Common menu bar links

Part II - Activity Policies: National Parks Policy

2.0 Management Planning

Park management plans are essential for the direction of park managers. They are also commitments to the public of Canada from the Minister responsible for Parks Canada regarding the use and protection of national parks. They contain statements of management objectives in sufficient detail to indicate how a park will protect and represent the natural and cultural aspects of its region. In keeping with these objectives, plans will: specify the type and degree of resource protection and management needed to assure the ecological integrity of the park and the management of its cultural resources; define the type, character and locale of visitor facilities, activities and services; and identify target groups.

The 1988 amendments to the National Parks Act state that the maintenance of ecological integrity must be the first consideration in management planning. Parliament has confirmed the Parks Canada policy of preparing management plans for all parks and of public involvement in this process. It is now mandatory that within five years of the proclamation of a national park under any Act of Parliament, the Minister shall approve and table that park's management plan in Parliament. The Minister must also review, amend as necessary and re-table the management plans every five years.

Appropriate public participation at the national, regional and local levels is an essential part of the development of management plans.

Generally, management planning will begin as soon as lands are placed under Parks Canada administration and control, although it may still be years before all issues are resolved and a park is established under the National Parks Act. Interim management guidelines are prepared to direct essential park operations until a management plan is approved. The guidelines will be conservative and will not propose major development or resource manipulation. Definition of resource management practices and existing and potential opportunities for understanding, appreciation and enjoyment will form a key part of the interim guidelines.


2.1 Management Plans

2.1.1
Parks Canada will prepare management plans for the Minister's approval and tabling in Parliament:

i) within five years after the proclamation of a park under any Act of Parliament; or
ii) within five years of the transfer of administration and control to Parks Canada of lands proposed for establishment as national parks.
Management plans will be reviewed every five years for re-tabling with any amendments.

2.1.2
In the preparation of a management plan, the maintenance of ecological integrity through the protection of natural resources and processes will be the first priority when considering zoning and visitor use. The protection of cultural resources will receive a high level of consideration subject to this legislated requirement.

2.1.3
Each management plan will contain a statement of park purpose and objectives that will reflect the role of the park in the system of national parks, and in the natural region in which it is located.

2.1.4
Park management plans provide the framework for further detailed sub-plans concerning:

i) ecosystem management (park conservation plan); and
ii) interpretation, visitor services and visitor risk management (park service plan).

2.1.5
Parks Canada will inform and involve a broad spectrum of the Canadian public in the preparation, review and amendment of park management plans.

2.1.6
The implementation and effectiveness of each park management plan will be monitored continuously.

2.1.7
Parks Canada will cooperate with other levels of government, private organizations and individuals responsible for the planning of areas adjacent to national parks to maintain ecological integrity and to ensure that services and facilities are integrated in a positive manner with surrounding regions.

2.1.8
Management plans for national parks which have additional international or national designations, such as World Heritage Site, Biosphere Reserve, Ramsar Site, Canadian Heritage River, or National Historic Site, will include strategies for protection and promotion of the values that resulted in the additional designations.


2.2 Zoning

The national parks zoning system is an integrated approach by which land and water areas are classified according to ecosystem and cultural resource protection requirements, and their capability and suitability to provide opportunities for visitor experiences. It is one part of an array of management strategies used by Parks Canada to assist in maintaining ecological integrity through providing a framework for the area-specific application of policy directions, such as for resource management, appropriate activities, and research. As such, zoning provides direction for the activities of park managers and park visitors alike. The application of zoning requires a sound information base related to both ecosystem structure, function and sensitivity, as well as the opportunities and impacts of existing and potential visitor experiences.

The zoning system provides a means to reflect principles of ecological integrity by protecting park lands and resources and ensuring a minimum of human-induced change. In certain national parks not all zones will be represented. Where zones which permit a concentration of visitor activities and supporting services and facilities are required (i.e., Zones IV and V), they will occupy no more than a small proportion of a national park.

