Part II - Activity Policies: National Marine Conservation Areas Policy




EXPLANATORY NOTE

In Canada, the establishment of marine protected areas is in its infancy. Although a national marine parks policy was produced in 1986, it was not based on practical experience. Since then, further study and consultation have led to a clarification of the concept that demonstrates the differences between terrestrial national parks and the needs for marine area management.

As proposed in these new policy statements, "national marine parks" are better classified as "national marine conservation areas." These areas would have a highly protected core made up of Preservation Zones I and Natural Environment Zones II, as well as multiple-use Conservation Zones III.

As Parks Canada acquires operational experience in the establishment and management of marine conservation areas, it will be necessary to reassess elements of this policy to ensure that they are workable. Appropriate consultation will occur before any changes are made to the policy.

Partie II - Politiques des activités : Politique sur les aires marines nationales de conservation




NOTE

Au Canada, la création d'aires marines de conservation en est à ses débuts. La Politique sur les parcs marins nationaux a été rédigée en 1986, sans aucune expérience pratique au préalable. Depuis, des études et des consultations ont clarifié les concepts démontrant que les parcs nationaux terrestres et les aires marines doivent être gérés de façon distincte.

Tel qu'il est proposé dans les nouveaux énoncés, le terme parcs marins nationaux devient aires marines nationales de conservation. Ces aires sont composées d'un ensemble de secteurs hautement protégés, composés de zones I - préservation, et de zones II - milieu naturel, de même que d'autres espaces à usages polyvalents de zones III - conservation.

Tout en acquérant de l'expérience dans la création et la gestion des aires marines de conservation, Parcs Canada sera amené à réévaluer les éléments de cette politique afin de s'assurer qu'ils sont réalisables. Des consultations seront menées avant tout changement à cette politique.