Common menu bar links

Part III - Cultural Ressource Management Policy

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

2.0 The Practice of Cultural Resource Management

Parks Canada will apply the principles of this policy within a practical framework of cultural resource management. The practice of cultural resource management is not itself a formal process distinct from the activities and processes already in place; rather, it integrates those activities and processes within an overall policy structure.

The practice of cultural resource management requires that four elements be in place in all decision-making that affects cultural resources:

i) the inventory of resources;
ii) the evaluation of resources to determine which are to be considered as cultural resources and what it is that constitutes their historic value;
iii) the consideration of historic value in actions affecting conservation and presentation; and
iv) monitoring and review to ensure that conservation and presentation objectives continue to be met effectively.

The practice of cultural resource management provides a framework for decision-making rather than a set of predetermined answers. Its aim is to ensure that the historic character for which resources are valued is identified, recognized, considered and communicated.

The practice of cultural resource management in Parks Canada recognizes those international conventions and federal policies that encourage the consideration of heritage value in management; for example, the World Heritage Convention, the Environmental Assessment and Review Process, the Federal Heritage Buildings Policy and the Federal Policy on Land Use.

2.1 Inventory of Resources
2.2 Evaluation of Resources to Determine Cultural Resources and Their Historic Value
2.3 Consideration of Historic Value in Actions Affecting Cultural Resources
2.4 Monitoring and Review of Ongoing Activities



2.1 Inventory of Resources

All resources administered by Parks Canada will be given initial consideration as cultural resources within the meaning of this policy.

2.1.1
Parks Canada will develop and maintain inventories of all the resources it administers for the purpose of determining which resources should be identified as cultural resources.

2.1.2
All buildings administered by Parks Canada that are 40 years old or older will be identified for the purposes of applying the Federal Heritage Buildings Policy.


2.2 Evaluation of Resources to Determine Cultural Resources and Their Historic Value

Evaluation enables Parks Canada to determine which resources are cultural resources and what constitutes their value; that is to say, what particular qualities and features make up the historic character of a cultural resource. An understanding of the historic character of a resource focuses the program's efforts at protection, presentation and appropriate use.

Ministerial plaques and monuments will be managed in accordance with this policy. Resources will be evaluated for their historical associations, their aesthetic and functional qualities and their relationships to social and physical environments, for purposes of determining which of the following three levels should be ascribed to a resource:

2.2.1 Level I:
National historic significance is the highest level assigned to a cultural resource in the custody of Parks Canada. National historic significance will be determined in accordance with the National Historic Sites Policy. It should be noted that there are national historic sites within the boundaries of national parks and that a number of the historic canals are also national historic sites.

2.2.1.1
Evaluation to determine national historic significance is undertaken by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Its recommendation to the Minister, and any subsequent Ministerial designation, may specify which resources within a designated national historic site are themselves of national historic significance.

2.2.1.2
Where a Ministerial designation is not specific with respect to the national historic significance of resources at a national historic site, the program will apply the commemorative intent of the designation to determine which resources are to be specifically considered of national historic significance.

2.2.2 Level II:
A resource that is not of national historic significance may have historic value and thus be considered a cultural resource.

2.2.2.1
Parks Canada will establish and apply criteria to determine which resources under its jurisdiction are Level II. A resource may be included in this category by virtue of its historical, aesthetic or environmental qualities. Criteria will also give consideration to such factors as regional or local association; or provincial, territorial or municipal designations.

2.2.2.2
Buildings that are designated "classified" or "recognized" in accordance with the Federal Heritage Buildings Policy will automatically be considered as Level II cultural resources, unless they meet the requirements that have been described for Level I cultural resources. Buildings may also be considered Level II cultural resources in accordance with criteria described in 2.2.2.1, above.

2.2.3 Other:
While all resources under the administration of Parks Canada deserve initial consideration as cultural resources, resources that are determined, upon evaluation, not to meet criteria established for Levels I and II are exempted from this policy, and will be managed under other appropriate processes and policies.

2.2.3.1
Resources evaluated and deemed not to be cultural resources for purposes of this policy may be re-evaluated at a later date.


