First-ever comprehensive inventory of Inuvialuit traditional plant knowledge in the Western Arctic

Interviewing and filming Inuvialuit Elders about their knowledge helps preserve ecological integrity in the Western Arctic

Among the Inuvialuit of the Western Arctic, knowledge about local plants and their uses has traditionally been passed from one generation to the next as part of oral tradition. Today, Inuvialuit Elders still possess much of the traditional knowledge about how to use plants for food, medicine and tools. However, due to the pressures of acculturation and other factors, that knowledge is not being passed to the next generation. As more of the key knowledge-holders pass away each year, the need to collect, preserve and present this unique information is urgent.

The Inuvialuit Ethnobotany Project addresses this need. Conducted over four years (from 2003 to 2006) and directed by a multi-stakeholder steering committee, the project is the first comprehensive inventory of traditional plant use among the Inuvialuit people. To date, over 40 Inuvialuit Elders from all six communities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region have been interviewed. The interviews, as well as demonstrations of traditional plant use, have been captured on audio- and videotape. Plant specimens collected earlier in the project are preserved in herbaria across Canada. As well, work has begun on a professional, visually appealing book documenting the collected knowledge.

The project also aims to promote the wise use and conservation of plant resources within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, which encompasses Ivvavik, Aulavik and Tuktut Nogait National Parks of Canada, as well as the Pingo Canadian Landmark. By collecting traditional Inuvialuit plant knowledge, preserving that knowledge and promoting education, the sharing of knowledge can continue.

Two Inuvialuit Elders by a tree
Two Inuvialuit Elders by a tree
© Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre / B. Bandringa, 2003

Stakeholders from across the Inuvialuit Settlement Region have joined the project's steering committee, including representatives from Parks Canada (Western Arctic Field Unit), the Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre, the Aurora Research Institute (Government of the Northwest Territories), the Inuvialuit Game Council and local communities. Partners provide funding, as well as advice and recommendations, to ensure that project results are accurate, relevant and useful. Additional funding and in-kind support is provided by the University of Laval's Aboriginal Capacity and Developmental Research Environment (ACADRE) Program, the University of British Columbia and the Canadian Museum of Nature.

The Inuvialuit and their traditional culture are part of a healthy northern landscape. Many continue to live a traditional way of life, with close ties to the land. Through its collaborative approach, the Inuvialuit Ethnobotany Project preserves and shares that way of life. The unique information captured by the project helps maintain an important relationship between the Inuvialuit and their greater ecosystem. That ecosystem and tradition will both be enhanced by keeping the connections between the Inuvialuit, their living traditional culture, and their landscape strong.

Results


Inuvialuit Elder holding a flower
Inuvialuit Elder holding a flower
© Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre / B. Bandringa, 2004
  • Over 40 Inuvialuit Elders from all six communities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region have been interviewed by the project's ethnobotanist, both in their homes and on the land.
     
  • Several hundred hours of recorded interviews and traditional plant use demonstrations have been stored on audio- and videotape. All interviews have been transcribed and verified.
     
  • Roughly 3,500 photographs of traditional plants and their use have been archived.
     
  • Almost 100 species, including algae, bryophytes, lichens and vascular plants have been collected as archival specimens.
     
  • Collections are now preserved in herbaria across Canada including: the Aurora Research Institute, Inuvik, Northwest Territories; the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia; the Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Ontario; and the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.

Premier répertoire complet jamais dressé concernant les connaissances des anciens sur les plantes traditionnelles inuvialuites de l'Arctique de l'Ouest

En filmant les anciens Inuvialuits et en les interviewant sur leurs connaissances, on aide à préserver l'intégrité écologique de l'Arctique de l'Ouest

Chez les Inuvialuits de l'Arctique de l'Ouest, le savoir relatif aux plantes locales et à leurs utilisations s'est toujours transmis oralement d'une génération à l'autre. Aujourd'hui, les anciens Inuvialuits possèdent encore une bonne partie des connaissances traditionnelles sur la façon d'utiliser les plantes pour préparer des aliments et des médicaments, ainsi que pour fabriquer des outils. Cependant, à cause des pressions de l'acculturation et d'autres facteurs, ce savoir n'est pas transmis à la génération montante. Comme des détenteurs clés de ce savoir meurent chaque année, il devient urgent de recueillir, de préserver et de diffuser ces renseignements si particuliers.

