Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources

Legal Obligations, Policy Directives, and Administrative Duties for the Practice of Archaeology on Federal Lands, Federal Lands Underwater and on Lands Administered by Parks Canada

Accidental Discovery

An accidental discovery ranges from noting the presence of archaeological objects on the ground or the seabed to discoveries made on eroding banks after a flood.  Archaeological objects or structures can also be exposed during excavations done for maintenance purposes, other general works, or during a response to an emergency situation.

The discovery of an archaeological site or archaeological object on Parks Canada administered lands, including lands underwater, must be reported to the Parks Canada FUS. The Service Centre Director is the primary contact for a FUS seeking archaeological resource management advice.  The Service Centre Director relies on the Service Centre archaeologists for expert advice on archaeological resources (see Appendix 4).

Archaeological Research Permitting

Parks Canada’s Management Bulletin 2.3.2: Archaeological Research Permitting requires that all individuals conducting archaeological research, survey, inventory or excavation in lands and lands underwater under  Parks  Canada’s administration obtain a permit from the FUS.  The Director of the appropriate Service Centre (through a designated archaeologist) must review and advise the FUS on permit  matters. All research and/or collection applications for archaeological, natural, and social sciences permits should be submitted through the Parks Canada on-line Research and Collection Permit System (RCPS).  A Research Coordinator, associated with each Heritage Area, administers the research permitting process within the RCPS and assures that the advice and recommendations of specialist reviewers are taken into account at all stages of the permitting process.

In order to obtain approval for the permit, the archaeologist must submit the project design to the Field Unit’s environmental assessment specialist (or through the Research Coordinator responsible for the Heritage Area). The environmental assessment specialist will determine if an assessment is required under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, the Management Directive 2.4.2: Impact Assessment, or another applicable regime. The Research Coordinator will also ensure that other mandatory reviews   take place (SARA or other) and that health and safety issues are taken into consideration according to Management Bulletin 2.3.2: Archaeological Research Permitting.

Parks Canada managers and other federal land managers do not require provincial or territorial archaeological permits for research on lands that they administer. However, it is recommended as good archaeological practice to inform the provincial or territorial authorities about any archaeological work conducted. All Parks Canada archaeological sites will receive Borden site numbers from the Canadian Museum of Civilization or as appropriate, fromprovincial or territorial authorities (see Appendix 5).

Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada

Any project planning for heritage conservation projects should always take into consideration the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada, formally adopted by Parks Canada.  The Standards and Guidelines now serve as a reference to guide heritage conservation projects, including projects on archaeological sites that have an impact on archaeological resources.  It complements the Cultural Resource Management Policy of Parks Canada and the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Code of Practice.

Environmental Assessment

Field Units have primary responsibility for conducting environmental assessments for projects on Parks Canada lands.  The Service Centres provide an advisory role to the Field Units in this area.  The National Parks Directorate in National Office is responsible for providing national direction and coordination on environmental assessment within Parks Canada, and providing advice regarding specific projects11.

Environmental assessment is an effective means of integrating environmental factors into planning and decision-making processes. There are a number of environmental assessment regimes that apply to Parks Canada, depending on the region that you are in.  It is recommended that you consult with an environmental assessment specialist to determine which regime applies and what that regime requires.

For example, CEAA requires that any impact on archaeological resources be assessed or evaluated, but only if the impact results from a biophysical change to the environment. CEAA lists inclusions and exclusions that specify which projects are to be considered under the law.  As a result, not all land disturbance activities will be captured under CEAA

However, because Park Canada’s mandate is to protect ecosystems and cultural resources, Parks Canada goes further in conducting environmental assessments than what is required under CEAA. Parks Canada Management Directive2.4.2: Impact Assessment, which reinforces this approach, addresses proposals that fall outside the scope of CEAA, but that have an adverse effect on cultural resources under Parks Canada’s responsibility. In addition, the directive applies to all policies, programs, plans and projects that may affect natural and cultural resources. This directive reinforces the CRM Policy that states “In all actions that affect cultural resources, Parks Canada will consider the potential consequences of proposed actions and the cumulative impacts of those actions”12.

Canada Shipping Act

Wrecks (ships and aircraft) have a special status when they are partially or completely recovered within the borders of Canada, including Canadian waters. Under the Canada Shipping Act (CSA, 1985) all recovered material must be reported to the district Receiver of Wreck, an officer of Transport Canada. Any individual or organization that recovers material froma wreck during any activity (fishing, diving, etc.) or during an archaeological excavation has to comply with the Canada Shipping Act.  The new Canada Shipping Act, 2001 provides for the regulation of “heritage Wreck”. However, until new regulations excluding these types of wrecks from salvage are developed in force, the present Canada Shipping Act salvage provisions continue to apply.

