Common menu bar links

Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

2.4 Effective Communication of the Reasons for Designation as a National Historic Site

2.4.1 Introduction

Protection is only one part of commemorative integrity. As the National Historic Sites Policy states (p. 78), “Protection and presentation are fundamental to commemoration, since without protection there can be no historic site to be enjoyed, and without presentation there can be no understanding of why the site is important to our history and, hence, to all Canadians.”

This section of the CIS should identify the reasons for designation which must be communicated in order for the public to understand why the site is important. This section should also identify any additional essential information required to ensure the understanding of these reasons. It provides guidance, through objectives, on the effective communication of these messages.

2.4.1.1 Definition

The reasons for designation express, in the form of messages, why this place was designated a national historic site.

2.4.1.2 Describing Reasons for Designation

The reasons for designation are derived from the Statement of Commemorative Intent. In most situations there will be one message for each of the reasons contained in the Statement of Commemorative Intent.

For example, there are two points in the SOCI for Skoki Ski Lodge NHSC: Skoki Ski Lodge was designated a national historic site in 1992. The reasons for designation, as derived from the 1992 HSMBC minute, are:

  • it is constructed in the Rustic Design Tradition, and ;
  • it is associated with tourism development and outdoor recreation in the national parks.

Therefore, there are two reasons for designation for this site:

  • Skoki Ski Lodge is constructed in the Rustic Design Tradition
  • Skoki Ski Lodge is associated with tourism development and outdoor recreation in the national parks.
2.4.2 Context Messages
2.4.2.1 Definition

Context messages are those messages that are essential to understanding the reasons for designation of the site. For example, one cannot appreciate the national historic significance of Skoki Ski Lodge without understanding what is meant by the Rustic Design Tradition. This is an essential context message.

2.4.2.2 Describing Context Messages

Context messages should be included with each reason for designation where they are needed to understand these reasons.

While context messages are essential to understanding the reasons for designation, they are not reasons for national significance.

Context messages should always be written in full sentences and not as topic headings or phrases.

The following example illustrates the relationship between the reasons for designation and context messages:

The reason for designation for Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station NHSC is:

  • The Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station played a role in the Canadian contribution to the International Geophysical Year 1957-58.

This reason for designation is further explained by the following context messages:

  • International Geophysical Year was an international project of concentrated, coordinated exploration of the earth and its cosmic environment.
  • Cosmic ray research was an important part of the International Geophysical Year.
  • Canadian scientists made an important contribution to that research.
  • The Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station was the most important Canadian station.
2.4.2.3 This is a National Historic Site

Those who come in contact with national historic sites need to understand the concept of national historic site designation in order to fully appreciate the site’s importance. Consequently, there is a standard context message relating to the designation.

The designation of Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station as a national historic site is explained by the following standard context message:

  • Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station is a national historic site, a place designated by the Government of Canada as a site of importance to all Canadians because of its national historic significance.
2.4.3 Objectives for Effective Communication

This section should describe the objectives for the effective communication of the reasons for the site’s designation.

In the second element of commemorative integrity, the audience to be reached is defined as the public. This includes on-site and virtual visitors, as well as stakeholders. The audience also includes the site stewards: owners, managers and staff.

Effective communication means that the overall heritage presentation program for a site, in terms of all methods used to reach the public, conveys the reasons for the site’s designation. It also implies that those who experience heritage presentation understand these reasons. It is not sufficient to merely present the reasons for designation to the public; efforts must be made to ensure the public understands them. The success of heritage presentation programming should be monitored to ensure its effectiveness.

2.4.3.1 Identifying Objectives for Effective Communication

The objectives for the effective communication of the reasons for designation will read as follows:

The reasons for designation as a national historic site are effectively communicated to the public when:

  • the overall heritage presentation experience conveys the reasons for designation as a national historic site.
  • visitors and the site stewards understand the reasons for designation as a national historic site.
  • management decisions are based on adequate and sound information and are made in accordance with the principles and practice of the CRM Policy.

Site-specific objectives relating to messaging may be needed. These can be added as required. The objectives should be prepared in accordance with section 2.3.3 - Objectives for Cultural Resources.

An example of a site specific messaging objective is:

  • visitors appreciate and understand differing contemporary views and later interpretations of the history and events associated with the site’s national historic significance (This should be used at a site like Batoche, where history and events are complex or disputed).

Site-specific objectives should be written as goals, not as management activities which may lead to the goal. Instead of writing “a heritage communication strategy is developed and implemented,” the objective should be that visitors understand the reasons for designation as a national historic site.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

2.4 Communication efficace des motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national

2.4.1 Introduction

La protection n'est qu'un volet de l'intégrité commémorative. Comme l'indique la Politique sur les lieux historiques nationaux (p. 80), « la protection et la mise en valeur ... sont des éléments fondamentaux de la commémoration puisque, sans protection, il ne peut y avoir de lieux historiques dont le public puisse profiter et que, sans mise en valeur, il est virtuellement impossible d'expliquer au public où et comment s'inscrit le lieu dans l'histoire du Canada ».

Cette section de l'EIC doit identifier les motifs qui justifient la désignation afin qu'ils puissent être communiqués au public de façon qu'il comprenne pourquoi le lieu est important. Elle doit également renfermer toute information additionnelle pouvant être nécessaire à la compréhension de ces motifs. À l'aide d'objectifs, elle doit renseigner sur la façon de communiquer efficacement les messages.

2.4.1.1 Définition

Les motifs qui justifient la désignation expliquent, sous forme de messages, pourquoi le lieu a été désigné lieu historique national.

