Mountain Pine Beetle Initiative graphic

Fire and Disturbance Ecology

Crown fire
© Parks Canada

Why is fire important?

Fire is a natural disturbance agent that has helped create the landscapes we see in the Mountain National Parks today. Some areas of the park, like the montane grasslands, have been subject to frequent fires over many centuries and are considered fire-dependant. These ecosystems require fire in order to restore and maintain ecological integrity.

Fire is such a powerful and pervasive ecological force that areas within the Mountain National Parks that experience fire only once every few centuries have plant communities that reflect their fire history. Some of these places are high elevation alpine meadows and subalpine forests.


What is the role of fire in an ecosystem?

Fire plays many important ecological roles in ecosystems that cannot be duplicated by any other natural process. Fire affects the processes that occur in an ecosystem (=function), what species live in the ecosystem (=composition) and how those species, particularly plants, are arranged (=structure).

Effects of fire on FOREST STRUCTURE
Creates mosaic
© Parks Canada

Creates mosaic
Fire produces a mosaic of plant communities of different ages and species composition on the landscape. Typically, fires burn with variable intensities across the landscape due to changes in terrain, wind and other factors. Areas where the forest is completely consumed by fire are interspersed by patches of unburned and lightly burned forest. In this way fire increases the structural diversity and species diversity of ecosystems over time.
 
Forest floor
© Parks Canada

Reduces Fuels
Periodic fire reduces the amount of accumulated fuel on the forest floor (woody debris, dead trees, forest floor litter). This reduces the potential for extremely large, hot fires, which can damage soil and result in increased erosion, and loss of soil fertility.

Effects of fire on FOREST HEALTH
Dwarf mistletoe
© Parks Canada

Stabilizes insect and disease populations
Fire has variable effects on insects and disease that infect trees and other vegetation. Some insect populations are directly destroyed in a forest fire, while other populations are reduced following fire due to changes in vegetation and soil. Wood-boring insects may increase due to increased availability of food in the standing dead trees. Pathogenic fungi and parasitic plants (e.g. dwarf mistletoe) may be at least temporarily removed from an area following a forest fire.The potential for large outbreaks of disease and insects (e.g. mountain pine beetle) is generally reduced in ecosystems with intermittent fire because the resulting vegetation mosaic breaks up contiguous patches of suitable host trees.
Effects of fire on SOIL
Forest floor
© Parks Canada

Recycles nutrients
Fire releases nutrients bound up in litter and woody debris on the forest floor. Fire reduces woody fuels to ash and consumes the organic layer of the soil. Some of the nutrients are lost to the atmosphere as smoke but fire also releases many nutrients into the soil. This "flush" of nutrients is then available to plants that re-establish in burnt areas. This function of fire is particularly important in the Mountain National Parks where the rates of decomposition and nutrient cycling are low.

How do plants survive fire?
© Parks Canada

How do plants survive fire?

It is often thought that fire destroys all plants and leaves nothing but charred, barren ground in its wake. However, in areas with periodic wildfire, plants have evolved many adaptations for surviving fire and some actually need fire to reproduce. Plant adaptations to fire include increased seed release, increased flowering and fruiting, fire resistant bark and buds, and vegetative re-sprouting from undisturbed root systems.


Pinus contorta
© Parks Canada

In the fire-dependant montane forests of the Mountain National Parks, the seeds of lodgepole pine (Pinus contorta) are only released from their serotinous cones following a forest fire and the seedlings establish quickly on the exposed soil. Trembling aspen in these areas will regenerate vegetatively by producing abundant sprouts from the root system following fire. Some of the sprouts will produce new aspen stems provided that browsing pressure by ungulates is not too high.

Grass fire
© Parks Canada

The open grasslands in the low elevation areas of the park were created and are maintained by the presence of frequent fire. The fire removes encroaching trees and shrubs and stimulates a flush of new growth in the grass species following post-fire release of nitrogen and other nutrients.


Elk
© Parks Canada

How is wildlife affected by fire?

