Common menu bar links

New learning centre to draw visitors into Fundy's ecoscape

Fundy National Park of Canada steps up its ecological integrity education programming in stewardship, conservation and science

Parks Canada takes its mandate of ensuring the integrity of the natural places in its care very seriously. It also strives to inspire the many visitors to national parks and to instil in them a sense of ownership and a personal stake in protecting these wild spaces.

At Fundy National Park, a new Ecological Integrity (EI) Learning Centre is in the works. This new centre will increase visitors' awareness, understanding and appreciation of the natural world of the park and beyond. As a key component of the park's enhanced EI Education Project, the Centre will boost the staff's ability to engage visitors in ecology and conservation by showcasing the full range of Fundy's ecoscape. Visitors will become more knowledgeable about the environmental stewardship, conservation and scientific efforts currently taking place at Fundy and nationwide, such as:

  • reintroducing and monitoring the inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic salmon;
  • restoring and naturalizing disturbed areas; and
  • monitoring park ecosystems.

New interpretive stations located throughout the park will enhance visitors. learning experiences by "decoding" aspects of the park for visitors even as they see and experience them.

Support for this important Maritime initiative comes from Fundy National Park, the Atlantic Service Centre and the Fundy Guild, a registered non-profit association and park partner. Fundy's EI Education Project is in its initial planning phase with a completion date set for the summer of 2007.

Interpreter with children on beach
Interpreter with children on beach
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau / 2002

Un nouveau centre d'apprentissage attirera l'attention des visiteurs sur l'environnement écologique de Fundy

Le parc national du Canada Fundy intensifie ses efforts d'éducation sur l'intégrité écologique en mettant l'accent sur l'intendance, la conservation et la science

Parcs Canada prend très au sérieux son mandat qui consiste à garantir l'intégrité des espaces naturels. L'Agence s'efforce aussi d'inspirer les nombreux visiteurs des parcs nationaux et de leur inculquer le sentiment que ces espaces sauvages leur appartiennent et qu'il leur incombe de les protéger.

Au parc national Fundy, un nouveau centre d'apprentissage sur l'intégrité écologique (IE) est en voie de réalisation. Il sensibilisera davantage les visiteurs à la nature du parc et d'ailleurs. Le centre fera en outre comprendre et apprécier davantage cette nature aux visiteurs. Dans le cadre d'un volet clé du projet amélioré d'éducation sur l'IE du parc, le centre augmentera la capacité des employés d'intéresser les visiteurs à l'écologie et à la conservation, en mettant l'accent sur tous les aspects du paysage écologique de Fundy. Les visiteurs en apprendront davantage sur les travaux scientifiques et les efforts de gérance environnementale et de conservation qui se font actuellement à Fundy et ailleurs au pays. Mentionnons les activités suivantes :

  • la réintroduction et la surveillance du saumon atlantique de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy;
  • la remise en état et la naturalisation des zones perturbées;
  • la surveillance des écosystèmes des parcs.

De nouveaux postes d'interprétation répartis sur tout le territoire du parc multiplieront les occasions d'apprentissage, car ils « décoderont » en direct des aspects du parc que les visiteurs observent et dont ils font l'expérience.

Le soutien nécessaire à la réalisation de cette importante initiative des Maritimes est fourni par le parc national Fundy, l'Atlantic Service Centre et la Guilde de Fundy, association sans but lucratif et partenaire du parc. Le Projet d'éducation sur l'IE de Fundy en est au stade de la planification initiale. Il est censé se terminer à l'été 2007.

Interprète avec des enfants sur une plage
Interprète avec des enfants sur une plage
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau / 2002