Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

1.5 What Geographic Area Should be Included in the CIS?

A CIS is usually written for a specific geographic area. The extent of the geographic area which is covered by the CIS needs to be considered carefully and should be guided by the following:

  • The CIS must include all of the Designated Place (i.e., the place designated as being of national historic importance). Where the Designated Place is larger than the administered property, the CIS also includes those parts of the Designated Place which lie outside the property.
  • Where the size of the administered property is so large that it overwhelms the Designated Place, consideration should be given to decreasing the area included in the CIS. For example, the whole of the University of Toronto would not be included in a CIS for Annesley Hall National Historic Site of Canada (NHSC).
  • For national historic sites not under Parks Canada's administration, the scope of the CIS should be determined in consultation with Parks Canada. It must include the Designated Place but may be larger where appropriate.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

1.5 Quelle zone devrait-on inclure dans l'EIC?

L'EIC s'applique habituellement à une zone géographique précise. L'étendue de la zone couverte par l'EIC, soit son champ d'application, doit être soigneusement examinée et déterminée en fonction de ce qui suit :

  • L'EIC doit s'appliquer à l'ensemble du lieu désigné (c'est-à-dire le lieu désigné comme ayant une importance historique nationale). Lorsque le lieu désigné est plus vaste que la propriété administrée, l'EIC doit traiter des parties du lieu désigné qui se trouvent à l'extérieur de la propriété.
  • Lorsque l'étendue de la propriété administrée est telle qu'elle risque d'éclipser le lieu désigné, il faut envisager de réduire le champ d'application de l'EIC. Par exemple, le « tout » de l'Université de Toronto ne sera pas inclus dans l'EIC du Lieu historique national du Canada (LHNC) Annesley Hall.
  • Dans le cas des lieux historiques nationaux non administrés par Parcs Canada, le champ d'application de l'EIC doit être établi en consultation avec Parcs Canada. Il doit comprendre le lieu désigné, mais il peut être plus vaste si cela est approprié.