Common menu bar links

Preface

"... deterioration or disappearance of any item of the cultural or natural heritage constitutes a harmful impoverishment of the heritage of all nations of the world."

(World Heritage Convention, UNESCO)




Canadian Identity and Heritage

As Canadians we appreciate the beauty of the natural environment and the richness of our history. These elements contribute to an understanding and collective sense of Canada's national identity as well as a shared sense of pride. They unify us as a people yet express our national diversity. Canadians share this heritage with each other and welcome others to value, respect and learn about it. We celebrate this rich heritage through national historic sites, national parks and park reserves, heritage railway stations, historic canals, marine conservation areas, heritage rivers, federal heritage buildings and historical markers.

These national symbols contribute to our Canadian identity in many ways. They depict a diversity of cultures and natural environments. They are national symbols, yet can be located in virtually any part of the country - urban, rural and remote. They are also tangible links not only with the past and the present but with the future. Heritage places provide a window to the world and showcase our global responsibilities in ensuring continued protection and presentation of a heritage that has both national and international significance.

Canada's environment encompasses a vast array of terrestrial and marine ecosystems - the Arctic tundra, the western mountains, the prairies, the Precambrian Shield, and the eastern uplands, including the off-shore areas of the Great Lakes, and the Atlantic, Arctic, and Pacific coasts. The environment also includes places and landscapes associated with human heritage. These historic places - which represent thousands of years of human history and encompass places of work and worship, commerce and culture, law and leisure - evoke our past, our aspirations and our values.




Conservation Strategies and Sustainable Development

Heritage places must be managed in a manner that sustains them and respects their intrinsic values.

Heritage places contribute to broader sustainable development and conservation strategies by:

  • maintaining ecological integrity and biodiversity of natural areas;
  • preserving the commemorative integrity of historic places;
  • promoting a conservation ethic, citizenship values based on a respect for the environment and heritage, ecosystem and cultural resource management; and
  • generally demonstrating conservation principles and approaches set out in various relevant United Nations Reports.



The World Heritage Convention and Heritage Places

Canada played a major role in devising the 1972 Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, which has as its objectives the protection, conservation and presentation of cultural and natural heritage of outstanding universal value. Under the terms of the convention, Canada has committed itself to identify and to delineate sites associated with cultural and natural heritage within Canada; to adopt a general policy that aims to give the cultural and natural heritage a function in the life of the community; to establish one or more services charged with the protection, conservation and presentation of this heritage; to take appropriate legal, scientific, technical, administrative and financial measures, as well as to foster the establishment of training centres, to achieve the objectives of the Convention, and to avoid any deliberate measures that might damage cultural and natural heritage. The Convention also establishes a framework for international cooperation and assistance.



The Convention on Biological Diversity and Protected Heritage Areas

By administering protected heritage areas, Parks Canada plays a major role in implementing the Convention on Biological Diversity, adopted in Rio de Janeiro in 1992. Protected areas such as national parks and reserves, marine conservation areas, and some national historic sites can contribute directly to the in-situ conservation of biological diversity and, therefore, to Canada's national strategy for the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity.

In fulfilling its mission in this regard, Parks Canada promotes the protection of ecosystems and natural habitats, the maintenance and recovery of viable wild populations of species in natural settings, as well as the environmentally sound management of surrounding or adjacent areas.

While the primary purpose of national historic sites and other cultural heritage sites is not to conserve biological diversity, a number of such sites may contribute to biological diversity because of their size and/or ecological features. Good environmental stewardship encompasses a concern for places that reflect the human as well as the biophysical heritage.



Early History

For more than a century, the Government of Canada has been involved in protecting outstanding natural areas and in commemorating significant aspects of Canadian history. This extensive experience has enabled Canada to be recognized, internationally, as a world leader in the management of heritage.

Canada's national parks system began in 1885 when 26 km2 around mineral hot springs near Banff Station, Alberta, were set aside for public use. The Rocky Mountains Park Act of 1887 defined the first parks as "public park and pleasure grounds for the benefit, advantage and enjoyment of the people of Canada." The National Parks Act, originally enacted in 1930, dedicates the national parks to the people of Canada for their benefit, education and enjoyment and makes provision to keep them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.

The setting aside of historic Fort Anne in Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, in 1917, followed by the establishment of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada in 1919, laid the foundation for Canada's system of national historic sites. The 1930 National Parks Act also provided a legislative framework for the setting aside of federal lands for historical purposes. The Historic Sites and Monuments Act of 1953, reflecting the strong sense of national purpose that followed the Second World War, provided statutory authority for the designation of national historic sites - regardless of ownership - as well as a legislative basis for acquiring and for contributing directly to the care and preservation of these sites.



