Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements

1.0 Introduction to the Guide

This Guide and associated Guidelines are designed to provide guidance in the preparation of a Commemorative Integrity Statement (CIS) for a national historic site. The objective is to provide all the information necessary to those responsible for preparing these statements. This includes owners of national historic sites, local, regional and national interest groups who become involved in CIS preparation and Parks Canada personnel. The Guide and Guidelines were prepared in consultation with experienced practitioners.

This Guide and Guidelines form the basis on which CISs for sites administered by Parks Canada and others will be reviewed for approval.

This tool has two parts. The Guide contains the basic information for preparing statements. It is supported by the Guidelines , which contain additional information for those who require more detail or have particular issues that they wish to address.

The Guide and Guidelines are intended to allow users to prepare CISs in a consistent manner that effectively reflects the resources, values and messages of a site. At the same time, wider understanding of what is required simplifies the process, ensuring that statements done in compliance with the Guide and Guidelines are developed and reviewed more quickly. As the Guide and Guidelines provide the basis for approval, adherence to these ensures that a statement will be more easily and quickly approved.

1.0.1 What is a National Historic Site?

A national historic site is a place that has been designated by the Minister of Canadian Heritage on behalf of the federal government as being a place of national historic significance. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) is appointed by the federal government to provide advice to the Minister concerning designation of sites. See Guideline No. 1 - Glossary , for a fuller description of the term national historic site.

Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative

1.0 Introduction au Guide

Le Guide et les Lignes directrices connexes ont été rédigés pour faciliter la rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative (EIC) des lieux historiques nationaux. L'objectif visé est de fournir toute l'information nécessaire aux personnes chargées de rédiger les EIC. Cela inclut les propriétaires de lieux historiques nationaux, les groupes d'intérêt locaux, régionaux et nationaux qui participent à la rédaction d'un EIC, ainsi que le personnel de Parcs Canada. Ce Guide est le fruit de nombreuses consultations auprès d'intervenants chevronnés.

L'approbation des EIC des lieux administrés par Parcs Canada et par d'autres parties se fera en fonction du présent Guide et des Lignes directrices .

Cet outil se compose de deux parties. Le Guide lui-même renferme les renseignements de base pour la rédaction des énoncés. Les Lignes directrices , qui viennent étayer le Guide , renferment des renseignements additionnels destinés à ceux qui désirent plus de détails ou qui doivent régler des situations particulières.

Le Guide et les Lignes directrices visent à permettre aux utilisateurs de rédiger, de façon uniforme, des EIC qui décrivent bien les ressources et les valeurs d'un lieu donné ainsi que les messages qui en découlent. En fait, les exigences qu'ils stipulent font en sorte que le processus de rédaction est simplifié et que les énoncés sont élaborés et examinés plus rapidement. Comme le Guide et les Lignes directrices sont à la base de l'approbation des énoncés, leur respect permet de faciliter et d'accélérer le processus.

1.0.1 Qu'est-ce qu'un lieu historique national?

Un lieu historique national est un endroit qui a été désigné par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien, au nom du gouvernement fédéral, comme étant d'importance historique nationale. Le gouvernement fédéral a confié à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (dorénavant, la Commission) la responsabilité de conseiller le Ministre concernant les lieux qu'elle juge d'importance nationale. Voir Ligne directrice nº 1 - Glossaire , pour avoir une description plus complète de lieu historique national.