Common menu bar links

DEVELOPING ECONOMIES

Developing Economies
The Letter F rom the earliest hunters and gatherers to today's post-industrial workers, Canadians have worked in a wide variety of ways to sustain themselves. This theme looks at the historical legacies of early subsistence economies; commercial pursuits in fishing, farming, forestry and mining; services industries and manufacturing processes.

Hunting and Gathering

Head Smashed-In Buffalo Jump - World Heritage Site - Aboriginal Bison Drive Canada's earliest inhabitants hunted, gathered, fished, farmed, quarried and traded for survival. This sub-theme addresses the economic history of these early communities. Commemorations related to this include Old Women's Buffalo Jump and Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump World Heritage Site in Alberta, remarkable examples of Aboriginal bison drives, and Fall Caribou Crossing in Nunavut, a hunting area crucial to Inuit survival.

Extraction and Production

E.B. Eddy - Manufacturer of Matches, Pulp and Paper Products From early European fishing and whaling to the exploitation of Canadian hydroelectric power, harnessing natural resources has played a crucial role in Canada's economic development. This sub-theme addresses the development of Canada's primary pursuits (farming, fishing, forestry, mining), service industries, and secondary manufacturing processes as well as changing forms of energy used to supplement human labour.

Skookum Jim 'Keish' Mason - Discoverer of First Major Yukon Gold Fields

Commemorations include the Motherwell Homestead in Saskatchewan, lumber magnate Ezra Butler Eddy in Hull, Quebec, and Skookum Jim "Keish" Mason, one of the discoverers of the first major gold fields in the Yukon Territory.

Motherwell Homestead, Saskatchewan - 1882 Farm of William Richard Motherwell

Motherwell Homestead, Saskatchewan
1882 Farm of William Richard Motherwell

Trade and Commerce

Timothy Eaton - Founder of Famous Department Store (1869) Here the focus is on the commercial exchange of goods and services. One of Canada's earliest economic ventures, the fur trade, has been commemorated at a number of sites, including the Hudson's Bay Company post Fort St. James in British Columbia and the Fur Trade at Lachine, a Montréal depot for the North West Company. Timothy Eaton, founder of the Eaton's department store in 1869, and Enos Collins, a privateer and entrepreneur who played an important role in the development of Halifax, also have been commemorated.

National Historic Sites Of Canada System Plan
PreviousTable of contentsNext

ÉCONOMIES EN DÉVELOPPMENT

Économies en développement
D es premiers chasseurs et cueilleurs aux travailleurs post-industriels de l'époque contemporaine, les Canadiens ont trouvé maintes façons de subvenir à leurs besoins. Ce thème explore l'apport historique des premières économies de subsistance, de l'activité commerciale dans le secteur primaire (pêche, agriculture, forêt et mines) de même que l'impact des industries de service et des processus manufacturiers.

Chasse et cueillette

Photo du Head-Smashed-in Buffalo Jump, Alb. Site du patrimoine mondial - précipice à bisons utilisé par les Autochtones Les premiers habitants du Canada chassaient, se rassemblaient, pêchaient, cultivaient la terre, exploitaient des carrières et faisaient du troc pour survivre. L'histoire économique de ces communautés est l'objet du premier sous-thème. Parmi les commémorations qui lui sont rattachées, citons deux exemples remarquables de couloirs de rabattage des bisons utilisés par les Autochtones en Alberta: Old Women's Buffalo Jump et Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, ce dernier étant aussi un site du patrimoine mondial. Le Passage de caribous en automne, territoire de chasse essentiel à la subsistance des Inuit du Nunavut, constitue une autre illustration de ce sous-thème.

Exploitation et production

Photo de E.B. Eddy Fabricant d'allumettes, de produits du bois et de papier De la pêche et de la chasse à la baleine par les premiers arrivants européens jusqu'à la production de l'énergie hydroélectrique, l'exploitation des ressources naturelles a joué un rôle prépondérant dans l'essor économique du Canada. Ce sous-thème porte sur les activités du secteur primaire (agriculture, forêts, mines, pêches), celles de l'industrie des services et manufacturière ainsi que sur les changements de types d'énergie utilisée pour assister le travailleur.

Photo de Skookum Jim « Keish » Mason, Yn Personne associée à la découverte du premier champ aurifère important du Yukon En guise d'exemples de commémoration, mentionnons le Homestead Motherwell, en Saskatchewan, le magnat du bois Ezra Butler Eddy à Hull, au Québec, et Skookum Jim « Keish » Mason, l'un des découvreurs du premier champ aurifère du Yukon.
Photo du Homestead Motherwell, Sask. Ferme de William Richard Motherwell, 1882
Homestead Motherwell, Sask.
Ferme de William Richard Motherwell, 1882

Commerce et affaires

Image de Timothy Eaton Fondateur du célèbre grand magasin en 1869 Le commerce des biens et des services correspond au troisième sous-thème. Différents lieux commémorent la traite des fourrures, l'une des premières entreprises économiques du Canada, dont le Fort St. James, poste de la Compagnie de la baie d'Hudson en Colombie-Britannique, et le site du Commerce de la fourrure à Lachine, entrepôt de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest sur l'île de Montréal. Timothy Eaton, fondateur du célèbre magasin à rayons, en 1869, et Enos Collins, navigateur et entrepreneur qui joua un rôle décisif dans le développement de Halifax, sont au nombre des personnes d'importance historique dont on commémore les réalisations.

Lieux Historiques Nationaux du Canada
Page précédenteTable des matièresPage suivante