2012-2013 Parks Canada Agency Corporate Plan

Section IV - Other Items of Interest

Update to Parks Canada Long-Term Capital Plan

Strategies and Priorities

The management of assets, both contemporary and cultural, is central to the delivery of three of the five program activities in the Agency as well as for internal services delivery. The protection of cultural assets is often an end in itself, while contemporary assets are primarily a means to achieve the Agency’s mandate and program objectives.

During 2011-12, the Agency continued its transition to the Government of Canada’s Policy on Investment Planning - Assets and Acquired Services (2007). This will effectively replace the Parks Canada Agency (PCA) Long Term Capital Plan / Process with a new five year Investment Plan / Process during the period covered by this plan. The Parks Canada Investment Plan defines the direction, capacity and commitments of Parks Canada with respect to long term investments in assets and acquired services. The Investment Plan aims to inform the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and the Treasury Board Ministers of investment priorities and strategies for the five-year period (2011-12 to 2015-16) within available resources. It provides a description of high-profile complex and high risk investments, as well as a summary for all other investments.

The Parks Canada Project Management Standard will ensure a consistent approach to project management across the Agency; serve as evidence of a consistent project management approach in the Organizational Project Management Capacity Assessment (OPMCA) and support a capacity rating commensurate with the complexity of the Agency’s projects; and facilitate prompt and consistent responses to increased reporting requirements (e.g. MAF, OAG), demonstrating due diligence and probity.

During the planning period, Park Canada will continue the development and implementation of information management systems and tools for asset management and realty holdings. The Agency will also continue to improve its asset management policy framework in order to provide nationally consistent direction and tools for the management of assets as well as the prioritization of its capital investments.

Context

As one of the largest federal custodians, Parks Canada manages a diverse and widespread portfolio of assets with a current replacement value of more than $11 billion. The variety of fixed assets included in the Agency’s inventory range from modern buildings to fortifications, to dams and weirs constructed in the 19th century, to highways and bridges cut through the Rockies. The Agency also manages assets such as wildlife overpasses, underpasses, fencing and jumpouts designed specifically to support ecological integrity and ecosystem protection objectives. Parks Canada’s assets are found, literally, from sea to sea to sea. A highly diverse range of skills and resources is required to manage this varied portfolio.

Parks Canada also welcomes more than 20 million visitors each year, which poses the unusual challenge of managing these assets in ways that facilitate visitor experience while ensuring the protection and presentation of the heritage places it administers.

Parks Canada’s assets are divided into four groups that present unique management challenges. Cultural assets are core to Parks Canada’s mandate; visitor facility assets are required to enable the visitor experience; townsite and throughway infrastructure assets administered on behalf of the Federal Government by virtue of their location within national parks or national historic sites; and, supporting assets that support service delivery of Parks Canada’s programs and services.

Cultural Assets (23% of total asset portfolio)

Cultural assets are core to Parks Canada’s mandate, primarily for Heritage Resources Conservation (Program Activity 2), Public Appreciation and Understanding (Program Activity 3), and Visitor Experience (Program Activity 4).

Cultural resources, found in 167 Parks Canada administered national historic sites and 43 national parks, include historic and archaeological resources that are nationally significant and have historic value. Cultural resources are irreplaceable and require a high level of management expertise distinct from that required for contemporary assets. The consequence of not making timely capital interventions is the permanent loss of Canada’s heritage fabric since the average year of construction of these assets is: 1902 for buildings; 1879 for marine works; and 1844 for fortifications.

Visitor Facility Assets (44% of total asset portfolio)

Visitor facilities provide opportunities for Canadians to access, learn about and experience their natural and historical heritage and are the mainstay of Parks Canada’s Visitor Experience Program (Program Activity 4). Visitor facilities include reception and interpretive centres, trails, campgrounds and day-use areas, as well as related assets such as access roads, parking lots and water and wastewater systems.

Generating more than $100 million in revenue, these assets rank among the principal assets of Canada’s tourism industry, contributing $3 billion to Canada’s Gross Domestic Product and the equivalent of 41,700 full-time jobs.

Townsite and Throughway Infrastructure Assets (26% of total asset portfolio)

Townsite and Throughway Infrastructure Assets include highways, contemporary bridges and dams on historic canals and municipal structures in national park townsites. Parks Canada is responsible for approximately 1,000 kilometres of highways which form part of the Trans-Canada Highway and various provincial highways. Parks Canada is also responsible for: waterway management infrastructure, including over 200 dams and 115 bridges; municipal infrastructure including roads and bridges, and; water and wastewater treatment systems within national park townsites. This group of assets is associated with Townsite and Throughway Infrastructure (Program Activity 5).

Supporting assets (7% of total asset portfolio)

Supporting assets include assets such as maintenance compounds and administration centres which are associated with a wide variety of Internal Services and support the delivery of Parks Canada’s various programs.

