Library

Reports

Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada 2012: Summary Report

Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada 2012: Summary Report
© Parks Canada

Table of Contents

The Workshop

Recommendations from the group

Closing Statements

Next Steps

Printable Version (PDF, 1.9 MB)


Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada 2012: Summary Report

The Honourable Peter Kent, Canada's Minister of the Environment, hosted the sixth Minister's Round Table (MRT) on Parks Canada on January 16, 2012, at the Toronto International Film Festival Bell Lightbox in Toronto. This MRT was structured as a workshop designed to seek ideas and input on how to connect Canadian youth to their natural and cultural heritage through national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

The lives of youth are increasingly urban, technology-driven and fast-paced. Many do not have regular opportunities to experience nature or history. The number of youth visiting national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas does not reflect their proportion of the Canadian population. In fact, the average age of visitors to Canada's national treasures is over 50. On average, about one-third of our visitors are over 55 and, nationally, only 2 in 10 visitor parties tend to be families.

Parks Canada had identified some challenges in its programming and gaps in its visitor demographics for young Canadians. Recognizing this fact, the Agency sought to initiate the discussion of possible multilateral collaborations that would draw on the skills of Parks Canada and multiple organizations with a view to engaging tens of thousands of young Canadians in our country's natural and cultural heritage.

The Workshop

Minister Kent opened the day with a word of welcome, followed by the statement of accountability by Parks Canada's Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Alan Latourelle. The participants then moved into a workshop space to begin the facilitated session. The theme discussed was "Connecting Canadian youth to the very essence of Canada through Parks Canada's places."

Thirty participants attended MRT 2012. They represented a range of public, not-for-profit and private sector organizations, with experience in the youth sector as well as the heritage, resource protection and tourism sectors. Non-governmental and business organizations with a social mandate focused on youth participated along with key stakeholders in the fields of youth engagement and healthy living. Additionally, there were eight young Canadian participants in attendance who were either associated with current partners of Parks Canada or engaged in Parks Canada's youth programming. These youth participated as full delegates in the workshop. The facilitators employed a few techniques common to group discovery and consensus-building exercises during the day. Central to their approach was the Consensus Workshop Method and the Focused Conversation Method. Small group activities borrowed from the World Café method focused the attention of participants on specific questions.

The main question being posed at the MRT: "What will it take for Parks Canada to engage tens of thousands of youth (13-18 years) in connecting with their history and natural environments with the essence of being Canadian?"

Other questions were posed and discussed by the group with a view to fully explore this point of inquiry; these included an exploration of the challenges and a definition of success to better understand the form of what the participants want to see as an end state. The overall vision of the workshop was summarized by the question: "What do we really want to see going on in 2016 as a result of engaging thousands of youth in connecting with Canada's nature and history?"

Recommendations from the group

The discussion explored in great detail the concept of engaging large numbers of Canadian youth in Parks Canada places. Many specific ideas were tabled and are summarized in the following categories:

Plan with Youth; Not for Youth

"If we can reach a point where youth are perceived as leaders of today rather than leaders of tomorrow, that would flip things on its head; that would be our breakthrough."

The participants clearly supported the idea of involving youth in a fundamental way in planning for youth engagement. The concept of a youth board that would advise Parks Canada in the planning of youth initiatives was identified by several participants. As well, youth-focused, two-way communication is necessary for a clear understanding of the youth sector.

Recommendation on Youth Engagement

Young Canadians must take on a leadership role in how Parks Canada engages their peers - the creation of a youth board is recommended to define goals and develop the strategic approaches to engaging youth.

Minister's Response to Recommendation

Parks Canada has initiated work to engage youth who will provide advice and guidance to the Agency on the subject of youth engagement by leveraging existing programs, new technologies and social media channels.

One such initiative is the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge Parks Canada Youth Ambassadors program. The ambassadors will inspire young Canadians to be active, get outdoors and learn more about their natural and cultural treasures.