Human Remains

Human remains cannot be considered archaeological resources under the CRM Policy, but are sometimes found in the course of conducting archaeological activities. When human remains are found on Parks Canada administered lands, one must stop work and consult Management Directive 2.3.1: Human Remains, Cemeteries and Burial Groundsfor direction. However, the provincial and territorial legislation must be followed, as relevant provisions in those laws require a coroner to be notified when human remains are found. In some provinces (Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia), the Acts also contain clauses pertaining to exhumations, burials and out of province shipment of remains. In Ontario, the Cemeteries Act and related regulations may also apply.  In Yukon, the Cemeteries and Burial Sites Act may apply as well (see Appendix 5).

Settled Land Claims

In areas where final land claim agreements have been signed, these agreements are legally binding and override policies and directives. Parks Canada must adhere to sections and clauses in land claims agreements pertaining to archaeology and heritage on lands and lands underwater under its administration. Provisions may deal with issues such as consultation, permits, site and object identification, interpretation, presentation, management, object ownership and custodial arrangements, burial sites and human remains, sacred sites, and dispute resolution.  


11 Refer to Parks Canada Management Directive2.4.2 Impact Assessment, 1998, Annex 1.
12 Moreover, Parks Canada Management Directive 2.4.2 captures the principles recommended by the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals (1999). Departments and agencies are also encouraged to conduct strategic environmental assessments for other policy, plan and program proposals (e.g. management plans, business plans, etc.) when circumstances warrant.

Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques

Obligations légales, directives, responsabilités administratives quant à la pratique d'activités archéologiques sur les terres fédérales, les terres fédérales immergées et les terres administrées par Parcs Canada

Découverte accidentelle

Une découverte accidentelle peut se traduire par la découverte d'objets archéologiques se trouvant sur le sol sur le fond marin ou ayant échoué sur une berge érodée à la suite d'une inondation. Des objets ou des structures archéologiques peuvent avoir été trouvés au cours de travaux d'entretien ou autres, ou même au moment de répondre à une situation d'urgence.

Le DUG de Parcs Canada doit être informé de toute découverte d'objets ou de sites archéologiques faite sur des terres ou des terres immergées qui sont placés sous sa responsabilité. Le directeur du centre de services est la première personne à qui doit s'adresser le DUG pour obtenir des conseils en matière de gestion des ressources archéologiques. Le directeur du centre de services compte sur les archéologues en poste pour obtenir des avis experts sur toutes questions archéologiques (voir l'annexe 4).

Permis de recherches archéologiques

Le bulletin de gestion 2.3.2 de Parcs Canada (Permis de recherches archéologiques) exige que toute personne ou tout organisme qui effectue une recherche, une reconnaissance, un inventaire ou une fouille archéologiques sur des terres ou sur des terres immergées qui sont administrées par Parcs Canada obtienne un permis du DUG. Le directeur du centre de services approprié désigne un archéologue qui passe en revue la demande de permis et conseille le Directeur qui à son tour avise le DUG sur les questions touchant la délivrance de celui ci.
Ces démarches sont maintenant encadrées par le Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte de Parcs Canada (SDPRC) qui fonctionne en ligne. Chacune des demandes de recherche et/ou de collecte en archéologie, en sciences naturelles ou en sciences sociales parvient via ce système à un coordonnateur de la recherche associé à l'aire patrimoniale visée. Ce dernier s'assure qu'on prend en considération les commentaires et les recommandations des examinateurs des diverses spécialités à toutes les étapes du traitement des permis.

Pour que le permis soit délivré, l'archéologue doit soumettre sa proposition de projet au spécialiste des évaluations environnementales de l'unité de gestion (soit directement ou en passant par le coordonnateur de la recherche). Le spécialiste des évaluations environnementales déterminera également si une évaluation sera nécessaire en vertu de la LCEE, de la directive de gestion 2.4.2 (Évaluation des impacts) ou d'un régime autre type de régime d'évaluation environnementale. Le coordonnateur de la recherche fera également en sorte que d'autres examens obligatoires (LEM ou autres) et que les questions de santé et de sécurité soient prises en compte conformément au Bulletin de gestion 2.3.2 (Permis de recherche archéologique).

Les gestionnaires des terres administrées par Parcs Canada ou d'autres terres fédérales ne sont pas tenus d'obtenir un permis de recherches archéologiques provincial ou territorial pour y effectuer des recherches. Néanmoins, suivant les règles de l'art en archéologie, il est recommandé d'informer les autorités provinciales ou territoriales compétentes (voir l'annexe 5) de tout travail de ce genre. Les autorités provinciales ou territoriales conjointement avec le Musée canadien des civilisations assignera un numéro Borden à tous les sites archéologiques de Parcs Canada (consulter la liste des bureaux et leurs coordonnées à l'annexe 5).

Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada

La planification de tout projet de conservation du patrimoine doit également tenir compte des Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada telles qu'adoptés par Parcs Canada. Ce document sert dorénavant de référence pour guider les projets de conservation du patrimoine, y compris ceux qui ont un impact ou qui portent sur les sites archéologiques. Il complète la politique de gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada.

