Common menu bar links

Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

2.3 Resources Directly Related to the Reasons for Designation as a National Historic Site

2.3.1 Introduction

This section should contain details on the resources - the whole and the parts of the whole - which are directly related to the reasons for designation. Under the CRM Policy , these are known as level 1 resources.

The CIS must list and describe all resources which have been evaluated as resources directly related to the reasons for designation as a national historic site. This section must also include a description of the historic values of these resources.

The section on values must be followed by a section outlining the conditions necessary to ensure that the resources are not impaired or under threat, which provides guidance on the management of the site. It is here that what is meant by "not impaired or under threat" is defined in the context of the specific site.

2.3.1.1 Definition

As stated in the Glossary, resources directly related to the reasons for designation as a national historic site include:

  • the Designated Place.
  • in situ cultural resources within the administered place that have a direct relationship with the reasons for designation. In rare cases, the HSMBC has specifically identified resources which relate to or have national historic significance, in which case, these are the only in situ cultural resources recorded in this section.
  • cultural resources identified in the HSMBC minutes as contributing to the national significance of the Designated Place, including resources outside the Designated Place.
  • objects which have a direct relationship to the commemorative intent and to the site. These may be located either within or outside the Designated Place.
2.3.1.2 Identifying Resources Directly Related to the Reasons for Designation

The CIS should identify the resources directly related to the reasons for designation as a national historic site.

Where the list of these resources is extensive it can be summarized in this section with the full list of cultural resources in an appendix. Groups of resources that share values may be treated together.

The evaluation of resources, including the identification of values, is done by a multi-disciplinary team. This ensures that a variety of perspectives is represented, a degree of consistency is achieved and that determination of value does not rely solely on one specific function or aspect.

The Designated Place should be considered first, followed by its historic values. In cases where the Designated Place is a single feature, a building or archaeological site for example, the values should be dealt with under Designated Place. A separate section on buildings and structures or on archaeological sites may not be needed.

The balance of the resources which are directly related to the reasons for designation should be categorized by type in the same way as in the State of Protected Heritage Areas Report with sections on:

  • Landscapes and Landscape Features.
  • Buildings and Structures.
  • Archaeological Sites.
  • Objects.

In cases where there are resources or values directly related to the reasons for designation which do not fit the categories above, they should be described under an appropriate heading.

2.3.2 Historic Value

Integral to commemorative integrity is an understanding of historic value. If the owner/manager does not know "where value lies", it is impossible to manage cultural resources appropriately or to achieve commemorative integrity. Knowing what the values are, or where value lies, is fundamental to stewardship.

A sound understanding of historic value also allows decision-makers to determine what is appropriate or inappropriate. It provides the foundation for ensuring that proposals, projects and other initiatives are built on the principles of cultural resource management. Where proposals are generated externally, knowing where value lies makes it possible to assess impact on the cultural resource and its historic values.

Clear, thorough, and precise articulation of each resource's values is critical to the success of a CIS.

2.3.2.1 Definition
Historic value is a value or values assigned to a resource, whereby it is recognized as a cultural resource. These values can be physical and/or associative.
2.3.2.2 Describing Historic Values

Historic values should be clearly stated for each cultural resource or group of resources, avoiding duplication while still capturing the reasons for the importance of the resource.

