Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Foreword

Despite their fame and popularity – in part because of it – the national parks of Canada are at a crossroads. The challenge is maintaining, and in some cases restoring, their ecological integrity. Without integrity, the very essence of the national parks – the reason for which they are valued – will be lost. The loss of ecological integrity is occurring today. It is not only a problem in its own right, it diminishes the opportunity to provide a high quality visitor experience for future generations.

The increasing magnitude of this problem has been recorded in our biennial State of the Parks Reports. Several initiatives have been launched in recent years to counter the increasing concerns about the loss of ecological integrity. For example, Parks Canada launched the Banff-Bow Valley Study and revised the Banff National Park Management Plan to reflect the recommendations of the study, and is now using the Banff plan as a model to prepare plans for other parks in the national park system. As another example, staff in our national parks are placing more effort on working with neighbours to plan collaboratively for greater park ecosystems. Despite these efforts and many others, the ecological integrity of the parks continues to deteriorate.

In the wake of the Banff-Bow Valley Study report and subsequent revisions to the Banff National Park Management Plan, an expert Panel was appointed in November 1998 to report on how well Parks Canada was fulfilling its responsibility to maintain the ecological integrity of national parks. The Panel was asked to make system-wide recommendations for action.

The Panel's report is a turning point for the future of Canada's national parks. The Panel confirmed that the national parks are under serious threat and both immediate and long term action is required. They highlighted the significant challenges Parks Canada faces going into the future, and the importance of engaging partners in tackling these challenges.

This progress report reinforces the strong message of the Action Plan announced on March 23, 2000 by Minister Copps upon receipt of the Panel's report - that the maintenance and restoration of ecological integrity of our national parks is Parks Canada's first priority. This report sets out what we have done, are doing, and plan to do in the future to maintain and restore the ecological integrity of our national parks.

I am pleased that Mr. Jacques Gérin, former Chair of the Panel, has recently written to the Minister indicating that Parks Canada has now met the basic pre-conditions set out by the Panel for seeking the new long term funding needed to fully bring the Panel report to life. Actions have been initiated to request funds.

The report of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks was prepared on the basis of extensive consultation and analysis. Since it was distributed in March 2000, Parks Canada has initiated discussions on the recommendations with its own staff, other federal departments and agencies, provincial and territorial governments, conservation non-governmental organizations, tourism interests, and many other Canadian groups and individuals interested in the report. These discussions have been central in guiding this response to the Panel's recommendations, and this dialogue will continue.

Canada's national parks are the crown jewels of our country's protected spaces. We will continue to offer a high quality visitor experience in our national parks for Canadians and international visitors, planned and managed in such a way that natural processes and values are sustained.

As the Chief Executive Officer for the Parks Canada Agency, I am proud of our accomplishments since the release of the Action Plan, and I am strongly committed to ensuring ecological integrity is the "first priority" for our national parks. I am pleased that in support of this priority, it was indicated in the January 2001 Speech from the Throne that the federal government committed to implement a plan to restore existing parks to ecological health, as well as invest in the creation of new national parks.

Signature of Tom Lee

Tom Lee
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada

March 2001

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Avant-propos

Malgré leur renommée et leur popularité – ou en partie à cause d'elles – les parcs nationaux du Canada sont à la croisée des chemins. La préservation de l'intégrité écologique et, dans certains cas, son rétablissement, représente un défi. Sans intégrité, l'essence même des parcs nationaux – la raison pour laquelle ils nous sont chers – sera perdue. Et c'est ce qui est déjà en train de se produire. Non seulement s'agit-il d'un problème actuel, mais cela diminue la possibilité d'offrir aux générations futures une expérience de haute qualité.

Notre Rapport sur l'état des parcs, biennal, fait état de l'ampleur grandissante de ce problème. Plusieurs initiatives ont été lancées ces dernières années pour répondre aux préoccupations croissantes face à la perte d'intégrité écologique. Par exemple, Parcs Canada a entrepris l'étude de la vallée de la Bow (Banff) et révisé le plan directeur du parc national Banff pour tenir compte des recommandations de l'étude; ce plan sert maintenant de modèle pour la préparation des plans d'autres parcs du réseau national. De plus, le personnel de nos parcs nationaux a commencé à collaborer davantage avec celui des parcs voisins pour planifier conjointement l'amélioration de l'ensemble des écosystèmes des parcs. Pourtant, malgré ces efforts et de nombreux autres, la situation ne cesse de se détériorer.

Dans le sillage du rapport de l'étude de la vallée de la Bow (Banff) et des révisions subséquentes au plan directeur du parc national Banff, une commission d'experts a reçu en novembre 1998 le mandat de déterminer dans quelle mesure Parcs Canada s'acquittait de sa responsabilité d'assurer l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux. On a demandé à cette Commission de faire des recommandations applicables à l'ensemble du réseau.

Le rapport de la Commission constitue un point tournant pour l'avenir des parcs nationaux du Canada. On y confirme que les parcs nationaux sont exposés à des risques considérables et qu'il est impérieux de prendre des mesures, immédiatement et à plus long terme. Le rapport souligne également les défis auxquels les parcs auront à faire face à l'avenir et l'importance d'amener les partenaires à contribuer à les relever.

Le présent rapport d'étape renforce le message sans équivoque contenu dans le plan d'action que Madame la Ministre Copps a annoncé le 23 mars 2000 lors de la présentation du rapport de la Commission, à savoir que la préservation et le rétablissement de l'intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux est la première priorité de Parcs Canada. Nous y expliquons ce que nous avons fait, ce que nous faisons et ce que nous comptons faire à l'avenir pour préserver et rétablir l'intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux.

Il me fait plaisir de mentionner que M. Jacques Gérin, ancien président de la Commission, a écrit récemment à la ministre pour lui mentionner que Parcs Canada satisfait maintenant aux conditions préalables établies par la Commission pour demander le nouveau financement à long terme dont on a besoin pour mettre en vigueur les recommandations du rapport. Des démarches ont été entreprises pour obtenir des fonds.

Le rapport de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada est le fruit d'une vaste consultation et d'une analyse approfondie. Depuis sa distribution en mars 2000, Parcs Canada a entrepris d'en discuter les recommandations avec son propre personnel et avec les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, les administrations provinciales et territoriales, les organismes non gouvernementaux de conservation, l'industrie touristique et plusieurs personnes et groupes canadiens intéressés par le rapport. Ces discussions ont joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'orientation de la présente réponse aux recommandations de la Commission, et ce dialogue va se poursuivre.

Parmi les espaces protégés de notre pays, les parcs nationaux du Canada représentent en quelque sorte les joyaux de la couronne. Nous continuerons d'offrir aux visiteurs du Canada et de l'étranger une expérience de la plus haute qualité dans nos parcs nationaux, par une planification et une gestion mettant en valeur les richesses et les processus naturels.

En tant que directeur général de l'Agence Parcs Canada, je suis fier de ce que nous avons accompli depuis la publication du plan d'action et j'ai la ferme intention de faire de l'intégrité écologique la « première priorité » pour nos parcs nationaux. Je suis heureux de constater que, lors du Discours du Trône prononcé en janvier 2001, le gouvernement s'est engagé à mettre en oeuvre un plan visant à rétablir la santé écologique des parcs existants et à investir dans la création de nouveaux parcs.

Signature of Tom Lee

March 2001