Évaluation environnementale

Les unités de gestion ont l'obligation première de produire des évaluations environnementales pour les projets qui se déroulent sur les terres de Parcs Canada. Dans ce contexte, les centres de service ont un rôle d'aviseur à jouer. C'est la Direction générale des parcs nationaux au bureau national de Parcs Canada qui a la responsabilité d'orienter Parcs Canada en matière d'évaluation environnementale et de coordonner cette dernière. Elle est aussi responsable de l'évaluation environnementale de projets particuliers11.

L'évaluation environnementale est un moyen efficace pour intégrer les facteurs environnementaux aux processus de planification et de prise de décision. Différents régimes d'évaluation environnementale peuvent s'appliquer au réseau d'aires patrimoniales de Parcs Canada selon la région visée. Il est recommandé de consulter un spécialiste des évaluations environnementales afin de déterminer quel régime d'évaluation environnementale s'applique et quelles sont ses exigences.

Par exemple, selon la LCEE, l'évaluation doit déterminer toute répercussion que le projet pourrait avoir sur les ressources culturelles, y compris sur les ressources archéologiques, et ce seulement si l'effet est engendré par un changement de l'environnement qui est d'ordre biophysique. De plus, la LCEE dresse une liste des projets qui sont inclus et exclus en vertu de la loi. C'est pourquoi tous les projets ne sont pas visés par la LCEE.

De plus, puisque le mandat de Parcs Canada est de protéger les écosystèmes et les ressources culturelles, l'Agence procède à des évaluations environnementales qui dépassent les exigences de la LCEE. Cette approche se retrouve dans la directive de gestion 2..4.2 (Évaluation des impacts) de Parcs Canada qui traite de projets ou des activités qui échappent à la LCEE, mais qui pourraient avoir des effets nuisibles sur les ressources culturelles relevant de sa compétence. Elle vise en outre toute politique, tout programme, plan ou projet susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur les ressources naturelles ou culturelles. Elle vient appuyer la Politique sur la GRC, en vertu de laquelle Parcs Canada doit « [tenir] compte des répercussions possibles de toutes les mesures qu'il se propose de prendre ainsi que des effets cumulatifs de ces mesures » (1994, 2.3.2, p. 110)12.

Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada

Les épaves immergées de bateaux et d'aéronefs ont un statut particulier lorsqu'elles sont partiellement ou entièrement récupérées dans les limites du Canada, y compris dans les eaux canadiennes. La Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada, 1985) exige le signalement de la récupération au receveur d'épaves d'un des districts, qui est un agent du Ministère des Transports du Canada. Toute personne ou tout organisme qui récupère une épave dans le cours d'une activité (pêche, plongée sous-marine, etc.) ou dans le cadre d'une fouille archéologique doit se conformer à la LMMC. La nouvelle loi sur la marine marchande du Canada 2001 permet l'établissement d'une réglementation sur les épaves patrimoniales. Cependant, tant et aussi longtemps qu'une réglementation soustrayant les épaves patrimoniales des dispositions relatives au sauvetage ne sera pas en vigueur , les dispositions actuelles continueront de s'appliquer.

Restes humains

Les restes humains ne sont pas considérés des ressources culturelles archéologiques si l'on se réfère à la Politique sur la GRC mais sont parfois mis au jour au cours de travaux archéologiques. Lorsque des restes humains sont découverts sur des terres administrées par Parcs Canada, il convient d'arrêter les travaux et de suivre la démarche dictée par la directive de gestion 2.3.1 (Restes humains, cimetières et lieux de sépulture). Toutefois, il faudra aussi respecter les lois provinciales et territoriales. Les dispositions de ces lois exigent généralement qu'un coroner soit prévenu de la découverte de restes humains. Dans certaines provinces (Québec, Ontario, Alberta et Colombie-Britannique), la loi contient en outre des articles traitant de l'exhumation, de la sépulture et du transport des restes à l'extérieur de la province ou du territoire. En Ontario, la Loi sur les cimetières et ses règlements peuvent également s'appliquer, et il en va de même pour la Loi sur les cimetières et les lieux d'inhumation au Yukon (voir l'annexe 5).

Ententes sur les revendications territoriales

Dans les territoires où des ententes définitives sur les revendications territoriales ont été signées, celles ci ont préséance sur les directives et les politiques. Parcs Canada doit respecter dispositions prévues dans les ententes sur les revendications territoriales qui touchent l'archéologie et le patrimoine se trouvant sur terre ou sur les terres immergées et qui relève de sa compétence. Les dispositions peuvent avoir trait aux points suivants : consultation, permis, identification de sites et d'objets, interprétation, mise en valeur, gestion, propriété des objets et dispositions concernant la garde, lieux d'inhumation et restes humains, lieux sacrés et résolution de conflits.


11 Voir la Directive de gestion 2..4.2 . 1998, (Évaluation des impacts), Appendice 1
12 De plus, la directive répond aux principes préconisés dans La directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes et portant le titre d’Évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES).Celle-ci enjoint les gestionnaires des terres fédérales à favoriser la tenue d'une évaluation environnementale stratégique à l'égard des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes autres que ceux initiés par les ministres ou le cabinet afin de déterminer au besoin les effets environnementaux potentiels lorsque les circonstances le justifient.