In addition, Parks Canada has begun work with its summer students and young employees to generate ideas about youth programming and effective youth engagement. These suggestions, along with those generated by the Parks Canada ambassadors' growing networks, will ensure that youth are indeed involved in planning Parks Canada's youth programming.

Building on the Strengths of Each Other

"With all of these organizations working together, engaging tens of thousands of youth is not an audacious goal. It can be done."

The youth sector in Canada has many organizations with complementary goals and objectives to Parks Canada. They have credibility, contacts and expertise in an area that is largely outside of Parks Canada's previous experience. Parks Canada has a portfolio of magnificent places that are ideal for bringing Canada's human and natural heritage to Canadian youth. By working with these organizations, Parks Canada will be drawn into the heart of the youth sector. Working in true collaboration, we can develop programming that youth endorse and find relevant.

Recommendation on Partnerships and Collaboration

Parks Canada needs to work in a truly collaborative manner with organizations that are active with youth in order to maximize the reach and programming of all interested parties.

Minister's Response to Recommendation

Moving ahead in the youth sector, wherever possible, Parks Canada will continue to establish multi-partite relationships with organizations having complementary goals so as to build on the strengths and opportunities presented by the various actors in this sector.

These kinds of relationships have already been employed at the national level by Parks Canada for programs such as My Parks Pass and the Canada's Coolest School Trip contest. For My Parks Pass, Parks Canada has been working with Nature Canada and Historica-Dominion Institute, two non-governmental organizations with shared objectives. My Parks Pass included the promotional contest Canada's Coolest School Trip which was delivered through a multi-partite collaboration that included Parks Canada and private sector partners Brewster Travel Canada, Banff Lake Louise Tourism Bureau and Air Canada.

Moving ahead, Parks Canada will strive to develop tools to ensure multi-partite relationships are used to support youth initiatives and will continue to build on and enhance existing programs and relationships.

Hit the Books: Connecting with the Formal Education System

"The formal education system is as close to a universal social program as can be found in Canada. It touches practically every Canadian child and has near total penetration in the youth market."

The formal education system touches the vast majority of Canadian youth and, as a result, is targeted by many organizations wishing to engage youth. There already exists a strong cohort of potential partners who have strong connections with the provincial education systems; partners who work closely with educators to produce and provide innovative and dynamic learning opportunities to Canadian students.

Recommendation on Engaging the Formal Education System

Parks Canada should work with organizations that have a significant reach in the formal education system in moving ahead with proactive youth engagement. In this way, Parks Canada can multiply its reach while continuing to have a presence in schools.

Minister's Response to Recommendation

Parks Canada currently has a number of national-level agreements with organizations that are active in the formal education system. The potential for expanding these with a view to fostering a greater connection between youth and their national heritage will be further explored in conjunction with relevant partners.

Although formal education is a provincial responsibility, connecting to this sector has long been important for Parks Canada. Parks Canada places provide an ideal context for hands-on learning and we will continue to encourage class trips to Canada's national treasures.

Agreements with partners such as Historica-Dominion Institute and the Royal Canadian Geographical Society allow Parks Canada and these partners to achieve mutual objectives with respect to conveying understanding and appreciation of Canada's cultural and natural heritage to the nation's youth. These organizations have long supported Canadian educators and, as a result, they have a reach that extends into Canada's classrooms. Parks Canada places are genuine examples that touch on the foundations of Canada.

Parks Canada will continue to work with all relevant partners in order to reach students everywhere across the country. The Agency's learning and education initiatives will continue to hold an important place among various youth initiatives. Our strategy on learning and education will be reviewed to ensure ongoing relevance and the capacity to deliver relevant experiential learning to Canadian students.These kinds of relationships have already been employed at the national level by Parks Canada for programs such as My Parks Pass and the Canada's Coolest School Trip contest. For My Parks Pass, Parks Canada has been working with Nature Canada and Historica-Dominion Institute, two non-governmental organizations with shared objectives. My Parks Pass included the promotional contest Canada's Coolest School Trip which was delivered through a multi-partite collaboration that included Parks Canada and private sector partners Brewster Travel Canada, Banff Lake Louise Tourism Bureau and Air Canada.