2.3 Consideration of Historic Value in Actions Affecting Cultural Resources

Cultural resource management requires that the concept of historic value of cultural resources be fully integrated into the planning and delivery of conservation, presentation and operational programs.

2.3.1
Planning processes will recognize that resources of national historic significance are of highest value, and that resources of historic value are at the second level of importance.

2.3.2
In all actions that affect cultural resources, Parks Canada will consider the potential consequences of proposed actions and the cumulative impacts of those actions on the historic character of those resources, and will plan and implement measures that respect that historic character.

2.3.3
When a proposed action on lands or waters administered by Parks Canada requires an environmental assessment, that assessment will include consideration and mitigation of the impacts of the proposed action on cultural resources.

2.3.4
Interventions proposed to buildings designated "classified" under the Federal Heritage Buildings Policy will be submitted for review to the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office.

2.3.5
In the case of buildings designated "recognized" under the Federal Heritage Buildings Policy, proposed interventions will be reviewed by the department, except for disposals and demolitions which will be submitted for review to the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office.


2.4 Monitoring and Review of Ongoing Activities

Management processes will include the review and monitoring of activities that affect cultural resources and their presentation.

Partie III - Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

2.0 Pratique de la gestion des ressources culturelles

Les principes de la présente politique sont appliqués par Parcs Canada à l'intérieur d'un cadre pratique de gestion. La pratique de la gestion des ressources culturelles n'est pas en soi un processus officiel distinct des activités et des processus en place. C'est plutôt une approche qui vise l'intégration des activités et processus existants à une politique globale.

Cette pratique suppose que toutes les décisions prises concernant les ressources culturelles reposent sur quatre éléments :

i) l'inventaire des ressources;
ii) l'évaluation des ressources afin d'identifier celles qui sont considérées comme des ressources culturelles et de déterminer ce qui leur confère une valeur historique;
iii) la prise en considération de cette valeur historique dans les mesures qui peuvent affecter la protection et la mise en valeur; et
iv) la surveillance et l'examen des activités afin de s'assurer que les objectifs de protection et de mise en valeur continuent d'être atteints.

La pratique de la gestion des ressources culturelles fournit les éléments nécessaires aux prises de décisions plutôt qu'un ensemble de réponses toutes faites. Son but est de veiller à ce que le caractère historique qui définit la valeur d'une ressource soit identifié, reconnu, pris en considération et communiqué.

À Parcs Canada, cette pratique tient compte des conventions internationales et des politiques fédérales qui invitent à prendre en considération le caractère historique d'une ressource dans le processus de gestion; on peut citer, à titre indicatif, la Convention du patrimoine mondial, le Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement, la Politique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine et la Politique fédérale sur l'utilisation des terres.

2.1 Inventaire des ressources
2.2 Évaluation des ressources afin d'identifier les ressources culturelles et de déterminer leur valeur historique
2.3 Prise en considération du caractère historique dans les mesures pouvant affecter les ressources culturelles
2.4 Surveillance et examen des activités



2.1 Inventaire des ressources

Toutes les ressources administrées par Parcs Canada méritent d'être considérées comme d'éventuelles ressources culturelles, telles que définies aux termes de la présente politique.

2.1.1
Parcs Canada fait l'inventaire des ressources qu'il administre et le tient à jour afin de déterminer quelles ressources pourraient être considérées comme des ressources culturelles.

2.1.2
Tous les édifices de quarante ans et plus administrés par Parcs Canada sont identifiés en vue de leur examen dans le cadre de la Politique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.


2.2 Évaluation des ressources afin d'identifier les ressources culturelles et de déterminer leur valeur historiquee

L'évaluation permet à Parcs Canada d'identifier les ressources culturelles et de déterminer ce qui constitue leur valeur. En d'autres termes, elle lui permet de déterminer les qualités et les caractéristiques distinctes qui confèrent à une ressource culturelle son caractère historique.Les efforts relatifs à la protection, à la mise en valeur et à l'utilisation appropriée d'une ressource reposent sur la compréhension de ce caractère historique.

Les plaques ministérielles et les monuments sont gérés comme des ressources culturelles.

