Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

1.7 What's the Format for a CIS?

The CIS is a document intended for managers and decision-makers. It provides relevant information in a clear, succinct style, using plain language and bullet format to list resources, values, the messages that flow from these values, and objectives.

Following the standard format ensures consistency, both in the statements themselves and in follow-up monitoring. It builds on the experience of managers and owners from across the country, presenting diverse information in a cohesive and coherent manner.

The format for a CIS is shown in Guideline No. 4 - Templates . The CIS is presented in six sections:

  • Introduction. This includes the site's background, the national historic sites program objectives, and information on commemorative integrity and the CIS.
  • Designation and Context. This section contains the historic and geographic context, the site's Statement of Commemorative Intent and description of Designated Place, along with information about the designation.
  • Resources Directly Related to the Reasons for Designation as a National Historic Site. This contains details on the site as a whole and individual resources that relate to the reasons for designation. It includes a description of the resources, the historic values for each cultural resource or resource category and objectives for managing the resources.
  • Effective Communication of the Reasons for Designation as a National Historic Site. This identifies the reasons for the site's designation and objectives for ensuring these are communicated effectively.
  • Resources, Values and Messages Not Related to the Reasons for Designation as a National Historic Site. This section contains additional information on resources, values and messages which are important but not related to the reasons for designation, and objectives for their protection and presentation.
  • Appendices. Each CIS should contain the following:
    • all HSMBC recommendations and records of decision from minutes, and approved plaque texts.
    • a map of the national historic site showing Designated Place and geographic context (here or in the Designated Place section of CIS).
    • a list of CIS team members including their position and organization.

    Other appendices may be added as required.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

1.7 Comment présente-t-on un EIC?

L'EIC est un document à l'intention des gestionnaires et des décideurs. Il fournit l'information pertinente dans un style clair et concis, utilise un langage simple et présente les ressources, les valeurs, les messages et les objectifs sous forme d'énumérations.

Le fait de respecter un modèle de présentation assure la cohérence, tant des énoncés que du suivi. Le modèle s'inspire de l'expérience de gestionnaires et de propriétaires de partout au pays et présente les divers renseignements de façon logique et cohérente.

Le modèle de présentation de l'EIC figure à la Ligne directrice nº 4 - Modèles . L'EIC comprend six parties :

  • Introduction . Elle renferme l'historique du lieu, les objectifs du Programme des lieux historiques nationaux et de l'information sur l'intégrité commémorative et l'EIC.
  • Désignation et contexte . On trouve ici le contexte historique et géographique, l'énoncé des objectifs de commémoration, la description du lieu désigné ainsi que le contexte de la désignation du lieu.
  • Ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national . Cette partie renferme des détails sur le lieu dans son ensemble et sur les ressources particulières qui sont liées aux motifs justifiant la désignation. On y trouve également une description des ressources, les valeurs historiques de chaque ressource culturelle ou catégorie de ressources et les objectifs de gestion de ces ressources.
  • Communication efficace des motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national . Cette partie expose les motifs qui justifient la désignation du lieu et détermine les objectifs concernant la communication efficace de ces motifs.
  • Ressources, valeurs et messages non liés aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national . Cette partie renferme des détails sur les ressources, les valeurs et les messages qui ont une importance, mais qui ne sont pas liés aux motifs justifiant la désignation et détermine les objectifs concernant leur protection et mise en valeur.
  • Annexes . Chaque EIC doit renfermer ce qui suit :
    • toutes les recommandations et rapports de décisions des procès-verbaux de la Commission de même que les textes approuvés des plaques;
    • un plan du lieu historique national indiquant le lieu désigné et le contexte géographique (ici ou dans la section Lieu désigné de l'EIC);
    • une liste des membres de l'équipe de rédaction de l'EIC, y compris leur poste et leur organisation d'appartenance.

    D'autres annexes peuvent être ajoutées au besoin.