Common menu bar links

Commercial Film and Photography Application Guidelines for Aulavik, Ivvavik and Tuktut Nogait National Parks

The Parks Canada Western Arctic Field Unit

Appendix B – FILMING AND PHOTOGRAPHY CODE OF ETHICS FOR THE WESTERN ARCTIC FIELD UNIT

This code of ethics has been established to provide professional photographers and commercial film crews with a set of guidelines to assist with their efforts in minimizing their impact on the ecological integrity of the ecosystem they are operating in, and to enhance awareness towards their personal safety. The code of ethics also acts as general conditions of this permit. Failure to comply with the code of ethics could lead to a suspension or revocation of the current permit and refusal of any future permits.

General

  • Photographers/Film makers are required to become familiar with and abide by the Canada National Parks Act, applicable National Park Regulations and Parks Canada Policy (http://www.pc.gc.ca/docs/index_e.asp). Please read and review all park information packages relevant to the type of landscape you will be operating in and wildlife you may encounter.
  • Registering and deregistering from the parks is conducted in the Parks Canada office in Inuvik.
  • Aircraft landing permits are obtained from the Parks Canada office in Inuvik.

Wildlife

  • Intentional harassing, disturbing, or feeding of wildlife is prohibited by the Canada National Parks Act. For the purpose of this Code of Ethics, “harassment” is defined as "any human action that causes unusual behaviour, or significant change of behaviour by an animal". “Disturbance” is defined as “to intrude upon, inconvenience or interfere with”. While each individual encounter may seem inconsequential, the cumulative effects caused by repeated encounters may result in critical behaviour change. Examples are missed feedings, habituation, increased risk of predation, etc.
  • Attracting animals with food, calls or scents, using blinds, or altering vegetation around photographic subjects constitutes harassment.
  • Maintain a 200 m buffer between you and any animal feeding on a carcass.
  • If a wolf, fox, or bear is approaching you and investigating property (i.e. your gear, tripods, cameras, backpack, food containers, or water bottles), it is displaying unnatural or conditioned behaviour. Attempt to dissuade the animal by yelling, firing “bear bangers” in the air, banging pots together, and/or stomping your feet. Report the incident to the Duty Warden at 867-777-4893.
  • Report any wolf and bear encounters to Parks Canada staff upon your return.
  • Your observations often provide us with valuable information to help better understand and protect park resources. Park wardens, naturalists and biologists are interested in your observations of wildlife and in answering any questions you may have about park resources.
  • Wildlife closure areas will vary from year to year, or in the case of emergency closures, from day to day. Check with the Duty Warden prior to your departure to the park.

Personal Effects

  • Keep your gear secured and stored as neatly as possible. Gear scattered around your site may encourage curious animals to investigate.

Aircraft

  • Take-off and landing of aircraft in national parks and landmarks is strictly controlled. Take-off and landing sites must be indicated in the application and are pre-approved through an Aircraft Landing Permit.
  • Photographing, filming or viewing wildlife from the air should be conducted in such a manner so as to not disturb the wildlife.
  • Access or over-flights by fixed wing or helicopter follow Ministry of Transport aeronautical regulations and Parks Canada regulations. Flights are no lower than 500 feet above the nearest obstacle in unpopulated areas and no lower than 1000 feet above the nearest obstacle in populated areas. However, Environmental Impact Screening Committee (EISC) guidelines recommend that flights should remain at an altitude of 2000 feet (609.6 metres) above the nearest obstacle in both populated and unpopulated areas. It is strongly encouraged that film and photography companies adhere to EISC guidelines. It is incumbent on these companies to ensure the pilot is aware of these regulations.

Film Production

  • All special effects and stunts within the selected Parks Canada location must be approved in advance.
  • The use of wild animals that are trained for performance purposes is prohibited in national parks.
  • Filming activities should be conducted so as to not disturb or alter the environment or heritage resources. Areas for camping, setup, etc. will be pre-designated by the Filming and Photography Permitting Officer.
  • Provide for garbage and human waste removal from the park.
  • The construction of props or sets on-site must be approved in advance. The location must be maintained free of construction debris and litter at all times and must be returned to its prior condition when filming is completed.

