World Heritage: Canada

Periodic Report on the Application of the World Heritage Convention

SECTION I OF THE PERIODIC REPORT
ON THE APPLICATION OF THE
WORLD HERITAGE CONVENTION

APPLICATION OF THE
WORLD HERITAGE CONVENTION
BY CANADA

December 2004

SECTION I: APPLICATION OF THE WORLD HERITAGE CONVENTION BY CANADA

I.4 INTERNATIONAL CO-OPERATION AND FUND RAISING

Canada co-operates with other nations in a number of ways to ensure the future of natural and cultural heritage both in Canada and abroad. Canada is an active participant in meetings of the World Heritage Committee, chaired the World Heritage Committee sessions in 1986, 1987, and 1990, and hosted the 14th session of the Committee in Banff in 1990.

The Head of the Canadian Delegation has chaired a number of expert meetings, including that to prepare a 20-year Strategic Plan (1992), to develop a global strategy for cultural World Heritage Sites (1994), and the Natural and Cultural Heritage Experts Meeting (1998) in Amsterdam. Canada also chaired the Task Force created by the Assembly of the State Parties on the Implementation of the World Heritage Convention, conducted an evaluation of the Nordic World Heritage Office, and has been an active participant in many other working groups, including that on the revision of the Operational Guidelines (2000-2003). In 1997, a Canadian team, as External Auditors to UNESCO, conducted an audit of the World Heritage Centre.

Canada has an excellent working relationship on heritage issues with its direct neighbour, the United States. Parks Canada and the United States National Park Service have a memorandum of understanding for cooperation in management, research, protection, conservation and presentation of national parks and national historic sites. The agreement specifically cites strengthening participation in the World Heritage Convention as an area of co-operation. This agreement was renewed in 2003 for another five-year term. The production of this report on the state of the World Heritage Sites has encouraged further co-operation between these two countries. Working meetings were held in each country (Los Angeles, January 2003 and Québec City, January 2004), with participation of managers from most of the World Heritage Sites. Additional networking and ongoing communication are anticipated.

To the top

Canada has taken steps to ensure that international projects with federal government support will not adversely impact World Heritage Sites in other countries. Export Development Canada (the federal agency responsible for providing financing to Canadian corporations wishing to invest in foreign countries) and the Canadian International Development Agency have been briefed on the World Heritage Convention and its implications. Briefings of Canadian corporations on the World Heritage Convention resulted in significant modifications to two projects that could have affected World Heritage SItes, one in South America (Huascaran in Peru) and the other in Russia (Kamchatka). Export Development Canada has on staff an environmental specialist and a unit which evaluates the environmental impacts of the projects it sponsors. The Corporation regularly seeks advice from Parks Canada, as the State Party representative for World Heritage, to ensure the proposed projects will not adversely affect World Heritage Sites. The Canadian International Development Agency has provided major funding for a project in Mosi-oa-Tunya/Victoria Falls and was involved in a workshop in the Dja, Cameroon, to identify ways to minimize adverse affects on this World Heritage Site. It has also provided funding to projects in World Heritage cities in the Baltic.

In 1991, Canada hosted the Symposium of World Heritage Cities, in Québec City, which led to the creation of the Organization of World Heritage Cities. The Canadian effort was the result of federal, provincial and municipal collaboration.

During this same period, Canada committed $400, 000 CDN to ICOMOS-International and the World Heritage Centre to finance international projects on World Heritage. These included the preparation of the first Framework for a Global Study, a major mission to Kizhi Pogost (Russia), a study on tourism in World Heritage cities, the publication of a handbook on the management of World Heritage cities, and the participation of experts from less developed countries to the Special Symposium on Geological Sites. Canada was also a co-sponsor of an expert meeting in Bergen (Norway) on Authenticity and in 1994 Canada hosted an expert meeting on Heritage Transportation Canal Corridors.

From 1992 to 1995, Parks Canada was involved in a Canada/Hungary National Parks Project. The main focus of the project was the Hortobagy National Park, which has subsequently been inscribed on the World Heritage List. In 1993, Canada participated in an expert mission to Cambodia to evaluate threats to Angkor World Heritage Site.

Patrimoine mondial :  Canada

Rapport périodique sur l'application de la Convention du patrimoine mondial

SECTION I DU RAPPORT PÉRIODIQUE
SUR L'APPLICATION DE LA
CONVENTION DU PATRIMOINE MONDIAL

L’APPLICATION DE LA
CONVENTION DU PATRIMOINE MONDIAL
PAR LE CANADA

Décembre 2004

SECTION I : MISE EN OEUVRE DE LA CONVENTION DU PATRIMOINE MONDIAL PAR LE CANADA

I.4 COOPÉRATION INTERNATIONALE ET COLLECTE DE FONDS

Le Canada coopère avec d'autres pays de plusieurs façons en vue d'assurer l'avenir du patrimoine naturel et culturel tant au Canada qu’à l'étranger. Le Canada est un participant actif aux réunions du Comité du patrimoine mondial, il a présidé les séances du Comité du patrimoine mondial en 1986, 1987, et 1990 et a accueilli la 14e séance du Comité à Banff en 1990.