The Present

Parks Canada's protected heritage areas play a significant part in achieving Government of Canada goals of:

  • completing the parks systems and protecting Canada's natural heritage, including contributing towards the setting aside as protected space 12 per cent of the country; and
  • commemorating the historical heritage of importance to all Canadians.



The Future

Parks Canada is committed to establishing a comprehensive network of protected heritage areas representative of Canada's natural and cultural heritage. To achieve this goal, Parks Canada needs the cooperation and involvement of others.

Efforts will be made to manage natural protected areas on an ecosystem basis, while meeting compatible social and economic needs, and maintaining the areas in a natural state. Cultural heritage areas will be managed in accordance with cultural resource management principles and practice so that their commemorative integrity is ensured and that the fabric of the communities in which they are located is enhanced.

Protected heritage areas can demonstrate the interdependence of humans and the environment, and provide enhanced educational and interpretive opportunities. As a result, Canadian heritage values should increasingly be recognized as part of a nationally unifying ethic.

These are the challenges for the future.

Préface

...la dégradation ou la disparition d'un bien du patrimoine culturel et naturel constitue un appauvrissement néfaste du patrimoine de tous les peuples du monde.

(Convention pour la protection du patrimoine mondial, UNESCO)




Identité canadienne et patrimoine

En tant que Canadiens, nous apprécions la beauté de notre environnement naturel et la richesse de notre histoire. Ces éléments contribuent à façonner le sens collectif de l'identité et de la fierté nationales au Canada. Ils nous unissent comme peuple tout en exprimant la diversité du pays. Les Canadiens partagent ce patrimoine entre eux et invitent les autres à l'apprécier, à le respecter et à le connaître. Nous célébrons ce précieux patrimoine par les lieux historiques nationaux, les réserves et les parcs nationaux, les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales, les canaux historiques, les aires marines nationales, les rivières du patrimoine canadien, les édifices fédéraux à valeur patrimoniale et les plaques historiques.

Ces symboles nationaux contribuent à notre identité canadienne de plusieurs façons. Ils dépeignent une diversité de cultures et d'environnements naturels. Ceux-ci peuvent être situés n'importe où au pays, dans les milieux urbains, ruraux et éloignés. Ce sont des liens tangibles non seulement avec le passé et le présent mais aussi avec le futur. Ces endroits patrimoniaux nous ouvrent une fenêtre sur le monde et démontrent notre responsabilité d'assurer de façon continue, la protection et la mise en valeur d'un patrimoine d'importance nationale et internationale.

L'environnement canadien est constitué d'un large éventail d'écosystèmes marins et terrestres, de la toundra arctique aux montagnes Rocheuses, des Prairies au Bouclier précambrien, des hautes-terres de l'Est et des eaux des Grands Lacs aux côtes de l'Atlantique, de l'Arctique et du Pacifique. Cet environnement comprend également des aires et des paysages intimement liés au patrimoine humain. Ces aires historiques, qui recèlent des milliers d'années d'histoire et qui comprennent des édifices consacrés au travail et au culte, au commerce et à la culture, à la justice et aux loisirs, évoquent notre passé, nos aspirations et nos valeurs.




Stratégies de conservation et développement durable

Les aires du patrimoine doivent être gérées d'une façon qui permet de les préserver et qui respecte leurs valeurs intrinsèques.

Les aires du patrimoine contribuent au développement durable dans son ensemble et à des stratégies de conservation de la façon suivante :

  • en préservant l'intégrité écologique et la biodiversité des espaces naturels;
  • en préservant l'intégrité commémorative des aires historiques;
  • en mettant de l'avant une éthique de la conservation, un civisme basé sur le respect de l'environnement et du patrimoine et une gestion des écosystèmes et des ressources culturelles; et
  • en faisant la démonstration des principes et des approches de conservation exposés dans différents rapports de l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU).



Convention du patrimoine mondial et endroits patrimoniaux

Le Canada a joué un rôle primordial lors de la rédaction de la Convention concernant la protection du patrimoine culturel et naturel mondial. Les objectifs de la Convention, qui a été ratifiée en 1972, sont de protéger, conserver et mettre en valeur le patrimoine culturel et naturel d'une importante valeur universelle. En accord avec les énoncés de la Convention, le Canada s'est engagé à identifier et à délimiter, à l'intérieur de ses frontières, des sites du patrimoine culturel et naturel mondial; à adopter une politique générale visant à assigner une fonction au patrimoine culturel et naturel dans la vie collective de ses communautés; à instituer un ou plusieurs services de protection, de conservation et de mise en valeur de ce patrimoine; à prendre des mesures juridiques, scientifiques, techniques, administratives et financières ainsi qu'à favoriser la création de centres nationaux de formation; à atteindre les objectifs de la Convention; et à ne prendre délibérément aucune mesure susceptible d'endommager le patrimoine culturel et naturel. La Convention met aussi en place un système de coopération et d'assistance internationales.




