Mountain Pine Beetle Initiative graphic
All about the Beetle Button

Beetle Anatomy

Through Compound Eyes: A Closer Look at Mountain Pine Beetle



 

The relationship between mountain pine beetle and their host pine trees has been evolving for hundreds of years. The anatomy of the beetle reflects this relationship with adaptations designed specifically for penetrating the bark and phloem of the host tree.

In general, bark beetles have a hard exoskeleton, a three-region body (head, thorax, and abdomen), two compound eyes, three pairs of jointed legs, and two antennae. The legs and wings are attached to the thorax. The front pair of hardened wings forms the “elytra” which protect the hind wings. Mountain pine beetle are small, dull (not shiny), cylindrical, and have elbowed, club-like antennae. The following is a detailed description of mountain pine beetle anatomy.

What’s in a name?
They are over 300 000 known beetle species on the planet. They make up over 40% of all known species of insects! To keep track of all the organisms on earth, scientists have developed a classification system where each is given a Latin name that tells us something about the species. The Latin name for mountain pine beetle is Dendroctonus ponderosae Hopkins. “Dendroctonus” means “tree-killer, and “ponderosae” refers to “pine tree.” When a non-italicized name appears after the Latin name (like Hopkins) it usually refers to the person who discovered and named the species.

Many Latin names in the classification system describe anatomical features that separate one group of animals from another. Mountain pine beetle is a part of these larger groups in the classification system, and their names provide information about their bodies:

Kingdom: Animalia, meaning all living or extinct animals
Phylum: Arthropoda, meaning “jointed limbs”
Class: Insecta – meaning “incised.” This refers to the fact that insects generally have a sharp division between the head and thorax and between the thorax and abdomen.
Order: Coleoptera – includes all beetles – and means “sheath wings” – referring to the hardened forewings or “elytra” that cover the membranous – see through – hind wings

diagram identifying body parts of mountain pine beetle Mountain Pine Beetle Anatomy.
© Diagram modeled after Hopkins 1909. Interpreted by Malcolm Furniss and labelled by Niki Wilson.

The Exoskeleton:
Beetles don’t have bones and an internal skeleton like we do. They have an exoskeleton that is like a large shell. It protects them and gives them shape. Tiny hairs called “setae” on the outside of the exoskeleton help improve the beetle’s perception of touch and sound.

Region 1: The Head
Unlike the thorax and abdomen, the head is not segmented. Found on the head are the eyes, antennae and the mouthparts. Inside the head is the “brain” that is made up of “ganglia” which are clusters of nerve cells. From the brain a double nerve cord runs back along the bottom of the body and coordinates activities like feeding and flying.

Eyes
Beetles have “compound eyes.” Each eye is made up of many units called “ommatidia”. There can be thousands of ommatidia in a single beetle eye. Through the ommatidia, beetles see in patterns of light and dark dots. Much like the resolution of an image on our computer, the number and size of the dots (or ommatidia) affect how well the beetle can see. In some ways, seeing through a beetle eye is like looking through a kaleidoscope: there are many images instead of just one. The compound eye is excellent at detecting motion. As an object moves across the visual field, ommatidia are turned on and off in response. As a result of this "flicker effect", insects respond far better to moving objects than stationary ones. Despite all of these ommatidia, beetles can’t see as effectively as humans, and must also rely on other senses to move around.

Antennae
Each mountain pine beetle has a set of antennae on its head. Antennae are very important to beetles, as they provide constant information about touch, smell and taste. Beetles use taste and smell receptors on their antennae to locate food and also to identify pheromones.

Illustrated is the antenna of the red turpentine beetle, which infests the base of many pine species. All bark beetles are characterized by antennae that are enlarged at the end. This structure contains receptors (the pointed projections) which detect odors of tree resin and mates, thus it functions as the beetle's nose. Illustrated is the antenna of the red turpentine beetle, which infests the base of many pine species.
© Malcolm Furniss

Mouthparts
Mountain pine beetle need strong mouthparts to be able to chew through bark and phloem. Their mouthparts move in a cutting motion like scissors.

Region 2: The Thorax
The thorax is the middle body region – between the head and the abdomen – that serves as an attachment point for the legs and wings. This is where the heart is located which pumps blood toward the front of the body. Blood does not circulate through vessels, but passes freely between and around body organs. The thorax itself is composed of 3 segments, with a pair of legs located on each segment and 2 pairs of wings found on the second and third segment. The thorax is where the muscles are located that help the beetle walk, jump and fly.