Materiel Management Framework

The Parks Canada Asset Management Directive provides the overall direction for the management of Agency assets. In addition, specific directives, guidelines and tools are in place to guide the management of materiel such as fleet vehicles, vessels, historic objects and information technology assets. A number of national management systems and databases are used to track inventories and other pertinent data to inform decision-making.

Capital Asset Management Strategy

Aging infrastructure and inadequate level of recapitalization and maintenance could result in failure of assets and/or significant impairment of built cultural resources, which could compromise public safety, hinder Parks Canada's ability to deliver on its mandate and damage the Agency's reputation. Given the current levels of capital funding, the Agency will continue to focus its efforts on high-risk categories of assets such as dams, bridges and highways. Strategic investments are being made to inspect and maintain these assets in a manner that ensures public safety as well as promotes visitor enjoyment and socio-economic benefits.

To effectively manage its capital program and continue meeting its asset custodial obligations, Parks Canada has increased its asset management capacity. This includes ensuring the recruitment of asset management professionals, delivering project management training programs consistent with the Policy on the Management of Projects to asset managers as well as the refinement of investment priorities and the associated asset /risk management frameworks to better achieve outcomes.

The Agency will continue implementing new Treasury Board policies in the areas of investment planning and the management of projects which includes improving access to reliable information to better support strategic decision-making. The new five year Investment Plan, when approved by Treasury Board, will include a listing of significant capital investments, and will be guided by the Policy on the Management of Projects, the Standard for Organizational Project Management Capacity, and the Standard for Project Complexity and Risk. The Parks Canada Project Management Standard will ensure a consistent approach to project management across the Agency.

Parks Canada’s planned capital spending for the next five years is presented in the table Summary of Capital Spending by Program Activity, which can be found on the Treasury Board Secretariat’s website at http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/rpp/2012-2013/info/info-eng.asp.

Details on Project Spending

(in millions of dollars)
Total Authorities Current Estimated Total Cost Forecast Spending to 31-Mar-12 Planned Spending 2012-13 Planned Spending 2013-14 Planned Spending 2014-15 Future Years Spending
Ontario
Trent Severn Waterway - Bolsover Dam at Lock 37 34.7 34.7 1.5 1.5 24.7 7.0 0.0
Manitoba
Riding Mountain National Park of Canada - Wasagaming Waste Water Treatment Plant 18.0 12.7 12.5 0.2 0.0 0.0 0.0
Alberta
Banff National Park of Canada - Cave and Basin Redevelopment 13.9 13.8 4.2 9.6 0.0 0.0 0.0
Banff National Park of Canada - Trans-Canada Highway Twinning (Gateway and Borders Crossing Fund) 100.0 91.4 76.5 14.9 0.0 0.0 0.0
Banff National Park of Canada - Trans-Canada Highway Twinning (Budget 09/Canada’s Economic Action Plan) 130.0 130.0 68.4 36.1 25.5 0.0 0.0

Note: The purpose of this table is to report on projects underway during the reporting period that exceed the Agency’s delegated project approval level.



Previous Page | Table of Contents

Plan d'entreprise de l'Agence Parcs Canada 2012-2013

Section IV - Autres sujets d'intérêt

Mise à jour du Plan d’immobilisation à long terme de Parcs Canada

Stratégies et priorités

La gestion des biens, tant contemporains que culturels, est centrale dans la réalisation de trois des cinq activités de programme de l’Agence, de même que dans la prestation de services internes. La protection des biens culturels est une fin en soi, alors que les biens contemporains constituent un moyen d’atteindre les objectifs de programme et de réaliser le mandat de l’Agence.

Au cours de l’exercice 2011-2012, l’Agence a continué sa transition vers la Politique de planification des investissements - Actifs et services acquis (2007) du gouvernement du Canada. Ceci mènera au remplacement, au cours de la période visée par ce plan, du Plan d’immobilisations à long terme de l’Agence Parcs Canada (APC) par un nouveau processus/plan d’investissement quinquennal. Le Plan d’investissement de Parcs Canada définit l’orientation, la capacité et les engagements de l’Agence en ce qui concerne les investissements à long terme dans les actifs et les services acquis. Le Plan d’investissement vise à informer le directeur général de l’Agence et le président du Conseil du Trésor des priorités et des stratégies d’investissement pour la période quinquennale (de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016) dans les limites des ressources disponibles. Il fournit une description des investissements complexes et de grande envergure et des investissements à haut risque ainsi qu’un résumé de tous les autres investissements.

