Bringing back Kootenay's original dry grasslands and open forests

Using mechanical harvesters and prescribed fire, the Redstreak Restoration Project in south Kootenay National Park restores habitat integrity for native species

Kootenay National Park of Canada in the southwest Canadian Rocky Mountains is home to diverse landscapes and ecology, from the high peaks of the Continental Divide to the semi-arid Rocky Mountain Trench. The southwestern corner of the park—home of the Columbia Valley and Radium Hot Springs—is a dry, low-elevation valley that supports rich biodiversity and critical wildlife habitat. This area contains the only example of dry Douglas-fir/Ponderosa pine/wheatgrass vegetation in Canada's national parks and provides important winter range for wildlife, including the Rocky Mountain Bighorn sheep (Ovis canadensis canadensis). It is also the site where most of the human activity in the region occurs.

For thousands of years, natural fires maintained a variety of habitats in the Columbia Valley, creating a healthy mixture of young, middle-aged and old forests, shrublands, open meadows and dry grassy slopes. But now, after almost a century of successful fire suppression efforts in the region, the ecology has dramatically changed. Without the regenerative benefits of periodic, low-intensity surface fires, the Columbia Valley has been transformed into an even-aged blanket of mature forests that is encroaching on and dominating the original mosaic of species and habitats. Moreover, the dense forest now overtaking the area sets the stage for catastrophic wildfires, such as those seen in the summer of 2003.

To return ecological integrity to the valley and reduce wildfire risk, Parks Canada is restoring the rare and beautiful grasslands and open forest biodiversity of the South Kootenays through the Redstreak Restoration Project. The Redstreak Campground area near Radium Hot Springs was chosen as the site for the most ecologically appropriate tool to restore fire-maintained ecosystems—the mechanical harvesting of trees followed by carefully planned and managed burns.

Bighorn sheep
Bighorn sheep
© Parks Canada / A. Dibb / 2005

The first phase of the project (2002-2003) focused on tree harvesting and removal in and around the campground in order to decrease the amount of fuel available for the prescribed fires. Hundreds of hectares have already been restored, using mechanical harvesting as a preparatory step for controlled fires. While mechanical tree harvesting is an odd sight to witness in a national park, it is an essential component of ecosystem restoration efforts. Periodic low-intensity fires are scheduled to begin in spring 2005, provided the right conditions are present.

Just as the forests that burned in the 2001 Mount Shanks fire are now full of wildflowers, and the 1968 Vermilion Pass burn provides prime habitat for lynx and moose, the dry grassy slopes of the Columbia Valley will once again provide a fertile habitat for Bighorn sheep and other native species.

Results


  • Because tree removal requires heavy equipment that can damage soils, small plants and shrubs, Phase 1 of the project took place during winter, when the ground was frozen and covered with snow. This minimized the damage to the land and to small flora. The harvested trees were then sold, and the revenues returned to support the project.
     
  • Controlled, low-intensity fires reduce both dangerous forest fuel loads and the risk of catastrophic fires. Trees were cut and removed from three areas totalling about 100 hectares. This form of "fuel reduction" allows low-intensity fires to be safely introduced.
     
  • Managed fires will burn out young trees from among large, fire-resistant Douglas firs, and will also recycle nutrients and restore open forest.
     
  • Between 350 and 400 hectares of fire-maintained open forests and grasslands will be restored in the Columbia Valley.
     
  • Ten local adult Bighorn sheep have been radio-collared so that detailed location data can be obtained and used to monitor habitat selection and seasonal movement routes. Knowledge gained from monitoring will allow the Radium-Stoddart Bighorn Sheep Working Group to evaluate progress and refine restoration efforts as needed.
Aerial view of Radium Hot Springs
Aerial view of Radium Hot Springs
© Parks Canada / A. Dibb / 2004

Rétablir les prairies sèches et les forêts clairsemées originales du parc national du Canada Kootenay

Recourant à des abatteuses et à des brûlages dirigés, les responsables du Projet de remise en état du secteur de Redstreak, dans le sud du parc national Kootenay, rétablissent l'intégrité de l'habitat des espèces indigènes

Le parc national Kootenay, situé dans le sud-ouest des montagnes Rocheuses, renferme des paysages et des milieux écologiques variés, depuis les pics jalonnant la ligne de partage des eaux jusqu'aux prairies semi-arides du sillon des Rocheuses. Le secteur sud-ouest du parc — caractérisé par la vallée du Columbia et les sources thermales Radium — est une vallée aride et à basse altitude dont dépendent une biodiversité riche et un habitat faunique crucial. C'est le seul endroit, dans l'ensemble des parcs nationaux du Canada, où l'on trouve la communauté végétale formée du Douglas taxifolié, du pin ponderosa et de l'agropyre. Cette zone semiaride constitue une importante aire d'hivernage pour divers animaux sauvages, y compris le mouflon d'Amérique des Rocheuses canadiennes (Ovis canadensis). C'est aussi l'endroit où l'être humain est le plus actif dans la région.

