Local residents, Aboriginal communities and fishers work together to restore Soft-shelled clams

Restoration and maintenance of valuable resource requires input from all stakeholders

Harvesting Soft-shelled clams (Mya arenaria) has always been a part of life for local people in Kent County in eastern New Brunswick. This invertebrate symbolizes the profound link the people of the area—especially First Nations communities—have with the land and what is now the coastal area of Kouchibouguac National Park of Canada. Soft-shelled clam harvesting is recognized as a traditional fishery activity in the park by the federal government. Parks Canada understands that the long-term restoration and conservation of the species depends on strong support from local residents and users of this important resource.

Since 1981, the local population has been allowed to practice traditional activities such as commercial fishing and soft-shelled clam harvesting in park territory. However, no effective management system was in place to ensure the long-term viability of the clam population under harvesting pressure. By the late 1990s, data collected by park ecologists on soft-shelled clam stocks over the past 25 years demonstrated that clams in all age classes were being over-harvested.

In response to the data, Parks Canada developed a Soft-shelled Clam Management Plan for the park in 1999. Two years later, a joint management committee was struck, which brought local commercial fishers into the management decision-making process. The commercial clam fishers, park conservation staff, Maritime Fishermen's Union and First Nations agreed to close the clam beds in 2001 to allow the clam population to recover.

Group of fishermen in the water
Group of fishermen in the water
© Parks Canada / Don Pentz

The goal of the management plan is to restore the clam population within the park to a viable level by working closely with local communities, commercial and recreational fishers and the First Nations communities surrounding the park. In 2001, the Kouchibouguac Commercial Clam Fishermen Association was established. The association's 11 members work in the field with park staff on several aspects of clam management, such as the Clam Guardian Program, population inventories and active restoration techniques. The association's in-kind support is a major contributor to the success of the management plan. Now, even more participants have been invited into the management process, including watershed groups, other fishers' associations, surrounding communities and First Nations representatives.

The overall project will see 11 commercial fishers and one Aboriginal technician trained in scientific methods relating to conducting restoration work and inventories of clam beds and spat (young clams). These participants will be able to share their expertise and train other groups in research techniques and resource management practices. A "Clam Management Handbook" is being developed so that all groups use standardized methods to carry out clam inventory and management practices.

Detailed drawing of a clam
Detailed drawing of a clam
© Parks Canada / L. Bjornson

Another important component of this project is the scientific evaluation of clam spat fall collection techniques, more commonly called "clam tents." These techniques use a variety of steel structures covered with fine netting to promote breeding. After spawning, the clam larvae attach themselves to the structure and colonize the bottom of the estuary.

Clam tents had never been used in Atlantic Canada until the summer of 2003, when the Kouchibouguac Commercial Clam Fishermen Association suggested that the technique be tested in the park's lagoon. Because no harvesting had taken place that year, it was an excellent occasion to scientifically evaluate the efficiency of the technique. With funding from the New Brunswick Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Aquaculture, a preliminary trial was undertaken in the park by Parks Canada staff, scientists from the Université de Moncton, commercial fishers and the federal Department of Fisheries and Oceans. Preliminary results indicate that this technique could work in a coastal sandy environment.

Stakeholders and committed partners are looking to Kouchibouguac National Park of Canada to provide leadership and technical expertise in communicating continued restoration techniques and best practices relating to Soft-shelled clam research, management and restoration. Already, several other groups have approached park staff to conduct inventories and restoration work in the Richibucto estuary, using the knowledge gained at Kouchibouguac through the collaborative clam management program.

By "exporting" proven technologies to Aboriginal fishers and other fishers outside the park, Parks Canada is supporting and engaging these groups in the active restoration of their clam beds. Once the clam beds outside the park are restored, the harvesting pressure on the park-based clam stocks will be greatly reduced.

Results


  • Data on clam beds are analyzed and mapped with a Geographic Information System (GIS), allowing representation of each clam size class and of clam bed distribution. For the first time, managers have access to a spatial representation of clam beds, which is a critical management tool.
     
  • New methods allow managers to implement rotation-type harvesting by being able to determine the beds currently ready for harvesting and predict the year that other beds could be open for harvest.
     
  • Eleven commercial fishers and one Aboriginal technician will be trained by Parks Canada staff in scientific methods relating to conducting inventories of clam beds and clam spat.

La population locale, les collectivités autochtones et les pêcheurs collaborent entre eux pour rétablir les stocks de myes dans le parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac

Le rétablissement et l'entretien d'une ressource précieuse nécessitent l'apport de tous les intervenants

La cueillette des myes (Mya arenaria) a toujours fait partie de la vie des résidants du comté de Kent dans l'est du Nouveau-Brunswick. Cet invertébré symbolise le lien profond que la population locale — surtout des collectivités autochtones — entretient avec la terre et avec ce qui forme maintenant la région côtière du parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac. Parcs Canada comprend que le rétablissement et la conservation à long terme de l'espèce dépendent d'un solide appui de la part des populations locales et des utilisateurs de cette importante ressource.

