Common menu bar links

Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources

Archaeology in National Historic Sites of Canada

The Cultural Resource Management Policy is an integrated and holistic approach to the management of cultural resources. It applies to all activities that affect cultural resources administered by Parks Canada.  In other words it applies to the overall management of a national historic site as well as to the individual cultural resources that are contained in a national historic site. Cultural resource management depends on a strong corporate or organizational ethic embodied in a set of principles. In its practice, cultural resource management integrates professional, technical and administrative activities to ensure that cultural resources are identified and evaluated, and that their historic value is duly considered in all actions that might affect them. In the case of cultural heritage sites, cultural resource management provides the means for ensuring their commemorative integrity.

The concept of commemorative integrity was designed as a framework to evaluate and report on the health and wholeness of national historic sites.5  A commemorative integrity statement (CIS) is integrated into NHSC management plans. The guidelines presented in the Guide to the preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements apply to archaeological resources that are determined to be within the cultural resources family.

Archaeological resources are key components to ensuring commemorative integrity at many national historic sites. A site’s commemorative integrity statement is an elaboration of what constitute a state of commemorative integrity for a site.  It provides a baseline for planning, managing operations, reporting and taking remedial action.

A national historic site possesses commemorative integrity when:
  • The resources directly related to the reasons for designation as a national historic site are not impaired or under threat;
  • The reasons for designation as a national historic site are effectively communicated to the public; and
  • The site's heritage values (including those not related to the reasons for designation as a national historic site) are respected by all decisions and actions affecting the site.


5 Refer to the Guide to the Preparation of Commemorative Integrity Statements 2002, p.1 and 1.1.2, p.2.

Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques

L'archéologie dans les Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada

La politique de gestion des ressources culturelles constitue une approche intégrée et globale de la gestion de ces ressources. Elle s'applique à toutes les activités qui ont un impact sur les ressources culturelles dont Parcs Canada a la responsabilité. En d'autres mots elle s'applique tant à la gestion globale d'un lieu historique national qu'à celle des ressources culturelles particulières qui font partie d'un lieu historique national. La gestion des ressources culturelles s'appuie sur un solide code d'éthique qui s'exprime dans une série de principes. En pratique, la gestion des ressources culturelles fait appel à des activités professionnelles, techniques et administratives qui visent à garantir l'identification et l'évaluation de ces ressources et à intégrer la prise en considération de leur valeur historique aux mesures qui pourraient les toucher. La gestion des ressources culturelles représente la meilleure façon d'assurer l'intégrité commémorative des lieux du patrimoine culturel.
Le concept d'intégrité commémorative a été créé pour définir « un cadre qui permette d'évaluer l'état et le caractère global d'un lieu historique national et d'en rendre compte », suivant le Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative5 . L'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative (ÉIC) fait désormais partie intégrante de tout plan directeur d'un lieu historique national. Les lignes directrices relatives à ce genre d'énoncé (voir note 4) visent aussi les ressources archéologiques, puisqu'elles font partie des ressources culturelles.

Les ressources archéologiques sont des composantes culturelles importantes dont la préservation permet d'assurer l'intégrité commémorative de nombreux lieux historiques nationaux. L'ÉIC est une explication détaillée de l'intégrité commémorative d'un site. Il sert de fondement à la planification, à la gestion, à l'exploitation, à l'établissement de rapports et à l'adoption de mesures correctives.

L'intégrité commémorative d'un lieu historique national est maintenue quand :
  • les ressources directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national ne sont pas endommagées ou menacées;
  • les motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national sont efficacement communiqués au public;
  • les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu (y compris celles qui ne sont pas liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation à titre de lieu historique national) sont respectées dans toute décision ou action ayant des répercussions sur le lieu.


5 Se référer au Guide de rédaction des énoncés d'intégrité commémorative, 2002, p. 1 et section 1.1.2. p. 2.