Pendant des milliers d'années, les incendies naturels ont maintenu des habitats variés dans la vallée du Columbia, créant un heureux mélange de forêts jeunes, d'âge moyen et anciennes, d'étendues arbustives, de prés dégagés et de pentes herbeuses sèches. Aujourd'hui, cependant, après presque un siècle d'efforts fructueux déployés pour enrayer les incendies dans la région, l'écologie a considérablement changé. Privée des avantages régénérateurs des feux de surface périodiques de faible intensité, la vallée du Columbia a été transformée en une couverture de forêts équiennes matures qui empiète sur la mosaïque originale des espèces et des habitats et qui domine cette diversité. En outre, la forêt dense qui envahit maintenant l'endroit est propice à des incendies catastrophiques comparables à ceux qui ont fait rage pendant l'été de 2003.

Afin de rendre son intégrité écologique à la vallée et de réduire les risques d'incendie, Parcs Canada restaure les prairies rares et magnifiques et la biodiversité des forêts clairsemées dans le Kootenay-Sud en menant le Projet de remise en état du secteur de Redstreak. L'Agence a choisi la zone de camping de Redstreak, près des sources thermales Radium, comme lieu où utiliser l'outil le plus indiqué du point de vue écologique pour restaurer les écosystèmes entretenus par le feu : l'abattage mécanique des arbres, suivi de brûlages planifiés et dirigés.

Mouflon d'Amérique
Mouflon d'Amérique
© Parcs Canada / A. Dibb / 2005

Pendant la première étape du projet (2002-2003), les responsables ont mis l'accent sur l'abattage et l'enlèvement des arbres dans la zone de camping et autour de cette aire, pour réduire la quantité de combustible devant alimenter les feux dirigés. Des centaines d'hectares ont déjà été régénérés, grâce à l'abattage mécanique qui a préparé les brûlages. Certes, il est bizarre d'assister à l'abattage mécanique d'arbres dans un parc national, mais c'est là un volet essentiel des efforts de restauration des écosystèmes. On est censé commencer à allumer des feux périodiques de faible intensité au printemps 2005, à condition que les conditions voulues existent.

Tout comme les forêts brûlées lors de l'incendie du mont Shanks en 2001 regorgent maintenant de fleurs sauvages et que le brûlis de 1968, dans le col Vermilion, a engendré un habitat de choix pour le lynx et l'orignal, les pentes herbeuses sèches de la vallée du Columbia procureront de nouveau un habitat fertile au mouflon d'Amérique et à d'autres espèces indigènes.

Résultats


  • Comme l'enlèvement des arbres nécessite du matériel lourd qui peut endommager les sols, les petites plantes et les arbustes, l'étape 1 du projet a eu lieu pendant les mois d'hiver, quand le sol était gelé et recouvert d'une couche de neige. Cela a permis de réduire les dégâts causés à la terre et à la petite flore. Les arbres abattus ont ensuite été vendus, et les recettes, réinvesties dans le projet.
     
  • Les feux dirigés de faible intensité réduisent les quantités de combustiblesforestiers dangereux et les risques d'incendie catastrophique. Les arbres ont été abattus et enlevés dans trois secteurs d'une superficie totale d'environ 100 hectares. Cette forme de « réduction du combustible » permet d'allumer sans danger des feux de faible intensité.
     
  • Les feux dirigés consument les jeunes arbres qui poussent parmi les gros Douglas taxifoliés résistants aux flammes, ce qui recycle les éléments nutritifs et remet en état la forêt éclaircie.
     
  • En tout, entre 350 et 400 hectares de forêts clairsemées et de prairies entretenues par le feu seront régénérés dans la vallée du Columbia.
     
  • Dix mouflons d'Amérique adultesde la localité ont été munis d'un collier émetteur pour permettre la collecte de données précises sur leurs déplacements et de cerner les limites de leurs habitats et leurs couloirs de migration saisonnière. Grâce aux connaissances ainsi acquises, le groupe d'étude sur le mouflon d'Amérique de Radium-Stoddart pourra évaluer les progrès et parfaire les efforts de régénération au besoin.
Vue aérienne de Radium Hot Springs
Vue aérienne de Radium Hot Springs
© Parcs Canada / A. Dibb / 2004