National Historic Sites in Alberta
Victoria District National Historic Site of Canada

Methodist Mission
Methodist Mission

Victoria District is a unique cultural landscape shaped first by the establishment of a Methodist Mission in 1862, and again by the Hudson’s Bay post and Métis community which stretched out on either side along the banks of the North Saskatchewan River. In the early 1900s the arrival of eastern European immigrants introduced a new layer of settlement on the land. Adventurous travelers can still follow the original Victoria Trail, built for Red River carts, into the city of Edmonton.

Victoria Settlement Provincial Historic Site

Discover a quiet place on the North Saskatchewan River where the Reverend George McDougall first founded a Methodist Mission for the Cree. The Hudson’s Bay Company arrived in 1864 and opened Fort Victoria trading post to trade with the Cree. Visit the 1864 Clerk’s Quarters and the 1906 Methodist Church and let the historical interpreters lead you through sixty years of history, from the arrival of Reverend George McDougall to the immigration of Ukrainian settlers early in this century.

This site is open May 15th to Labour Day and is located 90 minutes east of Edmonton, on Victoria Trail, 6km east of Highway #855, south of Smoky Lake.

For more information, please contact: summer 780-656-2333 and winter 780-645-6256 or check out our website at www.cd.gov.ab.ca/vs

Métis Crossing
Métis community
Métis community

Métis Crossing provides a glimpse into the vibrant Métis community that built farms on narrow river lots along the banks of the river. Métis Crossing shares the story of the Métis’ exciting culture and celebrates the contributions the Métis people made to our province and our nation. Visitors will experience historic buildings and learn from interpretive exhibits, artefacts, costumed interpreters and interactive programming. The surrounding landscape will provide numerous opportunities for enjoyment including trails, picnic areas and a campground.

The site is open May Long Weekend to Labour Day and is located near the junction of Victoria Trail and Highway 855 south of Smoky Lake.

For more information, please contact: 780-656-2229 or check out our website at www.metiscrossing.com

Toilets, Accessible

Services: interpretative tours, parking available, gift shop, picnic facilities, RV parking, hiking trails, & campground.

Victoria District Lieu historique national du Canada de

Mission méthodiste
Mission méthodiste

Le district de Victoria est un paysage culturel exceptionnel façonné d'abord par l'établissement d'une mission méthodiste en 1862, puis par le poste de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson et la communauté métisse qui s'est installée sur les deux rives de la rivière Saskatchewan Nord. Au début des années 1900, l'arrivée des immigrants de l'Europe de l'Est a laissé une nouvelle empreinte de colonisation sur les terres. Les voyageurs aventureux peuvent encore suivre l'ancien chemin Victoria, construit pour les charrettes de la rivière Rouge, jusqu'à Edmonton.

Lieu historique provincial de Victoria Settlement

Découvrez un endroit tranquille sur la rivière Saskatchewan Nord où le révérend George McDougall a fondé une mission méthodiste pour les Cris. La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson est arrivée en 1864 et y a construit le poste de traite du fort Victoria pour commercer avec les Cris. Visitez le logement du secrétaire en 1864 et l'église méthodiste de 1906, et laissez les guidesinterprètes vous raconter 60 ans d'histoire, depuis l'arrivée du révérend George McDougall jusqu'à l'immigration des colons ukrainiens au début du siècle.

Le lieu historique provincial de Victoria Settlement est ouvert du 15 mai à la fête du Travail. Il est situé à 90 minutes à l'est d'Edmonton, sur le chemin Victoria, 6 km à l'est de la route 855, au sud de Smoky Lake..

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, téléphonez au 780-656-2333 (été) et l'hiver à 780-645-6256, ou encore consultez notre site Web, à www.cd.gov.ab.ca/vs (en anglais seulement)

Métis Crossing
communauté métisse
Communauté métisse

Métis Crossing donne un aperçu de la communauté métisse dynamique qui a construit les fermes sur les terres le long des rives de la rivière. Métis Crossing raconte l'histoire de la passionnante culture des Métis et célèbre les contributions de ces derniers à notre province et à notre nation. Les visiteurs verront des bâtiments historiques et découvriront ce patrimoine par les expositions d'interprétation, les artefacts, les guides-interprètes en costume d'époque et la programmation interactive. Le paysage environnant offre de nombreuses possibilités récréatives, dont des sentiers, des aires de pique-nique et un terrain de camping.

Ce lieu historique est ouvert à partir de la longue fin de semaine de mai jusqu'à la fête du Travail. Il est situé à proximité de l'angle de Victoria Trail et de la route 855, au sud du Smoky Lake. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, téléphonez au 780-656-2229 ou consultez notre site Web à www.metiscrossing.com (en anglais seulement)

Toilettes, Accessible

Services: visites d'interprétation, stationnement, boutique, aires de piquenique, stationnement pour les véhicules récréatifs, sentiers de randonnée pédestre et terrain de camping.