The CRM Policy principles identify a number of key aspects of historic value which should be considered when evaluating resources:
  • Qualities and features which relate to the resource's national historic significance. For example 2 , at the Basilica of St. John the Baptist, in St. John's, one of the reasons for designation relates to the building's Lombard Romanesque Revival architecture. This value includes the features of the Basilica design which characterize the Lombard Romanesque Revival style, such as the use of the round arch, the two tier arcade, the smooth wall surfaces, the twin bell towers with pyramidal roofs, the interior classically inspired features and the detailing.
  • The resource in its context. For example, one of the values for the Gulf of Georgia Cannery's cannery building is the physical relationship of the building to navigable water, which is central to its historic function.
  • The whole and its parts. For example, Red Bay is valued for its association with 16th century Basque whaling activities. The shore stations are valued for their association with processing whales (for example flensing and rendering), even though they do not individually capture the breadth of the whole.
  • The evolution of the resource over time, not just its existence at a single moment in time. For example, one of the values for the Oil Drum Shed at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery is that it illustrates the changes in the fishing industry over time. It also demonstrates the industrial role of the Gulf of Georgia Cannery building in particular, especially the development of fish oil products during and after the Second World War.
  • The interaction of nature and human activities. For example, Kitwanga Fort was designated in part for the presence of an 18th century Gitwangak hill top fort. The natural hill itself should be valued for the strategic defensive position it provided for the site.
  • Viewscapes and viewsheds . For example, in recommending the Former Provincial Lunatic Asylum in Saint John for designation, the HSMBC noted the importance of the varied and attractive vistas, such as the unobstructed view from the building to the Reversing Falls. When articulated as values, view planes should be specific about where they are and what they contain. Views often include features that are not, in themselves, evaluated as resources in the CIS.
  • Continued or traditional uses. For example, the Banff Springs Hotel is of value for its continued use as a hotel. Continuity of use is often a powerful value, particularly at non-museological sites.

Values can be physical (where value is reflected in a specific tangible feature of the resource) and/or associative (where value is reflected in its connection with a theme, person or event of historic importance). Associative value is also known as symbolic value. Physical and associative values should not be separately identified when listing them in the CIS.

A physical description or a short history of a resource is not adequate as a description of values.

A resource may possess historic values both related to the reasons for designation and unrelated to those reasons. Both types of values can be dealt with in this section of the CIS. However, the presentation of the values must distinguish between the two types. Generally, this is easily done by identifying and listing values directly related to the reasons for designation together followed by those that are not related.

Guideline No. 2 - CRM Policy and the Commemorative Integrity Statement provides a useful list of questions relating to identification of historic values.

2.3.3 Objectives for Cultural Resources

Clearly stated objectives for safeguarding and communicating historic values are fundamental to each CIS. Objectives serve as an essential bridge between the identification of historic values and planning, managing, and reporting on a national historic site.

Objectives in the CIS express the desired state of the site, its resources and their historic values. Objectives describe the ideal field conditions sought through management. Evaluating whether these conditions are met serves as the basis for identifying necessary policies and actions.

The objectives provide a framework for management activities and performance indicators for measuring the state of a site's commemorative integrity.

2.3.3.1 Writing Desired Outcomes as CIS Objectives

A set of objectives should be prepared for each of the three elements of the CIS. These should focus on results rather than efforts, and condition rather than strategies. The objectives should be designed for the long term, setting the stage for performance measurement of commemorative integrity without reference to specific timelines.

Certain objectives apply to all sites, as they are criteria essential to the definition of commemorative integrity. Other objectives will be site-specific, depending on individual circumstances. Every objective should relate to one or more values.

The following outcome objectives should be the same for all national historic sites. These are standard for all resources and should be stated only once at the end of this section of the CIS:

The resources (Designated Place, landscapes and landscape features, buildings and structures, archaeological sites, objects) will not be impaired or under threat when:

  • the resources and their associated values are respected . The term respect has several meanings. In the case of resources in good condition, respect means the resources and associated values are maintained so that there is no deterioration. In the case of resources not in good condition, respect means efforts to enhance the condition of the resources and associated values are based on the historic values of the resources. This outcome places attention on the state of the resource itself.
  • management decisions are based on adequate and sound information and are made in accordance with the principles and practice of the CRM Policy.
  • the resources and their associated values are not lost, impaired or threatened from natural processes, for example erosion and decay, within or outside of the site.
  • the resources and their associated values are not lost, impaired or threatened from human actions within or outside of the site. This objective places attention on the human-induced threats which could adversely affect the resource's integrity. There are four sources of human threat:
    - human-induced natural threat (e.g., pollution, fire).
    - external human threat (e.g., adjacent property development which has an adverse impact).
    - internal human threat from use (e.g., vandalism, excessive wear and tear from overuse).
    - internal human threat from inappropriate management (e.g., on-site development which has an adverse impact).
  • the historic values of the resources are communicated to visitors and stakeholders .

