Common menu bar links

Message from Canada's Minister of the Environment

Ecological Integrity and Environmental Protection are Essential to Our Future

The Honourable Stéphane Dion, Minister of the Environment
The Honourable Stéphane Dion, Minister of the Environment
© Parks Canada

Few countries are as blessed with natural riches as Canada. Our national parks system is envied around the world, and our system of national marine conservation areas promises to be held in equal esteem when it is ultimately completed. Canada's protected heritage areas are truly special places. They are icons of our nation and its rich natural heritage, part of national identity, and a source of pride for all Canadians.

As the Minister of the Environment and the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I am committed to the conservation of our national parks and national marine conservation areas for present and future generations, and to providing opportunities for Canadians to experience them in their natural state. The Government of Canada shares this commitment. In both Budget 2003 and Budget 2005, we made significant long-term investments in the ecological integrity of Canada's national parks. We did so because these places are national treasures that belong to all Canadians-places of beauty and wonder that foster and support conservation.

National parks are very important to me. I believe that the future of Canada's sustainable economy depends on our commitment, as a nation, to protect our environment; that our environmental health will be a barometer of our economic health, and that tremendous opportunities exist for Canada to become a leader in the use of green technologies. In the future, our most valuable assets will be our clean water, our healthy ecology, and our natural heritage. All of these assets are in rich abundance in Canada's national parks and national marine conservation areas.

Maintaining our national parks in good ecological health has not been easy. It has required dedication and commitment on the part of Parks Canada and its partners in conservation, from environmental organizations to the scientists who have participated in collaborative research projects with the Agency. A major achievement occurred with the formation of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks, and the release of its report in January 2000. The panel not only provided a realistic picture of the threats to our national parks, and of the stressors affecting their ecological integrity, it provided a blueprint for action.

Through its report, the panel issued a challenge to Parks Canada, the federal government, and all Canadians. It urged us to take immediate action to conserve our natural heritage, and our national parks. We responded quickly and effectively. By March 2000, an action plan was in place to implement the panel's recommendations, and in early 2001 the Government made a commitment to invest in the ecological integrity of Canada's national parks.

Parks Canada has taken the lead in implementing the panel's recommendations, and in developing programs, scientific expertise, and partnerships in support of ecological integrity. The greater national park ecosystem partnership program, which recognizes that many of the stressors affecting the ecological integrity of our national parks originate outside their boundaries, is a case in point.

This publication highlights many of the ecological integrity initiatives and projects that have been undertaken in recent years. It is a book of success stories. Stories that demonstrate how effective we can be when we work together toward a common cause, and how our national parks continue to be models for environmental protection in Canada. The partnerships between Parks Canada, governments, communities, Aboriginal people and universities that have contributed to the success of our efforts to maintain or improve the ecological integrity of our national parks speak to this.

Protection is truly a shared responsibility. We can all take pride in the work we have done to maintain or improve Canada's national parks to sound ecological health, and in the work that we will do in the future. Much remains to be done, however. On behalf of all Canadians, I wish to congratulate Parks Canada on this publication, and on its leadership. Accomplishments such as the ones recounted in the following pages provide the inspiration we need to ensure that Canada's national parks will remain the wonderful places they are today, and continue to hold a special place in the hearts of Canadians for generations to come.

signature

The Honourable Stéphane Dion,
Minister of the Environment

Message du ministre de l'Environnement du Canada

L'intégrité écologique et la protection de l'environnement sont essentielles à notre avenir

L'honorable Stéphane Dion, Ministre de l'Environnement
L'honorable Stéphane Dion, Ministre de l'Environnement
© Parcs Canada

Peu de pays peuvent s'enorgueillir d'une nature aussi riche que celle du Canada. Notre réseau des parcs nationaux fait l'envie du monde entier et celui des aires marines nationales de conservation n'en promet pas moins. Nos aires patrimoniales protégées sont vraiment des endroits exceptionnels. Ce sont des symboles de notre pays et de son riche patrimoine naturel, elles participent à définir notre identité nationale et constituent une source de fierté pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