La diversité biologique et les aires patrimoniales protégées

L'administration des aires patrimoniales protégées par Parcs Canada joue un rôle important dans la mise en oeuvre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique adoptée à Rio de Janeiro en 1992. Les aires protégées comme les réserves et les parcs nationaux, les aires marines de conservation, et certains lieux historiques nationaux peuvent apporter une contribution directe à la conservation sur place de la diversité biologique, et donc à la stratégie nationale du Canada pour la conservation et l'utilisation durables de la diversité biologique.

En poursuivant sa mission à cet égard, Parcs Canada encourage la protection des écosystèmes et des habitats naturels, le maintien et le rétablissement de populations sauvages viables de différentes espèces dans leur environnement naturel, et la bonne gestion environnementale des aires environnantes ou voisines.

Le but premier des lieux historiques nationaux et des autres sites du patrimoine culturel n'est pas de conserver la diversité biologique, mais un bon nombre de ces sites peuvent contribuer à la diversité biologique à cause de leurs dimensions ou de leurs caractéristiques écologiques. Une bonne gérance environnementale se préoccupe autant des endroits qui reflètent le patrimoine humain que de ceux qui relèvent du patrimoine biophysique.




Les débuts

Depuis plus d'un siècle, le gouvernement du Canada participe à la protection d'aires naturelles exceptionnelles et à la commémoration d'aspects importants de l'histoire du Canada. Cette large expérience a permis au Canada d'être reconnu internationalement comme un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la gestion du patrimoine.

Le réseau de parcs nationaux du Canada a vu le jour en 1885, avec la création d'un secteur de 26 kilomètres carrés, réservé à l'usage du public, autour des sources thermales près de la station de Banff en Alberta. La Loi sur le Parc des Montagnes-Rocheuses de 1887 définissait les premiers parcs comme des parcs publics et terrains de loisirs dédiés au peuple canadien pour son bénéfice et sa jouissance. La Loi sur les parcs nationaux, promulguée pour la première fois en 1930, dédie les parcs nationaux au peuple canadien pour son bénéfice, son instruction et sa jouissance, et comporte des dispositions pour les conserver intacts pour la jouissance des générations futures.

La création, en 1917, du lieu historique national du Fort-Anne, à Annapolis Royal, en Nouvelle-Écosse, suivie, en 1919, de la formation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, ont jeté les fondations de l'actuel réseau canadien de lieux historiques nationaux. La Loi sur les parcs nationaux de 1930 fournissait également un cadre statutaire pour la préservation de terres fédérales à des fins historiques. La Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques de 1953, reflétant le profond sentiment de détermination nationale qui a marqué les années d'après-guerre, fournissait les pouvoirs légaux permettant de désigner des lieux historiques nationaux - sans égard à la propriété - ainsi qu'un fondement statutaire pour l'acquisition de ces sites et la contribution directe à leur préservation et à leur entretien.




Le présent

Les aires patrimoniales protégées de Parcs Canada jouent un rôle important dans la mise en oeuvre des objectifs du gouvernement du Canada :

  • l'achèvement du réseau des parcs et la protection du patrimoine naturel du Canada, ce qui inclut la participation à la protection de 12 p. 100 de la superficie du pays; et
  • la commémoration du patrimoine historique important pour tous les Canadiens.



L'avenir

Parcs Canada s'est engagé à créer un réseau complet d'aires patrimoniales protégées représentatives du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. Pour atteindre ce but, Parcs Canada a besoin de la collaboration et de la participation de tous les intervenants.

Tous les efforts seront faits pour gérer les aires naturelles protégées d'une façon écosystémique, tout en cherchant à répondre aux besoins sociaux et économiques compatibles et en préservant l'état naturel de ces aires. Les aires du patrimoine culturel seront gérées selon les principes et pratiques de gestion des ressources culturelles, de sorte que leur intégrité commémorative sera assurée et que la vie socio-économique des communautés où elles sont situées sera améliorée.

Les aires patrimoniales protégées peuvent mettre en évidence l'interdépendance des êtres humains et de l'environnement, et elles peuvent ainsi offrir d'excellentes occasions d'éducation et d'interprétation. Les valeurs patrimoniales du Canada devraient donc être de mieux en mieux reconnues comme faisant partie d'une éthique qui rassemble tous les Canadiens.

Voilà donc les défis de l'avenir.