Examples of site-specific outcome objectives, to be used as necessary, could include the following:

  • new and evolving uses of the Designated Place respect its heritage-defining values. (This would apply at the Winnipeg Exchange District, for instance, which continues to be a vibrant business and social setting).
  • partners and 3rd parties respect the resources and significance of place which make it a national historic site. (This would be appropriate at a site like Battle of the Windmill, which is operated by a third party).
  • the fort is maintained as a ruin. (At Fort St. Joseph, the HSMBC defined the state in which the resource is to be managed. The CIS must define this ruined state in terms of physical and associative values – for example, form and appearance, contribution to sense of place).
  • the Designated Place is not threatened by river erosion. (This objective should be used at sites like York Factory, where this has been identified as a significant and long-term threat).

The statements within quotes below are not considered outcome objectives. These statements represent management activities, which may help to ensure commemorative integrity. The statements in italics represent the desired outcomes. These should be used as objectives in the CIS.

  • "heritage impact assessment is conducted prior to development." This is a management prescription toward achieving the following outcome:
    • the resources and their associated values are managed according to the principles of value, public benefit, understanding, respect, and integrity.
  • "all objects have been identified and inventoried." A more appropriate objective would be:
    • the resources and their associated values are managed according to the principles of value, public benefit, understanding, respect, and integrity."
  • "The principles of the CRM Policy are applied to all contracts, leases, licensing concessions, agreements, partnerships, or other management tools." The outcome should be:
    • partners and 3rd parties respect the cultural resources and significance of place which make it a national historic site.

As the building tool for long-range planning and reporting, the CIS should include the more strategic outcomes, leaving the management actions to the management and business plans.

2 All examples used in this document are consistent with the direction in the Guide and Guidelines. They may not be identical to existing CISs.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

2.3 Ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national

2.3.1 Introduction

Cette section doit renfermer des détails sur les ressources - le tout et ses parties - qui sont directement liées aux motifs justifiant la désignation. Aux termes de la Politique sur la GRC , ces ressources sont désignées ressources de niveau 1.

L'EIC doit énumérer clairement toutes les ressources qui ont été évaluées comme étant des ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national. Cette section doit renfermer également une description des valeurs historiques de ces ressources.

La section suivante décrit les conditions nécessaires pour faire en sorte que les ressources ne soient pas endommagées ou menacées et fournit des directives concernant la gestion du lieu. C'est ici qu'on doit expliquer ce qu'on entend par « pas endommagées ou menacées » dans le contexte du lieu.

2.3.1.1 Définition

Comme l'indique le Glossaire, les ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national comprennent :

  • le lieu désigné;
  • les ressources culturelles in situ du lieu administré qui ont un lien direct avec les motifs justifiant la désignation. Dans de rares cas, la Commission identifie expressément les ressources qui sont liées aux motifs justifiant la désignation ou qui ont une importance historique nationale; dans ces cas, ces ressources sont les seules ressources culturelles in situ mentionnées dans cette section;
  • les ressources culturelles mentionnées dans les procès-verbaux de la Commission comme étant des ressources qui contribuent à l'importance nationale du lieu désigné, y compris les ressources qui peuvent se trouver à l'extérieur du lieu désigné;
  • les objets qui ont un lien direct avec les objectifs de commémoration et avec le lieu; ils peuvent se trouver à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur du lieu désigné.
2.3.1.2 Identification des ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation

L'EIC doit renfermer une description claire des ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national.

Lorsque la liste de ces ressources est longue, la présente section peut en présenter un résumé et la liste exhaustive des ressources culturelles peut être jointe en annexe. Des groupes de ressources qui ont les mêmes valeurs peuvent être traités ensemble.

C'est une équipe multifonctionnelle qui évalue les ressources culturelles et en identifie les valeurs. Cette approche offre une diversité de perspectives, un certain degré d'uniformité et fait en sorte que l'évaluation n'est pas propre à une fonction.

