Common menu bar links

Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

2.2 Designation and Context

This section should contain specific information relating to:

  • Designation
  • Commemorative Intent
  • Designated Place
  • Historic and Geographic Context
2.2.1 Designation

This section should present information relating to designation as a national historic site. It is based on the HSMBC minutes and plaque texts. It should be clear from this presentation how the Statement of Commemorative Intent and Designated Place were derived. Since Fall 1999, the HSMBC has explicitly identified commemorative intent and Designated Place.

The text of all of the HSMBC's recommendations and all plaque inscriptions should be appended to the CIS in an appendix.

2.2.2 Commemorative Intent
2.2.2.1 Definition

Commemorative intent refers to the reasons for designation as a national historic site as determined by the Ministerially-approved recommendations of the HSMBC to the Minister 1 . Commemorative intent is derived from HSMBC documents.

The definition of Commemorative Intent, contained in Guideline No. 1 - Glossary , is to be included as part of the CIS.

2.2.2.2 Preparing the Statement of Commemorative Intent

Each CIS will contain a Statement of Commemorative Intent. The Statement of Commemorative Intent provides the answer to the question "When and for what reason was this place designated as a national historic site?"

The preparation of the Statement of Commemorative Intent is carried out by Parks Canada staff following the procedures outlined in Guideline No. 3 - P rocess, Roles and Approvals for Developing Commemorative Integrity Statements and Guideline No. 6 - Developing the Statement of Commemorative Intent .

2.2.3 Designated Place
2.2.3.1 Definition

Designated Place refers to the place designated by the Minister of Canadian Heritage on the recommendation of the HSMBC. Information on what constitutes the Designated Place for a particular national historic site is drawn from the minutes of the HSMBC. The definition of Designated Place is to be included as part of the CIS.

2.2.3.2 Preparing the Description of Designated Place

The Designated Place for a national historic site must be described in the CIS to ensure a clear understanding of what was designated by the Minister. The Designated Place is a geographically definable location which is circumscribed by boundaries. A map of the site should be included as part of the CIS (either in the Designated Place section or as an appendix) showing the Designated Place clearly. A notional circle around the administered site is not sufficient.

The preparation of the description of Designated Place is carried out by Parks Canada staff following the procedures outlined in Guideline No. 3 - Process, Roles and Approvals for Developing Commemorative Integrity Statements and Guideline No. 7 - Designated Place .

2.2.4 Historic and Geographic Context
2.2.4.1 Historic Context

This section should provide the historic context for the site. It should be concise, no more than a page in length. It is an overview to assist the reader in understanding:

  • the nature of the site during the period or periods for which it is commemorated. A description of the site in historical times is particularly important for those designations which refer to a specific time frame or are associated with a specific event. Note that the site in historical times will not necessarily correspond with the Designated Place.
  • the evolution of the site. Most sites have evolved over time. This section provides information relating to the site's evolution, use and the individuals associated with it.
2.2.4.2 Geographic Context

In many cases the geographic context of the site should be discussed. This should be included when it is important to an understanding of the site's national significance, for example when the HSMBC decision refers to areas around the site or when the site's importance relates to its geographic setting.

Geographic context should be kept to the minimum necessary to ensure an understanding of the site's national historic significance. This section should also include direct and explicit links between this site and other places that are integral to its national historic significance. For example, the geographic context of a fur trade site would identify sources of supply, as well as intermediate and end-markets.

A map should be included, either in this section or as an appendix, to assist in understanding the geographic context.

1 Recommendations were not formally approved as a matter of course by the Minister until the passage of the Historic Sites and Monuments Act of 1953. Pre-1953 HSMBC deliberations were not framed as recommendations but rather as "moved" and "carried". These have been accepted as designations unless explicitly rejected by the Minister or senior departmental officials.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

2.2 Désignation et contexte

Cette section doit renfermer de l'information particulière se rapportant aux points suivants:

  • Désignation
  • Objectifs de commémoration
  • Lieu désigné
  • Contexte historique et géographique
2.2.1 Désignation

Cette section doit renseigner sur la désignation à titre de lieu historique national. Elle doit reposer sur les procès-verbaux de la Commission et les textes des plaques. L'analyse doit indiquer clairement comment on en est arrivé à l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration et à la description du lieu désigné. Depuis l'automne 1999, la Commission identifie clairement les objectifs de commémoration et le lieu désigné.

