Common menu bar links

Part III - Cultural Ressource Management Policy

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

1.0 Principles of Cultural Resource Management

In managing cultural resources Parks Canada will adhere to principles of value, public benefit, understanding, respect, and integrity, and will proceed on a case-by-case basis. These principles are not mutually exclusive; they share common elements and work most effectively when considered as a whole rather than individually. Applying the principles is the key to sound cultural resource management, because the principles provide the means for determining the appropriateness of actions affecting cultural resources. Given the complexity of cultural resources, it is apparent that they cannot be managed on the basis of a general list of approved or prohibited activities. Consequently, all activities that might affect cultural resources, including activities relating to conservation and presentation, will be evaluated, and when approved, implemented in accordance with these principles.

An activity that compromises the commemorative integrity of a national historic site will not be permitted.

The principles provide requisite guidance for treating both the material and non-material aspects of heritage conservation and presentation.

The principles of this policy apply to all agreements that Parks Canada makes with others respecting the management of cultural resources.

The guidance provided by these principles is made more explicit in directives, manuals, standards and guidelines developed by Parks Canada.

1.1 Principles of Value
1.2 Principles of Public Benefit
1.3 Principles of Understanding
1.4 Principles of Respect
1.5 Principles of Integrity


1.1 Principles of Value

1.1.1
For purposes of this policy, resources that have historic value are called cultural resources. It is for this value that cultural resources will be safeguarded and presented for public benefit.

1.1.2
While all cultural resources are valued, some cultural resources are deemed to be of the highest possible value and will be protected and presented accordingly.

  • Parks Canada will value most highly those cultural resources of national historic significance.

1.1.3
Cultural resources rarely occur in isolation. They often derive their value from being part of a place or a site.

  • Parks Canada will value cultural resources in their context and will consider resources as a whole as well as discrete parts.

1.1.4
Cultural resources will be valued not only for their physical or material properties, but also for the associative and symbolic attributes with which they are imbued, and which frequently form the basis of their historic value.

1.1.5
A cultural resource whose historic value derives from its witness to many periods in history will be respected for that evolution, not just for its existence at a single moment in time.

  • Parks Canada will reveal an underlying or previous physical state of an object, structure or site at the expense of later forms and material only with great caution; when historic value is clearly related to an earlier form, and when knowledge and existing material of that earlier form allow.

1.1.6
A cultural resource that derives its historic value from the interaction of nature and human activities will be valued for both its cultural and natural qualities.

1.1.7
Natural ecosystem features and paleontological resources frequently form an integral part of the history and landscape of national historic sites and historic canals. These features and resources in national historic sites and historic canals will be valued in a manner that reflects the role of Parks Canada as an important environmental steward.

  • Parks Canada will conduct a natural ecosystem feature inventory on lands and waters within national historic sites and historic canals to determine the state of such features and to identify natural features of special significance that should be protected.
  • Wildlife habitat of species that have been designated as rare, threatened or endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), or by the province or territory in which the area is located, will be protected.
  • Natural ecosystem features, which by virtue of their strategic location and physical or biological characteristics are of value to government agencies involved in environmental monitoring and programs to maintain biodiversity and genetic resources in Canada, will be protected.
  • Natural ecosystem features of special significance will be managed in accordance with the principles and relevant policies regarding the protection and management of natural ecosystems set out in section 3.0 of the National Parks Policy, and by the applicable directives and procedures used to guide the management of natural ecosystem features in the national parks.
  • National historic sites and canals with extensive areas may be zoned in order to indicate the types of activities that are appropriate in different parts of the site or canal.

1.2 Principles of Public Benefit

1.2.1
Cultural resources are dedicated and held in trust so that present and future generations may enjoy and benefit from them.

  • Public benefit of cultural resources will be most appropriately achieved by the protection and presentation of that which is of national historic significance.
  • The continuing public benefit of a resource will be assured through ongoing maintenance and care.

1.2.2
To understand and appreciate cultural resources and the sometimes complex themes they illustrate, the public will be provided with information and services that effectively communicate the importance and value of those resources and their themes.

  • Parks Canada will select the means for presenting the history and cultural heritage of its national parks, national historic sites and historic canals in ways that recognize the nature and interests of the public it serves

1.2.3
Parks Canada will encourage public involvement in the protection and presentation of cultural resources at national parks, national historic sites and historic canals.