Le lieu désigné doit être considéré en priorité, puis ses valeurs historiques. Dans les cas où le lieu désigné se limite à un seul élément, par exemple un bâtiment ou un site archéologique, les valeurs doivent être examinées dans la section Lieu désigné. Une section distincte sur les bâtiments et structures ou sur les sites archéologiques n'est pas toujours nécessaire.

Les autres ressources qui sont directement liées aux motifs justifiant la désignation doivent être catégorisées par type, de la même manière que dans le Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées ; il doit y avoir des sections sur :

  • les paysages et les éléments paysagers
  • les bâtiments et les structures
  • les sites archéologiques
  • les objets

Lorsque des ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation n'entrent dans aucune des catégories susmentionnées, elles doivent être décrites sous un titre approprié.

2.3.2 Valeur historique

La compréhension de la valeur historique fait partie intégrante de l'intégrité commémorative. Si le propriétaire ou gestionnaire ignore « où réside la valeur », il lui sera impossible de gérer les ressources culturelles de façon appropriée et de réaliser l'intégrité commémorative. Il est donc fondamental de savoir quelles sont les valeurs ou encore où elles résident.

Une bonne compréhension de la valeur historique permet aux décideurs de déterminer ce qui est approprié ou ce qui ne l'est pas. Elle permet de s'assurer que les propositions, les projets et autres initiatives reposent sur les principes de la gestion des ressources culturelles. Lorsque les propositions viennent de l'extérieur, le fait de savoir où réside la valeur permet d'en évaluer l'incidence sur la ressource culturelle et ses valeurs historiques.

Définir clairement, précisément et intégralement les valeurs de chacune des ressources est essentiel au succès de l'EIC.

2.3.2.1 Définition

La valeur historique est une valeur ou un ensemble de valeurs attribuées à une ressource, qui lui confèrent le statut de ressource culturelle. Ces valeurs peuvent être matérielles et/ou associatives.

2.3.2.2 Description des valeurs historiques

Les valeurs historiques de chaque ressource culturelle ou groupe de ressources doivent être clairement formulées; il faut limiter la redondance tout en exposant les raisons de l'importance de la ressource.

Les principes de la Politique sur la GRC établissent un certain nombre de caractéristiques clés en ce qui a trait à la valeur historique, qui doivent être prises en compte au moment d'évaluer les ressources :

  • Qualités et caractéristiques associées à l'importance historique nationale de la ressource . Par exemple, 2 à la basilique St. John the Baptist, à St. John's, l'un des motifs qui justifient la désignation a trait à l'architecture néo-romane lombarde. Cette valeur inclut des aspects du style néo-roman lombard tels que les arcs de plein cintre, la double arcade, les murs aux surfaces lisses, les clochers doubles aux toits pyramidaux et l'intérieur aux détails d'inspiration classique.
  • La ressource et son contexte . Par exemple, l'une des valeurs de la conserverie de la Gulf of Georgia Cannery tient au rapport matériel entre le bâtiment et les eaux navigables, qui est au coeur de sa fonction historique.
  • Le tout et ses parties . Par exemple, la valeur de Red Bay tient à son association avec la chasse aux baleines pratiquée par les Basques au XVIe siècle. La valeur des stations côtières tient à leur association avec la transformation de la baleine (p. ex., le dépeçage et l'extraction de l'huile) même si, individuellement, elles ne représentent pas l'ampleur du tout.
  • L'évolution de la ressource au fil du temps, et non pas simplement son existence à un moment précis dans le temps . Par exemple, l'une des valeurs du hangar de barils à pétrole à la Gulf of Georgia Cannery est qu'il illustre la transformation de l'industrie de la pêche au cours du temps. Il montre aussi le rôle industriel de la conserverie de la Gulf of Georgia Cannery en particulier, surtout le développement de produits à base d'huile de poisson durant et après la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • L'interaction de la nature et des activités de l'homme. Par exemple, le fort Kitwanga a en partie été désigné en raison de la présence d'un fort du XVIIIe siècle dominant la colline Gitwangak. Il faudrait accorder de la valeur à la colline elle-même en raison de la position défensive stratégique qu'elle assurait au lieu.
  • Les panoramas et points de vue significatifs . Par exemple, au moment de recommander la désignation de l'ancien asile provincial de Saint John, la Commission a souligné l'importance de points de vue intéressants et variés tels que les vues sans obstruction sur les chutes réversibles. Au moment de les identifier comme des valeurs, il faudra bien indiquer où ils se trouvent et ce à quoi ils correspondent. Les panoramas et points de vues comprennent souvent des éléments qui ne sont pas en soi évalués à titre de ressources dans l'EIC.
  • Les utilisations continues ou traditionnelles . Par exemple, la valeur de l'hôtel Banff Springs tient au fait qu'il a toujours servi d'hôtel. La continuité de l'utilisation constitue souvent une valeur sûre, surtout pour les lieux non muséologiques.