The affect of fire on wildlife varies according to the intensity and duration of the fire, season of burning and the ecosystem that is burned. In general fire increases the abundance of shrubs and grasses that herbivores such as elk and deer feed on. Fire also results in increased availability of berries that form an important part of the diet of grizzly and black bears.


Grizzly Bear
© Parks Canada

Fire affects the quality and quantity of habitat for wildlife. In general the amount of cover for animals is reduced when the forest is opened up by fire. However moose, elk, and deer benefit from the increased amount of "edge" created by the post-fire vegetation mosaic. This patchiness of vegetation following fire also increases the diversity of habitat types across the landscape.

The habitat of many small mammals is temporarily destroyed by fire. Old forest dependant species such as caribou, marten, and fisher are negatively affected by fire due to loss of cover and food resources.

Other small-scale disturbance agents

Fire is not the only natural disturbance agent that shapes the landscape of the Mountain National Parks. Other disturbance agents such as insects, disease, avalanches, wind and flooding work on a local scale to create and maintain diversity in park ecosystems. These disturbance agents fall into two main categories: biological (living) and physical (non-living).

Insects and disease: the biological disturbance agents

Forest insects and disease produce patches of dead and dying trees across the landscape which create gaps in the forest cover. Unlike fire, these disturbance agents generally work on a smaller scale to create openings that range from a few trees to several hectares. These disturbance processes normally play a larger role in structuring ecosystems like subalpine forests where fire only occurs every few centuries than the montane areas of the park where fire is the pervasive disturbance agent.

Graphic showing a gap in the forest caused by insects and/or disease

  • Gaps colonized by young, fast-growing plants and trees
  • Characteristics of vegetation in gaps:
    • Increased growth rates
    • Increased species diversity due to higher light levels
    • Increased structural complexity due to young seedlings and dead and dying trees
       
Disturbance agent: INSECTS
Mountain Pine Beetle Galleries
© Parks Canada

Mountain Pine Beetle Galleries
Common species: Mountain pine beetle (Dendroctonus ponderosae), spruce beetle (Dendroctonus rufipennis), northern lodgepole needleminer (Coleotechnites starki), two-year budworm (Choristoneura biennis)

Effect on park ecosystem: Create patches of dead and dying trees. Effects on host trees range from minor deformities to severe stress and death. Fire reduces the risk of severe insect outbreaks by physically destroying insects and by breaking up contiguous areas of suitable host trees.
Disturbance agent: DISEASE
Dwarf mistletoe on lodgepole pine
© Parks Canada

Dwarf mistletoe on lodgepole pine
Common species: Aspen cankers (Hypoxylon mammatum),dwarf mistletoe (Arceuthobium americanum), Armillaria root rot (Armillaria mellea), false tinder fungus (Phellinus tremulae)

Effect on park ecosystem: Create patches of dead and dying trees which eventually form gaps in the forest canopy. Effects on host trees range from minor deformities of leaves to root rots that kill the tree. Canopy openings created by root rot are often regenerated by tree and shrub species that are resistant to the pathogen that created the gap. This contributes to the increased species diversity frequently observed in regenerating disease centres.
Physical disturbance agents

Physical agents such as windstorms and avalanches also cause disturbance in forested areas. Windstorms and avalanches are relatively rare events that can create large openings in the forest in a very short time. This is in contrast to insects and disease, which are widespread in the forest and cause sporadic, ongoing disturbance

Disturbance agent: AVALANCHES
Avalanche path on mountain slope
© Parks Canada

Avalanche path
Effect on park ecosystem: Create large, vertically oriented openings on mountain slopes where the trees are taken down by snow as it comes off the mountain. When avalanches come down in the same place each year, low-growing shrub and forb communities are created in these areas. The vegetation in avalanche paths provides important forage for grizzly bears and moose in mountainous terrain.
Disturbance agent: WIND
Blowdown
© Parks Canada

Trees blown over by wind
Effect on park ecosystem: Creates large openings or can topple individual trees. Severe windstorms can cause large areas of 'blowdown' where all trees are blown over by the wind. Wind also causes small-scale disturbance across the landscape by breaking tree stems or uprooting trees that have been predisposed to wind damage by insects and disease.

graphique de programme sur le dendroctone du pin

Le feu et autres agents perturbateurs


Feu de cime
© Parcs Canada

Pourquoi le feu est-il si important?