  • Appropriate uses of cultural resources will be those uses and activities that respect the historic value and physical integrity of the resource, and that promote public understanding and appreciation.
  • Information about cultural resources will be made available. In cases where revealing the location of a cultural resource could constitute a threat to the resource (certain fragile archaeological remains, for example), information about location may be withheld.
  • In the interest of long-term public benefit, new uses that threaten cultural resources of national historic significance will not be considered, and existing uses which threaten them will be discontinued or modified to remove the threat.

1.3 Principles of Understanding

1.3.1
The care and presentation of cultural resources require knowledge and understanding of those resources, of the history they represent, and of the most effective means to communicate that history to the public for whom the resources are held in trust.

  • Cultural resource management activities will be based on knowledge, and professional and technical skills and expertise.
  • Parks Canada will integrate the contributions of relevant disciplines in planning and implementing cultural resource management, and will place a particular importance on interdisciplinary teamwork.
  • Adequate research, recording and investigation will precede any action that might affect cultural resources and their presentation.

1.3.2
The importance of genuine public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of cultural resources will be recognized. The understanding of cultural resources requires knowledge that goes beyond a simple knowledge of the physical properties of the resources.

  • Genuine public understanding may require the recording and use of traditional and other knowledge that previously did not exist in written form.
  • Parks Canada will proceed on the basis that the meaning of cultural resources may exist in a continuum ranging from national significance to local or special significance for particular people, and that the two orders of significance can be communicated.
  • Parks Canada will identify the nature and various interests of the public to develop effective means of communication.

1.3.3
Information about cultural resources will be recorded and those records will be maintained for the future.

  • Parks Canada will maintain up-to-date inventories and records on its cultural resources. Dossiers will contain basic data and related documentation, including the results of research and evaluation, records of decision and actions taken. Heritage recording will be carried out on cultural resources of national historic significance.
  • When faced with loss due to human or natural forces and when long-term stabilization or salvage is not possible, cultural resources will be recorded and documented to preserve a public record.

1.3.4
Parks Canada will avoid actions that reduce the potential for long-term conservation and for future understanding and appreciation of a cultural resource and the legacy that it represents.


1.4 Principles of Respect

1.4.1
Those who hold our heritage in trust are responsible for passing on that heritage in ways that maintain its potential for future understanding, appreciation and study. As an irreplaceable part of this heritage, cultural resources will be managed with continuous care and with respect for their historic character; that is, for the qualities for which they are valued.

  • Parks Canada will respect the distinguishing features that constitute the historic character of a cultural resource.
  • Uses of cultural resources will be respectful of, and compatible with, their historic character. This applies equally to the use of landscapes and structures, the display or use of artifacts and to public activities affecting cultural resources.
  • Appropriate visitor activities and public uses of cultural resources at national parks, national historic sites and historic canals will respect the resources and be consistent with the purpose, themes and objectives of the park, historic site or canal.

1.4.2
Trustees are obliged to act in ways that best ensure the continued survival of the resource, with minimum deterioration.

  • Parks Canada will respect cultural resources by using the least destructive and most reversible means to accomplish objectives. Variance from the path of least intrusive action must be justified.
  • Respectful, preventive and continuing maintenance will form an indispensable part of cultural resource management.

1.5 Principles of Integrity

1.5.1
Parks Canada will present the past in a manner that accurately reflects the range and complexity of the human history commemorated at or represented in a national historic site, historic canal or national park.

  • Evidence that is specific to a resource or site will always be preferred to general evidence of a type or period.
  • There are times when one may have to rely on evidence that is indirect, but which is consistent with what is highly probable in the light of known facts and patterns. Conservation and interpretation based on such evidence will be permitted only when the activities founded thereon are based on extensive knowledge, when they are carefully documented and recorded, and when, with respect to the physical features that constitute the historic character of a cultural resource, they are reversible.
  • The use of indirect or comparative evidence will be acknowledged.
  • History will be presented with integrity. This will include the presentation of differing contemporary views, perspectives informed by traditional knowledge, and later interpretations. Parks Canada will not play the role of arbiter of Canada's human history.
  • Depictions of the past without basis in knowledge will not be considered.

1.5.2
Cultural resources should be distinguishable from, and not overwhelmed by, efforts to conserve, enhance and present them.