Legs
Adult beetles have 6 legs. Each of the segments of the thorax bears 1 pair of legs. The legs are jointed, and the last segment of the leg bears a small claw.

When beetles walk, a foreleg and hind leg on one side and a middle leg on the other are always touching the ground. This creates a “tripod” on which the beetle balances, and on the next step the beetle alternates to the other three legs to form a new tripod. Walking from tripod to tripod is called “hexapody.”

Wings
The mountain pine beetle has two pairs of wings found on the second and third segment of the thorax. One pair is the hard-shelled outer wings called the “elytra”. These are not used for flying, but to protect the beetle’s flying set of wings and its body as it crawls through narrow passages and tunnels in a tree. The second set of wings is membranous or see-through, and is folded under the elytra when not in use.

Region 3: the Abdomen
The abdomen is the posterior or last of the three body regions in the mountain pine beetle. It is the biggest body part and is composed of 11 segments. The abdomen holds the beetle's digestive system and reproductive organs, and is also where beetles breathe! Beetles don’t have lungs like mammals do – instead they breathe through a series of holes in their abdomens called “spiracles.” Air passes directly into the abdomen through the spiracles and circulates through the body by a system of branching tubes.

graphique de programme sur le dendroctone du pin
Tout sur le scolyte

Anatomie du scolyte

À travers un oeil à facettes : Zoom sur le dendroctone du pin

 

 

La relation qui existe entre les dendroctones du pin et leurs hôtes, les pins, est le résultat de centaines d’années d’évolution. L’anatomie du scolyte reflète cette évolution puisqu’il possède des organes spécifiques lui permettant de pénétrer l’écorce et le phloème de l’arbre hôte.

En général, les scolytes possèdent un exosquelette rigide, un corps en trois sections (tête, thorax et abdomen), deux yeux à facettes, trois paires de pattes articulées et deux antennes. Les pattes et les ailes sont attachés au thorax. La paire d’ailes antérieures, rigides, forme les « élytres », qui protègent les ailes postérieures. Les dendroctones du pin sont petits, mats (sans éclat), cylindriques et ils possèdent des antennes coudées, en forme de massue. Voici une description détaillée de l’anatomie du Dendroctone du pin.

Que sont ces fameux scolytes?
On connaît actuellement plus de 300 000 espèces de scolytes sur l’ensemble de la planète, qui représentent à elles seules plus de 40 % de toutes les espèces connues d’insectes! Pour inventorier les organismes vivant sur la planète, les scientifiques ont mis au point un système de classification consistant à attribuer à chacun un nom latin qui caractérise l’espèce. Le nom latin du Dendroctone du pin est Dendroctonus ponderosae Hopkins. « Dendroctonus » signifie « tueur d’arbres » tandis que « ponderosae » fait allusion au pin. Les mots qui suivent le nom latin en italique (comme « Hopkins ») désignent généralement la personne qui a découvert et qui a nommé l’espèce en question.

De nombreux noms latins employés dans ce système de classification décrivent les caractéristiques anatomiques qui séparent les groupes d’animaux. Le Dendroctone du pin fait ainsi partie d’un grand groupe d’organismes dans la classification et leur nom offre des informations concernant leur corps :

Règne : Animalia, c’est-à-dire tous les animaux, éteints ou vivants
Phylum : Arthropoda, ce qui signifie « aux membres articulés »
Classe : Insecta – ce qui signifie « incisé », en référence à la division très marquée, chez les insectes, entre la tête et le thorax et entre le thorax et l’abdomen.
Ordre : Coleoptera – qui inclut tous les coléoptères – et signifie que les ailes à proprement dites, postérieures, membraneuses et transparentes, sont protégées par les deux ailes antérieures durcies, appelées élytres.

l'anatomie du Dendroctone du pin L'anatomie du Dendroctone du pin
© Diagramme d'après Hopkins 1909. Interprété par Malcolm Furniss et étiqueté par Niki Wilson.

L’exosquelette :
Les coléoptères ne possèdent pas d’os ni de squelette interne comme nous en possédons. Ils sont en revanche enveloppés d’un exosquelette qui est une sorte de coquille qui les protège et leur donne leur forme. De petits poils, les soies, répartis sur la face externe de l’exosquelette, améliorent le toucher et l’ouïe des coléoptères.

1ère région : la tête
Contrairement au thorax et à l’abdomen, la tête n’est pas segmentée. On y trouve deux yeux, des antennes et la bouche. La tête renferme le « cerveau », constitué de ganglions, groupes de cellules nerveuses. À partir du cerveau, une moelle épinière double descend le long du bas du corps et coordonne les activités telles que l’alimentation et le vol.

