Common menu bar links

Sustainable Development Strategy 2007 - 2009

Changing Circumstances

Although there are many circumstances that can affect the sustainable development strategy, four in particular have a major impact on the Agency sustainable development strategies and action plans:

I. Government Investment Via Budget 2005 in Asset Recapitalization, Ecological Integrity, and the Historic Places Initiative

Asset Recapitalization

Budget Plan 2005 provided $209 million over five years to address the shortfalls chronicled in the Agency’s Long Term Capital Plan. Parks Canada has a unique opportunity to demonstrate environmental leadership as it recapitalizes existing visitor experience assets and infrastructure. Recently approved Parks Canada capital investment principles direct that investments should reduce any existing negative environmental impacts, while continuing to ensure that facilities respond to visitor needs and, wherever possible, reduce the existing visitor impact “footprint”. These same principles state that capital investments should exhibit cultural and environmental leadership; follow green design, contracting, procurement and operating principles; and use sustainable and environmentally sound energy sources within appropriate and affordable standards.

Ecological Integrity

With the funding announced in Budget Plan 2005 of $60 million over five years, Parks Canada will accelerate its actions over the next four years to improve the ecological integrity of Canada’s 42 existing national parks, by implementing its Action Plan and by responding to the 2005 Report of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development. Playing a leadership role in ecosystem management and encouraging Canadians to become stewards on matters of ecological integrity and cultural resources management are key themes for the Agency.

Historic Places Initiative

Budget 2005 funding will also enable Parks Canada to sustain its collaboration with provinces and territories through the Historic Places Initiative. There is still an untapped opportunity to develop tools and programs to protect the historic fabric and built heritage of small and large communities across Canada. In addition, in her 2003 report, Protection of Cultural Heritage in the Federal Government , the Auditor General identified the need for a legislative framework to improve overall federal stewardship of historic properties; work is also needed to put the federal house in order.

II. The Evolving Nature of Aboriginal Relations

The creation and management of many national historic sites, most of the emerging national marine conservation areas and the majority of national parks have depended, and will always depend, on the extraordinary sense of sharing, the pragmatic wisdom and the deeply cooperative spirit of Aboriginal peoples. In return, far more must be done to meet the aspirations of aboriginal peoples for tourism benefits, opportunities for youth, and the protection and presentation of Aboriginal heritage.

Equally important is the requirement to respect existing Aboriginal and treaty rights, obligations under land claim settlements, and also to show consideration for the timelines and decision-making processes of Aboriginal groups.

III. The Creation of the External Relations and Visitor Experience Directorate

The Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development, together with the participants at the Minister’s Round Table held in 2005, called for Parks Canada to invest in public education and the enhancement of visitor experiences as a means of creating a broader culture of conservation. The Agency responded organizationally by creating a new directorate of External relations and Visitor Experience. Activities carried out by the new Directorate will help Parks Canada better understand and serve the interests of Canadians, offer opportunities for them to enjoy relevant and educational experiences, coordinate outreach efforts more effectively and foster personal relationships between Canadians and their heritage places. However, full implementation of such activities across the Agency will take some time to accomplish.

IV. Establishment Investment for New National Parks and National Marine Conservation Areas

The Government provided $144 million for the establishment of new national parks and national marine conservation areas. This will enable the Parks Canada Agency to move forward toward the completion of the systems of national parks and national marine conservation areas.

Accountability and Performance Measurement

Management has established systems and practices designed to provide reasonable assurance of the fairness and reliability of the Agency’s performance information including that associated with its sustainable development strategies. Parks Canada is continually improving its financial and performance information through the introduction of new tools that will provide better measures of performance and by constantly striving to hone and enhance its collection of data.

The Agency’s senior management oversees preparation of the SDS and approves the final product.

Stratégie de développement durable 2007-2009

Évolution de la situation

Même s’il existe de nombreuses situations susceptibles de nuire à la stratégie de développement durable, quatre, en particulier, ont une incidence majeure sur les stratégies de développement durable et les plans d’action de l’Agence :

I. Investissements de l'État, dans le cadre du budget 2005, dans la réfection des immobilisations, l'intégrité écologique et l'Initiative des endroits historiques.