Moving ahead, Parks Canada will strive to develop tools to ensure multi-partite relationships are used to support youth initiatives and will continue to build on and enhance existing programs and relationships.

Dream It - Live It!

"Instead of figuring out how we need to change them (youth), we need to figure out how to change our own organizations to work for them."

There are many barriers keeping youth out of national parks and national historic sites. Often these locations are remote from their homes; youth do not necessarily feel welcome; or they cannot afford to make the trip, as a family or as individuals. These places can be made more accessible in many ways. The potential exists to work with partners to improve accessibility from a personal finance point of view or by working together to produce package travel products that include national park or national historic site admission.

The establishment of Rouge National Urban Park will provide youth in Toronto access to local natural settings. Youth will be able to travel to the Rouge using the means of transport they already use independently on a day-to-day basis. This is an example of a park that will break down an important barrier to youth, and other solutions will be explored on how Parks Canada can create youth-friendly experiences with less barriers moving ahead.

As well, the activities that are traditionally undertaken in national parks and national historic sites may be intimidating. By offering non-traditional activities that youth already partake in (such as concerts), they get to have an experience that appeals to them and the barrier to access is reduced.

Recommendation on Incentives and Accessibility

Recognize the barriers to youth participation and actively work toward eliminating them, and encourage youth interaction with Parks Canada places and activities.

Minister's Response to Recommendation

As mentioned in the response to the first recommendation, the establishment of an active dialogue with youth will be instrumental in identifying barriers to youth engagement and defining appropriate solutions.

There are initiatives under way that seek to reduce the barriers between youth and Parks Canada places. My Parks Pass is a program aimed at every Grade 8 and Secondary 2 student in Canada. It allows free entry to students and provides incentives to their families. The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge Parks Canada Youth Ambassador program is also being launched. This program will see two youth ambassadors taking the Parks Canada message to places and through channels that already engage Canadian youth.

Parks Canada will strive to identify and implement onsite and outreach activities that enable and encourage youth participation at national parks and national historic sites. More and more non-traditional activities are being designed for specific clienteles at Parks Canada and future programming will better suit the interests of youth. Also, recognizing young Canadians are among the most techno-savvy people in the world, Parks Canada will explore ways to enhance the online experience to better meet the needs of young Canadians.

Media as a Multiplier

"Not everyone will be able to go to these places; it's a big country and technology can be your friend as opposed to your enemy. It is easy to default to the easy measurable: attendance at the gate. For this ultimate goal of tens of thousands, initially they may not be people who enter through the gates of the park - rather, there is continuum of experience that will ultimately get them coming through the gates."

Daily, youth use a variety of media. This provides access points Parks Canada can use to reach these youth online or on television. Parks Canada has the opportunity to take advantage of these channels but must recognize youth access media producers that are not necessarily traditional partners of Parks Canada; we have to go where they are and not where we normally go.

Recommendation on Engaging Youth through Media

Work closely with media channels that successfully reach youth to ensure the Parks Canada story is delivered to substantial numbers of youth.

Minister's Response to Recommendation

Parks Canada will continue to pursue programming that extends the reach of Canada's heritage places to the places where Canadians live, work and play via television, print media and digital media among others.

Current activities in the development of new media will continue with an emphasis on synchronizing even more with the needs and interests of young Canadians. Parks Canada will work with multiple partners wherever possible in the production and distribution of new media with the intention of ensuring the Agency's reach is extended as broadly as possible.

Parks Canada recognizes youth are leaders in Canada today and engaging youth broadens the capacity of the organization as well as its reach. Fully involving youth will allow Parks Canada to better meet the evolving demands of our society in ways that complement the needs, interests and ambitions of Canadians today and in the future.