Les valeurs peuvent être matérielles (quand la valeur correspond à une caractéristique précise et tangible de la ressource) et/ou associatives (quand la valeur correspond à son association avec un thème, une personne ou un événement d'importance historique). La valeur associative est aussi appelée valeur symbolique. Les valeurs matérielles et associatives ne doivent pas être mentionnées séparément dans l'énumération faite dans l'EIC.

Une description physique ou un bref historique de la ressource ne conviennent pas quand il s'agit de décrire les valeurs.

Une ressource peut posséder des valeurs historiques qui sont à la fois liées et non liées aux motifs justifiant la désignation. On peut inclure dans cette section de l'EIC ces deux catégories de valeurs. Il faut cependant bien les différencier. Il est d'habitude facile de le faire en identifiant et en énumérant ensemble les valeurs directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation, suivies de celles qui n'y sont pas liées.

La Ligne directrice nº 2 - La Politique sur la GRC et l'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative renferme une liste de questions utiles pour déterminer les valeurs historiques.

2.3.3 Objectifs concernant les ressources culturelles

Chaque EIC doit renfermer des objectifs formulés clairement pour ce qui est de la conservation des valeurs historiques et de leur communication au public. Les objectifs sont un lien essentiel entre, d'une part, l'identification des valeurs historiques et, d'autre part, la planification, la gestion et l'établissement des divers rapports relatifs au lieu.

Les objectifs dans l'EIC expriment l'état souhaité pour le lieu, ses ressources et leurs valeurs historiques. Ils décrivent les conditions idéales recherchées pour ce lieu par le biais de la gestion. En évaluant si ces conditions sont respectées, on peut déterminer les politiques et les actions nécessaires.

Les objectifs fournissent un cadre aux activités de gestion et des indicateurs de rendement pour mesurer le degré d'intégrité commémorative atteint.

2.3.3.1 Rédaction des résultats souhaités à titre d'objectifs d'un EIC

Il faut rédiger une série d'objectifs pour chacun des trois éléments de l'EIC. Les objectifs doivent être axés sur les résultats et non sur les efforts, sur les conditions et non sur les stratégies. Ils doivent être durables puisqu'ils servent de critères pour mesurer l'intégrité commémorative, sans limite dans le temps.

Certains objectifs s'appliquent à tous les lieux historiques, car ils constituent des critères essentiels à la définition de l'intégrité commémorative. D'autres, par contre, seront propres à un lieu en particulier, selon les circonstances particulières. Chaque objectif doit correspondre à une valeur ou plus.

Les objectifs ou résultats souhaités qui suivent doivent être les mêmes pour tous les lieux historiques nationaux. Ils s'appliquent à toutes les ressources et ne doivent être formulés qu'une seule fois à la fin de la présente section de l'EIC :

Les ressources (lieu désigné, paysages et éléments paysagers, bâtiments et structures, sites archéologiques, objets) ne sont pas endommagées ou menacées lorsque :

