Common menu bar links

Report of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

"Unimpaired for Future Generations"

A Definition of Ecological Integrity

The Panel proposes the following definition of ecological integrity: "An ecosystem has integrity when it is deemed characteristic for its natural region, including the composition and abundance of native species and biological communities, rates of change and supporting processes." In plain language, ecosystems have integrity when they have their native components (plants, animals and other organisms) and processes (such as growth and reproduction) intact.

The Panel on Ecological Integrity was struck in November 1998 by the Minister of Canadian Heritage, the Hon. Sheila Copps, to identify issues, examine Parks Canada's approach for maintaining ecological integrity and provide recommendations for improvement. The Panel members travelled to a series of representative national parks to speak with park staff and other interested Canadians, to see first-hand the problems and stresses that threaten our national parks, and to develop a sense of how to address these problems.

The result of that journey is this detailed report, with specific recommendations addressed to the Minister and to the Parks Canada Agency. The Panel also wanted to share with a broader audience the fundamental substance of their findings and the thrust of their recommendations.

Thus, the Panel's report has two volumes:

Volume I: A Call to Action is an umbrella document that describes the serious threats that beset our national parks, presents an overview of values that may be lost if the threats are not resolved and identifies roles and key actions for all Canadians, and particularly for Parks Canada, to help resolve these threats.

Volume II: Setting a New Direction for Canada's National Parks identifies specific issues and problems and makes equally specific recommendations to the Minister and to Parks Canada on how these issues could be addressed. While there are branches of the Parks Canada Agency concerned with national historic canals, national historic sites, and other locations or structures, in this report the term "Parks Canada" is used specifically with reference to those branches of the Parks Canada Agency with jurisdiction over national parks.

Rapport de la commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Rapport de la commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

« Intacts pour les générations futures »?

Définition de l'intégrité écologique

La Commission définit l'intégrité écologique comme suit:« C'est l'état d'un écosystème jugé caractéristique de la région naturelle dont il fait partie, plus précisément par la composition et l'abondance des espèces indigènes et des communautés biologiques ainsi que par le rythme des changements et le maintien des processus écologiques. » Bref, les écosystèmes sont intègres lorsque leurs composantes indigènes (plantes, animaux et autres organismes) et leurs processus (tels que la croissance et la reproduction) sont intacts.

La Commission sur l'intégrité écologique a été créée en novembre 1998 par l'hon. Sheila Copps, ministre du Patrimoine canadien, afin de cerner les enjeux, de faire le point sur l'approche de Parcs Canada pour assurer le maintien de l'intégrité écologique et enfin,de recommander des améliorations. Les membres de la Commission ont visité des parcs nationaux représentatifs du réseau pour discuter avec le personnel et d'autres Canadiens intéressés. Sur place, ils ont constaté les problèmes et facteurs de stress qui menacent nos parcs nationaux, et recherché les solutions les plus appropriées.

Un rapport détaillé comportant des recommandations précises adressées à la ministre et à l'Agence Parcs Canada constitue le fruit de ce périple. La Commission a voulu cependant partager l'essentiel des résultats de ses travaux et la portée de ses recommandations avec un auditoire plus vaste.

Par conséquent, le rapport de la Commission se présente en deux volumes :

« Volume I: le temps d'agir » est un document d'ensemble sur les valeurs que nous risquons de perdre en raison des menaces sérieuses qui pèsent sur nos parcs nationaux; il précise le rôle que chaque Canadien et particulièrement chaque membre de Parcs Canada peuvent jouer et les principales mesures que chacun peut prendre pour contrer ces menaces.

« Volume II: une nouvelle orientation pour les parcs nationaux du Canada » cerne des enjeux et problèmes particuliers et formule des recommandations précises à l'intention de la ministre et de Parcs Canada sur les moyens à prendre pour apporter les solutions qui s'imposent.