World Heritage: Canada

Periodic Report on the Application of the World Heritage Convention

SECTION I OF THE PERIODIC REPORT
ON THE APPLICATION OF THE
WORLD HERITAGE CONVENTION

APPLICATION OF THE
WORLD HERITAGE CONVENTION
BY CANADA

December 2004

QUESTIONNAIRE -
SECTION II REPORTS
OF THE WORLD HERITAGE CONVENTION PERIODIC REPORTING PROJECT

II.1 Introduction

1a) State Party:

1b) Name of World Heritage property:

1c) Please provide geographical coordinates for the site to the nearest second. (In the case of large sites, please give three sets of geographical coordinates.)

1d) Date of inscription on the World Heritage List: (dd/mm/yy)

1e) Date of subsequent extension(s) if any:

1f) Organization(s) responsible for the preparation of this site report.

1g) Date of submittal of the report: (dd/mm/yy)

1h) Signature on behalf of the State Party
 

To the top

II.2 Statement of Significance

(see Section 2 of the current Nomination Form and Section 5 of the original Form)

2a) When a State Party nominates a property for inscription on the World Heritage List, it describes the heritage values of the property which it believes justifies the inscription of the property on the World Heritage List. Please summarize the justification for inscription, as it appears in the original nomination of the property.

2b) At the time of initial inscription of a property on the World Heritage List, the World Heritage Committee indicates the property's outstanding universal value(s) (or World Heritage value(s)) by agreeing on the criteria for which the property deserves to be included on the World Heritage List. Please consult the report of the World Heritage Committee meeting when the property was listed and indicate the criteria for which the Committee inscribed the property on the World Heritage List. (Choose one or more boxes.)
Cultural Criteria:
#i   #ii   #iii   #iv   #v   #vi
Natural Criteria:
#i   #ii   #iii   #iv

2c) At the time of initial inscription, did the World Heritage Committee agree upon a Statement of Significance for the WHS? (Consult the report, or minutes, of the World Heritage Committee meeting when the property was listed.)
#Yes      # No

2c1) If YES, please cite it here.

2c2) If NO please propose a Statement of Significance for the World Heritage Site based on the consideration given the property by the Committee when it inscribed the property on the World Heritage List. (Note: Following the completion of the Periodic Report exercise, the State Party, in consultation with appropriate authorities, will determine whether to proceed with seeking a Committee decision to approve any proposed Statement of Significance. The Committee must approve any proposed Statement of Significance through a separate, formal process. See 7g) Examples of Statement of Significance

2d) Since the original inscription of the property on the World Heritage List, has the World Heritage Committee agreed with a proposal by the State Party that the property be recognized for additional World Heritage values and added additional criteria to the inscription as a result of a re-nomination and/or extension of the property?
#Yes      # No

2d1) If YES, please indicate which new criteria were added and the date (dd/mm/yy)
 

To the top

II.3 Statement of Authenticity / Integrity

(see Section 2 of the current Nomination Form and Section 4 of the original Nomination Form)

3a) In addition to meeting one or more of the criteria, which justify inscription on the World Heritage List, a natural or cultural property must meet the appropriate conditions of authenticity and/or integrity, as defined in clauses 24b and 44b of the Operational Guidelines for Implementing the World Heritage Convention. If at the time of inscribing the property on the World Heritage list, the State Party and the ICOMOS and/or IUCN evaluated the authenticity/integrity of the property, please cite those evaluations here. (Please quote directly from the nomination, Committee minutes and the Advisory Body's evaluation.)

3b) Have there been significant changes in the authenticity / integrity of the property since inscription?
#Yes      # No

3b1) If YES, please describe the changes to the authenticity / integrity and name the main causes.

Patrimoine mondial :  Canada

Rapport périodique sur l'application de la Convention du patrimoine mondial

SECTION I DU RAPPORT PÉRIODIQUE
SUR L'APPLICATION DE LA
CONVENTION DU PATRIMOINE MONDIAL

L’APPLICATION DE LA
CONVENTION DU PATRIMOINE MONDIAL
PAR LE CANADA

Décembre 2004

QUESTIONNAIRE -
LES RAPPORTS DE SECTION II
DU PROJET DE RAPPORTS PÉRIODIQUES DE LA CONVENTION DU PATRIMOINE MONDIAL

II.1 Introduction

1a) État partie :

1b) Nom du bien du patrimoine mondial :

1c) Veuillez fournir les coordonnées géographiques du site à la seconde près. (Dans le cas de grands sites, indiquez trois séries de coordonnées géographiques.)