Le texte de toutes les recommandations de la Commission ainsi que tous les textes des plaques doivent être joints en annexe à l'EIC.

2.2.2 Objectifs de commémoration
2.2.2.1 Définition

Les objectifs de commémoration expriment les motifs justifiant la désignation à titre de lieu historique national, tels que déterminés dans les recommandations de la Commission approuvées par le Ministre 1 . Les objectifs de commémoration découlent des documents de la Commission.

La définition d'objectifs de commémoration, tirée de la Ligne directrice nº 1 - Glossaire , doit figurer dans l'EIC.

2.2.2.2 Élaboration de l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration

Chaque EIC doit renfermer un énoncé des objectifs de commémoration. Ce dernier répond à la question « Quand et pourquoi le lieu a-t-il été désigné lieu historique national? »

Le personnel de Parcs Canada rédige l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration conformément aux procédures décrites dans la Ligne directrice nº 3 - P rocessus, rôles et approbations concernant la rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative et la Ligne directrice nº 6 - Élaboration de l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration .

2.2.3 Lieu désigné
2.2.3.1 Définition

L'expression « lieu désigné » s'applique au lieu désigné par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien suivant la recommandation de la Commission. Les renseignements sur les composantes du lieu désigné d'un lieu historique donné sont tirés des procès-verbaux de la Commission. La définition de lieu désigné doit être intégrée dans l'EIC.

2.2.3.2 Élaboration de la description du lieu désigné

Le lieu désigné d'un lieu historique national doit être clairement décrit dans l'EIC afin d'éviter toute ambiguïté concernant ce qui a été désigné par le Ministre. Le lieu désigné est un emplacement géographique définissable et délimité. L'EIC doit renfermer un plan du lieu (dans la section Lieu désigné ou en annexe) qui indique clairement le lieu désigné. Un cercle entourant le lieu administré ne suffit pas.

Le personnel de Parcs Canada élabore la description du lieu désigné conformément aux procédures énoncées dans la Ligne directrice nº 3 - Processus, rôles et approbations concernant la rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative et la Ligne directrice nº 7 - Lieu désigné .

2.2.4 Contexte historique et géographique
2.2.4.1 Contexte historique

Cette section doit présenter le contexte historique du lieu. Elle doit être concise - au plus une page. Il s'agit d'un aperçu qui aidera le lecteur à comprendre :

  • la nature du lieu au cours de la ou des période(s) pour lesquelles il est commémoré. Une description du lieu au temps passé est particulièrement importante pour les désignations qui se rapportent à une période donnée ou qui sont associées à un événement donné. Notons que le lieu au temps passé ne correspond pas nécessairement au lieu désigné.
  • l'évolution du lieu. La plupart des lieux ont évolué avec le temps. Cette section doit renfermer de l'information sur l'évolution et l'utilisation du lieu et sur les personnes qui y sont associées.
2.2.4.2 Contexte géographique

Il est souvent important d'inclure une section sur le contexte géographique. Il faut le faire lorsque cela permet de comprendre l'importance nationale du lieu, par exemple lorsque la Commission mentionne la région entourant le lieu ou lorsque l'importance du lieu se rapporte à son cadre géographique.

Il faut limiter le contexte géographique au minimum nécessaire pour comprendre l'importance nationale du lieu. Cette section doit également contenir de l'information sur les liens directs et explicites du lieu avec d'autres lieux essentiels à son importance historique nationale. Par exemple, le contexte géographique d'un lieu associé au commerce de la fourrure identifierait les sources d'approvisionnement ainsi que les marchés d'utilisation intermédiaire et finale.

Il doit aussi y avoir une carte, soit dans cette section, soit en annexe, pour faciliter la compréhension du contexte géographique.

1 Ce n'est qu'après l'adoption de la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques de 1953 que les recommandations ont commencé à être officiellement approuvées par le Ministre. Avant cette date, les discussions de la Commission n'aboutissaient pas à des recommandations, mais faisaient plutôt l'objet de propositions qui étaient adoptées et qui tenaient lieu de désignations à moins d'être explicitement rejetées par le Ministre ou les cadres supérieurs du Ministère.