Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Part 1

Progress Toward Implementing The Action Plan And Next Steps

Making Ecological Integrity Central in Legislation and Policy

Legislation and policy provide the mandate and direction for park management. Legislation and policy must, and do, underscore the primacy of maintaining and restoring the ecological integrity in national parks.

The emphasis since release of the Action Plan has been on the Canada National Parks Act, the new legislation that will govern the national parks, as well as on the Parks Canada Agency Charter, and wilderness area designations.

"We will move ahead with parliamentary consideration of the proposed Canada National Parks Act, introduced on March 1st, to reconfirm that maintaining ecological integrity is the first priority." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • The new Canada National Parks Act was proclaimed on February 19, 2001.
  • The new Canada National Parks Act strengthens the ecological integrity clause that was in the former National Parks Act. It now states that "maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity, through the protection of natural resources and natural processes, shall be the first priority of the Minister when considering all aspects of the management of parks."
  • In consideration of the Panel's recommendation, the new Act defines for the first time in legislation the term "ecological integrity": "ecological integrity means, with respect to a park, a condition that is determined to be characteristic of its natural region and likely to persist, including abiotic components and the composition and abundance of native species and biological communities, rates of change and supporting processes."
  • Also in consideration of the Panel's recommendation, the new Act sets new standards for park management plans with respect to ecological integrity: "The Minister shall, within five years after a park is established, prepare a management plan for the park containing a long-term ecological vision for the park, a set of ecological integrity objectives and indicators and provisions for resource protection and restoration, zoning, visitor use, public awareness and performance evaluation, which shall be tabled in each House of Parliament."

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

PREMIÈRE PARTIE

Progrès accomplis dans la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action et prochaines étapes

Placer l'intégrité écologique au centre de la législation et des politiques

La législation et les politiques donnent le mandat et l'orientation pour la gestion des parcs. Elles doivent souligner, ce qu'elles font d'ailleurs, la primauté du maintien et de la restauration de l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux.

Depuis la publication du plan d'action, l'accent a porté sur la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, la nouvelle loi qui gouverne les parcs nationaux, sur la charte de l'Agence Parcs Canada et sur la désignation de réserves intégrales.

« Nous irons de l'avant avec l'examen par le Parlement du projet de Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, déposé le 1er mars, et qui réaffirme que l'intégrité écologique est la première priorité. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • La nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada a été promulguée le 19 février 2001.
  • Cette loi donne encore plus de force à la clause d'intégrité écologique. On y stipule maintenant que « la préservation ou le rétablissement de l'intégrité écologique par la protection des ressources naturelles et des processus écologiques sont la première priorité du ministre pour tous les aspects de la gestion des parcs. »
  • Compte tenu de la recommandation de la Commission, la nouvelle loi définit pour la première fois dans la législation l'« intégrité écologique » comme « l'état d'un parc jugé caractéristique de la région naturelle dont il fait partie et qui sera vraisemblablement maintenu, notamment les éléments abiotiques et l'abondance des espèces indigènes et des communautés biologiques ainsi que le rythme des changements et le maintien des processus écologiques. »
  • Toujours dans la foulée de la recommandation de la Commission, la nouvelle loi fixe de nouvelles normes pour les plans directeurs de parc en ce qui a trait à l'intégrité écologique : « Dans les cinq ans suivant la création d'un parc, le ministre établit un plan directeur de celui-ci qui présente des vues à long terme sur l'écologie du parc et prévoit un ensemble d'objectifs et d'indicateurs relatifs à l'intégrité écologique, et des dispositions visant la protection et le rétablissement des ressources, les modalités d'utilisation du parc par les visiteurs, le zonage, la sensibilisation du public et l'évaluation du rendement; il le fait déposer devant chaque chambre du Parlement. »