In some cases, environmentally or culturally sensitive areas or sites may warrant special management but do not fit the zoning designations below. Park management plans will include the guidelines necessary for the protection and use of such areas or sites. Their designation complements the zoning system and is important to the protection of the full range of valued resources in certain national parks. Likewise, a temporal zoning designation may be considered for certain areas as part of the management planning program. Ecosystem management requirements will be paramount in consideration of any temporal zones.

2.2.1
The national parks zoning system will apply to all land and water areas of national parks, and to other natural areas within the Parks Canada system as appropriate. It does not preclude resource harvesting activities which are permitted by virtue of national park reserve status, land claim settlements and/or by new park establishment agreements.

2.2.2
Any change to a park's zoning constitutes a major amendment to the park management plan and may only be made following an environmental assessment, public notice and public participation in the decision.

2.2.3
The national park zoning system comprises the following five zones. (While the broad zoning framework is presented here, implementation depends upon more detailed guidance found in the zoning chapter of the directive on the National Parks Management Planning Process.)

2.2.3.1 Zone I - Special Preservation

Specific areas or features which deserve special preservation because they contain or support unique, threatened or endangered natural or cultural features, or are among the best examples of the features that represent a natural region. Preservation is the key consideration. Motorized access and circulation will not be permitted. In cases where the fragility of the area precludes any public access, every effort will be made to provide park visitors with appropriate off-site programs and exhibits interpreting the special characteristics of the zone.

2.2.3.2 Zone II - Wilderness

Extensive areas which are good representations of a natural region and which will be conserved in a wilderness state. The perpetuation of ecosystems with minimal human interference is the key consideration. Zones I and II will together constitute the majority of the area of all but the smallest national parks, and will make the greatest contribution toward the conservation of ecosystem integrity.

Zone II areas offer opportunities for visitors to experience, first hand, a park's natural and cultural heritage values through outdoor recreation activities which are dependent upon and within the capacity of the park's ecosystems, and which require few, if any, rudimentary services and facilities. Where the area is large enough, visitors will also have the opportunity to experience remoteness and solitude. Opportunities for outdoor recreation activities will be encouraged only when they do not conflict with maintaining the wilderness itself. For this reason, motorized access and circulation will not be permitted, with the possible exception of strictly controlled air access in remote northern parks, as specified in 4.4.3.

Parks Canada will use a variety of other direct and indirect strategies for managing public use, and will evaluate the effectiveness of these strategies on a regular basis.

2.2.3.3 Zone III - Natural Environment

Areas which are managed as natural environments, and which provide opportunities for visitors to experience a park's natural and cultural heritage values through outdoor recreation activities requiring minimal services and facilities of a rustic nature. While motorized access may be allowed, it will be controlled. Public transit that facilitates heritage appreciation will be preferred. Park management plans may define provisions for terminating or limiting private motorized access.

2.2.3.4 Zone IV - Outdoor Recreation

Limited areas which are capable of accommodating a broad range of opportunities for understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the park's heritage values and related essential services and facilities, in ways that impact the ecological integrity of the park to the smallest extent possible, and whose defining feature is direct access by motorized vehicles. Park management plans may define provisions for limiting private motorized access and circulation.

2.2.3.5 Zone V - Park Services

Communities in existing national parks which contain a concentration of visitor services and support facilities. Specific activities, services and facilities in this zone will be defined and directed by the community planning process. Major park operation and administrative functions may also be accommodated in this zone. Wherever possible, Parks Canada will locate these functions to maintain regional ecological integrity.


2.3 Designated Wilderness Areas

The 1988 amendments to the National Parks Act provide for the designation, by regulation, of wilderness areas within a park. It is intended that the designated wilderness area boundaries will be consistent with Zone II boundaries, although the requirement to produce a legal boundary survey may cause some slight variations. In addition, where Zone I areas are included in or are adjacent to Zone II areas, or are large enough to be considered on their own, they may also be included in designated wilderness areas, but will be managed to conform to their special requirements for protection.

While the criteria for defining designated wilderness areas mirror that for Zone II Wilderness, an Order in Council designation places a legislative constraint on development. Once the Order is in place, provisions of the National Parks Act come into effect which prohibit authorization of any activity in a designated wilderness area that is likely to impair its wilderness character. Only those activities would be allowed which are required for: park administration; public safety; the provision of basic user facilities including trails and rudimentary campsites; the carrying on of traditional renewable resource harvesting activities where authorized; and, in exceptional circumstances, access by air to remote parts of such areas.