  • New work of all kinds will be distinguishable from the work of the past.
  • New work will be sensitive to the historic character of the resource or resources of which it forms a part and will not overwhelm those resources.
  • Reconstructions and reproductions of past forms should not be confused with what is genuinely the work of the past. Reproductions and reconstructions will be suitably marked so as to distinguish them from the original and, in the case of national historic sites, will not be used when they impair the commemorative integrity of those sites.

Partie III - Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

1.0 Principes de gestion des ressources culturelles

En gérant les ressources culturelles, Parcs Canada adhère à des principes de valeur, d'intérêt du public, de compréhension, de respect et d'intégrité, et étudie chaque cas individuellement. Ces principes ont des éléments en commun et sont plus efficaces s'ils sont considérés ensemble plutôt qu'individuellement. Qui dit gestion judicieuse des ressources culturelles, dit mise en application de ces principes, puisqu'ils permettent de vérifier si les mesures prises auront des incidences sur les ressources. Vu la complexité des ressources culturelles, il est impossible de les gérer à partir d'une liste générale d'activités autorisées ou interdites. Par conséquent, toutes les activités susceptibles d'avoir des effets sur les ressources culturelles, dont les mesures de conservation et de mise en valeur, sont évaluées et, si elles sont autorisées, sont mises en oeuvre conformément aux principes énoncés dans ce document.

Les activités qui mettent en péril l'intégrité commémorative d'un lieu historique national sont interdites.

Les principes constituent des règles touchant les aspects matériels et non matériels de la conservation et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine.

Les principes de la présente politique s'appliquent à toutes les ententes que Parcs Canada peut conclure concernant la gestion de ressources culturelles.

L'orientation découlant de ces principes est précisée dans des directives, guides, normes et lignes directrices élaborées par Parcs Canada.

1.1 Principes de valeur
1.2 Principes d'intérêt du public
1.3 Principes de compréhension
1.4 Principes de respect
1.5 Principes d'intégrité


1.1 Principes de valeur

1.1.1
Dans la présente politique, les ressources culturelles sont celles dont on a reconnu la valeur historique. Pour cette raison, elles sont sauvegardées et mises en valeur dans l'intérêt du public.

1.1.2
Bien que toutes les ressources culturelles aient de la valeur, certaines d'entre elles ont la plus haute valeur possible et sont protégées et mises en valeur en conséquence.

  • Parcs Canada accorde la plus grande valeur aux ressources culturelles d'importance historique nationale.

1.1.3
Les ressources culturelles sont rarement isolées; c'est souvent l'ensemble dans lequel elles s'inscrivent qui leur confère une valeur.

  • Parcs Canada considère les ressources culturelles dans leur contexte, comme un tout et un ensemble de parties distinctes.

1.1.4
La valeur des ressources culturelles tient autant à leurs qualités physiques et matérielles qu'aux caractéristiques symboliques dont elles sont imprégnées et qui sont très souvent le fondement même de leur valeur historique.

1.1.5
Lorsque les éléments qui confèrent son caractère historique à une ressource culturelle sont représentatifs de plusieurs époques historiques, on respecte l'aspect évolutif de cette ressource plutôt qu'une époque donnée.

  • Parcs Canada peut recouvrer un état physique antérieur d'un objet, d'un bâtiment, d'un ouvrage ou d'un lieu, au détriment des formes ou des matériaux plus récents, seulement s'il procède avec une extrême prudence, si la valeur historique est liée à une forme antérieure et si les connaissances et les matériaux de la forme antérieure le permettent.

1.1.6
Un lien entre les activités humaines et naturelles peut conférer à une ressource culturelle son caractère historique. Le cas échéant, il faut tenir compte des caractéristiques tant naturelles que culturelles de la ressource.

1.1.7
Les ressources paléontologiques et les éléments des écosystèmes font souvent partie intégrante de l'histoire et du paysage des lieux historiques nationaux et des canaux historiques. Ces éléments et ressources sont pris en considération de façon à refléter le rôle important qu'assume Parcs Canada en matière de protection de l'environnement.

