Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Background

Canada has a spectacular national park system, renowned worldwide, administered by proud and dedicated staff of the Parks Canada Agency. The national parks protect some of the most precious and well-known natural areas in the country. Both the national park system and the park service are steeped in history and tradition – the first national park was established at Banff, Alberta in 1885, and the National Parks Service was created in 1911. However, as noted in the Foreword, the national parks are facing the problem of diminishing ecological integrity.

  • Over the past 15 years, it has been increasingly recognized that protection must be the paramount concern. This was reflected in amendments to the National Parks Act in 1988, and to the Parks Canada Guiding Principles and Operational Policies tabled in Parliament in 1994.
  • In 1994, the Banff-Bow Valley Study was launched to identify measures to reduce and, in some cases, reverse impacts of commercial and recreational development in the Bow Valley.
  • Parks Canada's State of the Parks 1997 Report reported that 26 parks (of 36 considered in the report) are still reporting high numbers of stressors that are causing significant ecological impacts. The State of Protected Heritage Areas 1999 Report confirmed this situation.
  • In 1998, a panel of experts was struck to recommend how best to ensure that ecological integrity is maintained across the system of national parks.
  • The Panel presented its landmark report in March 2000. The Panel confirmed that Canada's national parks have been progressively losing important natural components which Parks Canada was dedicated to protect. It calls for actions to strengthen and implement the legislative framework and policies to conserve these places, and a commitment of new long-term funding to support this effort. The Panel made 127 recommendations.

The direction established pursuant to receipt of the Panel's report was clear:

"This report serves the national interest, this report serves the future, and this report will not be gathering dust.... We must make ecological integrity the centrepiece of every decision we make for the future of Canada's national parks...." (Minister Copps)

The Action Plan to respond to the report focused on four major thrusts:

  • making ecological integrity central in legislation and policy
  • building partnerships for ecological integrity
  • planning for ecological integrity
  • renewal of Parks Canada to support the ecological integrity mandate

The Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada was directed to report on implementation progress at the first national Round Table established pursuant to the Parks Canada Agency Act.

This report is in two sections. Part 1 outlines the progress in implementing the Action Plan. Part 2 outlines actions in implementing all 127 of the Panel's recommendations. There is inevitably some overlap between the two sections.

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Contexte

Le Canada possède un spectaculaire réseau de parcs nationaux, de renommée internationale, administré par le personnel fier et dévoué de l'Agence Parcs Canada. Les parcs nationaux protègent certaines des aires naturelles les plus précieuses et les plus connues du pays. Le réseau des parcs nationaux et le service des parcs sont tous deux imprégnés d'histoire et de tradition; le premier parc national a été créé à Banff, en Alberta, en 1885, et le Service des parcs nationaux en 1911. Mais comme le souligne l'avant-propos, les parcs nationaux font face au problème de la diminution de leur intégrité écologique.

  • Depuis 15 ans, il est de plus en plus reconnu que la protection doit être la préoccupation primordiale. Cela s'est reflété dans les modifications apportées en 1988 à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux, puis dans les Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion de Parcs Canada, déposés devant le Parlement en 1994.
  • En 1994, on a entrepris l'étude de la vallée de la Bow (Banff) pour déterminer les mesures à prendre afin de réduire et, dans certains cas, de renverser les incidences du développement commercial et récréatif dans cette vallée.
  • Selon le Rapport sur l'état des parcs 1997 de Parcs Canada, 26 des 36 parcs étudiés subissent encore un grand nombre de facteurs de tension qui ont des effets importants sur l'environnement. Le Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées de 1999 confirme cette situation.
  • En 1998, on a donné à un groupe d'experts le mandat de recommander la meilleure façon de maintenir l'intégrité écologique du réseau des parcs nationaux.
  • En mars 2000, la Commission a présenté un rapport repère confirmant que les parcs nationaux du Canada ont perdu progressivement d'importantes composantes naturelles que Parcs Canada avait pour mission de protéger. Elle demande que des mesures soient prises pour renforcer et mettre en oeuvre le cadre législatif et les politiques de conservation de ces lieux et que l'on s'engage à consentir un nouveau financement à long terme pour soutenir cet effort. La Commission a fait 127 recommandations.

Ce rapport a suscité une orientation claire :

« Ce rapport sert l'intérêt national; il s'agit d'un rapport essentiel à l'avenir des parcs et il ne restera pas au fond d'un tiroir à s'empoussiérer ... Il nous faut placer l'intégrité écologique au centre de toutes nos décisions touchant les parcs nationaux ... » (la ministre Copps)

Pour donner suite au rapport, on a présenté un plan d'action à quatre grands volets :

  • placer l'intégrité écologique au centre de la législation et des politiques
  • créer des partenariats pour l'intégrité écologique
  • planifier en fonction de l'intégrité écologique
  • renouveler Parcs Canada pour lui permettre de réaliser son mandat à l'égard de l'intégrité écologique.

On a demandé au directeur général de Parcs Canada de faire état des progrès accomplis dans la mise en oeuvre du plan à la première Table ronde nationale instituée en vertu de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada.

Le présent rapport se divise en deux parties. La première fait état des progrès accomplis dans la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action. La deuxième décrit les mesures prises pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de chacune des 127 recommandations de la Commission. Il y a forcément un certain chevauchement entre les deux sections.