Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

1.3 Why prepare a CIS?

A CIS is required for each national historic site which falls under Parks Canada's administration. The CIS is also used as the primary basis for planning under the National Historic Sites of Canada Cost-Sharing Program.

Owners of national historic sites not eligible for cost-sharing have also recognized the value of a CIS. CISs have been prepared for numerous non-Parks Canada administered sites.

A CIS guides site management by:

  • identifying what is most important about a site relative to the national historic designation and, for Parks Canada sites, ensuring that matters relating to national significance, including resources and messaging, are the highest management priority.
  • ensuring that there is a focus on the "whole", and not just the individual resources.
  • providing the fundamental document to guide management planning and preparation of a conservation and presentation plan (for the National Historic Sites of Canada Cost-Sharing Program), which detail specific actions to be carried out.
  • enunciating a set of heritage values and objectives which can be used in analysing and evaluating the impact of development and adaptive re-use proposals on a site or nearby property.
  • providing the basis for design guidelines for development which may take place within or nearby and which may have an impact on the national historic site.
  • giving direction on heritage messages for marketing plans and programs.
1.3.1 The CIS and Parks Canada's Planning and Reporting Cycle

As the statement of core values for a national historic site, the CIS is integral to all planning and reporting for sites administered by Parks Canada. Several pieces of legislation provide a context for CIS development.

The CIS is directly linked to the management plan. Parks Canada's Guide to Management Planning states that "Ensuring commemorative integrity is the core objective of a national historic site management plan. The commemorative integrity statement, as the site-specific analysis of what constitutes a state of commemorative integrity at a particular national historic site, is fundamental to any management plan." The management plan, in turn, guides the actions laid out each year in business plans.

The CIS is the basis for evaluating the success of the management plan, by establishing whether the actions in the last plan have helped to ensure commemorative integrity.

Whether the site is in a state of commemorative integrity is also evaluated against the CIS. The results of this evaluation contribute to the next management plan and to the State of Protected Heritage Areas Report , Parks Canada's accounting to parliament on the health of national historic sites.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

1.3 Pourquoi rédige-t-on un EIC?

Tous les lieux historiques nationaux administrés par Parcs Canada doivent avoir un EIC. Cet énoncé est également le principal document de planification aux fins du Programme de partage des frais des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada.

Les propriétaires de lieux historiques nationaux non admissibles au partage des frais ont eux aussi reconnu la valeur des EIC et en ont rédigé pour de nombreux lieux historiques non administrés par Parcs Canada.

L'EIC oriente la gestion du lieu en :

  • déterminant ce qui est le plus important dans le lieu par rapport à sa désignation d'importance historique nationale et, dans le cas des lieux administrés par Parcs Canada, en faisant en sorte que ce qui est lié à l'importance nationale, qu'il s'agisse de ressources ou de messages, soit toujours la principale priorité de gestion;
  • mettant l'accent sur le « tout » et non pas seulement sur les différentes ressources;
  • servant de base pour l'établissement de plans directeurs et de plans de conservation et de mise en valeur (aux fins du Programme de partage des frais des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada), qui décrivent les mesures concrètes à prendre;
  • formulant un ensemble de valeurs patrimoniales et d'objectifs qui peuvent servir à analyser et à évaluer l'incidence des propositions de développement d'un lieu ou d'une propriété avoisinante;
  • servant de fondement aux directives d'aménagement applicables aux projets de développement dans ou autour d'un lieu historique national et pouvant avoir une incidence sur celui-ci;
  • orientant les messages relatifs au patrimoine aux fins des plans de marketing et des programmes.
1.3.1 L'EIC et le cycle des plans et rapports à Parcs Canada

L'EIC énonce les valeurs essentielles d'un lieu historique national; à ce titre, il fait partie intégrante de tous les plans et rapports relatifs aux lieux administrés par Parcs Canada. Plusieurs lois font partie du contexte dans lequel l'EIC est élaboré.

L'EIC est directement lié au plan directeur. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada précise : « Assurer l'intégrité commémorative est l'objectif principal du plan directeur d'un lieu historique national. L'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative est l'analyse de ce qui constitue l'état désiré de l'intégrité commémorative pour un lieu historique donné; il s'agit donc d'un élément fondamental de tout plan directeur. » Le plan directeur, à son tour, oriente les activités qui sont déterminées chaque année dans les plans d'affaires.

L'EIC sert de fondement à l'évaluation de l'efficacité du plan directeur, en déterminant si les orientations du dernier plan ont permis d'assurer l'intégrité commémorative.

L'EIC sert également de fondement à l'évaluation de l'intégrité commémorative du lieu. Les résultats de cette évaluation sont pris en compte lors de l'élaboration du prochain plan directeur et du Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées par lequel Parcs Canada rend compte au Parlement de l'état global des lieux historiques nationaux.