As with all other crucial stages of management planning, the boundaries and appropriate uses of proposed designated wilderness areas will be determined with public input during the preparation or review of a management plan. Changes to the boundary of a designated wilderness area would have to be preceded by public consultation and approved through an Order in Council.

Partie II - Politiques des activités : Politiques sur les Parcs nationaux

2.0 Planification de la gestion

Les plans de gestion sont essentiels à l'administration des parcs et constituent un engagement du ministre responsable de Parcs Canada envers les Canadiens à l'égard de la protection et de l'utilisation durable des parcs nationaux. Ils précisent les objectifs de gestion d'une manière assez exhaustive pour indiquer comment un parc protège et met en valeur les ressources naturelles et culturelles de sa région. En respectant ces objectifs, les plans doivent spécifier le genre et le degré des mesures à prendre pour assurer l'intégrité écologique et la gestion des ressources culturelles, définir le genre, le caractère et l'emplacement des services et des activités, et identifier les clientèles.

Les modifications apportées en 1988 à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux stipulent que le maintien de l'intégrité écologique est primordial dans la planification de la gestion. Le Parlement a également confirmé le bien-fondé de la politique de Parcs Canada de réaliser des plans de gestion pour tous les parcs, en consultation avec le public. Dans les cinq ans qui suivent la proclamation sur la création d'un parc sous le régime d'une loi fédérale, le ministre doit approuver et déposer devant le Parlement le plan de gestion correspondant et le déposer de nouveau tous les cinq ans, après révision, avec ses modifications éventuelles.

La participation du public, aux niveaux national, régional et local, est essentielle à l'élaboration des plans de gestion.

Généralement la planification de la gestion sera entreprise dès que les terres seront placées sous l'administration et le contrôle de Parcs Canada, sans attendre le règlement de toutes les questions et que le parc soit officiellement créé aux termes de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux. La première étape du processus est de tracer des lignes directrices provisoires de gestion permettant d'assurer les besoins essentiels du parc en attendant l'approbation du plan de gestion. Ces lignes sont conservatrices et ne dictent aucune manipulation importante de ressources. Elles définissent principalement les possibilités de compréhension, d'appréciation et de jouissance et les mesures de gestion des ressources.


2.1 Plans de gestion

2.1.1
Parcs Canada prépare des plans de gestion pour approbation par le ministre et dépôt devant le Parlement :

i) dans les cinq ans suivant la proclamation portant sur la création d'un parc sous le régime d'une loi fédérale; ou
ii) dans les cinq ans suivant le transfert à Parcs Canada de l'administration et du contrôle des terres proposées pour la création d'un parc national.

Les plans de gestion sont révisés tous les cinq ans et déposés à nouveau devant le Parlement avec leurs modifications.

2.1.2
Dans l'élaboration du plan de gestion et lors de l'établissement des dispositions relatives au zonage et à l'utilisation par les visiteurs, la primauté sera donnée à la préservation de l'intégrité écologique par la protection des ressources naturelles et les processus qui y sont reliés. En ce qui concerne les ressources culturelles, leur protection sera prise en haute considération tout en tenant compte des exigences de la loi.

2.1.3
Chaque plan de gestion énonce le but et les objectifs du parc, qui reflètent son rôle dans le réseau et dans sa région naturelle.

2.1.4
Les plans de gestion servent de cadre à la préparation subséquente de plans détaillés relatifs à :

i) la gestion des écosystèmes (plan de conservation des parcs); et
ii) l'interprétation, aux services d'accueil et à la gestion du risque (plan de services des parcs).

2.1.5
Parcs Canada informe et consulte largement le public canadien lors de l'élaboration, de la révision et de la modification des plans de gestion des parcs.

