Sustainable Development Strategy 2007 - 2009

Background and Context

Sustainable Development

Sustainable development is defined as “ development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

Sustainable development is a way of thinking and acting, a way of ensuring that social, economic, and environmental considerations are integrated into our decisions and our actions. Sustainable development is about ensuring that the choices we make as citizens, consumers, producers, and investors are compatible with an excellent quality of life for all Canadians and the global community, now and in the future. Canada has many strengths – vigorous democratic institutions, educated citizens, extensive natural resources, innovative businesses and vibrant communities. We have an opportunity and a responsibility to use our strengths in securing healthy natural and planned environments, a dynamic and just society, and a thriving economy.

For many communities across Canada – rural, remote and urban alike – sustainable development is recognized as integral to maintaining their way of life. Leading municipalities are incorporating sustainable land-use planning, clean-air initiatives, and energy –efficiency commitments in their day-to-day operations. Likewise, forward-looking Canadian companies are proving that sustainable business is good business – in terms of profitability, accountability to stakeholders, exposure to new markets and long-term economic health. Innovation and investment guided by sustainable development principles is improving the efficiency and competitiveness of Canadian industries in to-day’s global marketplace.

Our international credibility as a leader in sustainable development is a credit to all Canadians, and demands that we continue to work hard to minimize our impact on the environment, and to address pressing global issues, such as health, poverty, air and water quality.

Government of Canada Context

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that Canadians continue to prosper in a free, equitable, and healthy society. To guide this commitment and communicate some of the ways in which the Government fulfills it, sustainable development strategies are submitted to Parliament every three years by federal departments and agencies.

The Parks Canada sustainable development strategy (SDS) outlines how the Agency will systematically integrate the principles of sustainable development into its policies, programs, legislation and operations. Through these strategies, the Parks Canada Agency is accountable to Canadians for its decisions and actions.

“With respect to (its) Parks, it is essential that each country keep part of its natural heritage untouched, as a record for the future, a baseline to measure change, so people can see the splendor of their past, before the land was degraded. If we destroy the parks, they’re gone forever.”
- George Schaller, Biologist

Parks Canada Context

Canada’s national historic sites and canals, national parks and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians. They are powerful symbols of our identity, and represent the vitality of our culture and the wonders of our natural environment. They are there for present and future generations of Canadians to experience, appreciate and understand.

“Parks nourish the human spirit, help sustain the planet and reflect the ideals of the societies that protect them. Landscape and memory combine to tell us that certain places are special, sanctified by their extraordinary natural merits and by social consensus. We call these places parks and we take them for granted.” –
Chris Johns, Editor, National Geographic magazine

The Parks Canada Agency protects and preserves special heritage places and by providing meaningful visitor and educational experiences to its millions of visitors, encourages Canadians to adopt a culture of conservation. Parks Canada is in the business of sustainable development.

Stratégie de développement durable 2007-2009

Dans le contexte du gouvernement

Développement durable

Le développement durable s'entend d'un développement qui permet de « répondre aux besoins actuels sans compromettre la capacité des générations à venir de répondre à leurs besoins ».

Le développement durable est un mode de réflexion et d’intervention, une façon de nous assurer que nous tenons compte de tous les facteurs d'ordre social, économique et environnemental dans la prise de nos décisions et dans nos interventions. Le développement durable signifie également faire en sorte que nos choix de citoyens, de consommateurs, de producteurs et d'investisseurs soient compatibles avec une excellente qualité de vie pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et pour la collectivité mondiale, maintenant et dans les années à venir. Le Canada dispose de nombreux atouts – institutions démocratiques dynamiques, citoyens instruits, ressources naturelles considérables, entreprises novatrices et collectivités vivantes. Nous avons la possibilité et la responsabilité d’utiliser ces atouts afin d’établir des milieux naturel et planifié sains, une société juste et dynamique et une économie prospère.

Pour bon nombre de collectivités partout au Canada – rurales, éloignées et urbaines – le développement durable est reconnu comme essentiel au maintien de leur mode de vie. D’importantes municipalités intègrent la planification durable de l’utilisation de la terre, les initiatives sur la pureté de l’air et l’engagement à l’égard de l’efficacité énergétique dans leurs activités quotidiennes. De même, les entreprises canadiennes axées sur l’avenir démontrent que les affaires liées au développement durable sont de bonnes affaires – en ce qui concerne la rentabilité, la responsabilisation envers les intervenants, l’accès aux nouveaux marchés et la santé économique à long terme. L’innovation et les investissements fondés sur les principes du développement durable améliorent l’efficacité et la capacité concurrentielle des industries canadiennes sur le marché mondial.

Notre crédibilité internationale en tant que chef de file du développement durable est un atout certain pour tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes et exige que nous poursuivions nos efforts soutenus en vue de diminuer au maximum notre incidence sur l’environnement et d’aborder les enjeux mondiaux urgents, comme la santé, la pauvreté, et la qualité de l’air et de l’eau.

Contexte du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à s’assurer que les Canadiens continuent de prospérer dans une société libre, équitable et saine. Des stratégies de développement durable visant à orienter et à communiquer certaines des façons dont le gouvernement remplit cet engagement sont présentées au Parlement tous les trois ans par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux.

La stratégie de développement durable (SDD) de Parcs Canada précise la façon dont l’Agence intégrera systématiquement les principes du développement durable dans ses politiques, programmes, lois et activités. Par ces stratégies, l’Agence doit rendre compte de ses interventions et de ses décisions aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes.

« En ce qui concerne ses parcs, il est essentiel que chaque pays conserve une partie de son patrimoine naturel à l'état sauvage comme témoin pour les générations futures et base de référence pour mesurer le changement, afin que les gens puissent constater la splendeur de leur passé, avant que le territoire ait été dégradé. Si nous détruisons les parcs, ils disparaîtront pour toujours. »
- G eorge Schaller, biologiste . [ Traduction ]

Contexte de Parcs Canada

Les lieux et les canaux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. Ce sont des symboles marquants de notre identité, qui représentent la vitalité de notre culture et les merveilles de notre environnement naturel. Ils sont là pour que les générations de Canadiens et de Canadiennes d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent les découvrir, les apprécier et les comprendre.

« Les parcs nourrissent l’esprit, contribuent à la survie de la planète et reflètent l’idéal des sociétés qui assurent leur protection. Le paysage et la mémoire s’associent pour nous indiquer que certains lieux sont uniques et que leur valeur naturelle exceptionnelle et le consensus social leur confèrent un caractère sacré. Nous donnons à ces lieux le nom de parcs et nous les tenons pour acquis. »
- Chris Johns, rédacteur en chef de la revue National Geographic . [ Traduction ]

L’Agence Parcs Canada protège et préserve les lieux patrimoniaux exceptionnels en offrant des expériences de séjour et éducatives enrichissantes à ses millions de visiteurs, et elle encourage les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à adopter une culture de la conservation. Parcs Canada est engagée dans le développement durable.