Agent perturbateur naturel, le feu a contribué à façonner les paysages tels que nous les connaissons aujourd'hui dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes. Certains secteurs du parc, comme les prairies de la zone montagnarde, ont été souvent la proie d'incendies au cours des siècles derniers; c'est pourquoi on dit qu'ils dépendent du feu. En effet, ces écosystèmes ont besoin du feu pour rétablir et préserver leur intégrité écologique.

Le feu est une force écologique puissante et intense : dans certains secteurs des parcs nationaux des montagnes qui ne sont la proie de flammes qu'une seule fois par plusieurs siècles, les communautés végétales révèlent les traces qu'a laissé le feu au fil des ans. Il s'agit notamment des prés alpins en altitude et des forêts subalpines.

Quel rôle le feu joue-t-il dans un écosystème?

Le feu joue de nombreux rôles d'ordre écologique dans les écosystèmes, rôles que ne peut reproduire aucun autre processus naturel. Le feu a un effet sur les procédés qui surviennent dans un écosystème (la fonction), sur les espèces qui évoluent au sein de l'écosystème (la composition) et sur la répartition des espèces qui le composent, en particulier des plantes (la structure).

Les effets du feu sur la STRUCTURE DES FORÊTS
une mosaïque de communautés végétales
© Parcs Canada

Crée une mosaïque
Le feu produit une mosaïque de communautés végétales d’âges différents et d’espèces différentes dans le paysage. En général, l’intensité des feux varie selon le relief, le vent et autres facteurs. Dans les secteurs où la forêt est rasée par le feu, on trouve ça et là des îlots d’arbres intacts et d’arbres légèrement calcinés. C’est pourquoi l’on dit du feu qu’il accroît la diversité de la structure et des espèces d’un écosystème au fil des années.
 
le tapis forestier
© Parcs Canada

DUIT les combustibles
Les feux périodiques réduisent la quantité de matières combustibles qui s'accumulent sur le tapis forestier (débris de bois, arbres morts, litière de la couverture morte), ce qui diminue le risque que ne se déclenchent des feux extrêmement gros et chauds, lesquels peuvent endommager le sol et en favoriser l'appauvrissement.

Les effets du feu sur la SANTÉ DES FORÊTS
faux-gui
© Parcs Canada

Stabilise les populations d'insectes et les maladies
Le feu a des effets variables sur les insectes et les maladies qui attaquent les arbres et les autres plantes. Certaines populations d’insectes sont totalement décimées dans un feu de forêt, alors que d’autres sont simplement réduites en raison des changements qui surviennent dans la végétation et le sol. Les insectes rongeurs de bois peuvent se multiplier parce que les chicots leur fournissent une plus grande source d’alimentation. Quant aux champignons pathogènes et aux plantes parasites (p. ex. le faux-gui), ils sont parfois éliminés, si ce n’est que temporairement, d’un secteur à la suite d’un feu de forêt, Dans les écosystèmes en proie à des feux intermittents, le risque d’importantes éclosions de maladies et d’insectes (p. ex. le dendroctone du pin) est généralement moindre puisque la mosaïque végétale qui résulte de ces feux a pour effet de morceler les îlots contigus d’arbres hôtes.
Les effets du feu sur le SOL
le tapis forestier
© Parcs Canada

Recycle les éléments nutritifs
Le feu libère les éléments nutritifs contenus dans la litière et les débris de bois qui recouvrent le tapis forestier; il réduit les débris en cendre et consume la couche organique du sol. Certains des éléments nutritifs s'envolent en fumée, mais de nombreux autres sont libérés dans le sol sous l'effet du feu. Ces éléments nutritifs sont alors accessibles aux plantes qui reprennent racine dans les brûlis. Cette fonction du feu revêt une importance particulière dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes, où les taux de décomposition et de recyclage des éléments nutritifs sont faibles.