Les yeux
Les coléoptères ont des yeux à facettes. Chaque œil est ainsi formé d’un grand nombre d’unités baptisées ommatidies. Un seul œil de coléoptère peut comporter des milliers d’ommatidies qui donnent à l’insecte une vision faite d’un assemblage de points lumineux et sombres. Tout comme la résolution d’un écran d’ordinateur dépend du nombre de pixels, le nombre et la taille des ommatidies déterminent la qualité de la vision de l’insecte. La vision que donne un œil à facettes se rapproche de l’image multiple offerte par un kaléidoscope. L’œil à facettes excelle pour la détection des mouvements. Lorsqu’un objet se déplace d’un bout à l’autre du champ visuel, les ommatidies sont tour à tour stimulées et cet effet clignotant fait que les insectes détectent beaucoup plus facilement les objets mouvants que les objets stationnaires. Malgré toutes ces ommatidies, les coléoptères ne peuvent pas voir aussi efficacement que les humains et ils doivent donc employer d’autres sens pour se déplacer.

Antenne
Les dendroctones du pin possèdent une paire d’antenne sur leur tête. Les antennes sont des organes très importants pour les coléoptères puisqu’elles leur fournissent constamment des informations sur la consistance, l’odeur et le goût des objets environnants. Les coléoptères se fient aux récepteurs de goût et d’odeur situés sur leurs antennes pour trouver leur nourriture et pour identifier les phéromones.

L'image montre une antenne du Dendroctone rouge de l'épinette, qui infeste la base d'un grand nombre d'espèces de pins. Tous les scolytes ont la particularité de posséder des antennes qui s'élargissent à leur extrémité. Cette structure contient des récepteurs (les protubérances pointues) qui permettent à l'insecte de détecter l'odeur de la résine des arbres et d'éventuels partenaires sexuels. C'est donc un peu comme le « nez » du scolyte. L'image montre une antenne du Dendroctone rouge de l'épinette, qui infeste la base d'un grand nombre d'espèces de pins.
© Malcolm Furniss

Les mandibules
Les dendroctones du pin ont besoin de fortes mandibules pour forer l’écorce et le phloème. Leurs mandibules se meuvent comme des ciseaux.

2ième région : Le thorax
Le thorax est la région située au milieu du corps, entre la tête et l’abdomen, qui sert d’ancrage pour les pattes et les ailes. C’est aussi à l’intérieur du thorax que se situe le cœur qui pompe le sang vers le devant du corps. Le sang ne circule pas dans des vaisseaux sanguins mais circule librement entre et autour les organes. Le thorax est composé de trois segments qui soutiennent chacun une paire de pattes. Les second et troisième segments soutiennent chacun une paire d’ailes. Le thorax est également la partie de l’insecte où se situent les muscles qui permettent à ce dernier de marcher, sauter et voler.

Les pattes
Les coléoptères adultes possèdent 6 pattes. Chaque segment du thorax sert d’ancrage a une paire de pattes. Les pattes sont articulées et le dernier segment de chaque patte possède une petite griffe.

Lorsque les coléoptères marchent, ils forment un tripode avec une patte antérieure et une patte postérieure d’un côté, une patte du milieu de l’autre et ils alternent pour avancer.

Les ailes
Le Dendroctone du pin possède deux paires d’ailes qui se trouvent sur les deuxièmes et troisièmes segments du thorax. La première paire, les élytres, est la couverture rigide qui recouvre les ailes proprement dites. Les élytres ne sont pas utilisés pour voler mais uniquement pour protéger les ailes fonctionnelles et le reste du corps de l’insecte lorsque celui-ci se faufile dans des passages et des tunnels étroits à l’intérieur de l’arbre. L’autre paire d’ailes est membraneuse et transparente et reste repliée sous les élytres lorsque l’insecte ne vole pas.

3ième région : l’abdomen
L’abdomen est la partie postérieure, la dernière des trois parties du corps chez le Dendroctone du pin. C’est la plus grosse partie du corps et elle est composée de 11 segments qui renferment le système digestif et les organes reproducteurs. C’est également par l’abdomen que ces scolytes respirent! Les coléoptères ne possèdent pas de poumons comme les mammifères. Ils respirent à travers une série de trous situés le long de leur abdomen et baptisés « spiracles ». L’air entre directement dans l’abdomen via les spiracles et circule ensuite dans tous le corps en empruntant un réseau de tubules interconnectés.