  • les ressources et les valeurs qui s'y rattachent sont respectées . Le mot respect a plusieurs sens possibles. Dans le cas des ressources en bon état, le respect signifie que les ressources et les valeurs qui leur sont associées sont entretenues de sorte qu'elles ne se détériorent pas. Dans le cas des ressources qui ne sont pas en bon état, le respect signifie que les efforts déployés pour améliorer l'état d'une ressource donnée et des valeurs qui lui sont associées tiennent compte des valeurs historiques de la ressource. Ce résultat attire l'attention sur l'état de la ressource elle-même;
  • les décisions de gestion reposent sur de l'information sûre et adéquate et sont prises conformément aux principes et à la pratique de la Politique sur la GRC ;
  • les ressources et les valeurs qui leur sont associées ne sont pas perdues, endommagées ou menacées par suite de processus naturels, par exemple l'érosion et la détérioration, à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur du lieu ;
  • les ressources et les valeurs qui leur sont associées ne sont pas perdues, endommagées ou menacées par la présence des humains à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur du lieu . Ce résultat attire l'attention sur les menaces posées par l'être humain, qui nuisent ou peuvent nuire à l'intégrité des ressources. Il existe quatre types de menaces causées par l'être humain :
  • menace naturelle causée par l'être humain (p. ex., pollution, feu).
  • menace externe causée par l'être humain (p. ex., mise en valeur d'une propriété adjacente qui a des répercussions négatives).
  • menace interne découlant des visites (p. ex., vandalisme, usure excessive due à une surutilisation).
  • menace interne découlant d'une mauvaise gestion (p. ex., mise en valeur du lieu qui a des répercussions négatives).
  • les valeurs historiques des ressources sont communiquées aux visiteurs et aux intervenants .

Les objectifs ou résultats souhaités propres à un lieu, à utiliser au besoin, pourraient se lire comme suit :

  • les nouvelles utilisations du lieu désigné respectent les éléments qui définissent sa valeur patrimoniale (Cela s'appliquerait notamment à l'arrondissement du Quartier-Exchange de Winnipeg, qui constitue toujours un milieu d'affaires et social très vivant);
  • les partenaires et les tierces parties respectent les ressources et l'importance du lieu qui en font un lieu historique national (Cela conviendrait par exemple à un lieu comme la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent, exploité par un tiers);
  • le fort est entretenu à titre de ruines (Au Fort St. Joseph, la Commission a défini l'état dans lequel la ressource doit être maintenue. L'EIC doit définir l'état des ruines en fonction des valeurs matérielles et associatives - par exemple, forme et apparence, contribution à l'esprit du lieu);
  • le lieu désigné n'est pas menacé par l'érosion riveraine (Cet objectif doit être utilisé pour des lieux comme York Factory, où cela a été identifié comme une menace importante et de longue date).

Les énoncés entre guillemets qui suivent ne sont pas des objectifs ou résultats souhaités. Ils correspondent plutôt à des mesures de gestion visant à faciliter la réalisation de l'intégrité commémorative. Les énoncés en italique correspondent aux résultats souhaités. Ce sont eux qui doivent servir d'objectifs dans l'EIC.

  • « une évaluation des répercussions sur le patrimoine est faite avant la mise en valeur ». Il s'agit d'une recommandation de gestion visant à atteindre le résultat suivant :
    • les ressources et les valeurs qui leur sont associées sont gérées conformément aux principes de valeur, d'intérêt du public, de compréhension, de respect et d'intégrité.
  • « tous les objets ont été identifiés et répertoriés ». L'objectif devrait plutôt se lire comme suit :
    • les ressources et les valeurs qui leur sont associées sont gérées conformément aux principes de valeur, d'intérêt du public, de compréhension, de respect et d'intégrité.
  • « les principes de la Politique sur la GRC s'appliquent à tous les marchés, baux, concessions, ententes, partenariats ou autres outils de gestion ». Le résultat devrait se lire ainsi :
    • les partenaires et les tierces parties respectent les ressources et l'importance du lieu qui en font un lieu historique national .

L'EIC constitue un outil à long terme relativement à la planification du lieu et à la préparation de rapports qui lui sont pertinents; il doit renfermer les résultats les plus stratégiques et laisser les mesures de gestion au plan directeur et au plan d'affaires.

2 Tous les exemples utilisés dans ce document sont conformes à l'orientation donnée dans le Guide et dans les Lignes directrices. Ils peuvent être différents de ceux mentionnés dans les EIC.