Private Property

  • Respect private property. Permission should be sought prior to using any cabins located in or near the national parks.

Regulations

  • Resource protection and visitor safety are the dominant factors in making law enforcement decisions.
  • No terms of this permit limits the application of any Federal laws, Territorial laws, or comprehensive land claims. The Western Arctic Field Unit Filming and Photography Permit and Aircraft Landing Permits only grant authorization under the Canada National Parks Act and Regulations.

Visitors

  • Please conduct filming and photography activities as inconspicuously as possible so as to not interrupt the public’s normal use of national parks. The most likely period of conflict with public use occurs during June, July and August.

Traditional Users

  • Inuvialuit beneficiaries of the Western Arctic Claim have the right to pursue their traditional harvesting activities within Aulavik and Ivvavik national parks as well as that portion of Tuktut Nogait National Park that falls within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. Beneficiaries of the Sahtu Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim have similar rights within the portion of Tuktut Nogait National Park that falls within the Sahtu Settlement Area.
  • Filming and photography activities must not interrupt traditional users’ use and enjoyment of the land or their use of private cabins or camps on the land.

Directives en matière de tournage et de photographie dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Ivvavik et Tuktut Nogait

Unité de gestion de l'Arctique de l'Ouest de Parcs Canada

Annexe B – CODE D'ÉTHIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE TOURNAGE ET DE PHOTOGRAPHIE POUR L'UNITÉ DE GESTION DE L'ARCTIQUE DE L'OUEST

Ce code d'éthique a été établi afin de fournir aux photographes professionnels et aux équipes de tournage de films commerciaux un ensemble de directives qui les aident à réduire au minimum leur incidence sur l'intégrité écologique de l'écosystème dans lequel ils mènent leurs activités, ainsi qu'à être plus conscients de leur sécurité personnelle. Le code d'éthique sert également de conditions générales de ce permis. Le non-respect du code peut entraîner la suspension ou la révocation du permis actuel et le refus d'accorder tout autre permis dans l'avenir.

Renseignements généraux

  • Les photographes et les cinéastes doivent prendre connaissance de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, des règlements applicables des parcs nationaux et de la politique de Parcs Canada, et les respecter (http://www.pc.gc.ca/docs/index_f.asp). Veuillez lire et passer en revue toutes les trousses d'information se rapportant au type de paysage dans lequel vous voulez mener vos activités et à la faune que vous pourrez rencontrer.
  • L'inscription et la désinscription des parcs ont lieu au bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik.
  • Les permis d'atterrissage par aéronef peuvent être obtenus au bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik.

Faune

  • La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada interdit de harceler, de perturber ou de nourrir la faune. Aux fins de ce code d'éthique, harcèlement désigne « toute action qui entraîne un comportement anormal ou un changement important de comportement chez un animal ». Perturber signifie « faire intrusion, déranger ou nuire ». Chaque rencontre en soi peut sembler anodine et sans conséquence, mais l'effet cumulatif de rencontres répétées peut entraîner un changement critique de comportement, par exemple nourrissages manqués, accoutumance, risque accru de prédation, etc.
  • Le fait d'attirer des animaux avec de la nourriture, des bruits ou des odeurs, d'utiliser des affûts ou de modifier la végétation autour des sujets à photographier est considéré comme du harcèlement.
  • Maintenez une zone tampon de 200 m entre vous et tout animal qui se nourrit d'une carcasse.
  • Si un loup, un renard ou un ours s'approche de vous et examine votre matériel (p. ex. équipement, trépied, appareil photo, sac à dos, contenants de nourriture ou bouteilles d'eau), son comportement est anormal ou conditionné. Essayez de le dissuader en criant, en lançant des artifices d'effarouchement d'ours en l'air, en frappant des casseroles l'une contre l'autre et/ou en frappent le sol du pied. Signalez l'incident au garde de service en composant le (867) 777-4893.
  • Signalez toute observation de loup ou d'ours au personnel de Parcs Canada à votre retour.
  • Vos observations nous fournissent souvent des renseignements précieux qui aident à mieux comprendre et protéger les ressources du parc. Les gardes de parc, les naturalistes et les biologistes s'intéressent à vos observations de la faune et seront heureux de répondre à vos questions au sujet des ressources du parc.
  • Les aires de fermeture varient d'une année à l'autre et même d'une journée à l'autre en cas d'urgence. Consultez le garde de service avant de partir vers le parc.