Le chef de la délégation canadienne a présidé plusieurs réunions d'experts, notamment celles tenues en vue de préparer un Plan stratégique de 20 ans (1992), pour développer une stratégie globale concernant les sites culturels du patrimoine mondial (1994), et la réunion des experts du patrimoine naturel et culturel de 1998 à Amsterdam. Le Canada a également présidé le groupe de travail créé par l'Assemblée des États parties pour la mise en application de la Convention du patrimoine mondial, il a mené une évaluation du Bureau du patrimoine mondial nordique, et il a participé de façon active à de nombreux autres groupes de travail, notamment celui sur la révision des Lignes directrices opérationnelles (2000-2003). En 1997, une équipe canadienne a procédé à l'audit du Centre du patrimoine mondial, en tant que Commissaire aux comptes de l'UNESCO

Le Canada jouit d'excellentes relations de travail en matière de patrimoine avec son voisin immédiat, les États-Unis. Parcs Canada et le National Park Service des États-Unis ont signé un protocole d'entente au sujet de la coopération dans la gestion, les recherches, la protection, la conservation et la mise en valeur des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux. L'entente cite spécifiquement le renforcement de la participation à la Convention du patrimoine mondial comme un domaine de coopération. L'entente a été renouvelée en 2003 pour une autre période de cinq ans. La production du rapport périodique nord-américain sur l'état des sites du patrimoine mondial a renforcé la coopération entre les deux pays. Des réunions de travail ont eu lieu à Los Angeles, en janvier 2003, et d'autres à Québec, en janvier 2004, avec la participation de gestionnaires de la plupart des sites du patrimoine mondial. Le réseautage et les communications suivies devraient s'accentuer.

Le Canada a pris des mesures visant à s’assurer que les projets internationaux qui reçoivent l'appui du gouvernement fédéral n’ont pas d'effet négatif sur les sites du patrimoine mondial dans d'autres pays. Exportation et développement Canada (agence fédérale responsable du financement des sociétés canadiennes désirant investir à l'étranger) et l'Agence canadienne de développement international ont été informées du contenu de la Convention du patrimoine mondial et de ses implications. Des séances d'information sur la Convention du patrimoine mondial à l'intention de certaines sociétés canadiennes ont conduit à des modifications importantes de deux projets susceptibles d'avoir des répercussions sur des sites du patrimoine mondial, l'un en Amérique du Sud (Huascaran, Pérou) et l'autre en Russie (Kamchatka). Exportation et développement Canada compte dans son effectif un spécialiste de l'environnement et une unité qui évalue les impacts environnementaux des projets commandités. L'agence s’adresse régulièrement à Parcs Canada, en tant que représentant de l'État partie pour le patrimoine mondial, pour obtenir des avis afin de s’assurer que les projets proposés n’auront pas d'effets négatifs sur les sites du patrimoine mondial. L'Agence canadienne de développement international a fourni un financement important pour un projet à Mosi oa Tunya/Victoria Falls, et a participé à un atelier dans le Dja, au Cameroun, en vue d'identifier des façons de minimiser les effets négatifs sur ce site du patrimoine mondial. Elle a également fourni du financement à des projets dans des villes du patrimoine mondial de la mer Baltique.

Haut de la page

En 1991, le Canada a accueilli à Québec le Colloque international des villes du patrimoine mondial, qui a conduit à la création de l'Organisation des villes du patrimoine mondial. L'effort canadien était le résultat d'une collaboration fédérale, provinciale et municipale.

Au cours de cette même période, le Canada a versé 400 000 $CAN à ICOMOS International et au Centre du patrimoine mondial en vue de financer des projets internationaux visant le patrimoine mondial. Ces projets comprenaient notamment la préparation du premier cadre d'une étude globale, une mission importante à Kizhi Pogost (Russie), une étude du tourisme dans les villes du patrimoine mondial, la publication d'un manuel sur la gestion des villes du patrimoine mondial, et la participation d'experts de pays en voie de développement au Symposium spécial sur les sites géologiques. Le Canada a également coparrainé une réunion d'experts à Bergen (Norvège) sur l'authenticité et en 1994, il a accueilli une réunion d'experts sur les Corridors des canaux patrimoniaux.

De 1992 à 1995, Parcs Canada a participé à un projet de parcs nationaux Canada/Hongrie. Au centre de ce projet se trouvait le parc national Hortobagy, qui a par la suite été inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial. En 1993, le Canada a participé à une mission d'experts au Cambodge afin d'évaluer les menaces qui pèsent sur le site du patrimoine mondial d'Angkor.