Closing Statements

Minister Kent brought the day to its conclusion by thanking the participants for their involvement and acknowledging that youth are not just the leaders of tomorrow, they can and should be engaged as leaders today. In this context, Minister Kent indicated that youth need to be involved in the establishment of strategies for youth engagement and that he is taking away the message that youth want this type of participation. The Minister also noted that Parks Canada will continue to fulfill its responsibilities with respect to its mandate and protecting Canada's heritage resources, and will engage youth in fulfilling these roles, ensuring that young Canadians support and connect with their natural and historic heritage.

Next Steps

In accordance with the legislated requirements under the Parks Canada Agency Act, the Minister will respond to the recommendations from MRT 2012 within 180 days, by July 14, 2012.

The Minister's Response to Recommendations will be available on Parks Canada's Web site (www.pc.gc.ca).

All quotes in this section were made by participants. Attribution is not currently defined.

Bibliothèque

Rapports

Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada 2012 – Rapport sommaire

Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada 2012 – Rapport sommaire
© Parcs Canada

Table de matières

L'atelier

Recommandations présentées par le groupe

Mot de la fin

Prochaines étapes

Version imprimable (PDF, 1.7 Mo)


Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada 2012 - Rapport sommaire

L'honorable Peter Kent, ministre canadien de l'Environnement, était l'hôte de la sixième Table ronde du Ministre (TRM) sur Parcs Canada qui s'est tenue le 16 janvier 2012 au TIFF Bell Lightbox, à Toronto. La TRM a pris la forme d'un atelier visant à recueillir des idées et des commentaires sur la façon de tisser des liens entre les jeunes Canadiens et le patrimoine naturel et culturel du pays par le biais des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation.

Les jeunes adoptent de plus en plus un mode de vie urbain, rapide et axé sur les technologies. Nombre d'entre eux n'ont généralement pas l'occasion de passer du temps dans la nature ou de découvrir notre histoire. Le nombre de jeunes qui visitent nos parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation n'est pas représentatif de leur proportion au sein de la population canadienne. En fait, l'âge moyen des visiteurs des trésors nationaux du Canada est de plus de 50 ans. En moyenne, environ le tiers de nos visiteurs sont âgés de plus de 55 ans et, à l'échelle nationale, seulement deux groupes de visiteurs sur dix sont des familles.

Parcs Canada a mis en évidence certains problèmes dans ses programmes destinés aux jeunes Canadiens ainsi que des lacunes dans le profil démographique des visiteurs qu'il a dressé pour ce segment. Compte tenu de cette situation, Parcs Canada a cherché à amorcer la discussion au sujet de possibles collaborations multilatérales qui mettraient à profit ses compétences et celles de nombreuses organisations afin de mobiliser des dizaines de milliers de jeunes Canadiens à l'égard du patrimoine naturel et culturel de notre pays.

L'atelier

Le ministre Kent a ouvert la journée avec un mot de bienvenue, puis le DGA de Parcs Canada, M. Alan Latourelle, a présenté un sommaire des réalisations de l'Agence. Les participants se sont ensuite dirigés vers l'espace atelier pour amorcer une discussion dirigée sous le thème « Insuffler aux jeunes Canadiens un sentiment d'attachement à l'essence même du Canada par le biais des endroits gérés par Parcs Canada ».

Trente participants ont pris part à la TRM 2012. Il s'agissait de représentants d'organisations des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif ayant une expérience auprès des jeunes ainsi que dans les secteurs du patrimoine, de la protection des ressources et du tourisme. Ont également participé à la TRM des intervenants clés dans les domaines de la mobilisation des jeunes et des modes de vie sains, ainsi que des organismes non gouvernementaux et des entreprises ayant une vocation sociale axée sur les jeunes. En outre, huit jeunes Canadiens associés à des partenaires actuels de Parcs Canada ou ayant participé à des programmes de l'Agence pour les jeunes ont pris part à l'événement comme délégué à part entière. Durant la journée, les animateurs ont employé quelques techniques propres à la découverte en groupe ainsi que des exercices de concertation. La méthode d'atelier sur le consensus et la méthode de la conversation ciblée étaient au cœur de leur approche. Des activités en petits groupes tirées de la méthodologie du Café du monde ont permis d'attirer l'attention des participants sur des questions précises.