Effets personnels

  • Conservez votre matériel en sécurité et le mieux rangé possible. Le matériel éparpillé peut encourager les animaux curieux à venir l'examiner.

Aéronef

  • Le décollage et l'atterrissage d'un aéronef dans les parcs nationaux et dans les sites naturels font l'objet d'un contrôle strict. Les lieux de décollage et d'atterrissage doivent être indiqués sur la demande et sont préapprouvés par l'intermédiaire d'un permis d'atterrissage d'aéronef.
  • La photographie, le filmage ou l'observation de la faune depuis un aéronef doit être mené de façon à ne pas perturber la faune.
  • L'accès ou le survol par voilure fixe ou hélicoptère suit le règlement aéronautique du ministère du Transport et le règlement de Parcs Canada. L'altitude minimale des vols est de 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus près dans les régions non peuplées et de 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus près dans les régions peuplées. Les directives du Comité d'étude des répercussions environnementales recommandent toutefois que les vols aient lieu à une altitude de 2 000 pieds (609,6 mètres) au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus près dans les régions peuplées et non peuplées. Nous encourageons fortement les sociétés de tournage et de photographie à suivre les directives du Comité. Il incombe à ces sociétés de s'assurer que le pilote est au courant de ce règlement.

Réalisation de film

  • Tous les effets spéciaux et les cascades à l'endroit choisi de Parcs Canada doivent être approuvés d'avance.
  • Il est interdit d'utiliser des animaux sauvages domptés dans les parcs nationaux.
  • Les activités de tournage doivent avoir lieu de façon à ne pas perturber ou altérer l'environnement ou les ressources du patrimoine. Les aires de camping, les plateaux, etc. seront désignés d'avance par l'agent responsable des permis de tournage et de photographie.
  • La société de production doit fournir des réceptacles pour les ordures et les déchets humains.
  • La construction d'accessoires ou de décors sur place doit être approuvée d'avance. L'endroit doit être libre de tout débris de construction en tout temps et doit être remis dans l'état où il était avant le tournage.

Propriété privée

  • Respectez la propriété privée et obtenez la permission avant d'utiliser toute cabine située dans un parc national ou à proximité.

Règlements

  • La protection des ressources et la sécurité des visiteurs sont les principaux facteurs dans les décisions touchant l'application de la loi.
  • Aucune condition de ce permis ne limite l'application des lois fédérales et territoriales et des revendications territoriales globales. Les permis de tournage et de photographie et d'atterrissage d'aéronef de l'Unité de gestion de l'Arctique de l'Ouest n'accordent une autorisation qu'en vertu de la Loi et des règlements sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Visiteurs

  • Veuillez exercer vos activités de tournage et de photographie le plus discrètement possible afin de ne pas nuire à l'utilisation normale des parcs nationaux par le public. La période de conflit la plus probable s'étend de juin à août.

Utilisateurs traditionnels

  • Les bénéficiaires Inuvialuit de la revendication de l'Arctique de l'Ouest ont le droit d'exercer leurs activités de récolte traditionnelles dans les parcs Aulavik et Ivvavik ainsi que dans la partie du parc national Tuktut Nogait qui se trouve dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit. Les bénéficiaires de la revendication territoriale globale des Déné et Métis du Sahtu ont des droits semblables dans la partie du parc national Tuktut Nogait qui se trouve dans la région désignée du Sahtu.
  • Les activités de tournage et de photographie ne doivent pas empêcher les utilisateurs traditionnels de jouir et de tirer parti de leurs terres ou d'utiliser leurs cabines ou campements privés sur le territoire.