Common menu bar links

Mountain Pine Beetle Initiative graphic
Beetlemania Button

Dead Trees are Good Homes

When many of us think of a healthy forest, we think of tall, green trees. It’s hard to imagine how a tree killed by mountain pine beetle could be good for a forest. However, to be truly healthy and support all the wildlife that depends on it, there must be a variety of young, old and dead trees in a forest ecosystem. At “endemic” or normal levels, mountain pine beetles help maintain this diversity by colonizing and killing old or damaged trees, therefore kick-starting the invaluable process of decomposition. Decomposing wood returns nutrients to the system while providing shelter and food for many plants and animals. Standing dead trees host a diversity of organisms that would not be present without them.

Woodpecker Holes Woodpecker Holes
© Parks Canada

In the study of food chains, trees are known as “producers”. This means they create their own food from sunlight through a process called photosynthesis. A healthy forest has producers, but also “consumers” (that hunt or forage for nutrients to survive) and “decomposers” (that obtain nutrients by breaking down parts of organisms into simple forms). The relationship between producers, consumers and decomposers is often depicted as a “food web”. A healthy forest has many food webs, including important webs created by dead trees.

The relationship between producers, consumers and decomposers is often depicted as a “food web”. A healthy forest has many food webs, including important webs created by dead trees. Food Web
© Parks Canada

Carpenter Ants and Weevils:
Once a tree dies from mountain pine beetle colonization, other insects like carpenter ants and weevils move in to eat the wood.

Carpenter Ants
Carpenter Ants
© Niki Wilson

Pileated Woodpecker:
Birds like woodpeckers feed on ants and other insects. Pileated woodpeckers also seek dead trees to chisel out cavities that they live in seasonally for several years. These cavities provide protection from predation by hawks and shelter from the weather. Pileated woodpeckers can carve out roosting cavities that measure 15 centimetres in diameter and 48 centimetres in depth. No other bird can carve such large holes in a tree.

pileated woodpecker Pileated Woodpecker
© Parks Canada

Cavity Dwellers:
When woodpeckers abandon their cavities, other animals use them. Tree cavities created by Pileated woodpeckers are important to 50 species of tree cavity dwellers that are unable to create their own. Some of these animals are flying squirrels, red squirrels, weasels, martens, bats, pygmy owls, saw-whet owls, boreal owls, and tree nesting ducks such as buffleheads and goldeneyes.

Boreal owl Boreal Owl
© Parks Canada

Flying Squirrel:
The flying squirrel is an animal that uses old woodpecker cavities for new homes. One of the favourite foods of this squirrel is mushrooms. As a result, their scat is full of fungi and the associated bacteria. By eating mushrooms, squirrels help spread this fungi around.

flying squirrel
Flying Squirrel
© Parks Canada

Fungi:
A type of fungi spread around by squirrels is called micorrhiza. These fungi are important to living pine trees, because they help the roots take nutrients into the tree. The fungi benefits from this relationship by getting nourishment from the tree in return.

Mushroom
Mushrooms are a type of Fungi.
© Parks Canada

graphique de programme sur le dendroctone du pin
Le point sur les scolytes

Chez soi dans un arbre mort?

Une forêt saine n’abrite que de grands arbres verts et luxuriants, et un arbre mort à cause du dendroctone du pin argenté n’apporte rien à la santé de la forêt, n’est-ce pas? Au contraire! Pour satisfaire aux besoins de la faune, l’écosystème forestier a besoin d’arbres jeunes, vieux, et même morts. Une population endémique ou normale de dendroctones, contribue au maintien de cette diversité en colonisant et en tuant les arbres âgés ou endommagés, ce qui entraîne une transition plus aisée au processus essentiel de décomposition. La décomposition des arbres répand les éléments nutritifs du bois dans à l’écosystème. De nombreuses espèces animales et végétales peuvent ainsi obtenir les éléments nutritifs dont elles ont besoin. Même morts, les arbres enracinés logent de nombreux organismes qui en dépendent pour leur survie.

 trous creusés par le pic
Trous creusés par le pic
© Parcs Canada

Pour les chercheurs qui s’intéressent aux chaînes alimentaires, les arbres sont des «producteurs», puisqu’ils fabriquent leur propre nourriture à partir de la lumière du soleil par photosynthèse. Une forêt en santé abrite des producteurs, des «consommateurs» qui chassent ou recherchent leur nourriture, et des «décomposeurs» qui se nourrissent en réduisant certaines parties d’autres organismes en formes plus simples. La relation entre les producteurs, les consommateurs et les décomposeurs est souvent illustrée par une toile (ci-dessous). Une forêt saine comporte plusieurs toiles, dont celles, très importantes, créées par les arbres morts.

 La relation entre les producteurs, les consommateurs et les décomposeurs est souvent illustrée par une toile (ci-dessous). Une forêt saine comporte plusieurs toiles, dont celles, très importantes, créées par les arbres morts Une toile
© Parcs Canada

Fourmis charpentières et charançons
Après la mort d’un arbre peuplé par le dendroctone, les fourmis charpentières, les charançons et d’autres insectes s’y installent pour en dévorer le bois.

Fourmis charpentières
Fourmis charpentières
© Niki Wilson

Grand pic
Des oiseaux, dont le grand pic, se nourrissent de fourmis et d’autres insectes. Le grand pic creuse des trous dans les arbres morts où il vivra en certaines saisons pendant plusieurs années. Ces trous les protègent des faucons et des prédateurs tout en les abritant des éléments. Le grand pic peut creuser des cavités de repos qui mesurent jusqu’à 15 cm de diamètre et 48 cm de profondeur, les plus grands trous qu’aucun oiseau puisse creuser dans un arbre.

Grand pic
Grand pic
© Parcs Canada

Locataires opportunistes
D’autres animaux occupent les trous creusés par le pic après son départ. Jusqu’à 50 espèces, incapables de créer leurs propres abris, sont parmi ces locataires opportunistes, dont l’écureuil volant, l’écureuil roux, la belette, la martre, la chauve-souris, la chouette, la petite nyctale, la nyctale de Tengmalm, et certains canards nichant dans les arbres comme le petit garrot et le garrot à œil d’or.

La nyctale de Tengmalm La nyctale de Tengmalm
© Parcs Canada

L’écureuil volant
L’écureuil volant vit dans les trous abandonnés par le pic. Comme il se nourrit de champignons, ses excréments en contiennent aussi, ainsi que plusieurs bactéries qui y sont associées. En mangeant ces champignons, l’écureuil volant contribue à les distribuer dans la forêt.

L’écureuil volant
L’écureuil volant
© Parcs Canada

Champignons
La myccorhize est un champignon dispersé par l’écureuil. Elle aide les racines des pins à absorber les éléments nutritifs dont l’arbre se nourrit. En retour, le pin donne à la myccorhize les éléments nutritifs dont elle a besoin.

Ces champignons sont des parasites.
Ces champignons sont des parasites.
© Parcs Canada