Common menu bar links

USING THE THEMATIC FRAMEWORK

The Letter T he revised thematic framework can be used as an analytical tool to assess the extent to which various themes and sub-themes are represented in the system of National Historic Sites of Canada. Assessment of the system in relation to the thematic framework assists in the identification of gaps, which are then subject to further review.
 Figure 3 - The System of National Historic Sites of Canada, 1919-1999
Click on the image above to view it at a larger size. Note the enlarged image is 53KB which represents an approximate download time of 14s at 28.8 kbps modem speed.



In undertaking this assessment, the commemorative intent, or reasons for national historic significance, are aligned against the thematic framework. If there is more than one reason for national historic significance, the site, person or event would be aligned against as many themes or sub-themes as appropriate.

Another way the thematic framework can be used as a planning tool is to help Parks Canada view the commemorations in the system through different 'lenses' or perspectives. In this way, Parks Canada can assess the extent to which the diversity of the Canadian population is reflected in the system.

National Historic Sites Of Canada System Plan

PreviousTable of contentsNext

UTILISER LE CADRE THÉMATIQUE

L e cadre thématique révisé peut servir d'outil pour évaluer dans quelle mesure les divers thèmes et sous-thèmes sont représentés au sein du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada. L'évaluation du réseau au moyen du cadre thématique aide à repérer les lacunes qui peuvent être soumises ensuite à un examen plus approfondi.

On procède à cette évaluation en juxtaposant au cadre thématique l'objectif de commémoration, c'est-à-dire la raison qui fait qu'un lieu, une personne ou un événement est jugé d'importance historique nationale. S'il existe plus qu'une raison, le sujet est examiné en fonction des thèmes et sous thèmes pertinents.

Le cadre thématique peut également servir d'outil de planification en permettant à Parcs Canada de considérer les commémorations du réseau sous différents angles ou éclairages. De cette façon, il est possible de déterminer jusqu'à quel point le réseau des lieux historiques nationaux reflète la diversité de la population canadienne.
 PLANCHE 3 - LE RÉSEAU DES LIEUX HISTORIQUES NATIONAUX DU CANADA, 1919 - 1999
Cliquez sur l'image ci-dessus pour la voir en plus grand. L'utilisation des ascenseurs pourrait être nécéssaire.

Lieux Historiques Nationaux du Canada

Page précédenteTable des matièresPage suivante