Le Projet Inuvialuit d'ethnobotanique répond à ce besoin. Réparti sur quatre ans (2003-2006), ce projet est mené par un comité directeur formé de plusieurs intervenants. Il aboutira au premier répertoire complet des plantes traditionnelles et de leurs utilisations chez les Inuvialuits. Jusqu'ici, plus de 40 anciens Inuvialuits des six collectivités de la région désignée dans la revendication territoriale inuvialuite ont été interviewés. On a enregistré sur bande sonore et vidéo les entrevues et les démonstrations concernant les utilisations des plantes en question. Des spécimens de plantes recueillis plus tôt sont conservés dans des herbiers un peu partout au Canada, et l'on a entrepris la réalisation d'un livre professionnel et attrayant qui renfermera les connaissances ainsi obtenues.

Le projet vise aussi à promouvoir l'utilisation judicieuse et la conservation des ressources végétales dans la région susmentionnée qui comprend les parcs nationaux du Canada Ivvavik, Aulavik et Tuktut Nogait, ainsi que le site canadien des pingos. Grâce à la collecte des connaissances des Inuvialuits sur les plantes traditionnelles, à la préservation de ce savoir et à la promotion de l'éducation, la transmission des connaissances peut se poursuivre.

Deux Inuvialuit aînés près d'un arbre
Deux Inuvialuit aînés près d'un arbre
© Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre / B. Bandringa / 2003

Des intervenants de toute la région désignée se sont joints au comité de direction du projet, qui comprend notamment des représentants de Parcs Canada (Unité de gestion de l'Arctique de l'ouest), du Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre, du Aurora Research Institute (gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest), de l'Inuvialuit Game Council et des collectivités locales. Les partenaires fournissent une aide financière, ainsi que des conseils et des recommandations pour garantir l'exactitude, la pertinence et l'utilité des résultats. Le programme Cadres de développement de la capacité autochtone de recherche en santé, de l'Université Laval (ACADRE), l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et le Musée canadien de la nature ont fourni d'autres fonds et un soutien non financier.

Les Inuvialuits et leur culture traditionnelle font partie d'un sain paysage nordique. Beaucoup continuent de suivre un mode de vie traditionnel, lié de près à la terre. Grâce à la démarche axée sur la collaboration que le Projet inuvialuit d'ethnobotanique préconise, il préserve et fait connaître ce mode de vie. Les renseignements uniques qui ont été réunis grâce au projet aident à maintenir une relation importante entre les Inuvialuits et leur écosystème global. On améliorera cet écosystème et on maintiendra la tradition en conservant toute leur vigueur aux rapports qui existent entre les Inuvialuits, à leur culture traditionnelle vivante et à leur milieu naturel.

Résultats


Aînée inuvialuite tenant une fleur
Aînée inuvialuite tenant une fleur
© Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre / B. Bandringa, 2004
  • L'ethnobotaniste du projet a interviewé plus de 40 anciens Inuvialuits chez eux et dans les terres, dans les six collectivités de la région désignée dans la revendication territoriale des Inuvialuits.
     
  • On a enregistré sur bande audio et vidéo plusieurs centaines d'heures d'entrevues et de démonstrations sur l'utilisation des plantes traditionnelles. Toutes les entrevues ont été transcrites et vérifiées.
     
  • On a archivé environ 3 500 photos montrant des plantes traditionnelles et leurs utilisations.
     
  • On a recueilli pour les archiver des spécimens de près de 100 espèces, y compris des algues, des bryophytes, des lichens et des plantes vasculaires.
     
  • Des collections résident maintenant dans des herbiers disséminés dans tout leCanada, dont les suivants : l'Institut de recherche Aurora, à Inuvik (T.N.-O.); l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, à Vancouver (C.-B.); le Musée canadien de la nature, à Ottawa (Ontario); le Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre, à Yellowknife (T. N.-O.).