Comment les plantes survivent-elles à un feu?
© Parcs Canada

Comment les plantes survivent-elles à un feu?

Nombreux sont les gens qui croient que le feu détruit toutes les plantes pour ne laisser dans son sillage qu'un sol dénudé et calciné. Toutefois, dans les zones frappées périodiquement par des feux échappés, les plantes ont subi de nombreuses adaptations pour survivre aux ravages du feu, et certaines ont même besoin du feu pour se reproduire. Parmi les adaptations subies, notons la dispersion d'un plus grand nombre de graines, l'éclosion accrue de fleurs et de fruits, le développement de la propriété ignifuge de l'ns arbres, et le drageonnement à partir de racines intactes.

Pinus contorta
© Parcs Canada
Dans les forêts montagnardes qui dépendent du feu des parcs nationaux des montagnes, les cônes sérotineux du pin tordu (Pinus contorta) ne relâchent les semences qu'après un feu de forêt, et les semis s'établissent rapidement sur le sol dénudé. Dans ces secteurs, le peuplier faux-tremble se multiplie par voie végétative en produisant, après un feu, une abondance de pousses depuis son système radiculaire. Certaines de ces pousses produisent de nouveaux rejets de trembles, pourvu que le broutage des ongulés ne soit pas excessif.
Feu des prairies
© Parcs Canada
Les prairies ouvertes qui se trouvent en basse altitude ont été créées par la présence de feux fréquents et elles sont entretenues par eux : les flammes consument les arbres qui empiètent sur les autres et stimulent une nouvelle croissance de graminées suite à la libération d'azote et d'autres éléments nutritifs.
Wapiti
© Parcs Canada

Quels effets le feu a-t-il sur la faune?

Les effets du feu sur la faune sont fonction de l'intensité et de la durée du feu, de la saison et de l'écosystème. En règle générale, le feu accroît l'abondance d'arbustes et de graminées dont les herbivores comme le wapiti et le cerf se nourrissent. Le feu a aussi pour effet de favoriser la prolifération de petits fruits qui forment une partie importante du régime alimentaire du grizzli et de l'ours noir.


L'ours grizzli
© Parcs Canada

Le feu a aussi des répercussions sur la qualité et l'étendue de l'habitat faunique. Lorsque la forêt est éclaircie la forêt'e par un feu, l'abri dont disposent les animaux s'en trouve généralement réduit. Toutefois, l'orignal, le wapiti et le cerf tirent profit de la présence d'une « lisière » créée par la mosaïque végétale produite par le feu. La microrépartition qui résulte d'un feu accroît la diversité des types d'habitat dans le paysage.

De nombreux petits mammifères voient leur habitat détruit temporairement par le feu. Les espèces qui dépendent des forêts anciennes pour survivre, comme le caribou, la marte et le pékan, souffrent en raison de la perte de leur abri et de leurs sources d'alimentation.

Autres agents perturbateurs à petite échelle

Le feu n'est pas le seul agent perturbateur naturel qui façonne le paysage des parcs nationaux des montagnes. Les insectes, les maladies, les avalanches, le vent et les inondations sont aussi des éléments de perturbation, qui agissent à l'échelon local; ils ont pour effet de créer et de conserver une certaine diversité au sein des écosystèmes du parc. Il existe deux catégories d'agents perturbateurs : les facteurs biologiques (êtres vivants) et les facteurs physiques (non biologiques).