Les ressources sont évaluées en fonction de leur rapport avec l'histoire, de leurs qualités esthétiques et fonctionnelles et de leurs liens avec le milieu social et physique, afin de leur assigner l'un des trois niveaux qui suivent.

2.2.1 Niveau I
L'importance historique nationale est la plus haute valeur qui puisse être attribuée aux ressources culturelles qui relèvent de Parcs Canada. Celle-ci est déterminée conformément à la Politique sur les lieux historiques nationaux. Il faut noter qu'il existe des lieux historiques nationaux à l'intérieur des parcs nationaux et que certains canaux historiques sont également des lieux historiques nationaux.

2.2.1.1
L'évaluation de l'importance historique nationale est effectuée par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. La recommandation faite au ministre ainsi que toute désignation ministérielle qui en découle, peuvent préciser quelles ressources d'un lieu historique national ont elles-mêmes une importance historique nationale.

2.2.1.2
Si une désignation ministérielle ne précise pas l'importance historique nationale des ressources d'un lieu historique national, Parcs Canada tient compte des objectifs de commémoration de la désignation pour déterminer celles qui peuvent être considérées d'importance historique nationale.

2.2.2 Niveau II
Une ressource peut avoir une valeur historique et être considérée comme une ressource culturelle même si elle n'a pas été déclarée d'importance historique nationale.

2.2.2.1
Parcs Canada établit et applique des critères pour identifier les ressources relevant de sa juridiction qui peuvent faire partie du niveau II. Les ressources qui ont une valeur historique en raison de leurs qualités historiques, esthétiques ou environnementales peuvent faire partie de cette catégorie. Les critères doivent aussi tenir compte de facteurs tels que les liens avec une région ou une collectivité, ou les désignations provinciales, territoriales ou municipales.

2.2.2.2
Les édifices désignés classés ou reconnus conformément à la Politique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine deviennent automatiquement des ressources culturelles de niveau II, à moins qu'ils ne répondent aux critères établis pour identifier les ressources de niveau I. Certains édifices peuvent également être considérés de niveau II en fonction des critères de 2.2.2.1.

2.2.3 Autres
Bien que toutes les ressources relevant de Parcs Canada méritent d'être considérées comme d'éventuelles ressources culturelles, celles qui ne répondent pas aux critères établis pour les niveaux I et II ne sont pas touchées par la présente politique sur les ressources culturelles. Elles sont administrées selon d'autres politiques et méthodes appropriées.

2.2.3.1
Les ressources évaluées qui n'ont pas été déclarées ressources culturelles aux termes de la présente politique peuvent être réévaluées à une date ultérieure.


2.3 Prise en considération du caractère historique dans les mesures pouvant affecter les ressources culturelles

L'essentiel en gestion des ressources culturelles est de prendre en considération le caractère historique à toutes les étapes de la planification et de l'application des programmes de conservation, de mise en valeur et d'exploitation.

2.3.1
Les processus de planification doivent tenir compte du fait que la plus haute valeur est attribuée aux ressources d'importance historique nationale, alors que la seconde est attribuée aux ressources à valeur historique.

2.3.2
Parcs Canada tient compte des répercussions possibles de toutes les mesures qu'il se propose de prendre ainsi que des effets cumulatifs de ces mesures, afin de respecter le caractère historique des ressources culturelles.

2.3.3
Lorsqu'une mesure proposée concernant des terres et eaux administrées par Parcs Canada requiert une évaluation en matière de l'environnement, cette évaluation doit comprendre un examen et une mitigation des impacts de la mesure proposée sur les ressources culturelles.

2.3.4
Toute intervention proposée sur un édifice désigné classé aux termes de la Politique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine doit être soumise à l'examen du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.

2.3.5
Toute intervention proposée sur un édifice désigné reconnu aux termes de la Politique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine est examinée par le Ministère, à l'exception des démolitions et aliénations qui sont soumises à l'examen du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.


2.4 Surveillance et examen des activités

Les processus de gestion comprennent un examen périodique et un suivi des activités qui affectent les ressources culturelles et leur mise en valeur.