À titre de ministre de l'Environnement et de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, je me suis engagé à conserver nos parcs nationaux et nos aires marines nationales au profit des générations présentes et à venir, ainsi qu'à procurer aux Canadiens et Canadiennes des occasions de pouvoir vivre l'expérience de ces endroits à leur état naturel. Le gouvernement canadien partage cet engagement. Dans les budgets de 2003 et de 2005, nous avons investi des sommes considérables et pour longtemps dans l'intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux. Nous l'avons fait parce que ces endroits sont des trésors nationaux qui appartiennent à tous les Canadiens – des lieux de beauté et d'émerveillement qui favorisent et soutiennent la conservation.

Les parcs nationaux me tiennent énormément à cœur. Je crois que l'avenir de notre économie durable, ici au Canada, dépend de notre engagement national à protéger notre milieu; que la santé de notre environnement constitue un baromètre de notre santé économique; et qu'il existe de formidables occasions pour que le Canada devienne un chef de file dans l'utilisation des technologies vertes. Dans le futur, nos biens les plus précieux seront une eau propre, un environnement sain et notre patrimoine naturel. De tels biens surabondent dans les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Maintenir nos parcs nationaux en bonne santé écologique n'a jamais été une tâche aisée. Cela a exigé dévouement et engagement à Parcs Canada et chez ses partenaires en conservation –des organismes environnementaux aux scientifiques qui ont participé à des projets de recherche en collaboration avec l'Agence. La formation de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada et la publication de son rapport, en janvier 2000, ont constitué une réalisation majeure.

La Commission n'a pas seulement présenté un tableau réaliste des menaces qui pesaient sur nos parcs nationaux, et des facteurs de stress en affectant l'intégrité, mais elle a également esquissé un plan des mesures à prendre.

Par son rapport, la Commission a mis au défi Parcs Canada, le gouvernement fédéral et tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes à qui elle a vivement conseillé de prendre des mesures immédiates pour conserver notre patrimoine naturel et nos parcs nationaux. Nous avons répondu sans tarder et de façon percutante. Dès mars 2000, un plan d'action pour la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission était au point et, au début de 2001, le gouvernement a pris l'engagement d'investir dans l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada.

Parcs Canada a montré la voie en étant la première à mettre en œuvre les recommandations de la Commission et à livrer des programmes, à réunir une expertise scientifique et à conclure des partenariats en appui à l'intégrité écologique. Mené en partenariat, un programme portant sur l'écosystème élargi des régions où est établi un parc national a par exemple révélé que de nombreux agents de stress affectant l'intégrité écologique d'un parc prennent origine hors de ce parc.

La présente publication met en lumière plusieurs des initiatives et projets ayant été entrepris au cours des dernières années. C'est un recueil d'histoires de réussites qui démontrent jusqu'à quel point nous pouvons être efficaces quand nous nous mettons au travail ensemble pour une cause commune ou en quoi nos parcs nationaux constituent des modèles de protection de l'environnement au Canada. Les partenariats conclus entre Parcs Canada, les gouvernements, les collectivités, les Autochtones et les universités qui ont contribué au succès de nos efforts de maintien et d'amélioration de l'intégrité écologique dans nos parcs nationaux, en témoignent de façon éloquente.

La protection est vraiment une responsabilité commune. Nous pouvons tous être fiers du travail que nous avons accompli pour maintenir ou améliorer la santé écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada, comme de celui que nous nous apprêtons à accomplir. Il reste encore beaucoup à faire. Au nom de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, je lève mon chapeau à Parcs Canada pour la présente publication et son rôle de chef de file. Des réalisations comme celles qui sont racontées dans les pages qui suivent fournissent l'inspiration dont nous avons besoin pour faire en sorte que les parcs nationaux du Canada demeurent les endroits merveilleux que nous connaissons, et qu'ils conservent une place spéciale dans le c'ur des générations à venir.

signature

L'honorable Stéphane Dion
Ministre de l'Environnement