La principale question ayant fait l'objet de discussions à la TRM est la suivante : « Que devons-nous faire afin d'engager des dizaines de milliers de jeunes de 13 à 18 ans pour qu'ils puissent tisser des liens avec la nature et l'histoire de notre pays, avec l'essence même de ce qu'est être Canadien? »

D'autres questions ont été posées au groupe et ont fait l'objet de discussions afin d'explorer ce volet en détail; il s'agissait entre autres d'examiner les défis et la définition de « réussite » pour mieux comprendre le résultat final que les participants désirent atteindre. La vision globale de l'atelier se résume ainsi : « Quel résultat désirons nous vraiment atteindre et voir se poursuivre en 2016 en incitant des milliers de jeunes à créer des liens avec la nature et l'histoire du Canada? »

Recommandations présentées par le groupe

La discussion a permis d'explorer en détail le concept de mobilisation d'un grand nombre de jeunes Canadiens par rapport aux endroits gérés par Parcs Canada. De nombreuses idées bien précises ont été soumises et sont résumées sous les catégories suivantes :

Planifier avec les jeunes, et non pour les jeunes

« Si nous pouvions en venir à un point où les jeunes sont perçus comme les dirigeants d'aujourd'hui et non seulement ceux de demain, la situation changerait complètement et il s'agirait là d'un tournant décisif pour nous. »

Les participants ont clairement appuyé l'idée de faire participer les jeunes de manière fondamentale à la planification de l'engagement des jeunes. Le concept d'un comité de jeunes qui formulerait des conseils à Parcs Canada concernant la planification d'initiatives jeunesse a été présenté dans pas moins de trois petits groupes de discussion et a reçu un large appui de la majorité des participants. Par ailleurs, il est nécessaire d'entretenir une conversation bidirectionnelle avec les jeunes afin de les comprendre clairement.

Recommandation concernant la mobilisation des jeunes :

Les jeunes Canadiens doivent exercer un leadership quant à la façon dont Parcs Canada mobilise ce segment : la création d'un comité de jeunes est recommandée pour définir les buts et élaborer des approches stratégiques permettant de mobiliser les jeunes.

Réponse du ministre à la recommandation

Parcs Canada a amorcé récemment un dialogue plus actif avec des jeunes de façon à obtenir des conseils et des orientations au sujet de la mobilisation de la jeunesse. Ces conseils serviront à bonifier les programmes jeunesse existants et l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies et des médias sociaux.

Le Programme des jeunes ambassadeurs de Parcs Canada en l'honneur du duc et de la duchesse de Cambridge est un bon exemple de ce nouvel engagement. Les ambassadeurs ont pour rôle d'inspirer les jeunes canadiens à être actifs, à profiter du plein air et d'en apprendre d'avantage sur leurs trésors culturels et naturels.

De plus, Parcs Canada travaille désormais de plus près avec ses étudiants d'été et jeunes employés pour générer des idées sur la programmation jeunesse et l'engagement des jeunes. Ces suggestions, en plus de celles générées par le réseau croissant des jeunes ambassadeurs, contribuera grandement à l'engagement actif de la jeunesse dans la programmation de Parcs Canada leur étant destinée.

Tirer profit des forces de chacun

« Grâce à la collaboration de toutes les organisations, la mobilisation de dizaines de milliers de jeunes n'est pas un objectif trop audacieux. On peut y arriver! »

Au Canada, de nombreuses organisations ayant des buts et des objectifs complémentaires à ceux de Parcs Canada œuvrent auprès des jeunes. Elles possèdent en outre une crédibilité, un réseau de personnes-ressources et une expertise dans un domaine qui échappe largement à l'expérience antérieure de Parcs Canada, qui gère des endroits magnifiques où il convient de mettre à la portée des jeunes Canadiens le patrimoine humain et naturel du Canada. En travaillant avec ces organisations, Parcs Canada arrivera à mieux comprendre les jeunes, et une véritable collaboration permettra d'élaborer des programmes que les jeunes adopteront et qu'ils trouveront pertinents.