La Norme de gestion de projet de Parcs Canada assurera une approche constante dans la gestion de projet dans toute l’Agence; elle servira de preuve d’approche constante de gestion de projet dans l’Évaluation de la capacité organisationnelle de gestion de projet et elle soutiendra une évaluation de la capacité correspondant à la complexité des projets de l’Agence. Cette norme permettra à Parcs Canada de répondre promptement et de façon constante aux exigences accrues de production de rapports (p. ex. CRG, BVG) en faisant preuve de diligence et de probité.

Au cours de la période de planification, Parcs Canada continuera à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre des systèmes et des outils de gestion de l’information pour la gestion des actifs et des biens immobiliers. L’Agence continuera également à améliorer son cadre stratégique de gestion des biens afin d’offrir, à l’échelle nationale, une orientation et des outils uniformes pour la gestion des biens et pour l’établissement de priorités dans les dépenses en immobilisations.

Contexte

Avec ses biens immobiliers aussi diversifiés qu’étendus ayant une valeur de remplacement de plus de 11 milliards de dollars, l’Agence Parcs Canada est considérée comme l’une des plus importantes dépositaires des biens du gouvernement canadien. La diversité des biens immobiliers inscrits à l’inventaire de l’Agence est sans pareil - bâtiments modernes, fortifications, barrages et déversoirs construits au XIXe siècle ou encore routes et ponts découpés dans les Rocheuses. À cela s’ajoutent des passages supérieurs et inférieurs pour la faune ainsi que des clôtures et des rampes conçues expressément pour respecter les objectifs d’intégrité écologique et de protection des écosystèmes. Les biens de Parcs Canada se trouvent littéralement d’un océan à l’autre. La saine gestion de cet inventaire varié nécessite une gamme de compétences et de ressources très étoffée.

Parcs Canada accueille plus de 20 millions de visiteurs par année, ce qui pose des défis particuliers en matière de gestion de ses biens. Parcs Canada gère ses biens immobiliers de manière à soutenir l’expérience du visiteur tout en protégeant et en présentant les lieux patrimoniaux qu’elle administre.

Les biens de Parcs Canada sont répartis en quatre groupes qui posent des problèmes de gestion très particuliers : les ressources culturelles qui sont au cœur du mandat de Parcs Canada, les installations pour les visiteurs qui sont essentielles aux expériences qui leur sont offertes, les biens de l’infrastructure des lotissements urbains et routes de transit administrés au nom du gouvernement fédéral qui relèvent de Parcs Canada en raison de leur emplacement à l’intérieur des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux, et les biens complémentaires qui appuient la prestation des programmes et services de Parcs Canada.

Biens culturels (23 % du portefeuille des biens)

Les biens culturels sont au cœur du mandat de Parcs Canada. Ils se trouvent principalement sous la rubrique Conservation des ressources patrimoniales (AP 2), Appréciation et compréhension du public (AP 3) et Expérience du visiteur (AP 4).

Les ressources culturelles des 43 parcs nationaux et des 167 lieux historiques nationaux administrés par Parcs Canada comprennent des ressources historiques et archéologiques qui ont une importance nationale et une valeur historique. Les ressources culturelles sont irremplaçables et nécessitent un niveau élevé de compétences en gestion, différent de ceux touchant les biens contemporains. Ne pas procéder à des interventions propices sur ces ressources peut entraîner la perte permanente du tissu patrimonial du Canada. L’année moyenne de construction de ces ressources varie en fonction des catégories : 1902 pour les bâtiments, 1879 pour les constructions marines et 1844 pour les fortifications.

Installations d’accueil des visiteurs (44 % du portefeuille des biens)

Ces installations permettent aux visiteurs d’avoir accès à leur patrimoine naturel et historique, de le découvrir et de mieux l’apprécier. Les installations destinées aux visiteurs sont associées à l’activité de programme 4 - Expérience du visiteur - et comprennent des centres d’accueil et d’interprétation, des sentiers, des terrains de camping et des aires de fréquentation diurne ainsi que des biens connexes comme des routes d’accès, des stationnements et des réseaux d’aqueduc et d’égout.

Ces installations sont à la base même du programme de production de recettes de Parcs Canada (plus de 100 millions de dollars) et figurent parmi les principaux atouts de l’industrie du tourisme du Canada, en produisant 3 milliards de dollars du produit intérieur brut et l’équivalent de 41 700 emplois à temps plein.

Biens de l’infrastructure des lotissements urbains et routes de transit (26 % du portefeuille des biens)

Les biens de l’infrastructure des lotissements urbains et routes de transit comprennent les routes, les ponts contemporains et les barrages contemporains sur les canaux historiques, ainsi que l’infrastructure municipale des lotissements urbains dans les parcs nationaux. Parcs Canada est responsable d’environ 1000 km de route faisant partie de la Transcanadienne et de diverses routes provinciales. Elle est également responsable de la gestion des infrastructures des voies navigables, dont plus de 200 barrages de régulation des niveaux d’eau et 115 ponts, et de l’infrastructure municipale qui comprend les routes, les ponts, les réseaux d’aqueduc et les installations de traitement des eaux usées dans les lotissements urbains. Ce groupe de biens est associé à l’activité de programme 5 - Infrastructure des lotissements urbains et routes de transit.