Les insectes et les maladies : des agents perturbateurs biologiques

Dans les forêts, les insectes et les maladies ont pour effet de produire des groupes d'arbres morts ou dépérissants, ce qui crée des vides dans le couvert forestier. Contrairement au feu, ces agents perturbateurs agissent habituellement à petite échelle, créant des éclaircies composées de quelques arbres ou de plusieurs hectares. Ces processus de perturbation jouent normalement un rôle plus important dans la structuration des écosystèmes comme la forêt subalpine, où le feu ne s'embrase qu'une fois par plusieurs siècles, que dans les zones montagnardes du parc, où le feu est l'agent de perturbation prépondérant.

Modèle illustrant vides créés par les insectes et les maladies

  • Vides colonisés par de jeunes plantes et arbres à croissance rapide
  • Caractéristiques de la végétation dans les vides :
    • Taux de croissance accrus
    • Diversité accrue des espèces en raison du degré de clarté
    • Complexité structurelle accrue en raison des jeunes pousses et des arbres morts ou dépérissants
       

    Agent perturbateur : les insectes
    Galeries de dendroctones du pin
    © Parcs Canada

    Galeries de dendroctones du pin

    Espèces communes : Dendroctone du pin (Dendroctonus ponderosae), dendroctone de l'épinette (Dendroctonus rufipennis), mineuse du pin tordu (Coleotechnites starki), tordeuse bi-annuelle de l'épinette (Choristoneura biennis)

    Effet sur l'écosystème du parc : crée des groupes d'arbres morts et dépérissants. Les arbres hôtes subissent divers effets, allant de difformités mineures à de graves perturbations, et certains en meurent. Le feu réduit le risque d'une importante propagation de ces insectes parce qu'il en tue, et qu'il morcelle du coup des surfaces contiguës d'arbres hôtes susceptibles d'être attaqués.

    Faux-gui sur un pin tordu
    © Parcs Canada

    Faux-gui sur un pin tordu

    Espèces communes : Chancres du tremble (Hypoxylon ammatum),(Ceratocystis fimbriata), faux-gui (Arceuthobium americanum), tête de méduse (Armillaria mellea), carie blanche du tronc (Phellinus tremulae)

    Effet sur l'écosystème du parc : Crée des groupes d'arbres morts et dépérissants qui finissent par former des vides dans le couvert forestier. Les arbres hôtes subissent des difformités mineures (feuilles) et leurs racines pourrissent, ce qui finit par les abattre. On constate souvent une régénération dans les éclaircies formées dans la couverture par la pourriture des racines grâce à la présence d'espèces d'arbres et d'arbustes capables de résister au pathogène responsable du vide. La diversité des espèces s'en trouve donc accrue, ce qu'on observe fréquemment dans les centres de maladies régénératrices.

    Agents perturbateurs physiques

    Les agents physiques comme les grands vents et les avalanches perturbent aussi les forêts. Plutôt rares, les grands vents et les avalanches créent de vastes éclaircies dans les forêts en très peu de temps, ce qui fait contraste avec les insectes et les maladies, qui s'étendent dans la forêt et perturbent les éléments de façon sporadique et soutenue.
     

    Agent perturbateur : les avalanches
    couloirs d'avalanche
    © Parcs Canada

    Couloir d'avalanche
    Effet sur lécosystème du parc : Créent de vastes éclaircies à la verticale sur les versants des montagnes, où les arbres sont entraînés par la neige sur leur passage. Quand une avalanche se déclenche au même endroit année après année, des communautés basses d'arbustes et de plantes herbacées dicotylédones apparaissent dans les secteurs touchés. La végétation qui pousse dans les couloirs d'avalanche constitue une importante source de forage pour le grizzli et l'orignal en terrain montagneux.
    Agent perturbateur : les vents
    des arbres renversés par les vents
    © Parcs Canada

    des arbres renversés par les vents.
    Effet sur l'écosystème du parc : Créent de vastes éclaircies ou renversent des arbres. Les grosses tempêtes de vent peuvent créer de vastes trouées de chablis, c'est-à-dire des arbres renversés par les vents. Le vent fait aussi des ravages à petite échelle parce qu'il s'attaque à la tige des arbres ou qu'il déracine les arbres qui ont été prédisposés à de tels dommages par les insectes et les maladies.