Common menu bar links

Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources

Responsibility for Archaeological Resources in Areas under Parks Canada Administration

In a large organization there is a need to identify the personnel who are accountable for the work performed in the different areas and/or fields of responsibility. The Field Unit Superintendents, the Service Centre Directors and the Archaeological Services Branch Director are accountable for managing archaeological resources. These managers rely on the expertise of archaeologists to make their decisions.

Field Unit Superintendents

Field Unit Superintendents (FUS) are responsible for management planning and implementation related to archaeological resources located in Parks Canada heritage areas. To strengthen Field Unit decision-making on matters concerning archaeological resources, the FUS have access to expert advice from a Service Centre CRM Manager or another officer.9

Service Centre Directors

Service Centre Directors in each Parks Canada Service Centre are responsible for providing archaeological resource management advice, tools, information and services to the FUS beyond that available within the field unit10. A Service Centre Director may identify an archaeologist to review archaeological research permit applications on behalf of the FUS and to recommend to the FUS whether the permit should be issued and under what conditions. A Service Centre Director is also responsible for managing all archaeological records and collections within the Service Centre and for ensuring that archaeology is part of the   review and determination of CRM evaluation levels.

Archaeological Services Branch Director

The Director of the Archaeological Services Branchin the National Office is responsible for contributing to the Agency’s CRM strategies, developing national direction, policies and training for archaeological resource management, advocating increased protection and awareness, and providing support and leadership for the function.


9 In the case of the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada, the scale of archaeological resources at the site has meant that dedicated professional archaeological expertise both for field work and collections management exists at the site within the Cape Breton Field Unit
10 ibid
Roles and Accountability Regarding Archaeology


Area of Accountability Heritage Areas (HA)- National Historic Sites (NHS)-Others

National Office Role

Field UnitRole

Service Centre Role

Recommendation and/or Formal approval

NHS Commemorative Integrity Statement

Review

Preparation

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS

FUS/DG- NHS

HA  Scoping Document

Review

Preparation

Input on request of FUS

FUS/CEO

HA  Management Plan

Guidance and Advice

Preparation

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS

 FUS/ DG/CEO/Minister

HA Reporting

Guidance and Advice

Preparation

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS

FUS

HA Impact Assessment

Overall Policy Advice

Preparation

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS

FUS

HA Research and Collection Permits

Development and Overall Policy Advice

Management

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS

FUS

HA - General Practice of Archaeological Resource Management  (ARM) as part of CRM

  Overall Policy Advice

Ensure that Guidelines and CRM Policy respected in operations

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS

Cultural Resources Council  (CRC)/DG-NHS

HA Policy Development  for ARM

Lead in Development

Input concerning operational implications

Input to policy development based on practical experience

CRC/DG-NHS/EB

Providing Archaeological Advice to Federal Land Managers (FLM) and Responsible Authorities under CEAA

Overall Policy Advice and support to FLM Departments

Formal contact with regional FLM

Archaeological expertise provided upon request of FUS and FLM

Not Applicable

Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques

Personnes responsables de la gestion des ressources archéologiques des lieux administrés par Parcs Canada

Dans un vaste organisme, il convient de déterminer quelles sont les personnes qui sont responsables des travaux qu'il faut exécuter dans les différents secteurs ou champs de responsabilité. On présente ci dessous les postes au sein de Parcs Canada qui sont occupés par des personnes chargées de la gestion des ressources archéologiques. Ces gestionnaires se fondent sur le savoir faire des archéologues pour prendre leurs décisions.

Directeur d'unité de gestion

Il incombe au directeur d'unité de gestion (DUG) d'élaborer le plan directeur et d'en assurer la mise en œuvre pour ce qui a trait aux ressources archéologiques présentes dans les terres administrées par Parcs Canada. Afin de faciliter la prise de décisions qui touchent les ressources archéologiques, le DUG peut faire appel aux gestionnaires des ressources culturelles travaillant dans les centres de services ou dans son unité de gestion9.

Directeur de centre de services

Il incombe à chacun des directeurs d'un centre de services de Parcs Canada de fournir des conseils, des outils et de l'information aux DUG sur la gestion des ressources archéologiques et pour les services inexistants dans l'unité de gestion10. Il peut désigner un archéologue, qui examinera au nom du DUG toute demande de permis de recherches archéologiques et qui recommandera à ce dernier sa délivrance, selon les conditions qui conviennent ou son refus. Il est également responsable de la gestion de tous les documents et de toutes les collections archéologiques du centre de services auquel il est rattaché, et il doit s'assurer de la participation des archéologues à l'examen et la définition de la valeur historique des ressources archéologiques.

Directeur des services archéologiques

Il incombe au directeur des services archéologiques du bureau national de contribuer à l'élaboration des stratégies de Parcs Canada en matière de gestion des ressources culturelles, d'élaborer des orientations, des politiques et des programmes de formation nationaux liés à la gestion des ressources archéologiques, de préconiser une meilleure protection des ressources et de promouvoir une plus grande sensibilisation à leur égard, d'appuyer la fonction archéologique et d'en assurer le leadership.


9 Veuillez noter qu'au Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse de Louisbourg, l'importance des ressources archéologiques a nécessité la création de postes permanents de spécialistes de l'archéologie et des collections relevant de l'unité de gestion du Cap Breton et qui sont toujours présents sur le site.
10 Idem.
Rôles et responsabilités en archéologie


Champs de responsabilité (Aires patrimoniales (AP) Lieux Historiques Nationaux (LHN) et autres)

Rôle du bureau national

Rôle de l'unité de gestionRole

Rôle du centre de Services

Recommandation et/ou approbation formelle

LHN: Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative

Révision

Préparation

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG

DUG/DG-LHN

AP : Document d'orientation

Révision

Préparation

Suggestions à la demande des UG

DUG/DGA

AP : Plan directeur

Orientation et Avis

Préparation

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG

DUG/DG/ DGA/Ministre /Minister

AP : Rapports

Orientation et Avis

Préparation

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG

DUG

AP : Évaluation des impacts

Avis sur les politiques

Préparation

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG

DUG

AP : Permis de recherche et de collecte

Élaboration et avis sur les politiques

Gestion

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG

DUG

AP : Pratique de la gestion des ressources archéologiques (GRA) dans le cadre de la GRC

Avis sur les politiques

S'assurer que les lignes directrices et la politique sur la GRC sont respectés dans les opérations

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG

Conseil des resources culturelles (CRC)/DG-LHN

AP : Élaboration de politique pour la GRA :

Meneur dans la préparation

Suggestions au sujet des impacts opérationnels

Avis formulés en fontion des expériences pratiques

CRC/DG-LHN/CE

Procurer des avis et des conseils aux gestionnaires des terres fédérales (GTF) et Autorités responsables sous la LCEE

Avis sur les politiques et soutien aux GTF

Contacts formels avec les GTF en région

Expertise offerte à la demande des UG et des GTF

Sans objet