Common menu bar links

The National Historic Sites Cost-Sharing Program is an important vehicle by which the federal government directly engages Canadians in helping to ensure the commemorative integrity of the National Historic Sites of Canada. This program contributes funding toward the completion of projects which will enhance a site's commemorative integrity. By creating a working relationship between Parks Canada's professionals and site owners and operators, the program contributes to application of best possible cultural resource management practices.

Canada is a country where historic places must be valued, celebrated and safe-guarded as important national symbols. Canada must also be a world leader in heritage protection and education. What is needed to achieve this vision is a shared national culture of heritage preservation. Given the diverse nature and ownership of the National Historic Sites of Canada, there is no "one size fits all" solution. Involvement and support is needed by both the private and public sector, as well as Canadians from every backgound, every walk of life and every corner of the country. Partnership, investment, acquisition and capacity building are all issues to be addressed together.

Building appreciation and understanding of the sites, persons and events that tell Canada's story is a dynamic way to engage Canadians in their heritage. Taking steps to safeguard the future of the system of National Historic Sites of Canada will ensure that present and future generations of Canadians can share in this legacy.


Black Pioneers to British Columbia - Influenced the Founding and History of British Columbia
Black Pioneers to British Columbia
Influenced the Founding and History of British Columbia

© Parks Canada

A Canadian Maple Leaf Canada is a country of diverse human talents, human sacrifices, human stories and human achievements. Canada must also be a world leader in heritage protection and education. What is needed to achieve this vision is a shared national culture of heritage preservation.
National Historic Sites Of Canada System Plan

PreviousTable of contentsNext

Dans notre esprit, le Canada est un pays où les lieux historiques doivent être respectés, célébrés et protégés à titre de puissants symboles nationaux; il doit en outre aspirer à devenir un chef de file mondial en matière de protection du patrimoine et d'éducation dans ce domaine. Cet idéal passe par l'implantation d'une culture axée sur la conservation du patrimoine, mais comme chaque lieu historique national possède ses particularités propres, il n'existe pas de formule ou d'approche type. En fait, on ne pourra vraiment relever ce défi qu'en obtenant la participation et l'appui des secteurs public et privé et de tous les Canadiens, de quelqu'origine, de quelque milieu et de quelque coin du pays qu'ils fussent. L'importance de créer des partenariats, d'investir de l'argent, d'acquérir de nouveaux lieu
x et d'accroître nos capacités constituent des défis qui seront examinés ensemble.

Faire apprécier et comprendre ces lieux, ces personnes et ces événements qui retracent la naissance et l'évolution du pays est une façon dynamique d'impliquer les Canadiens dans la sauvegarde de leur patrimoine. Pour que les générations actuelles et futures puissent un jour partager ce legs, il importe de prendre aujourd'hui les mesures qui s'imposent afin d'assurer l'avenir du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada.

Photo - Migration des Noirs vers l'île de Vancouver - Influence sur la fondation et l'histoire de la Colombie- Britannique
Migration des Noirs vers l'île de Vancouver
Influence sur la fondation et l'histoire de la
Colombie- Britannique

© Parcs Canada

Feuille Canadienne de Érable « Le Canada est riche en expériences humaines de toutes sortes, que ce soit au niveau du talent, des sacrifices, de l'histoire ou des réalisations; il doit en outre aspirer à devenir un chef de file mondial en matière de protection du patrimoine et d'éducation dans ce domaine. Cet idéal passe par l'implantation d'une culture axée sur la conservation
du patrimoine ».



Lieux Historiques Nationaux du Canada

Page précédenteTable des matièresPage suivante