Wood turtle recovery in La Mauricie National Park of Canada

Parks Canada crosses park boundaries to help ensure future of unique population of Wood turtles near Shawinigan River, Quebec

One of Canada's largest known populations of the Wood turtle (Glyptemys insculpta) inhabits an area near the Shawinigan River at the southern edge of La Mauricie National Park of Canada, in Quebec. Among Wood turtle populations in Quebec, the genetic diversity of the Shawinigan River population is unique. Yet, human activity and natural predators–the same factors that led to designating the Wood turtle as vulnerable in Canada–threaten the Shawinigan River population.

Committed to ensuring the future of this fragile population, biologists at La Mauricie National Park surveyed the Shawinigan River Wood turtles in collaboration with the ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, a local environmental group, and graduate students from nearby universities. The survey, which included tracking adult turtles through radio telemetry, discovered that 40% of the females use a single nesting site close to the park's boundary. Should anything happen to this site, the pressure on the population would be extreme.

The nesting site has been protected since 1996. Park biologists and volunteers locate and protect the nests, laying down wire netting to keep out predators. Over one three-year period, such efforts allowed more than 700 hatchlings to safely reach the Shawinigan River, compared to less than 100 before the project began. The nesting site land was purchased by the Fondation de la faune du Québec in 2000. Protection continues under the Saint-Lawrence Valley Natural History Society, which manages the area.

Warden weighing a turtle
Wood turtle on a rock
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau / 2003

A well-targeted public education program was established to protect the turtles and their habitat through stewardship. Riverside property owners were educated about the importance of this rare population. Groups organizing outdoor activities in the area were instructed on how to minimize disturbances to the turtles and their habitat. Where logging activities occur on public lands, forestry practices have been adapted to maintain quality habitat.

Using demographic, genetic and habitat-use data, biologists at La Mauricie National Park plan the release of juvenile turtles within the park. By increasing the number of turtles on protected land while continuing to maintain their habitat outside the park, Parks Canada and its partners hope to maintain steady population growth. The future of the La Mauricie Wood turtle population looks bright.

Le rétablissement de la tortue des bois dans le parc national du Canada de la Mauricie

Parcs Canada franchit les limites d'un parc pour aider à garantir l'avenir d'une population unique de tortues des bois, près de la rivière Shawinigan (Québec)

Une des plus grandes populations canadiennes connues de tortues des bois (Glyptemys insculpta) vit dans une région voisine de la rivière Shawinigan, dans l'extrémité sud du parc national du Canada de la Mauricie, au Québec. Chez les populations de tortues des bois du Québec, la diversité génétique de celle de la rivière Shawinigan est sans pareille. Pourtant, l'activité humaine et les prédateurs naturels (les mêmes facteurs qui ont fait de la tortue des bois une espèce vulnérable ailleurs au Canada) la menacent elle aussi.

Résolus à assurer l'avenir de cette population fragile, les biologistes du parc national de la Mauricie ont recensé les tortues des bois de la rivière Shawinigan, en collaboration avec le ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, un groupe local de défense de l'environnement et des étudiants diplômés des universités voisines. Le recensement, qui a compris le pistage de tortues adultes au moyen de la radiotélémesure, a montré que 40 p. 100 des femelles utilisent un seul lieu de nidification, près des limites du parc. Si quelque chose arrivait à ce lieu, la population serait assujettie à des pressions extrêmes.

L'aire de nidification est protégée depuis 1996. Les biologistes du parc et des bénévoles repèrent les nids et les protègent contre les prédateurs avec des filets métalliques. Au cours d'une période de trois ans, ces efforts ont permis à plus de 700 petits d'atteindre la rivière Saskatchewan en toute sécurité, comparativement à moins de 100, avant le début du projet. En 2000, la Fondation de la faune du Québec a acheté l'aire de nidification, et la protection continue maintenant d'être assurée sous la gouverne de la Société d'histoire naturelle de la vallée du Saint-Laurent.

Garde de parc pesant une tortue
Garde de parc pesant une tortue
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau / 2003

Un programme bien ciblé d'éducation du public a été lancé pour protéger les tortues et leur habitat par le biais de la gérance environnementale. On a renseigné les propriétaires des terrains bordant la rivière sur l'importance de cette population rare, et les groupes qui organisent des activités de plein air dans la région ont appris à réduire au minimum tout ce qui dérange les tortues et leur habitat. Là où des activités d'exploitation forestière ont lieu dans des terres publiques, on a adapté les méthodes pour préserver un habitat de qualité.

Appuyés par des données démographiques et génétiques, ainsi que des renseignements détaillés sur l'utilisation de l'habitat, les biologistes du parc national de la Mauricie comptent y relâcher de jeunes tortues. En augmentant le nombre de tortues dans les terrains protégés, tout en continuant à préserver leur habitat à l'extérieur du parc, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires espèrent favoriser une croissance soutenue de la population. L'avenir de la tortue des bois de la Mauricie s'annonce prometteur.