Recommandation concernant les partenariats et la collaboration :

Parcs Canada doit vraiment collaborer avec les organisations qui œuvrent auprès des jeunes afin de maximiser la portée et de bonifier les programmes de toutes les parties intéressées.

Réponse du ministre à la recommandation

Parcs Canada continuera autant que possible d'établir des relations multipartites avec les organisations ayant des buts complémentaires aux siens de façon à tirer profit des forces des différents acteurs œuvrant auprès des jeunes ainsi que des possibilités qu'ils ont à offrir.

Parcs Canada a déjà mis à profit ces relations à l'échelle nationale dans le cadre de programmes comme Mon Passeport Parcs et le concours Le voyage scolaire le plus « cool » au Canada. En ce qui concerne Mon Passeport Parcs, Parcs Canada collabore étroitement avec Nature Canada et l'Institut Historica Dominion, deux organismes non gouvernentaux qui ont des objectifs communs. Mon Passeport Parcs présentait le concours promotionnel Le voyage scolaire le plus « cool » au Canada, qui a été rendu possible grâce à la collaboration de Parcs Canada et de partenaires du secteur privé comme Brewster Travel Canada, le bureau du tourisme de Banff - Lake Louise et Air Canada.

à l'avenir, Parcs Canada cherchera à élaborer des outils pour s'assurer que des relations multipartites servent à appuyer les initiatives jeunesse, et il continuera à tirer profit des relations et des programmes en place et à les bonifier.

Le nez dans les livres : établir des liens avec le système d'éducation officiel

« Au Canada, le système d'éducation officiel est ce qui se rapproche le plus d'un programme social universel. Il touche presque tous les enfants du pays et permet une quasi totale pénétration du marché des jeunes. »

Le système d'éducation officiel touche la grande majorité des jeunes Canadiens et, par conséquent, il constitue une cible de choix pour de nombreuses organisations qui désirent mobiliser les jeunes. Il existe déjà bon nombre de partenaires potentiels qui ont des liens solides avec les systèmes d'éducation provinciaux; ces partenaires travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les éducateurs pour créer et concrétiser des possibilités d'apprentissage novatrices et dynamiques à l'intention des étudiants canadiens.

Recommandation concernant la mobilisation des acteurs du système d'éducation officiel :

Parcs Canada doit collaborer avec les organisations dont la portée est considérable dans le système d'éducation officiel en prenant une part active dans la mobilisation des jeunes. Ainsi, l'Agence étendra son rayonnement et assurera une présence continue dans les écoles.

Réponse du ministre à la recommandation

à l'heure actuelle, Parcs Canada a conclu un certain nombre d'accords à l'échelle nationale avec des organisations qui œuvrent activement au sein du système d'éducation officiel. La possibilité d'accroître l'ampleur de ces accords afin d'encourager la création de liens plus étroits entre les jeunes et leur patrimoine national sera examinée plus en profondeur avec les partenaires concernés.

Bien que la formation scolaire relève des provinces, l'établissement de liens avec ce secteur a toujours été important pour Parcs Canada. Les endroits gérés par Parcs Canada fournissent un contexte idéal pour des activités d'apprentissage concrètes à bon nombre de sujets à l'étude dans les systèmes d'éducation officiels et nous continuerons d'encourager les sorties de classe dans les trésors naturels du Canada.

