Common menu bar links

Commercial Film and Photography Application Guidelines for Aulavik, Ivvavik and Tuktut Nogait National Parks

The Parks Canada Western Arctic Field Unit

The national parks of Parks Canada’s Western Arctic Field Unit include Aulavik, Ivvavik and Tuktut Nogait National Parks. These parks span some of the most spectacular and ecologically significant areas of the western Arctic, offering a vast range of unparalleled film and photographic opportunities. In the interest of protecting the park’s resources while ensuring that visitor experiences and the rights of land claim beneficiaries are not affected, commercial filming and photographic activities are subject to certain restrictions and special considerations.

To carry out commercial filming or photography in the national parks of the western Arctic, an application must be submitted to Parks Canada a minimum of 4 months prior to activities. If approved, a Film/Photography Permit will be issued which outlines conditions and supplementary requirements associated with the production. The following information will assist in the preparation of a film/photography application.

Through the application process, Parks Canada can provide you with:

  • Details on park regulations, conditions and requirements

    All film /photography activities must comply with National Park Regulations, policies and conditions and film crews must obtain a landing permit for aircraft access to the parks.

  • Advice about the environmental impact assessment required under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA), and other potential environmental assessments

    Commercial Filming and Photography can potentially trigger other environmental assessment processes: the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA), the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act (YESAA), and the Mackenzie Valley Environmental Assessment Act (MVEAA).

  • Consultation and advice on film/photography opportunities and locations

    Locations must be determined prior to a permit being issued.

  • A liaison for the three national parks of the western Arctic

    One application and Film/Photography Permit can cover multiple national parks.

  • Assistance with interviews with park staff, traditional users and specialists

    Interviews may be available depending on scope of project and availability of staff.

Directives en matière de tournage et de photographie dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Ivvavik et Tuktut Nogait

Unité de gestion de l'Arctique de l'Ouest de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux de l'Unité de gestion de l'Arctique de l'Ouest de Parcs Canada sont les parcs Aulavik, Ivvavik et Tuktut Nogait. Ces parcs renferment certaines des régions les plus importantes sur le plan écologique et les plus spectaculaires de l'Arctique de l'Ouest, et ils offrent des possibilités de tournage et de photographie inégalées. Pour que leurs ressources soient protégées et que l'on ne nuise pas à l'expérience des visiteurs et aux droits des bénéficiaires des revendications territoriales , les activités de tournage et de photographie sont assujetties à certaines restrictions et doivent tenir compte de certains facteurs particuliers.

Pour avoir le droit de tourner ou de faire de la photo dans les parcs nationaux de l'Arctique de l'Ouest, il faut présenter une demande par écrit à Parcs Canada au moins quatre mois avant le début des activités. Si la demande est approuvée, Parcs Canada délivrera un permis de tournage/photographie assorti des conditions et des exigences supplémentaires à respecter dans le cadre de la production. Les renseignements ci-dessous visent à faciliter la préparation d'une demande de tournage/photographie.

Dans le cadre de ce processus d'approbation, Parcs Canada peut vous fournir :

  • des détails sur les règlements, les conditions et les exigences des parcs;

    Toutes les activités de tournage//photographie doivent respecter les règlements, les politiques et les conditions des parcs nationaux et les équipes de tournage doivent obtenir un permis d'atterrissage d'aéronef pour avoir accès aux parcs.

  • des conseils sur l'évaluation environnementale exigée en verte de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit et sur d'autres évaluations environnementales potentielles

    Les activités de tournage/photographie peuvent déclencher d'autres processus d'évaluation environnementale : la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, la Loi sur l'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon et la Loi sur l'évaluation environnementale de la vallée du Mackenzie.

  • des conseils sur les possibilités de tournage et de photographie et sur les meilleurs emplacements;

    Les emplacements doivent être établis avant que le permis ne soit délivré.

  • des services de liaison pour les trois parcs nationaux de l'Arctique de l'Ouest;

    Une demande et un permis de tournage/photographie peuvent servir à réaliser des activités dans plus d'un parc national.

  • une aide pour l'organisation d'entrevues avec le personnel, les utilisateurs traditionnels et les spécialistes du parc.

    Il est possible d'organiser des entrevues selon l'envergure du projet et la disponibilité du personnel.