1d) Date d'inscription sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial :(jj/mm/aa)

1e) Date(s) d'agrandissement(s) subséquent(s), (s'il y a lieu) :

1f) Organisation(s) responsable(s) de la préparation de ce rapport.

1g) Date de la soumission du rapport : (jj/mm/aa)

1h) Signature au nom de l'État partie

Haut de la page

II.2 Déclaration de Valeur

(Voir le point 2 de la proposition d'inscription actuelle et le point 5 de la proposition d'inscription originale)

2a) Lorsqu'un État partie propose l'inscription d'un bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial, il en décrit les valeurs patrimoniales qui, selon lui, justifient l'inscription du bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. Prière de résumer la justification qui figure dans la proposition d'inscription originale du bien.

2b) Au moment de l'inscription initiale du bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial, le Comité du patrimoine mondial indique la (les) valeur(s) universelle(s) exceptionnelle(s) du bien (ou la (les) valeurs du Patrimoine mondial) en convenant de critères selon lesquels le bien mérite d'être inscrit sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. Prière de consulter le compte rendu de la réunion du Comité du patrimoine mondial lorsque le bien a été inscrit et d'indiquer les critères qui ont motivé l'inscription du bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. (Cocher une ou plusieurs cases.)
Critères culturels :
#i   #ii   #iii   #iv   #v   #vi

Critères naturels :
#i   #ii   #iii   # iv

2c) Au moment de l'inscription initiale, le Comité du patrimoine mondial a-t-il approuvé une Déclaration de valeur pour le SPM? (Consultez le rapport ou le compte rendu de la réunion du Comité du patrimoine mondial lorsque le bien a été inscrit sur la liste.)
# Oui      # Non

2c1) Si OUI, reproduisez-la ici.

2c2) Si NON, proposer une déclaration de valeur pour le site du patrimoine mondial, en vous fondant sur les particularités prises en compte par le Comité lorsqu'il a inscrit le bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. (Nota : Après avoir rédigé le Rapport périodique, l'État partie peut, en consultation avec les autorités compétentes, décider d'aller de l'avant et demander au Comité d'approuver la déclaration de valeur proposée. Le Comité doit approuver toute déclaration de valeur proposée par le cadre d'un processus officiel distinct. Voir 7g.) Exemples de Déclaration de valeur

2d) Depuis l'inscription originale du bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial, le Comité du patrimoine mondial a-t-il accepté une proposition de l'État partie visant à ce que le bien soit reconnu pour d'autres valeurs patrimoniales et a-t-il ajouté des critères additionnels à l'inscription à la suite de la réinscription ou de l'agrandissement du bien?
# Oui      # Non

2d1) Si OUI, indiquer quels nouveaux critères ont été ajoutés et indiquer la date (jj/mm/aa)

Haut de la page

II.3 Déclaration d'Authencité / d'Intégrité

(Voir le point 2 de la proposition d'inscription actuelle et le point 4 de l'inscription originale)

3a) En plus de satisfaire à un ou plusieurs critères, qui justifient son inscription à la Liste du patrimoine mondial, un bien naturel ou culturel doit satisfaire aux conditions appropriées d'authenticité et/ou d'intégrité, telles que définies dans les clause 24b et 44b des Orientations devant guider la mise en oeuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial. Si au moment de l'inscription du bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial, l'État partie et l'ICOMOS et/ou l'UICN ont évalué l'authenticité/l'intégrité du bien, prière de citer ces évaluations ici. (Veuillez citer directement du texte de la proposition de l'inscription, du procès-verbal du Comité et de l'évaluation du conseil consultatif.)

3b) Depuis l'inscription, a-t-on procédé à des modifications importantes dans l'authenticité/l'intégrité du bien?
# Oui      # Non

3b1) Si OUI, décrire les changements apportés à l'authenticité / l'intégrité et indiquer les principales causes.