Réfection des immobilisations

Le Plan budgétaire 2005 prévoyait 209 M$ sur cinq ans afin de réduire le déficit enregistré dans le Plan d’immobilisations à long terme de l’Agence. Celle-ci a une occasion unique de démontrer son leadership environnemental au moment où elle procède à la réfection de ses biens et de ses infrastructures destinés aux visiteurs. Selon les principes en matière de dépenses d’investissement récemment approuvés par Parcs Canada, les investissements doivent permettre de réduire tout impact négatif sur l’environnement existant, tout en continuant de faire en sorte que les installations répondent aux besoins des visiteurs et, dans la mesure du possible, de réduire l’empreinte actuelle des visiteurs sur l’écologie. En vertu des mêmes principes, les dépenses d’investissement doivent permettre de démontrer un leadership culturel et environnemental, de suivre des principes de conception, de passation de contrats, d’approvisionnement et d’exploitation écologiques, ainsi que d’utiliser des sources d’énergie sans danger pour l’environnement et durables, selon les normes pertinentes et de manière abordable.

Intégrité écologique

Grâce au financement de 60 M$ sur cinq ans annoncé dans le Plan budgétaire 2005, Parcs Canada augmentera au cours des quatre prochaines années ses mesures visant à améliorer l’intégrité écologique des 42 parcs nationaux existants du Canada, notamment en mettant en œuvre son Plan d’action et en donnant suite au rapport de 2005 du Commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable. Pour l’Agence, exercer un rôle de chef de file en matière de gestion écologique et encourager les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à devenir des intendants en matière d’intégrité écologique et de gestion des ressources culturelles demeurent des enjeux fondamentaux.

Initiative des endroits historiques

Les fonds prévus dans le budget de 2005 permettront également à Parcs Canada de maintenir sa collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires grâce à l’Initiative des endroits historiques. Il existe toujours des possibilités inexploitées d’élaborer des outils et des programmes visant à protéger le tissu historique et le patrimoine bâti des petites et des grandes collectivités partout au Canada. De plus, dans son rapport de 2003, La protection du patrimoine culturel du gouvernement fédéral, la vérificatrice générale a établi le besoin d’un cadre législatif afin d’améliorer l’intendance fédérale des propriétés historiques; il faut également mettre de l’ordre dans la grande maison fédérale.

II. L'évolution des relations avec les Autochtones

La création et la gestion d'un grand nombre de lieux historiques nationaux, de la plupart des nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation et de la majorité des parcs nationaux doivent énormément, et cela va se poursuivre, au sens extraordinaire du partage, à la sagesse pratique et à l'esprit de coopération des peuples autochtones. Nous devons, en retour, faire bien davantage afin de répondre à leurs aspirations quant aux retombées du tourisme, aux débouchés pour la jeunesse, et à la protection et à la mise en valeur de leur patrimoine.

Il est tout aussi important de respecter les droits des peuples autochtones et les droits issus des traités, les obligations découlant des règlements en matière de revendication territoriale, et aussi de tenir compte des échéances et des processus décisionnels des groupes autochtones.

III. Création de la Direction des relations externes et des expériences des visiteurs

Le Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable, ainsi que les participants à la table ronde du Ministre tenue en 2005 ont appelé Parcs Canada à investir dans la sensibilisation du public et l'amélioration des expériences des visiteurs en vue de créer une culture générale de la conservation. L'Agence a répondu à cette demande en créant une nouvelle Direction des relations externes et des expériences des visiteurs. Les activités menées par cette nouvelle Direction aideront Parcs Canada à mieux comprendre et servir les intérêts des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, à leur offrir des occasions d'apprécier des expériences pertinentes et éducatives, à mieux coordonner les efforts de sensibilisation et à créer des liens entre les Canadiens et les Canadiennes et leurs lieux patrimoniaux. Toutefois, la réalisation intégrale de ces activités à l'échelle de l'Agence prendra un certain temps.

IV. Investissements affectés à la création de nouveaux parcs et de nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation

Le gouvernement a prévu 144 M$ pour la création de nouveaux parcs nationaux et de nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation. Cette somme permettra à l’Agence de progresser vers l’achèvement des réseaux de parcs nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation.

Responsabilisation et mesure du rendement

La direction a établi des systèmes et des pratiques visant à assurer raisonnablement la justesse et la fiabilité de l'information sur le rendement de l'Agence, y compris celle qui est liée à ses stratégies de développement durable. Parcs Canada améliore constamment l’information financière et sur le rendement qu’elle fournit en adoptant de nouveaux outils offrant des mesures du rendement plus efficaces et en s’efforçant continuellement d’affiner et d’améliorer sa collecte de données.

La haute direction de l’Agence supervise la préparation des SDD et approuve le produit final.