  • Parcs Canada fait l'inventaire des éléments des écosystèmes pour toutes les terres et eaux à l'intérieur des lieux historiques nationaux et des canaux historiques, afin de déterminer l'état de ces éléments et d'identifier ceux qui ont une importance particulière à protéger.
  • Sont protégés, les habitats de la faune qui a été désignée rare, menacée ou en voie d'extinction par le Comité sur le statut de la faune menacée d'extinction au Canada, ou par la province ou le territoire dans lequel ils sont situés.
  • Sont protégés, les éléments des écosystèmes qui, par leur emplacement stratégique et leurs caractères physiques ou biologiques, ont de la valeur pour les organismes publics engagés dans la surveillance de l'environnement et dans des programmes destinés à maintenir la diversité des ressources biologiques et génétiques au Canada.
  • Les éléments particulièrement significatifs des écosystèmes sont gérés conformément aux principes et aux politiques pertinents relatifs à la protection et à la gestion des écosystèmes définis à l'article 3.0 de la Politique sur les parcs nationaux et conformément aux directives et procédures utilisées pour orienter la gestion des écosystèmes dans les parcs nationaux.
  • Dans le cas des lieux historiques nationaux et des canaux historiques qui comportent de grandes superficies, on peut utiliser le zonage pour identifier les activités appropriées à leurs diverses aires.

1.2 Principes d'intérêt du public

1.2.1
Les ressources culturelles doivent être sauvegardées pour la jouissance et le bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures auxquelles elles sont dédiées.

  • La meilleure façon d'agir dans l'intérêt du public est de protéger et de mettre en valeur ce qui est d'importance historique nationale.
  • C'est grâce à un programme d'entretien régulier des ressources culturelles que le public pourra continuer de jouir de ces ressources.

1.2.2
Pour aider le public à comprendre et à apprécier les ressources culturelles et les thèmes parfois complexes qu'elles illustrent, on lui fournit des informations et services qui communiquent clairement la signification et la valeur de ces ressources et thèmes.

  • Parcs Canada choisit les méthodes de mise en valeur de l'histoire et du patrimoine culturel de ses parcs nationaux, de ses lieux historiques nationaux et de ses canaux historiques de façon à tenir compte des besoins et attentes du public qu'il sert.

1.2.3
Parcs Canada favorise la participation du public à la protection et à la mise en valeur des ressources culturelles des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des canaux historiques.

  • Les utilisations appropriées des ressources culturelles sont celles qui respectent la valeur historique et l'intégrité physique des ressources et qui visent à promouvoir leur compréhension et leur appréciation par le public.
  • Parcs Canada diffuse l'information qu'il possède sur les ressources culturelles. Dans les cas où faire connaître l'emplacement d'une ressource culturelle constituerait un danger pour la ressource (des vestiges archéologiques par exemple), l'information au sujet du lieu peut ne pas être divulguée.
  • Dans l'intérêt à long terme du public, on ne considère pas de nouvelles utilisations qui menaceraient des ressources culturelles d'importance historique nationale et on abandonne ou modifie les utilisations existantes qui les mettent en péril.

1.3 Principes de compréhension

1.3.1
La protection et la mise en valeur des ressources culturelles doivent reposer sur une connaissance et une compréhension véritables de ces ressources et de l'histoire qu'elles représentent, de même que des meilleurs méthodes de communication de cette histoire à l'intention du public pour qui ces ressources sont sauvegardées.

  • Les activités de gestion des ressources culturelles reposent sur des connaissances et sur des aptitudes et compétences techniques et professionnelles.
  • Parcs Canada intègre les contributions des disciplines et fonctions pertinentes à la planification et à la mise en oeuvre de la gestion des ressources culturelles et accorde une attention particulière au travail d'équipes interdisciplinaires.
  • Les recherches, y compris celles des relevés, et les études sont effectuées avant de prendre des mesures qui pourraient affecter les ressources culturelles.

1.3.2
L'importance d'une véritable compréhension, appréciation et jouissance des ressources culturelles par le public est reconnue. Pour comprendre les ressources culturelles, il faut en connaître plus que les propriétés physiques.

  • Pour amener le public à véritablement comprendre les ressources culturelles, il faut parfois recueillir, consigner et utiliser les traditions orales et autres connaissances qui ne sont pas encore disponibles sous forme écrite.
  • Parcs Canada tient pour acquis que les ressources culturelles peuvent avoir une signification dans un continuum, qu'il soit national, local ou propre à un groupe particulier, et que ces deux paliers de signification peuvent être communiqués.
  • Dans le but de concevoir des méthodes efficaces de communication avec le public, Parcs Canada détermine la nature et les diverses attentes de sa clientèle.