Depuis 1981, la population des environs du parc peut s'adonner à des activités traditionnelles telles que la pêche commerciale et la cueillette de myes dans le parc. Toutefois, aucun système de gestion efficace n'a été mis sur pied et à la fin des années 1990, les données recueillies par les écologistes du parc sur les stocks de myes des 25 années antérieures ont montré que les myes de toutes les classes de taille avaient fait l'objet d'une cueillette excessive.

En 1999, Parcs Canada a donc élaboré un plan de gestion des myes du parc. Deux ans plus tard, les autorités ont formé un comité de gestion mixte qui a fait participer des pêcheurs, le personnel de conservation du parc, l'Union des pêcheurs des Maritimes et les Premières nations. Le comité a convenu de fermer les parcs à myes en 2001 afin de permettre à la ressource de se reconstituer.

Groupe de pêcheurs dans l'eau
Groupe de pêcheurs dans l'eau
© Parcs Canada / Don Pentz

Le plan de gestion a pour objectif de ramener la population de myes du parc à un niveau viable. En 2001, on a créé la Kouchibouguac Commercial Clam Fishermen Association. Les 11 membres de cette association travaillent sur le terrain avec le personnel du parc sur divers aspects de la gestion des myes, notamment le Clam Guardian Program, l'inventaire des populations et les techniques actives de rétablissement. Maintenant, d'autres intervenants ont été invités à participer au processus de gestion, y compris les groupes de protection des bassins hydrographiques, d'autres associations de pêcheurs, les localités voisines et les représentants des Premières nations.

Dans le cadre du projet, 11 pêcheurs commerciaux et un technicien autochtone apprendront les méthodes scientifiques qui ont trait aux techniques de rétablissement et à la tenue d'inventaire des parcs à myes et à naissain (jeunes myes). Ces personnes pourront partager leur savoir et enseigner à d'autres groupes les techniques de recherche et les méthodes de gestion de la ressource. On est à élaborer un guide (Clam Management Handbook) qui permettra à tous les groupes de méthodes de se servir de méthodes normalisées pour mener à bien la tenue d'inventaire et l'application de méthodes de gestion.

Dessin détaillé d'une mye
Dessin détaillé d'une mye
© Parcs Canada / L. Bjornson

L'évaluation scientifique de la technique de collecte du naissain à l'automne (les « tentes à myes ») constitue un autre volet important du projet. Les tentes sont diverses structures d'acier couvertes d'un filet fin. Une fois le frai terminé, les larves des myes se fixent à la structure et peuplent le fond de l'estuaire.

Les tentes à myes n'avaient jamais été utilisées dans le Canada atlantique avant l'été 2003, quand la Kouchibouguac Commercial Clam Fisherman Association a proposé de mettre la technique à l'essai dans la lagune du parc. Afin d'évaluer scientifiquement l'efficacité de la technique, le ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture du Nouveau-Brunswick a fourni une aide financière. Le personnel de Parcs Canada, les scientifiques de l'Université de Moncton, les pêcheurs commerciaux et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans ont exécuté un essai préliminaire dans le parc. Jusqu'ici, les premiers résultats révèlent que la technique pourrait fonctionner dans un environnement côtier sablonneux.

Les intervenants et les partenaires se tournent vers le parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac pour obtenir des conseils et des compétences spécialisées relativement aux méthodes de rétablissement continu et aux pratiques exemplaires en matière de recherches sur les myes, à la gestion des stocks et à la reconstitution des populations. Plusieurs autres groupes ont déjà demandé au personnel du parc de dresser des inventaires et d'exécuter un travail de restauration dans l'estuaire de la rivière Richibucto, à l'aide des connaissances qu'a acquises Kouchibouguac grâce au programme conjoint de gestion des myes.

En « exportant » des technologies éprouvées aux pêcheurs autochtones ainsi qu'à d'autres pêcheurs à l'extérieur du parc, Parcs Canada appuie ces groupes et les fait participer de façon active à la restauration de leur parc à myes. Dès que les parcs à myes à l'extérieur du parc auront été restaurés, la cueillette excessive au sein des stocks de myes des parcs s'en trouvera grandement réduite.

Résultats


  • On analyse les données sur les parcs à myes et on les cartographie à l'aide du système d'information géographique (SIG), ce qui permet de représenter la répartition des parcs de myes et de chacune des classes de taille des myes. Les gestionnaires ont ainsi accès pour la première fois à une représentation spatiale des parcs à myes, à un outil de gestion inestimable.
     
  • Cette nouvelle méthode permet aux gestionnaires d'adopter un type de cueillette par rotation, ceux-ci pouvant dorénavant savoir quels parcs sont prêts pour la cueillette et prédire en quelle année d'autres parcs le seront.
     
  • Parcs Canada donnera à 11 pêcheurs commerciaux et à un technicien autochtone une formation sur les méthodes scientifiques relatives à l'évaluation des stocks dans les parcs à myes et à naissain.