Les ententes conclues avec des partenaires comme l'Institut Historica Dominion et la Société géographique royale du Canada permettent à Parcs Canada et ces partenaires d'atteindre des objectifs communs pour ce qui est de favoriser la compréhension et l'appréciation du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada par les jeunes Canadiens. Ces organisations soutiennent depuis longtemps les éducateurs du Canada et, par conséquent, elles rayonnent dans les salles de cours du Canada. Les endroits gérés par Parcs Canada sont de véritables exemples qui permettent de garder le contact avec les fondations mêmes sur lesquelles le Canada a été bâti.

Parcs Canada continuera à travailler avec tous les partenaires concernés afin de communiquer avec les étudiants d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les initiatives d'apprentissage et d'éducation de l'Agence occuperont toujours une place importante parmi ses initiatives jeunesse. La stratégie de Parcs Canada sur l'apprentissage et l'éducation fera l'objet d'un examen pour en assurer la pertinence et évaluer sa capacité à fournir un apprentissage par l'expérience aux étudiants canadiens.

Du rêve à la réalité!

« Au lieu de voir comment nous pourrions les changer [les jeunes], tentons de trouver des façons de changer nos propres organisations afin de travailler pour eux. »

De nombreux obstacles empêchent les jeunes d'accéder aux parcs nationaux et aux lieux historiques nationaux; ces endroits se trouvent souvent à bonne distance de leur domicile, les jeunes ne s'y sentent pas vraiment les bienvenus ou encore ils ne peuvent se permettre financièrement d'effectuer le voyage pour s'y rendre, seuls ou en famille. Il existe de nombreuses façons d'améliorer l'accessibilité de ces endroits, et il est possible de travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires pour améliorer l'accessibilité sur le plan des finances personnelles ou pour élaborer des forfaits voyage comprenant l'entrée aux parcs nationaux ou aux lieux historiques nationaux.

La création du parc urbain national de la Rouge permettra aux jeunes de Toronto d'avoir accès aux milieux naturels de la région puisqu'ils pourront s'y rendre en utilisant leurs moyens de transport habituels sur une base quotidienne. Il s'agit là d'un exemple de parc qui réduira grandement les obstacles à l'accès; d'autres solutions seront envisagées pour réduire ces obstacles et créer des expériences mieux adaptées aux jeunes.

Par ailleurs, les activités qui sont généralement réalisées dans les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux peuvent être intimidantes; en offrant aux jeunes des activités non traditionnelles auxquelles ils participent déjà (des concerts, par exemple), on leur permet de vivre une expérience qui suscite leur intérêt et l'obstacle à l'accès est ainsi réduit.

Recommandation concernant les mesures incitatives et l'accessibilité :

Reconnaître les obstacles à la participation des jeunes et travailler activement à les éliminer, et encourager les interactions entre les jeunes et les endroits de Parcs Canada ainsi que la participation aux activités qui y sont offertes.

Réponse du ministre à la recommandation

Comme il a été mentionné dans la réponse à la première recommandation, la mise sur pied d'un dialogue actif avec les jeunes permettra à Parcs Canada de déterminer les obstacles à la mobilisation des jeunes et de définir les solutions qui s'imposent.

Des initiatives visant à éliminer les obstacles entre les jeunes et les endroits gérés par Parcs Canada sont en cours d'élaboration. Mon Passeport Parcs est un programme destiné à tous les élèves de 8e année et de secondaire 2 du Canada, qui leur permet d'entrer gratuitement dans les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux et qui offre des rabais à leur famille. Le Programme des jeunes ambassadeurs de Parcs Canada en l'honneur du duc et de la duchesse de Cambridge est également prévu; il permettra à deux jeunes ambassadeurs de transmettre le message de Parcs Canada dans les endroits gérés par l'Agence et par le biais de médias qui intéressent déjà particulièrement les jeunes Canadiens.