2.4.1.2 Description des motifs qui justifient la désignation

Les motifs qui justifient la désignation découlent de l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration. Dans la plupart des cas, il y aura un message pour chaque motif figurant dans l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration.

Par exemple, l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration du LHNC de l'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki comporte deux points : L'auberge de ski Skoki a été désignée lieu historique national en 1992. Voici les motifs qui justifient sa désignation, tels que déterminés dans le procès-verbal de la Commission de 1992 :

  • sa construction de style rustique ;
  • son association avec le développement touristique et les loisirs de plein air dans les parcs nationaux .

Par conséquent, il y a deux motifs qui justifient la désignation de ce lieu :

  • L'auberge de ski Skoki est une construction de style rustique.
  • L'auberge de ski Skoki est associée au développement touristique et aux loisirs de plein air dans les parcs nationaux.
2.4.2 Messages contextuels
2.4.2.1 Définition

Il s'agit de messages qui sont essentiels à la compréhension des motifs qui justifient la désignation du lieu. Par exemple, on ne peut apprécier l'importance historique nationale de l'auberge de ski Skoki si on ne comprend pas ce qu'on entend par style rustique. Il s'agit d'un message contextuel essentiel.

2.4.2.2 Description des messages contextuels

on doit ajouter des messages contextuels à chaque motif qui justifie la désignation d'un lieu lorsqu'ils s'avèrent nécessaires pour faire comprendre ces motifs.

Les messages contextuels permettent de comprendre les motifs qui justifient la désignation d'un lieu, mais ils ne sont pas des motifs d'importance nationale.

Les messages contextuels doivent toujours prendre la forme de phrases complètes et non de titres ou de groupes de mots.

L'exemple qui suit décrit le lien qui existe entre les motifs justifiant la désignation et les messages contextuels :

Le motif qui justifie la désignation du LHNC de la Station-d'Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur est le suivant :

  • La station d'étude des rayons cosmiques du mont Sulphur a joué un rôle dans la contribution du Canada à l'Année géophysique en 1957-1958.

Les messages contextuels suivants aident à comprendre le motif qui justifie la désignation :

  • L'Année géophysique internationale a été consacrée à un projet international d'exploitation concentrée et coordonnée de la Terre et de son environnement cosmique .
  • La recherche sur les rayons cosmiques a été un aspect important de l'Année géophysique internationale .
  • Les scientifiques canadiens ont joué un rôle important dans cette recherche .
  • La station d'étude des rayons cosmiques du mont Sulphur était la plus importante station canadienne .
2.4.2.3 Ce lieu est un lieu historique national

Toute personne qui vient à connaître les lieux historiques nationaux doit comprendre le concept de la désignation d'un lieu historique national afin de bien en apprécier l'importance. Il doit donc y avoir un message contextuel concernant la désignation.

La désignation de la station d'étude des rayons cosmiques du mont Sulphur à titre de lieu historique national est expliquée par le message contextuel type qui suit :

  • La station d'étude des rayons cosmiques du Mont Sulphur est un lieu historique national, soit un lieu désigné par le gouvernement du Canada comme lieu d'importance pour tous les Canadiens en raison de son importance historique nationale.
2.4.3 Objectifs concernant la communication efficace des motifs qui justifient la désignation

Cette section doit décrire les objectifs concernant la communication efficace des motifs qui justifient la désignation d'un lieu.

Selon le deuxième élément de l'intégrité commémorative, c'est le public qu'on veut rejoindre. Cela inclut ceux et celles qui visitent le lieu, en personne ou de façon virtuelle, de même que les intervenants. Le public comprend aussi les personnes responsables du lieu - propriétaires, gestionnaires et personnel.

Communiquer de manière efficace signifie que l'ensemble de la mise en valeur du patrimoine du lieu et tous les moyens utilisés pour rejoindre le public contribuent à faire connaître les motifs qui justifient la désignation. Cela signifie également que les personnes à qui s'adresse la mise en valeur comprennent ces motifs. Il ne suffit pas de transmettre au public les motifs qui justifient la désignation; il faut faire en sorte qu'il les comprenne. Il faut mesurer le succès des programmes de mise en valeur du patrimoine pour en assurer l'efficacité.

2.4.3.1 Identification des objectifs

Les objectifs concernant la communication efficace des motifs qui justifient la désignation doivent se lire comme suit :

Les motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national sont efficacement communiqués au public lorsque :

  • l'ensemble de la mise en valeur du patrimoine fait comprendre les motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national;
  • les visiteurs et les personnes responsables du lieu comprennent les motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national ;
  • les décisions de gestion sont fondées sur des renseignements pertinents et fiables et sont prises conformément aux principes et à la pratique de la Politique sur la GRC.

Des objectifs propres au lieu peuvent parfois s'avérer nécessaires. On peut les ajouter au besoin. Ils devront être rédigés conformément à la section 2.3.3 - objectifs concernant les ressources culturelles .

Voici un exemple d'objectif qui est propre à un lieu :

  • les visiteurs apprécient et comprennent les points de vue contemporains divergents et les interprétations ultérieures de l'histoire et des événements associés à l'importance historique nationale du lieu (Cet objectif pourrait convenir à un lieu comme Batoche où l'histoire et les événements sont complexes ou controversés) .

Les objectifs propres au lieu doivent être soigneusement rédigés de façon à ne pas être des activités de gestion visant à assurer l'intégrité commémorative. Plutôt que d'écrire « une stratégie de communication concernant le patrimoine est élaborée et mise en œuvre », l'objectif devrait être que les visiteurs comprennent les motifs qui justifient la désignation du lieu à titre de lieu historique national .