1.3.3
Les données relatives aux ressources culturelles sont recueillies et conservées pour la postérité.

  • Parcs Canada tient à jour des inventaires et des dossiers sur ses ressources culturelles. Les dossiers comprennent les données de base et la documentation connexe, y compris les comptes rendus de recherches, les évaluations et les registres des décisions et des mesures prises. Les ressources culturelles d'importance historique nationale font l'objet de relevés patrimoniaux.
  • Lorsqu'une ressource culturelle est menacée de disparition en raison de causes attribuables aux humains ou à des forces naturelles, ou lorsque sa stabilisation à long terme ou sa récupération s'avère impossible, cette ressource fait l'objet de relevés afin de préserver les renseignements qui la concernent.

1.3.4
Parcs Canada évite les interventions qui diminueraient les possibilités de conservation ainsi que de compréhension et d'appréciation à long terme d'une ressource culturelle et qui en réduiraient la valeur patrimoniale.


1.4 Principes de respect

1.4.1
Les responsables de notre patrimoine ont pour mission de le transmettre de façon qu'il puisse continuer d'être compris, apprécié et étudié. Les ressources culturelles, une partie irremplaçable de notre patrimoine, sont gérées de façon à respecter leur caractère historique, c'est-à-dire l'ensemble des qualités qui contribuent à leur valeur.

  • Parcs Canada respecte les éléments particuliers qui confèrent à une ressource culturelle son caractère historique.
  • Toute utilisation d'une ressource culturelle respecte le caractère historique de la ressource et est conforme à ce caractère. Cela s'applique également à l'utilisation des paysages, des bâtiments et des ouvrages, à la mise en valeur ou à l'emploi des artefacts et aux activités destinées aux visiteurs quant cette utilisation affecte les ressources culturelles.
  • Les activités destinées aux visiteurs et les utilisations par le public des ressources culturelles des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des canaux historiques respectent les ressources culturelles et sont conformes aux buts, aux thèmes et aux objectifs du parc, du lieu ou du canal.

1.4.2
Les responsables doivent choisir les méthodes les plus appropriées à la sauvegarde des ressources tout en évitant leur détérioration.

  • Parcs Canada respecte les ressources culturelles et, à cette fin, utilise les méthodes les moins destructrices et les plus réversibles pour atteindre ses objectifs. Tous les choix contraires doivent être justifiés.
  • Un entretien préventif, continu et approprié constitue l'un des éléments fondamentaux de la gestion des ressources culturelles.

1.5 Principes d'intégrité

1.5.1
Parcs Canada présente le passé de façon à refléter le plus fidèlement possible la diversité et la complexité des aspects de l'histoire humaine qui sont commémorés ou représentés dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les canaux historiques ou les parcs nationaux.

  • Il est toujours préférable d'utiliser les données propres à une ressource ou à un lieu particulier plutôt que des références d'ordre général sur un style ou une époque.
  • Pour atteindre certains objectifs de commémoration, il faut se fier à des données comparatives qui sont conformes à ce qui est le plus probable, compte tenu des faits et des modèles connus. Les activités de conservation et d'interprétation à partir de données comparatives ne sont autorisées que dans les cas où ces activités reposent sur des connaissances approfondies, où elles sont soigneusement documentées et où elles sont réversibles au plan des matériaux qui contribuent à la valeur historique d'une ressource culturelle.
  • Lorsqu'un produit est fondé sur des données comparatives ou indirectes, il est identifié comme tel.
  • L'ensemble de l'histoire est mis en valeur avec intégrité, c'est-à-dire qu'on fait valoir des points de vue contemporains divergents, des perspectives fondées sur le savoir traditionnel, ainsi que des interprétations plus récentes. Parcs Canada n'assume pas un rôle d'arbitre au regard de l'histoire humaine au Canada.
  • Les représentations du passé qui ne reposent pas sur des faits ne peuvent être envisagées.

1.5.2
Les efforts de mise en valeur et de conservation des ressources culturelles doivent s'en distinguer et ne pas les surpasser.

  • Il faut pouvoir différencier les ouvrages modernes des ouvrages historiques.
  • Les nouveaux ouvrages doivent être compatibles avec le caractère historique de la ressource ou des ressources dont ils font partie et ne doivent pas les surpasser.
  • Les reconstructions et les reproductions de formes antérieures ne doivent pas être confondues avec les ouvrages authentiques et, pour cette raison, sont identifiées de façon à les en différencier. Dans le cas des lieux historiques nationaux, on n'a pas recours aux reproductions et reconstructions lorsqu'elles nuisent à l'intégrité commémorative de ces lieux.