Parcs Canada cherchera à sélectionner et à mettre en œuvre des activités sur place et des activités de diffusion externe qui permettent et favorisent la participation des jeunes dans les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux. Un nombre toujours plus élevé d'activités non traditionnelles destinées à des clientèles spécifiques sont en cours de conception à Parcs Canada, et les prochains programmes correspondront mieux aux intérêts des jeunes. Par ailleurs, réalisant que les jeunes Canadiens sont parmi les utilisateurs d'Internet les plus avertis au monde, Parcs Canada veillera à ce que l'expérience offerte en ligne réponde davantage à leurs besoins.

Les médias décuplent les possibilités

« Ce n'est pas tout le monde qui pourra se rendre dans ces endroits; le Canada est un vaste pays et, à cet égard, la technologie peut s'avérer un outil très utile. Il est facile de s'en tenir à une variable facilement mesurable, comme le nombre d'entrées. Mais afin d'atteindre l'objectif ultime de dizaines de milliers de jeunes, ceux ci pourraient initialement ne pas nécessairement se rendre dans un parc, mais plutôt passer par un continuum d'expériences qui les pousseront éventuellement à venir dans les parcs nationaux. »

Les jeunes utilisent chaque jour une grande variété de médias qui fournissent un point d'accès par lequel Parcs Canada peut communiquer avec eux, que ce soit en ligne ou par l'intermédiaire de la télévision. Parcs Canada peut tirer profit de ces voies de communication, mais il doit reconnaître que les jeunes accèdent à des médias dont les producteurs ne sont pas nécessairement ses partenaires traditionnels; nous devons donc aller où se trouvent les jeunes et sortir des sentiers battus.

Recommandation concernant la mobilisation des jeunes grâce aux médias :

Collaborer étroitement avec les canaux médiatiques qui réussissent à rejoindre les jeunes pour s'assurer que l'histoire de Parcs Canada est transmise à un grand nombre d'entre eux.

Réponse du ministre à la recommandation

Parcs Canada poursuivra l'exécution des programmes qui permettent de faire connaître les lieux patrimoniaux du Canada aux endroits où les Canadiens vivent, travaillent et se divertissent, par exemple par l'intermédiaire de la télévision ou de médias imprimés et numériques.

Les activités en cours liées à l'élaboration de nouveaux médias se poursuivront en mettant davantage l'accent sur une harmonisation accrue avec les besoins et les intérêts des jeunes Canadiens. Dans la mesure du possible, Parcs Canada collaborera avec ses nombreux partenaires pour produire et distribuer des nouveaux médias afin que l'Agence puisse toucher le plus grand nombre possible de jeunes.

Parcs Canada reconnaît que les jeunes sont dès aujourd'hui des leaders au sein de la société canadienne et qu'en les mobilisant, l'organisation accroît sa capacité ainsi que son rayonnement. En favorisant une pleine participation des jeunes, Parcs Canada pourra mieux répondre aux demandes changeantes de notre société dans une perspective de complémentarité avec les besoins, les intérêts et les ambitions des Canadiens aujourd'hui et demain.

Mot de la fin

Le ministre Kent a mis un terme à la journée en remerciant les participants de leur contribution et en reconnaissant que les jeunes ne sont pas que les dirigeants de demain, et qu'il faut favoriser leur mobilisation dès aujourd'hui. Dans ce contexte, le ministre a indiqué que les jeunes doivent participer à la création de stratégies de mobilisation, et qu'il retiendra que les jeunes souhaitent ce genre de participation. Le ministre a également noté que Parcs Canada continuera à assumer les responsabilités liées à son mandat et à la protection des ressources patrimoniales du Canada et que l'Agence mobilisera les jeunes à cet égard en veillant à ce que les jeunes Canadiens défendent leur patrimoine naturel et historique et à ce qu'ils créent des liens avec celui-ci.

Prochaines étapes

Conformément aux exigences réglementaires découlant de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada, le ministre va répondre aux recommandations faisant suite à la Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada 2012 au plus tard 180 jours après la tenue de la Table, soit au plus tard le 14 juillet 2012.

Le rapport faisant état de la réponse du ministre aux recommandations est disponible sur le site Web de Parcs Canada (www.pc.gc.ca).