool. There are numerous benefits related to controlled fire, including directly reducing Mountain pine beetle populations and beetle habitat, renewing forest health, improving wildlife habitat and reducing susceptibility to wildfire.

In Jasper National Park, approximately 27,000 hectares of prime-age Lodgepole pine-beetle habitat were burned, providing an effective fireguard on the south side of the Athabaska River Valley. In Banff National Park, the Mountain pine beetle population is being intensively monitored, and prescribed fire plans will be implemented as conditions permit. This area has become an important staging ground for ongoing scientific research to better understand Mountain pine beetle ecology, ecosystem management processes and their effects on both the natural environment and public perception.

Thus far, the program has strengthened inter-agency and industry working relationships and the effective management of public lands for future generations. The expansion of the beetle populations in the Mountain National Parks has been slowed, bringing short-term protection to Alberta's commercial forests. The results also confirm the theory that dealing with the growth of Mountain pine beetle populations early, before the population moves beyond the first stage of growth, can be effective in preventing epidemics.

Results


  • The expansion of Mountain pine beetle populations in the Mountain NationalParks of Alberta has been mitigated, resulting in short-term protection of the province.s commercial forests.
     
  • Strengthened inter-agency and industry partnerships and coordinated efforts have created more opportunities for multi-jurisdictional, ecosystem-based management.
     
  • Public awareness and understanding of the Mountain pine beetle and of the prescribed fire program have grown.
     
  • In 2004, the Bow Valley Mountain Pine Beetle Control Team received the Silver Premier's Award of Excellence.

Les parcs nationaux : ligne de défense pour empêcher le dendroctone du pin ponderosa, répandu en Colombie-Britannique, de se propager aux forêts commerciales de l'Alberta

Les gouvernements et d'autres partenaires dans la gestion des terres conjuguent leurs efforts pour protéger la valeur économique des forêts et atteindre leurs objectifs en matière d'intégrité écologique

Le dendroctone du pin ponderosa [Dendroctonus ponderosae (Scolytidae)] est un insecte indigène du sud des montagnes Rocheuses, dont la taille se compare à celle d'un grain de riz. Comme d'autres scolytes, il existe dans tous les secteurs où pousse le pin tordu mûr. Bien que les invasions d'insectes soient des processus écologiques naturels qui contribuent à la diversité de la forêt, une infestation de 10 ans par le dendroctone du pin ponderosa — la plus vaste épidémie jamais vue dans l'histoire de la province — a des conséquences économiques énormes pour l'industrie forestière de la Colombie-Britannique, surtout dans le centre-ouest.

Maintenant que l'épidémie dévaste les forêts commerciales de sa voisine, l'Alberta et son industrie forestière veulent l'enrayer à la ligne de partage des eaux, qui est aussi la frontière interprovinciale et l'emplacement des parcs nationaux des montagnes. En raison des feux fréquents qui ont brûlé dans le passé dans la zone montagnarde et dans les contreforts, peu de peuplements sur les pentes nord-est des Rocheuses ont subi les attaques du dendroctone du pin ponderosa. Plusieurs infestations ont eu lieu dans les parcs nationaux des Rocheuses canadiennes, mais jusqu'en 1999, il n'y en avait eu aucune dans le parc national du Canada Jasper.

Dans les efforts qui ont été déployés pour protéger la valeur économique des forêts provinciales et l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux et provinciaux concernés, il a d'abord fallu réunir les intervenants. Un conseil de direction stratégique a été mis sur pied pour gérer les efforts destinés à prévenir l'apparition du dendroctone, à le détecter et à lutter contre ce ravageur, puis à garantir des communications publiques efficaces sur la santé des forêts en Alberta. Le conseil est formé de représentants du Service canadien des forêts, de l'Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, de l'Alberta Community Development et de Parcs Canada. Il a pour objectif d'adopter des démarches dynamiques à court terme pour enrayer la propagation des dendroctones dans les zones à risques élevés, tout en élaborant des stratégies à long terme pour accroître la biodiversité. Le conseil collabore aussi avec l'industrie, les groupes d'intérêts, les collectivités locales touchées et le grand public pour tenir compte de leurs intérêts.

Dendroctone du pin ponderosa
Dendroctone du pin ponderosa
© Ressources naturelles Canada, Service canadien des forêts / P. S. Debman

Par ailleurs, le parc national Jasper a des représentants dans la Bow Valley Mountain Pine Beetle Control Team. Ce groupe de travail régional rassemble des représentants du parc national du Canada Banff, de l'Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, de l'Alberta Community Development, de la ville de Canmore, du district municipal de Bighorn, des partenaires industriels et des organismes sans but lucratif tels que l'Institut de la biosphère.

Les autorités ont remplacé les contrôles annuels par une surveillance coordonnée intensive des dendroctones du pin ponderosa, à l'échelle régionale ou au niveau des écosystèmes, en partenariat avec tous les gestionnaires des territoires.

Pour l'ensemble des parcs nationaux des montagnes, l'objectif de gestion consiste à rétablir à 50 p. 100 le cycle historique des feux. Les brûlages dirigés présentent de nombreux avantages, notamment la réduction directe des populations de dendroctones du pin ponderosa et des habitats connexes, la revitalisation des forêts, l'amélioration des habitats fauniques et la réduction des risques de feux de forêts.

Dans le parc national Jasper, les autorités ont brûlé environ 27 000 hectares de pins tordus à maturité et d'habitats propices au dendroctone du pin ponderosa, ce qui a créé un pare-feu efficace du côté sud de la vallée de la rivière Athabaska. Dans le parc national Banff, on surveille de très près les populations de dendroctones du pin ponderosa, et des plans de brûlage dirigé seront mis en œuvre quand les conditions le permettront. Cette région est devenue un important terrain où se poursuivent des recherches scientifiques grâce auxquelles on pourra mieux comprendre l'écologie du dendroctone du pin ponderosa, les processus de gestion des écosystèmes et leurs effets sur l'environnement naturel et sur l'opinion publique.

Jusqu'ici, le programme a renforcé les relations de travail entre les divers organismes et le secteur industriel. En outre, il a amélioré la gestion des terres publiques pour les générations à venir. L'expansion des populations de dendroctones du pin ponderosa dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes a été ralentie, ce qui protégera à court terme les forêts commerciales de l'Alberta. Les résultats confirment aussi la théorie selon laquelle on peut efficacement prévenir les épidémies en gérant en temps opportun la croissance de ces insectes, c'est-à-dire avant que les populations dépassent le stade initial de croissance.

Résultats


  • L'expansion des populations de dendroctones du pin ponderosa dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes a été ralentie, ce qui procure une protection immédiate aux forêts commerciales de l'Alberta.
     
  • Le renforcement des partenariats entre les divers organismes et l'industrie, de même que la coordination des efforts ont multiplié les occasions de gérer les divers écosystèmes avec une formule faisant intervenir plusieurs administrations.
     
  • Le public comprend mieux l'action du dendroctone du pin ponderosa et l'efficacité du programme des feux dirigés pour la revitalisation des forêts.
     
  • En 2004, on a décerné au Bow Valley Mountain Pine Beetle Control Team la Médaille d'argent pour excellence du Premier ministre (Silver Premier's Award of Excellence).