2.1.6
La mise en oeuvre et l'efficacité de chaque plan de gestion sont soumises à une surveillance permanente.

2.1.7
Parcs Canada collabore avec les autres paliers de gouvernement, organismes privés et individus responsables de la planification des aires adjacentes aux parcs nationaux, afin de maintenir l'intégrité écologique et de s'assurer que la protection des ressources patrimoniales et l'aménagement des services et des installations s'harmonisent avec ceux des régions environnantes.

2.1.8
Les plans de gestion des parcs nationaux qui ont reçu une nomination de niveau national ou international telle que site du patrimoine mondial, réserve de biosphère, site Ramsar, rivière du patrimoine canadien ou lieu historique national, comprennent des stratégies pour protéger et promouvoir les valeurs qui ont contribué à ces nominations.


2.2 Zonage

Le zonage est une approche intégrée de classification des aires terrestres et marines en fonction de la protection à assurer aux ressources culturelles et aux écosystèmes et de l'offre de services au public. Cela constitue en réalité un des moyens dont dispose Parcs Canada pour conserver l'intégrité écologique grâce à l'application spécifique de politiques sur divers sujets tels que la gestion des ressources, des activités appropriées et la recherche. Le zonage oriente donc les activités des gestionnaires et des visiteurs. Pour procéder au zonage, il faut avoir suffisamment de renseignements sur la structure, la fonction et la fragilité des écosystèmes de même que sur les possibilités à offrir aux visiteurs et sur les incidences actuelles et éventuelles de la fréquentation.

Par le biais du zonage, Parcs Canada peut appliquer les principes d'intégrité écologique pour protéger les terres et les ressources des parcs et minimiser les changements causés par l'homme. Les zones ne sont pas toutes représentées dans tous les parcs nationaux. Les zones réservées aux activités destinées aux visiteurs et aux services et installations de soutien connexes (zones IV et V) n'occupent qu'une petite partie des parcs nationaux où elles sont aménagées.

Dans certains cas, les ressources naturelles et culturelles fragiles peuvent exiger une gestion spécifique s'écartant du cadre de zonage décrit ci-dessous. Les plans de gestion précisent les lignes directrices nécessaires à la protection et à l'usage de ces lieux particuliers. Leur délimitation et zonage sont complémentaires et permettent de protéger l'ensemble des ressources importantes de certains parcs nationaux. Parallèlement, on peut envisager, dans le cadre du programme de planification de gestion, de procéder à un zonage temporaire pour certaines aires. La gestion des écosystèmes doit avoir primauté au moment de la désignation des zones temporaires.

2.2.1
Le zonage des parcs nationaux s'applique à toutes les aires terrestres et marines des parcs nationaux ainsi qu'à toute autre aire naturelle comprise dans le réseau de Parcs Canada, s'il y a lieu. Il ne s'appliquera pas aux activités de récolte des ressources autorisées en vertu du statut de réserve de parc national, de règlements de revendications territoriales ou d'ententes lors de la création des parcs.

2.2.2
Tout changement au zonage d'un parc entraîne une importante modification du plan de gestion du parc et ne peut intervenir qu'à la suite d'une évaluation environnementale, d'un avis et d'une consultation du public à ce sujet.

2.2.3
Le zonage comprend les cinq zones suivantes. (Il s'agit d'un cadre général dont la mise en oeuvre est réglée par la directive sur le processus de planification de la gestion des parcs nationaux.)

2.2.3.1 Zone I - Préservation spéciale
Aires ou caractéristiques particulières exceptionnelles qui méritent une protection spéciale parce qu'elles contiennent ou abritent des caractéristiques naturelles ou culturelles uniques, menacées ou en voie de disparition ou sont parmi les meilleurs exemples d'une région naturelle. L'élément clé à retenir est la préservation. L'accès et la circulation par véhicule motorisé sont interdits. Lorsque la fragilité de l'aire en exclut tout accès, tous les efforts sont faits pour offrir aux visiteurs des programmes hors-site appropriés et des expositions montrant les caractéristiques exceptionnelles de la zone.

2.2.3.2 Zone II - Milieu sauvage
Vastes aires qui représentent bien une région naturelle et qui sont conservées à l'état sauvage. Il faut préserver les écosystèmes en évitant d'intervenir. La plupart des parcs, sauf les plus petits, se composent principalement des zones I et II, les plus utiles en ce qui concerne la conservation de l'intégrité des écosystèmes.