Biens complémentaires (7 % du portefeuille des biens)

Les biens complémentaires comprennent notamment les centres d’entretien et les centres d’administration qui sont associés à des activités diverses des Services internes. Ils soutiennent la prestation de divers programmes de Parcs Canada.

Cadre de gestion des biens

La directive sur la gestion des biens de Parcs Canada établit une orientation générale pour la gestion des biens de l’Agence. De plus, des directives spécifiques, des lignes directrices et des outils guident la gestion des biens tels que le parc de véhicules, les navires, les objets historiques et les biens liés à la technologie de l’information. Un certain nombre de systèmes nationaux de gestion et de bases de données sont utilisés pour retracer les inventaires et d’autres données pertinentes qui permettent d’éclairer le processus de prise de décision.

Stratégie de gestion des immobilisations

Les infrastructures vieillissantes et un niveau inadéquat de réfection et d’entretien pourraient entraîner la perte de biens et/ou la dégradation importante de ressources culturelles bâties, ce qui pourrait compromettre la sécurité du public, entraver la capacité de Parcs Canada à livrer son mandat et nuire à la réputation de l’Agence. Étant donné les niveaux actuels d’investissement en capital, l’Agence continuera de mettre l’accent sur les biens exposés à des risques élevés, comme les barrages, les ponts et les autoroutes. Parcs Canada fait des investissements stratégiques pour inspecter et maintenir ces biens d’une manière qui assure la sécurité du public et favorise le plaisir des visiteurs et les avantages socio-économiques

Afin de gérer efficacement son programme d’immobilisations et de continuer à respecter ses obligations relatives à la garde de ses biens, Parcs Canada investit dans la croissance de sa capacité de gestion des biens. Cela comprend notamment le recrutement de professionnels en gestion des biens, la prestation de programmes de formation en gestion de projets conformes à la Politique sur la gestion des projets pour les gestionnaires de biens, ainsi que la révision des priorités d’investissement et des cadres connexes de gestion des biens et des risques afin d’atteindre de meilleurs résultats.

L’Agence continuera à mettre en œuvre les nouvelles politiques du Conseil du Trésor relatives à la gestion des projets et à la planification des investissements, notamment en améliorant l’accès à de l’information fiable pour mieux soutenir la prise de décision stratégique. Une fois qu’il sera approuvé par le Conseil du Trésor, le nouveau Plan d’investissement quinquennal comprendra une liste des dépenses majeures en immobilisations et il sera guidé par la Politique sur la gestion des projets, la Norme relative à la capacité organisationnelle de gestion de projet et la Norme relative à la complexité et aux risques des projets. La Norme de gestion de projet de Parcs Canada assurera une approche constante dans la gestion de projet dans toute l’Agence.

Les dépenses en capital planifiées pour les cinq prochaines années sont présentées dans le tableau Sommaire des dépenses en capital par activité de programme, qui se trouve sur le site internet du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor à l’adresse suivante : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/rpp/2012-2013/info/info-fra.asp.

Détails des dépenses affectées aux projets

(en millions de dollars)
Dépenses autorisées Coût total estimé courant
Prévisions de dépenses jusqu’au 31 mars 2012 Dépenses
prévues
2012-
2013
Dépenses
prévues
2013-
2014
Dépenses
prévues
2014-
2015
Dépenses à effectuer dans les années futures
Ontario
Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn - Barrage de Bolsover à l’écluse 37 34,7 34,7 1,5 1,5 24,7 7,0 0,0
Manitoba
Parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding - Usine traitement des eaux usées de Wasagaming 18,0 12,7 12,5 0,2 0,0 0,0 0,0
Alberta
Parc national du Canada Banff - Réfection du lieu historique national Cave and Basin 13,9 13,8 4,2 9,6 0,0 0,0 0,0
Parc national du Canada Banff - Élargissement à quatre voies de la Transcanadienne (Fonds pour les portes d’entrée et les passages frontaliers) 100,0 91,4 76,5 14,9 0,0 0,0 0,0
Parc national du Canada Banff - Élargissement à quatre voies de la Transcanadienne (Budget de 2009 / Plan d’action économique du Canada) 130,0 130,0 68,4 36,1 25,5 0,0 0,0

N.B. : L’objectif de ce tableau est de dresser un rapport des projets en cours pendant la période couverte par ce plan et qui excèdent le pouvoir délégué à l’Agence en matière de projets.



Page précédente | Table des matières