Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources

Archaeology in National Parks of Canada, National Park Reserves of Canada, National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada and National Marine Conservation Area Reserves of Canada

The CRM Policy also applies to archaeological resources in National Parks, National Park Reserves, National Marine Conservation Areas and National Marine Conservation Area Reserves. In this context, the Parks Canada Agency applies the principles of value, public benefit, understanding, respect and integrity to the management of its archaeological resources.

Direction for managing archaeological resources is addressed in a management plan. Management plans are designed to reflect relevant legislation, policies and formal agreements, and to establish an approach for meeting the objectives of ecological and commemorative integrity and ecological sustainability where applicable.

Within a management plan, a zoning system can be an effective option to protect archaeological resources within a national park or national marine conservation area.  The zoning system in National Parks “...is an integrated approach by which land and water areas are classified according to ecosystem and cultural resource protection requirements, and their capability and suitability to provide opportunities for visitor experiences”6.  Application of the five zoning categories, ranging from Special Preservation (Zone 1) to Park Services (Zone 5), is based on park objectives, analyses of the natural and cultural resources of the park, and visitor use patterns.

In some cases, environmentally or culturally sensitive areas or sites may warrant special management but do not fit the zoning designation. Management plans will include the guidelines necessary for protecting and using such areas or sites7.  It is also possible to make regulations to protect “cultural, historical and archaeological resources” in national marine conservation areas and national parks when management objectives require them8.

Another mechanism to ensure the protection of archaeological resources is through environmental impact assessment reviews. The Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA) does not apply to all situations, however, when CEAA does not apply, there may be other environmental assessment mechanisms available: Strategic Environmental Assessment, environmental assessment through Parks Canada policy or through separate environmental regimes in specific areas (e.g. land claim agreements). The procedure for applying CEAA is discussed in section 5 of this document.

Archaeologists’ recommendations for managing archaeological resources are of prime importance and can be used by managers in their overall resource assessment and management of a heritage area or a site administered by Parks Canada. Archaeological research reports should include, but are not limited to information in the form of preliminary assessments of the value and significance of resources, assessments of threats to the integrity of resources and prescriptions for monitoring programs.

Subterranean Food Cache, Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada

Subterranean Food Cache, Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada
Leslie Leong / 1998
BarqueArabia, Fathom Five National Park of Canada

BarqueArabia, Fathom Five National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada


6 Guiding Principles and Operational Policies, 1994, p. 30.
7 Idem, 1994, p. 31.
8 Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, 2002, C. 18 , Canada National Parks Act, 2000, C. 32

Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques

L'archéologie dans les parcs nationaux, les réserves des parcs nationaux, les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada et les réserves d'aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

La Politique sur la GRC s'applique autant aux ressources culturelles situées dans les parcs nationaux, les réserves des parcs nationaux, les aires marines nationales de conservation que dans les lieux historiques nationaux. C'est dans ce contexte que Parcs Canada met en œuvre les principes de la valeur, de l'intérêt du public, de la compréhension, du respect et de l'intégrité de ses ressources culturelles.

Les plans directeurs des aires patrimoniales protégées constituent un cadre idéal pour respecter les orientations en matière de gestion des ressources culturelles. Ces plans sont conçus de manière à refléter les lois, les politiques et les ententes officielles pertinentes et à favoriser l'instauration d'une démarche qui permettra d'atteindre les objectifs d'intégrité écologique et commémorative s'il y a lieu.

Un système de zonage est un bon moyen d'assurer la protection des ressources culturelles dans les parcs nationaux. Le système de zonage des parcs « est une approche intégrée de classification des aires terrestres et marines en fonction de la protection à assurer aux ressources culturelles et aux écosystèmes et de l'offre des services au public »6.  Le choix d'une des cinq catégories de zonage telles que la zone de préservation spéciale (Zone 1) ou la zone de Services du parc (Zone 5) se fait selon les objectifs du parc, les analyses des ressources naturelles et culturelles et les habitudes d'utilisation des visiteurs. Le zonage oriente les activités des gestionnaires et des visiteurs.

Dans certains cas, des ressources naturelles et culturelles fragiles peuvent exiger une gestion particulière, puisqu'elles ne peuvent être considérées sous aucune des cinq catégories de zonage existantes. Les plans directeurs incluent les lignes directrices nécessaires à la protection et à l'usage de tels lieux ou de telles aires7. Il est aussi possible, par règlement, d'appliquer des dispositions pour protéger les ressources « culturelles, historiques et archéologiques » dans les aires marines nationales de conservation quand les objectifs de gestion l'indiquent8.

Une autre façon de veiller à la protection des ressources culturelles est de procéder à des études d'impact. Il n'est pas possible d'appliquer la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE) à toutes les situations, qui devront être évaluées au cas par cas. Cependant, on peut avoir recours à d'autres mécanismes d'évaluation environnementale, dont l'évaluation environnementale stratégique ou encore l'évaluation environnementale effectuée en vertu d'une politique particulière ou en fonction d'un programme environnemental distinct, propre à une aire précise (p. ex., accord sur une revendication territoriale). Les sections 5 du présent document traitent de la procédure de mise en application de la LCEE.
Les recommandations des archéologues visant la gestion des ressources archéologiques sont de première importance et peuvent servir aux gestionnaires pour évaluer et gérer de manière générale une aire et un lieu patrimonial protégés qui sont administrés par Parcs Canada. Les rapports archéologiques devraient inclure notamment de l'information qui se présente sous forme d'évaluation préliminaire de la valeur et de l'importance des ressources, d'évaluation des menaces à l'intégrité des ressources et à la mise en œuvre de programmes de surveillance.

Cache de nourriture souterraine, Parc national Tuktut Nogait

Cache de nourriture souterraine, Parc national Tuktut Nogait
© Parcs Canada / Leslie Leong / 1998
Barque à voile Arabia, Parc national Fathom Five

Barque à voile Arabia, Parc national Fathom Five
© Parcs Canada

6 Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion, 1994. p. 30.
7 Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion, 1994. p. 30.
8 Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, 2002, ch. 18.