Dans les zones II, les visiteurs peuvent découvrir le patrimoine culturel et naturel du parc grâce à des loisirs de plein air adaptés aux écosystèmes du parc et qui nécessitent quelques services et installations rudimentaires. Dans le cas des aires plus vastes, les visiteurs peuvent également faire l'expérience de la solitude et de l'éloignement. Les loisirs de plein air sont autorisés uniquement s'ils ne nuisent pas à l'état sauvage du parc. C'est pourquoi l'accès et la circulation par véhicule automobile sont interdits. Dans les parcs du Grand Nord, l'accès par avion sera permis, mais étroitement contrôlé (voir 4.4.3).

Parcs Canada a recours à une panoplie de méthodes directes et indirectes de gestion de l'utilisation par le public et évalue régulièrement l'efficacité de ces méthodes.

2.2.3.3 Zone III - Milieu naturel
Aires gérées comme des milieux naturels et qui permettent aux visiteurs de se sensibiliser aux valeurs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc, au moyen d'activités de plein air nécessitant peu de services et d'installations rustiques. L'accès par véhicule automobile peut être autorisé mais est contrôlé. L'accès par transport public, favorisant l'appréciation du patrimoine, est préféré. Le plan de gestion du parc peut prévoir des clauses pour mettre fin à l'accès par véhicule privé ou le restreindre.

2.2.3.4 Zone IV - Loisirs de plein air
Aires bien délimitées convenant à une vaste gamme d'activités permettant de comprendre et d'apprécier le patrimoine et d'en profiter. Sont fournis des services et installations essentiels le moins nuisibles possible à l'intégrité écologique du parc. L'accès direct par véhicules automobiles y est autorisé. Le plan de gestion du parc peut prévoir des clauses pour restreindre l'accès et la circulation par véhicule privé.

2.2.3.5 Zone V - Services du parc
Agglomérations situées dans des parcs nationaux existants et qui réunissent les services d'accueil et les installations de soutien. Des activités et des services spécifiques à cette zone peuvent être définis et dirigés par le processus de planification communautaire. Les bâtiments réservés à l'administration et au fonctionnement du parc sont également situés dans cette zone. Dans la mesure du possible, Parcs Canada cherchera à installer ces services dans un secteur qui n'aura pas d'incidences sur l'intégrité écologique régionale.


2.3 Réserves intégrales désignées

Les modifications apportées en 1988 à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux prévoient la désignation, par règlement, de réserves intégrales à l'intérieur du parc. Les limites de ces réserves intégrales correspondent à celles des zones II, bien que l'obligation de procéder à des levés officiels puisse entraîner quelques variations. De plus, lorsque des zones I sont incluses dans les zones II ou adjacentes à celles-ci, ou lorsqu'elles sont suffisamment grandes pour être considérées comme entité distincte, elles pourront faire partie des réserves intégrales désignées mais seront gérées en fonction des exigences de protection qui leur sont propres.

Les critères de désignation des réserves intégrales reflètent ceux des zones II, Milieu sauvage, mais la désignation par décret impose des contraintes législatives au développement. Une fois le décret adopté, les dispositions de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux entrent en vigueur et interdisent toute activité dans la réserve intégrale désignée susceptible de détruire son caractère sauvage. Seront autorisées uniquement les activités nécessaires aux fins suivantes : l'administration du parc, la sécurité du public, les aménagements essentiels destinés aux utilisateurs dont des sentiers et des terrains de camping primitif, la poursuite des activités traditionnelles de récolte des ressources renouvelables lorsque autorisées et dans des cas exceptionnels, l'accès par air aux secteurs éloignés de ces aires.

Comme dans toutes les étapes cruciales de planification, le public sera consulté au cours de l'élaboration ou de la révision d'un plan de gestion pour déterminer les délimitations et les usages pertinents des réserves intégrales. Il est impossible de modifier les limites d'une réserve intégrale désignée sans avoir au préalable consulté le public et obtenu une approbation suite à la modification du décret initial.