Sustainable Development Strategy 2007 - 2009

The Parks Canada Agency

Parks Canada’s official mandate states that:

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Parks Canada’s mandate aligns well with the goals of sustainable development. The business of Parks Canada is the protection and presentation of significant examples of Canada’s history and culture and representative examples of Canada’s ecosystems and biodiversity.

The Agency mandate defines and is identical to its strategic outcome; that is, the desired end product of all its activities. Parks Canada’s strategic outcome includes two important subsets of sustainable economy policy, Agency activities contribute to the attainment of sustainable economic growth and a clean and healthy environment.

The Agency is dedicated to three overarching commitments: to protect, to present and to celebrate those treasures that are entrusted to its stewardship. These commitments are integral to the meaning of sustainable development – you cannot sustain without protection, you cannot sustain without presentation and you cannot sustain without celebration.

The Parks Canada Agency delivers its mandate through a program activity architecture (PAA) composed of six main program activities The PAA is the structure used by the Agency to present its Corporate Plan and report to Parliament and to Canadians.

The core programs of the Agency are outlined in the first four program activities: Establish Heritage Places, Conserve Heritage Resources, Promote Public Appreciation and Understanding, and Enhance Visitor Experience.

Establish Heritage Places

The establishment of heritage places covers systems planning; negotiating with stakeholders for inclusion in the national systems; obtaining ministerial approvals and establishing national historic sites, national parks, national marine conservation areas and other heritage places.

Conserve Heritage Resources

Activities to conserve heritage resources include the maintenance and improvement of commemorative integrity at national historic sites managed or influenced by Parks Canada; the protection and management of cultural resources which are under the administration of Parks Canada, but not associated with national historic sites; the maintenance or improvement of ecological integrity in national parks and the protection and conservation of national marine conservation areas in a sustainable manner.

Promote Public Appreciation and Understanding

Promotion of public appreciation and understanding involves programs and activities that are aimed at reaching Canadians in the communities where theylive, work and learn,and inviting them to become more involved in the protection and the discovery of the nation’s cultural and natural heritage.

Enhance Visitor Experience

Opportunities for enhanced visitor experiences are provided by Parks Canada and its partners by setting the stage for visitors to enjoy meaningful, high-quality experiences through the provision of information, infrastructure and facilities; and through programs, services and personnel that respond to visitor needs and expectations.

These core programs are linked by many interconnected priorities and expected results, constitute the platform on which Parks Canada defines its contribution to federal sustainable development goals. Additional detail about the core programs of the Agency is contained in the Agency Corporate Plan (see: http:www.pc.gc.ca/docs/bib-lib/docs2 e.asp )

Stratégie de développement durable 2007-2009

L'Agence Parcs Canada

Le mandat officiel de Parcs Canada est le suivant :

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Le mandat de Parcs Canada s’inscrit parfaitement dans les objectifs de développement durable. L’Agence est responsable de la protection et de la mise en valeur d’exemples significatifs de l’histoire et de la culture canadiennes, ainsi que d’exemples représentatifs des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité de notre pays.

Le mandat de l’Agence précise le résultat attendu de sa stratégie, c’est-à-dire le produit final escompté de toutes ses activités et se calque sur celui-ci. Ce résultat comprend deux sous-ensembles importants d’une politique sur l’économie durable. Les activités de l’Agence contribuent à l’obtention d’une croissance économique durable et d’un environnement propre et sain.

L’Agence se consacre à trois engagements principaux : protéger, mettre en valeur et commémorer les trésors confiés à son intendance. Ces engagements font partie intégrante de la signification du développement durable : on ne peut assurer la survie sans protection, sans mise en valeur et sans commémoration.

L’Agence Parcs Canada exécute son mandat au moyen d’une architecture des activités de programme (AAP) composée de six activités de programme principales. L’AAP est la structure utilisée par l’Agence pour présenter son Plan d’entreprise et rendre des comptes au Parlement et aux Canadiennes et Canadiennes.

Les programmes de base de l’Agence sont précisés dans les quatre premières activités de programme : créer des lieux patrimoniaux, préserver les ressources patrimoniales, favoriser l'appréciation et la compréhension du public, et améliorer les expériences des visiteurs.

Créer des lieux patrimoniaux

La création de lieux patrimoniaux englobe la planification des réseaux, la négociation avec les intervenants aux fins d’inclusion dans les réseaux nationaux, l’obtention des approbations ministérielles et la création de lieux historiques nationaux, de parcs nationaux, d’aires marines nationales de conservation et d’autres lieux patrimoniaux.

Préserver les ressources patrimoniales

Parmi les activités visant à préserver les ressources patrimoniales, mentionnons le maintien et l’amélioration de l’intégrité commémorative dans les lieux historiques nationaux gérés par l’Agence Parcs Canada ou sur lesquels celle-ci a une influence; la protection et la gestion des ressources culturelles administrées par Parcs Canada mais non liées aux lieux historiques nationaux; le maintien ou l’amélioration de l’intégrité écologique dans les parcs nationaux, et la protection et la conservation durables des aires marines nationales de conservation.

Favoriser l'appréciation et la compréhension du public

La promotion de l’appréciation et de la compréhension du public implique la mise en œuvre de programmes et d’activités visant à rejoindre les Canadiens et les Canadiennes dans les collectivités où ils vivent, travaillent et étudient, et à les inviter à participer davantage à la découverte et à la protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel de la nation.

Améliorer l’expérience des visiteurs

Parcs Canada et ses partenaires offrent aux visiteurs des possibilités de faire des expériences enrichissantes et de qualité en leur fournissant de l’information, des infrastructures et des installations, et en mettant à leur disposition des programmes, des services et du personnel qui répondent à leurs besoins et à leurs attentes.

Ces programmes de base sont unis par bon nombre de priorités et de résultats escomptés étroitement liés. Ils forment l’assise qui permet à Parcs Canada de définir sa contribution aux objectifs de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral. Des détails supplémentaires sur les programmes de base de Parcs Canada figurent dans le Plan d’entreprise de l’Agence (voir http:www.pc.gc.ca/docs/bib-lib/docs2_f.asp ).