Common menu bar links

World Heritage: Canada

Periodic Report on the Implementation of the World Heritage Convention

As a country that has ratified the World Heritage Convention, Canada is required to submit a report to the World Heritage Committee describing how it is implementing the Convention. The “periodic report” consists of Section I, an overview of Canada’s legislation, policies and programs for protecting and presenting natural and cultural heritage, and Section II, a series of reports on the current conditions of the existing World Heritage Sites in Canada. The purpose of this report, as determined by the World Heritage Committee, is:

  • to provide an assessment of the application of the World Heritage Convention by the State Party;
  • to provide an assessment as to whether the World Heritage values of the properties inscribed on the World Heritage List are being maintained over time;
  • to provide up-dated information about the World Heritage properties to record the changing circumstances and state of conservation of the properties;
  • to provide a mechanism for regional co-operation and exchange of information and experiences between States Parties concerning the implementation of the Convention and World Heritage conservation.

In addition to the reports mentioned above, Canada is required to submit a joint report with the United States, describing implementation of the World Heritage Convention in North America.

As Canada’s representative for the World Heritage Convention, Parks Canada has been leading the project to prepare the periodic report. This has included working in partnership with provincial government officials in British Columbia, Alberta and Québec and with municipal government officials in Québec City and Lunenburg, Nova Scotia to prepare the Section I (national) and Section II (site-specific) reports. It has also included working cooperatively with the United States National Park Service - the US representative for the World Heritage Convention - to prepare the North American Regional Report.

Canada’s periodic report must be submitted to the World Heritage Committee’s secretariat in December 2004, so that the Committee can discuss it in 2005. If you would like to read and comment on the draft report, you may do so by selecting from the links below and submitting written comments to periodic.report@pc.gc.ca. The deadline for submitting comments is October 22, 2004.

Patrimoine mondial :  Canada

Rapport périodique sur la mise en oeuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial

Pays ratificateur de la Convention du patrimoine mondial, le Canada est tenu de présenter au Comité du patrimoine mondial un rapport décrivant la façon dont il met en oeuvre la Convention. Le « rapport périodique » se compose d'un aperçu de la législation, des politiques et des programmes du Canada relatifs à la protection et à la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel (Section I) et d'une série de rapports sur l'état actuel des sites du patrimoine mondial du Canada (Section II). Tel que l'a déterminé le Comité du patrimoine mondial, ce rapport vise les objectifs suivants :

  • Présenter une évaluation de l'application de la Convention du patrimoine mondial par l'État partie;
  • Présenter une évaluation permettant de déterminer si les valeurs du patrimoine mondial des sites inscrits sur la liste du patrimoine mondial sont maintenues;
  • Présenter de l'information à jour sur les sites du patrimoine mondial afin de prendre note de leur état de conservation et des changements intervenus;
  • Présenter un mécanisme pour la collaboration et l'échange d'information à l'échelle régionale entre les États parties concernant la mise en oeuvre de la Convention et la conservation du patrimoine mondial.

En plus des documents mentionnés ci-dessus, le Canada doit également présenter un rapport conjoint avec les États-Unis, qui décrit la mise en oeuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial en Amérique du Nord.

Parcs Canada, le représentant du Canada à la Convention du patrimoine mondial, a dirigé l'élaboration du rapport périodique, ce qui lui a permis notamment de travailler en partenariat avec des représentants des gouvernements provinciaux de la Colombie Britannique, de l'Alberta et du Québec de même qu’avec des représentants des administrations municipales de Québec et de Lunenburg (Nouvelle Écosse) en vue de la rédaction des rapports de la Section I (national) et de la Section II (particulier au site). Parcs Canada a également eu l'occasion de collaborer avec le United States National Park Service (représentant des États-Unis à la Convention du patrimoine mondial) à la rédaction du rapport régional de l'Amérique du Nord.

Le rapport périodique du Canada doit être présenté au secrétariat du Comité du patrimoine mondial en décembre 2004 de façon que le Comité puisse l'examiner en 2005. Les liens ci dessous renvoient aux différentes sections du rapport préliminaire. Vous êtes invité à envoyer vos commentaires par courriel à periodic.report@pc.gc.ca au plus tard le 22 octobre 2004.